Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
64,428 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Hyundai Genesis brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Hyundai Genesis:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Hyundai Genesis Owner Comments (Page 5 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #23

Sep 142013

Genesis 6-cyl

  • 27,000 miles


Driving about 40 mph, when I had to stop suddenly for the red light at the intersection, for some reason brakes was real soft. It was very clear that I wasn't able to stop the car as expected, checked all the fluids and brakes for any leaks. Everything looked normal but brake pedal still go all the way to the floor.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #22

Sep 092013

Genesis 6-cyl

  • 68,000 miles
While driving with family on day before father-in-laws funeral my brake pedal went to floor. After restarting several times same thing experienced. No fault codes seen read many online forum posts with same problems. Braking power reduced by approx 70%. scary to drive car now. This should be recalled. All posts point to ABS unit failure. Dealer called for and did tsb change to high temp brake fluid at last service. Related to attempt and prevent this?? could very well be. Please help.

- Santa Clarita, CA, USA

problem #21

Aug 302013

Genesis 8-cyl

  • 26,972 miles
This is the second time brake lights failed. No indication to driver. Almost caused an accident. Same diode package replaced as the first failure reported less than a year ago and 5 K miles. Updated 10/22/13 the consumer statedall brake lights fail including the right, left and center.

- Fleming Island, FL, USA

problem #20

Sep 272012


  • 22,142 miles


All brake lights failed no indication to operator

- Fleming Island, FL, USA

problem #19

Sep 042013

Genesis 8-cyl

  • 71,000 miles
Had to apply brakes suddenly, car stopped as normal/expected. After this instance, the brake pedal has been exceptionally soft, often traveling all the way to the floor prior to any stopping power. The fluid level is normal, brake pads are good.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #18

Jun 032013

Genesis 8-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
I was heading to work and when I pressed the brake pedal it hit the floor and the car didn't stopped so I am intermediately pressed the park pedal and my car started spin on the street.

- Champions Gate, FL, USA

problem #17

Aug 272013


  • 62,480 miles


My wife was coming back home from dropping off the kids at school, when traffic was coming to a stop in front of her. When she tried to apply the brakes, the brake pedal went to the floor with almost no resistance. Fortunately, she was able to stop before she hit the other stopped cars. The dealer has informed me that the ABS module has failed on the car. From looking at this site, I am not the first driver with this problem. Seems to me that Hyundai got a bad batch of ABS modules. I would appreciate if nthsb could correlate the VIN numbers of those reporting this problem to see if there is a pattern of close vins. Hyundai should make this right as this is a major safety issue. There was no warning or indication of anything wrong with the brakes until they just suddenly failed to operate. The dealer has confirmed to me that there was absolutely no preventative maintenance or service that I could have or should have done to prevent this from happening. Looking through the entries of similar problems at NHTSA and reading through the entries at, I am surprised that no one has died from this issue yet.

- Spring, TX, USA

problem #16

Jul 092013

Genesis 6-cyl

  • 84,010 miles
I was driving at about 35 mph when I had to slow down due to vehicle slowing in from of me. I placed my foot on the brake pedal. The brake pedal went to the floor, so I began pumping to see if the brakes would respond. The brake pedal responded with an increase resistance and I was able to slow down. Shortly after the brakes responded normally. A few days later my wife had a similar problem with the brake pedal when pressure was applied.

- Troy, OH, USA

problem #15

Jun 292013

Genesis 6-cyl

  • 76,000 miles
Had to brake hard to avoid debris on hwy exit. Following that the brake pedal began to intermittently fade noticeably. Within 2 weeks it became a chronic issue. Had the brake fluid flushed and replace. No better, had brakes replaced, no better, had the master cylinder and booster replaced, and again no better. I have spent several hundred to resolve this problem. Recently read an on-line forum where many Genesis owners are reporting similar problems with similar problems narrowing it down. The consensus appears to be that the ABS controller is faulty and at a cost of almost $3000 to repair. This is totally unsatisfactory! it isn't just the outrageous cost, but a safety item should not fail as frequently as they appear to be and not on a car that is still relatively "new".

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #14

Jun 032013

Genesis 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
I seriously hope people don't have to die before this car is recalled for brake failure problems. I am having an issue with my 2009 Genesis where all of the sudden the brake pedal becomes very soft and goes all the way to the floor. I initially thought this was a one-time fluke. Well now the brake pedal has occasionally goes all the way to the floor without any pressure being applied to brake system. The best way I can describe the problem is the brakes are good and then they are bad on the next application. No warning lights, no gradual deterioration, just instant no brakes. Pumping seems to improve the brakes slightly but they rapidly faded when held. No brake fluid leak is observed and brake fluid level is full. From what I am reading this is not a sporadic problem if you look at how many of us this is happening to!!! I pray this Hyundai problem does not end up in a serious accident and someone being killed. This car is completely unpredictable and unreliable. The brakes work fine until they decide not to work. This is some scary stuff.

