Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
90,424 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

1998 Honda Passport suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 1998 Honda Passport:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

1998 Honda Passport Owner Comments

problem #17

Aug 072012

Passport 6-cyl

  • 160,688 miles


I took my car to a repair shop for regular service on August 7, 2012. The mechanic called me and said that elements of the rear suspension, particularly the rear axle lower link bracket mentioned in the 1998 Honda Passport recall - #00V058000, as well as several other parts related to the rear suspension, were so corroded that the vehicle was not safe to drive. I had taken my vehicle to a certified Honda dealer to address the recall mentioned above, and at that time they applied an anti-corrosive coating to these affected parts. This solution did not seem to work. At the time, some owners of the make, model and year of this vehicle had their vehicles bought back by the manufacturer. I feel that I should have been offered that option. Instead, a vehicle was returned to me that was unsafe to Transport my family.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #16

Jun 082012

Passport 4WD 6-cyl

  • 112,000 miles
The left rear suspension arm holder rusted through and broke away from frame which let the rear axle to move causing the vehicle to sway. Fortuniately it happened in a 30 mph zone. The frame is completely rusted and not fixable. Honda canceled their recall and doesn't want to know anything about it.

- Sandy Creek , NY, USA

problem #15

Aug 012011


  • 69,000 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Honda Passport. The contact stated that the vehicle was repaired under the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 10V436000 (suspension:rear). After the repairs, the contact noticed that the rear suspension was still rusting. The dealer denied any assistance with further repairs. The manufacturer was notified and was in the process of assisting the contact with the failure. The failure mileage was 69,000 and the current mileage was 69,700.

- Auburn, MA, USA

problem #14

Mar 172011

Passport 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 170,000 miles


The contact owns a 1998 Honda Passport. The vehicle was included in the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number: 10V436000 (suspension:rear) and was taken to an authorized dealer where a new bracket was mounted onto a severely corroded frame. The contact felt that the remedy was inadequate and unsafe. The failure and current mileage was 170,000. Updated 05/04/11 updated 12/07/11

- Webster, MA, USA

problem #13

Apr 112011

Passport 4WD 6-cyl

  • 172,000 miles
Back half of frame shows severe rust damage including holes in frame. Rear end vibration at highway speed. Found when inspecting tailpipe which has broken and was hanging.

- Akron, OH, USA

problem #12

Dec 052010


  • 200,000 miles
Passenger side rear wheel loud vibration, feeling of back of vehicle being loose, not in control, loose rear end on vehicle.

- Dallas, PA, USA

problem #11

Jan 042011

Passport 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles


My 98 Honda Passport is apart of this recent recall. My truck has been at the dealership for a week now and they are waiting to hear from Honda. It seems to me may be undrivable.

- Nashua, NH, USA

problem #10

Dec 152010


  • 230,000 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Honda Passport. While driving approximately 40 mph and attempting a right turn, the contact lost control of the vehicle without warrant and crashed into a ditch. The roof of the vehicle crashed into a telephone pole and the vehicle proceeded to roll over on its wheels. The vehicle was destroyed. A police report was available. The contact sustained a ruptured spleen, sprained right ankle and arm, collapsed lung and several bruises and lacerations to the face. The contact later received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 10V436000 (suspension: Rear) and believed the defective suspension was the cause of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 230,000.

- Central Square , NY, USA

problem #9

Jun 152009


  • 115,100 miles
I have a 1998 Honda Passport and the bottom frame is all rusted and the rear axle or rear suspension trailing arm rusted till it fell off. Luckily it happened while my son was leaving our driveway and he was not on a highway driving at highway speed. So it is no longer driveable and we tied up the falling part and it was parked in our yard for almost a year because we could not afford to get it repaired. We now have to move to a townhouse and there is no place to park this vehicle so we had it towed to an autobody shop for an estimate. The initial estimate for cost of repair is about $2,000 which is more than what we can afford and it could possibly get higher once the repairs get started. So this is where we stand. We bought a Honda, used it for 2.5 years and due to the poor quality of parts used to make this vehicle, it rotted out on us and fell apart and we have been unable to use it since the summer of 2009 and we can't afford to get it repaired. We feel that Honda should be reponsible for our loss of use of this vehicle. We were hoping to keep this vehicle and use for a long time but now is unable to.

