Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
5,551 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Honda Insight seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Honda Insight:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Honda Insight Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #24

Mar 012016

Insight

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Honda Insight. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 16V061000 (air bags) and 16V346000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Meadows Place, TX, USA

problem #23

Apr 232016

Insight

  • 6,745 miles
Takata recall. Dealer said the fix would occur during the summer; so far nothing. I worry every time I drive that I could be killed by a safety device.

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #22

Apr 262016

Insight

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda Insight. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 16V346000 and 16V061000 (air bags). The parts needed for the repair were not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Panorama City, CA, USA

problem #21

Mar 012016

Insight

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata and passenger recalls. I received a recall notice last March, 2016 for an air bag recall. I have called the dealership, capitol Honda several times. Sometimes they say the will order the part. I never get a straight answer. I called the manager and left a voice messages, but never got a call back. I live in san jose and have heard that people in humid climates should be worried. I can't stop driving my car because I need to get places. But it has been 1/2 year now. I am currently driving the car.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #20

Mar 012016

Insight

  • miles
Takata recall. I received a recall notice last March, 2016 for an air bag recall. I have called the dealership, john Eagle Honda several times. Sometimes they say the will order the part. I never get a straight answer. I called the manager and left a voice message, but never got a call back. I live in houston and have heard that people in humid climates should be worried. I don't know what to do. I can't stop driving my car because I need to get places. But it has been 1/2 year now. I am currently driving the car.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #19

Jul 122016

Insight

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda Insight. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Pasadena, CA, USA

problem #18

Jul 082016

Insight

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Honda Insight. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #17

Sep 072016

Insight

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Honda Insight. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 16V061000 and 16V346000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Red Bluff, CA, USA

problem #16

Jul 202016

Insight

  • miles
Takata recall our family vehicle had a safety recall on front driver and passenger's air bags. We received a loaner car from university Honda dealership in davis, ca, on 07.20.2016 until our vehicle was fixed. We dropped our vehicle at the dealership on 07.30.2016 and dealer, on two occasions, verbally and in writing, confirmed that both air bags would be fixed that day. However, they only corrected the driver's side air bag and requested we return the loaner car as our vehicle, according to the dealer, was now safe to drive. We explained that this is our family car and we utilize the front passenger seat but to no avail. We are now driving our vehicle which is unsafe for the front seat passenger and possibly other occupants in case the passenger's air bag deploys. I have been in contact with Honda usa since 07.30.2016. It took them almost five weeks to respond to my claim that they initially stated would take them only a week to reply. They denied my claim, 04845132, stating that I do not need to utilize the front passenger seat based on the size of my family. This is a very weak excuse on their part as the vehicle I purchased was and is intended to be utilized by five people not four. It seems Honda is choosing profits over passenger safety. What I would like Honda to do is offer me a free rental until my vehicle is fully safe for all passengers.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #15

May 232016

Insight

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda Insight. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Avera, GA, USA

problem #14

Feb 122016

Insight

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda Insight. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags). The part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Little Rock, AR, USA

problem #13

Aug 062016

Insight

  • 42,000 miles
This morning (Aug 6, 2016), myself and my dad met with an accident and was driving Honda Insight 2011 LX model. Note that my dad was sitting in the front passenger seat. Let me describe the accident. I was about to park my car in front of sprouts grocery store in the parking available spot just facing sprouts. So you can imagine that I was about to park my car and the speed was around 5mph. All of a sudden, I could feel my Insight engine experiencing sudden acceleration automatically and then I was trying to apply the leg brake to make sure it doesn't speed up. Suddenly, the Insight started speeding up and didn't stop even after slamming on the brake and it jumped on the parking curb and finally hit the concrete pillar in front of sprouts resulting in deploying the driver air-bag and the passenger air-bags. My windshield developed a deep crack and I believe my car is going to be totalled. With that, it didn't stop, after hitting so hard the concrete wall, remember the car was still in drive mode and not in reverse mode, all of a sudden, the car started moving backwards and even didn't stop after slamming on the leg brake. Then I came out of the shock and applied my hand brake and turn off the ignition to stop the car moving backwards. Luckily, this crash didn't cause any bodily injury to any third parties but I had some bruises on my right arm developed due to some metal pieces from the takata air-bag.

- Round Rock, TX, USA

problem #12

Jul 302016

Insight

  • miles
Takata recall our family vehicle had a safety recall on front driver and passenger's air bags. We received a loaner car from university Honda dealership in davis, ca, on 07.20.2016 until our vehicle was fixed. We dropped our vehicle at the dealership on 07.30.2016 and dealer, on two occasions, verbally and in writing, confirmed that both air bags would be fixed that day. However, they only corrected the driver's side air bag and requested we return the loaner car as our vehicle, according to the dealer, was now safe to drive. We explained that this is our family car and we utilize the front passenger seat but to no avail. We are now driving our vehicle which is unsafe for the front seat passenger and possibly other occupants in case the passenger's air bag deploys. We would like to understand why we could not extend the loaner until all air bags are fixed as our vehicle is not safe for all passengers.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #11

Jul 312016

Insight

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda Insight. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Moreno Valley, CA, USA

problem #10

Mar 012016

Insight

  • miles
"takata recall" I was notified in March about this recall and that the parts would be available in late spring early summer. Now I see it will be late summer early fall. I want Honda to pay for a rental car for me until this is fixed. I feel like I'm putting my life in jeopardy as well as my passengers every time I get behind the wheel. How long do you expect people to drive around with this defect without offering some remedy?

- Marathon, FL, USA

problem #9

May 202016

Insight

  • miles
Takata recall - took vehicle in for airbag recalls on 5/20/2016; after 2 months received vehicle back with only 1 airbag fixed. After speaking to Honda about 2nd airbag was advised nothing could be done at this time.

- Lancaster, CA, USA

problem #8

Feb 122016

Insight

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Honda Insight. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 16V346000 (air bags) and 16V061000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #7

Jul 102016

Insight

  • miles
Takata recall. Honda." Consequence: An inflator rupture may result in metal fragments striking the vehicle occupants resulting in serious injury or death." I feel Honda is endangering my life by not providing a rental during this recall. I cannot afford a rental and must use my car as I MA sure many other folks are in the same situation. Safety departments need to put people's lives ahead of the all mighty dollar. I was told in July that no one has died yet of the passenger air bag recall so Honda will not pay for a rental. My driver airbag was fixed and the passenger airbag was not fixed at the same time. I was just told of the new air bag recall on 07/10/16 when I finally got my car back with driver's air bag fixed.

- Sun City Center, FL, USA

problem #6

Mar 252016

Insight

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda Insight. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Bakersfield, CA, USA

problem #5

Mar 142016

Insight

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda Insight. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Dexter, MI, USA

Read the next 4 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?