Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

1.8

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
92,931 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Honda Passport suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Honda Passport:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Honda Passport Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #23

Dec 222011

Passport 6-cyl

  • 129,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Rear trailing arm fell off of the frame due to major corrosion. We had it towed to dealership for recall #10V-436. Service dept stated the entire frame was rusted through therefore they had nothing to attach the recall bracket to. This recall should be for the entire frame not just the bracket. It broke while backing out of our driveway. Thankfully we weren't doing 70 on the highway.

- Muskegon, MI, USA

problem #22

Nov 212011

Passport 4WD 6-cyl

  • 119,900 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Honda Passport. The contact stated that the rear suspension axle and frame were severely corroded and there were holes in the frame. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign I.D. number: 10V436000 (suspension:rear) and took the vehicle to the dealer for recall repairs. The dealer advised the contact that the frame was so corroded, that it was beyond repair. The dealer spoke with the manufacturer regarding the frame and the manufacturer advised the dealer to only to repair what was stated in the recall. The dealer replaced the lower link front bracket on the rear suspension but not the frame. The contact then took the vehicle to a second mechanic for a second opinion and was advised that the frame could possibly crack and collapse if the contact drove over a road bump. The failure mileage was 119,900. Updated 01/04/12 the consumer sold the vehicle to an auction. Updated 01/10/12 updated 01/12/12

- Hoffman Estate, IL, USA

problem #21

Sep 232010

Passport 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 141,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Honda Passport. The contact noticed shortly after purchasing the vehicle that the frame was completely corroded. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign I.D. number 10V436000 (suspension:rear) and was offered a buy back from the manufacturer but the contact declined. The contact asked the manufacturer to repair the vehicle but the manufacturer did respond, but refused because of the cost. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 141,000. Updated 11/29/11 updated 12/07/11

- Haverhill, MA, USA

problem #20

Jun 012011

Passport 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2001 Honda Passport. Consumer states problems with bracket links recall. The consumer stated she/he took the vehicle to the dealer after receiving the recall. After inspecting the vehicle, the dealer stated the replacement brackets would not solve the problem, because all of the components under the vehicle were severely rusted. Honda offered to buy the vehicle back from the consumer according to the kelley blue book value of $1800. The consumer stated the vehicle was worth more. Updated 08/24/11. Updated 10/10/12.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #19

Jan 252011

Passport 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 119,628 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Honda Passport. The contact stated that he was not satisfied with the repairs performed on the vehicle under the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number: 10V436000 (suspension:rear). He believed that the repair was a temporary fix to a major problem. In order to prevent possible corrosion of the lower link suspension brackets, the dealer were to inspect the rear suspension lower link bracket area and for vehicles in which little or no corrosion was found, the area was to be treated with an anti-corrosive compound. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and they decided that the remedy repairs administered to the vehicle were adequate to correct a potential failure. The manufacturer was contacted confirmed that the repair was sufficient to prevent a potential failure. The vehicle was not further repaired. The failure and current mileage was 119,628. Updated 05/25/11 the consumer stated Honda recommended plates to be attached to the frame to reinforce it. There are rust holes beyond repair and under the brackets on the passenger side. Updated 08/19/11

- Southington, CT, USA

problem #18

Feb 012011

Passport 4WD 6-cyl

  • 91,000 miles
I have a 2001 Honda Passport with 91000 miles and has been recently recalled due to a rotted frame. Prior to the inspection, upon a personal inspection, chunks of my frame were able to be removed by hand. I was advised of 4 stages of severity and after the inspection my vehicle was a stage 4. after a month and a half I've been informed that actually there is 5 stages and mine has been repaired. I'm still awaiting final approval from Honda Corp to release the vehicle back to me. I work in a total loss claim handling environment for the largest insurer of vehicles on the road today. Not only have professionals that handle inspections daily for this company but the shop that did the repairs are saying this vehicle is still not safe for the road considering the extent of corrosion over the entire frame, not just the 'brackets'. I have a 2 year old only child that I refuse to put in this vehicle with that being the case creating a major dilemma above and beyond just the economical impact. Honda has done absolutely the minimum to coverage large liability losses with this issue and are putting unsafe vehicles back on the road. Over the last week of this tremendous nightmare, I've been shuffled from department to department within Honda being rendered as a 'single' customer with absolutely no recourse against this injustice. Ultimately, I'm faced with being a parent protecting my child from an unsafe vehicle versus unloading this vehicle on an innocent bystander to recoup economically. I have no expectations from this complaint other than simply knowing more than the average consumer going through this nightmare due to my occupation and simply having to deal with it. We have too many resources in this industry to allow someone to get injured or worse yet die due to the bottom line of a large company and nothing being done. Thank you to whomever reads this for finishing my complaint, now on to the next one. Updated IVOQ 04/08/11

- New Albany , OH, USA

problem #17

Feb 162011

Passport

  • 85,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Honda Passport. The contact had the vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign id number: 10V436000 (suspension: Rear) which was suppose to repair the lower link brackets on the vehicle because of rust. The contact then took the vehicle for state inspection and was informed that the vehicle did not pass due to severe frame rust and fractures. The contact was advised that the vehicle was unsafe to drive because it did not pass the frame test check. The failure mileage was 85,000 and the current mileage was 86,000.