- Nashua, NH, USA

problem #8

Jan 212009


  • 150,000 miles
1988 Honda Passport - vehicle's driver's side rear wheel stabilizer bar rusted off, causing a near accident. Lost control of vehicle, but was only going 5 mph in a parking lot, so was able to stop vehicle immediately. Entire frame is riddled with rust. Area in rear of vehicle where coil springs are attached to frame is completely rusted through. Rust is extensive, from to rear of frame, pretty much swiss-cheesed with rust. Vehicle is unsafe to drive. No area of frame is unaffected. Able to push finger through the frame in many areas. Body of vehicle is in pristine condition with no body rust. Looks new, except for the face that the frame is basically rusting off of the body of the Honda Passport. Honda America states they are not responsible for this. I personally feel his is a safety issue, these vehicles are not safe or trustworthy to drive. No warning there was a problem while I was driving the vehicle, sudden "boom" at which time I stopped the vehicle at the curb of the driveway to the parking lot. Vehicle is unusable. Area where stabilizer bar fell off is not repairable because there is no good metal on the frame to weld a repair to. Passport was well taken care of, excellently maintained, body, interior and engine in excellent condition. Just have no frame to put the body on. Honda America told me "we are aware there is a problem, but when thousands are affected and millions of these were made, we don't consider it to be an issue". Isuzu rodeo are affected identically, the same area of rust is the first indication there is an issue, the rear driver's side stabilizer bar falls/rusts off while driving. We are the sole owners of this Passport, not a flood car, not near the ocean and not in an area where salt is used extensively on the roads. Again, there is no part of the frame unaffected by rust. A 50 year old vehicle has a better frame on it than my 1998.

- Crestwood, KY, USA

problem #7

Jul 172009


  • 114,000 miles


The drivers side rear trail arm bracket / control arm bracket has broken away from the frame of the vehicle because it has rusted / rotted.

- Saugus, MA, USA

problem #6

Sep 132005


  • Manual transmission
  • 43,000 miles
I will be driving and my car will just shut off, I also have the extended stopping problem and braking causing me to manually steer. I have also had trouble with the car not starting or starting slowly. I was told there were several recalls before I purchased the car and they were repaired - the ABS was done last year but the problem continues. I would like the ABS replaced. I checked your website for outstanding recalls and found. I called the dealer and was told the ABS was done 2/04 but the truck continues to have the same problem - extending stopping. I have had my Passport 3 years and have only received one recall - but the problem currently exists... extended stopping distance. The only recall sticker in the door is for the pedal. Additionally, I have also had a problem with the truck turning off in the middle of a turn (forcing me to manually steer my car) 98V70 (describes it completely) my truck also refuses to start properly. It starts and then shuts off - sometimes it takes up to 3 times to turn on and stay on. (SB03-03-S003 describes this as well) since I cannot determine who performed the other recalls, how can I be certain they were done or done properly? my vehicle continues to have the identical problems associated with the following recalls: NHTSA campaign # 02I002001 - service brakes, hydraulic; anti-lock (5/29/02) 98V170000 - electrical system - wiring, front underhood (7/23/98) 98V170002 - electrical system - wiring front underhood (7/23/98) 00V058000 - suspension, rear (2/29/00) 97V206002 - other (11/11/97) I have not had any accidents as a result, but I am afraid to drive with my children in the car if my car just shuts off in the middle of a turn, or on the freeway and at low speed. I have also had it accelerate while on the freeway revving the engine constantly - these have all happened for the last 3 years with no recall notices.

- Arcadia, CA, USA

problem #5

Nov 161998


  • 1,417 miles
Nar 9-10-03. Consumer complaint on a defective 1998 Honda Passport pursuant to Maryland's lemon law. Battery cables replaced, brake warning light illuminates, rear suspension defective, and brakes pedal inoperable.

- Chevy Chase, MD, USA

problem #4

Apr 142000

(reported on)


  • miles
Noise comes from under the vehicle dealer refused to do recall repair until the lease expires (00V-058).

- Reading, PA, USA

problem #3

Apr 142000

(reported on)


  • miles
Noise comes from under the vehicle dealer refused to do recall repair until the lease expires (00V-058).

- Reading, PA, USA

problem #2

Mar 181999

(reported on)


  • miles
Squeaky brakes since inception. Vibration at speeds above 40mph, worse at 55-65. Dealer has balanced tires 3 times, replaced brake shoes, problem still not corrected. Constant shaking. Additional problem when letting off the brake, feel bump in brake pedal.( dot number: )

- Duluth, GA, USA

problem #1

Sep 021998

(reported on)


  • miles
While driving vehicle bounces. Also vibrates in the rear.

- Washington, DC, USA

Not what you are looking for?