- Seeconk, MA, USA

problem #16

Jan 152011

Passport

  • 79,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Honda Passport. The contact stated that the entire frame was rusted. The dealer stated that even if they repaired the vehicle according to NHTSA campaign id number: 10V436000 (suspension:rear), the vehicle would still not be safe to drive. The manufacturer was not contacted and the vehicle was not repaired. The current mileage was approximately 80,000 and the failure mileage was approximately 79,000. Updated 06/02/11 updated 1/13/2012

- Roseville, MI, USA

problem #15

Jan 312011

Passport

  • 117,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Honda Passport. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 10V436000 (suspension:rear) and the vehicle was taken to the dealer for repairs however, the dealer advised that the vehicle was unsafe to drive due to excessive corrosion. The vehicle could still be repaired under the recall yet the dealer advised against it because it would not repair the remainder of the severely corroded frame. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage and the current mileage was 117,000. Updated 03/23/11

- Delmar, NY, USA

problem #14

Feb 092011

Passport 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 95,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Honda Passport. The contact stated that the vehicle was unable to pass state inspection due to severe frame rust. He later received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 10V436000 (suspension: Rear) and was advised by the manufacturer that the dealer would bolt the rear brackets on th rear of the vehicle but no repair the frame rust. The dealer advised that the failure was so severe that the vehicle would be unsafe to drive even after repairs. The vehicle would also not pass state inspection because of the severity of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 95,000. Updated 04/07/11 updated 04/28/11

- Tunkhannotk, PA, USA

problem #13

Jan 102011

Passport 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Letter from congressman on behalf of constituent regarding safety recall: "corrosion on lower link front brackets" Honda service bulletin 10-079 for his 2001 Honda Passport. The consumer stated he took the vehicle to the dealer for a recall and the testing procedure involved pounding a 9 inch flat punch through the frame of the rear of the vehicle to test for structural defects. The procedure opened a hole approximately 3 inches wide by 12 inches long in the frame of the passenger side of the vehicle, rendering it unsafe. The consumer stated despite his attempt to stop the illegal repair, a loophole in the NHTSA approved recall was taken advantage of by Honda via the service manager to use a bracket to partially cover the hole in the perforated rusted out frame and declare the vehicle repaired. However, the vehicle will not pass inspection.

- Warriors Mark, PA, USA

problem #12

Jan 062011

Passport

  • 107,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Honda Passport. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 10V436000 (suspension: Rear) and the vehicle was taken to the dealer for repairs. The contact was advised that the trail end bracket would be repaired under the recall but the excessive corrosion found on the frame would not. The manufacturer was contacted who advised the contact that the dealer should be able to repair the failure. The dealer advised that they were unable to repair the vehicle. The manufacturer offered to buy back the vehicle but the contact was not pleased with the offer and declined. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 107,000.

- North Providence, RI, USA

problem #11

Jan 012011

Passport 6-cyl

  • miles
2001 Honda Passport. Consumer states that the vehicle was deemed not repairable for recall PE09030. The consumer stated a recall was issued for the exact problem he has.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #10

Jan 212011

Passport 4WD 6-cyl

  • 164,155 miles
2001 Honda Passport - recall for suspension:rear. I currently have my Honda Passport at the local dealer, awaiting information on how long repair will take. I am extremely worried the "fix" offered may not keep my vehicle safe to operate.

- Hampton, MN, USA

problem #9

Jan 082011

Passport 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 98,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Honda Passport. The contact stated that recall campaign 10V436000 for the rear suspension should authorize the repair of the frame and not just the brackets. The contact stated the vehicle will not pass inspection with the repair and is concerned that the repair was not adequate to fix the problem. The failure and current mileages were 98,000. Updated 03/03/11

- Worriers Mark, PA, USA

problem #8

Jan 052011

Passport 4WD 6-cyl

  • 115,000 miles
Honda Passport recall rear suspension> Honda usa will not compensate fairly for any recalled vehicles deemed unsafe to drive or unable to repair. Not offering fair market value.

- Somerset, MA, USA

problem #7

Jan 012010

Passport

  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Honda Passport. The contact stated that he received recall notice (NHTSA campaign id number: 10V436000 suspension rear). The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection where the technicians stated that a bracket would be installed to the rear suspension. The contact stated the rear suspension and the frame were severally corroded and the bracket would not repair the problem. The technicians at the dealership stated that there was severe corrosion and sent photographs of the corrosion to the manufacturer. The vehicle was currently at the dealership awaiting a response from the manufacturer if additional repairs would be made to the vehicle. The dealer stated the vehicle could be driven until the manufacturer responded. The contact refused unless a letter was provided stating that the vehicle was safe to drive. The approximate failure mileage was 85,000.

- Mine Hill, NJ, USA

problem #6

Dec 262010

Passport

  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Honda Passport. The contact stated that he received a recall notice for recall 10V436000 (suspension: Rear). The contact moved to Florida and now the dealer would not honor the recall. The vehicle was repaired by a local mechanic. The manufacturer had not been notified. The failure mileage was approximately 110,000.

- Maples, FL, USA

problem #5

Sep 262010

Passport 6-cyl

  • 89,722 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Honda Passport. While driving approximately 10 mph, the vehicle drove over a bump in the road and the contact heard a loud cracking noise. The vehicle was taken to a local repair shop where the contact was informed that the rear frame had rusted. The contact called the dealer in reference to recall 10V436000 (suspension:rear) and was told that the vehicle was not included. The vehicle had not been repaired. The current and failure mileages were 89,722. Updated 01/03/11

- Saugus, MA, USA

problem #4

Aug 302010

Passport 6-cyl

  • 73,000 miles
My vehicle is a 2001 Honda Passport 4X4 V6 with 73,000 miles. The frame broke right where the bracket for one of the arms in the rear suspension connects. This caused me to lose control.

- Geneseo, NY, USA

Read the next 3 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?