- Atascocita, TX, USA

problem #13

Jul 112013

Genesis 6-cyl

  • 85,167 miles


Last week I was driving my 2009 Genesis without any prior incidents or notification, the brakes went out. The car did not stop and it only stopped when I bumped the brakes and pushed the pedal all the way to the floor. Luckily, no car was coming the other direction as the car finally stopped half way in the intersection. The vehicle was taken to the dealership and they advised me the vehicles ABS module system failed, not covered under warranty. The cost to replace this part is very expensive. Im very afraid to drive my vehicle. Apparently, Hyundai has known about this issue since July 2012. This is a huge safety issue.

- Hamitlon, OH, USA

problem #12

Jul 022013

Genesis 8-cyl

  • 58,000 miles
Approaching a red light, pressed the brakes, peddle went soft (no pressure). The car did not stop immediately, only slowed down. Luckily, I allowed much space in front of me to slow the vehicle to a stop. Immediately took the car to a dealership, they state they can not duplicate. This vehicle has a problem with the ABS hydraulic module from what I have read from other owners who have had this problem fixed under warranty. I am one of the unlucky many whose local dealership will not acknowledge that this repair is necessary. I pray that this problem does not cause a loss of life, however am concerned it might.

- Garden City, NY, USA

problem #11

Jul 022013

Genesis 6-cyl

  • 78,127 miles
Brake pedal went to the floor when approaching an intersection. Vehicle was unable to stop immediately. Loss of braking.

- Oregon, OH, USA

problem #10

Mar 012013

Genesis 8-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
Without any prior incidents or probable causes, the brakes suddenly went "soft", as in the pedal went to the floor and the brakes were practically ineffective. This has happened intermittently since, and from research done online, this appears to be a problem with the ABS brake module, yet Hyundai dealers that I have approached about the problem are unaware that this is fairly common, and are reluctant to replace this rather expensive component without toying around with other perceived "fixes", such as replacing the brake fluid and/or the master cylinder.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #9

May 192013

Genesis 6-cyl

  • 61,500 miles
Well I had another incident with my 2009 Hyundai Genesis" braking system, again.I had to pick up one of our daughters from work Saturday night. As I was driving, I stepped on the brake pedal to slow down to enter the parking lot, and the brake pedal hit the floor and the vehicle would not stop. Since it was midnight, there was not a lot of traffic, which allowed me the time to step on the brake pedal repeatedly until the brake pedal engaged. I called my dealership Sunday morning and they had it towed in, again. Now I have to wait and see what they find. Last time they couldn't duplicate the problem and returned the vehicle to us the same way it went in. In addition, they said Hyundai usa's policy is to not replace anything unless they can duplicate the problem. We also have the extended warranty and that was of no use. Hyundai usa contacted me because of a comment I left on their facebook account. Hyundai usa said they did an inquiry with my dealership after the first incident and insured me the car was safe to drive. Hyundai usa said they would be putting in for their own ?investigation? and that it would take 6-8 weeks. In the meantime, I have to drive a vehicle which is clearly not safe. I cannot understand why it is Hyundai usa has to do their own investigation. Is the dealership not competent? do they know something the dealership does not? how can it possibly take 6-8 to weeks? are there that many mechanical issues and complaints being investigated all at once? shouldn't a braking, or stopping, issue be addressed at the top of the complaint list? I don't feel like someone needs to be injured or killed in order to get someone to repair the car. Something needs to be done. After reading multiple comments on-line about the 2009 Genesis" braking problems, I would have purchased another model or year. Very dissatisfied with Hyundai, [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Coconut Creek, FL, USA

problem #8

May 032013

Genesis 6-cyl

  • 61,000 miles
Last week I was driving my car thank god just around town and not on the highway like I am usually or with my children in the car, on a very sunny day with no wet roads in South Florida as I approached a red light with cars stopped at the light in both lanes, I pressed down on the brakes and to my surprise the brake pedal hit the floor. I was going about 30 mph I was in panic mode as I started pumping the brakes and nothing. I started slowing down only because I was so far behind the other cars when I had taken my foot off the gas pedal. Well I stopped unfortunately only because the car in front of me stopped me. There was not much damage to my car and the car was drivable. I had it towed because I was afraid to drive it to the dealership, where they could check it out and fix the problem. That was 4:30 pm on Friday the service agent said they would not be able to check it till the am. On Saturday at 8:55 am the dealerships got back to me and guess what they couldn't duplicate the problem, so the service agent told me he had drained the brakes and bled the lines and changed the brake fluid to dot 4 and the car was ready to pick up. I told him he was going to have to speak to my husband because I felt he was being very condescending and short with me. My husband spoke with him and he agreed he wouldn't want his wife driving the car either, so his recommendation was to leave the car and have the manager drive the car for the remainder of the weekend to see if he could duplicate the problem. Well on Monday afternoon we got a call and were told to come pick the car up as they could not duplicate the problem and couldn't replace any part without duplicating the malfunction. We now have the car back in our possession. We truly are dissatisfied with how coconut creek Hyundai has handled our situation and worse yet have a car we feel is unsafe to be driving.

- Coconut Creek, FL, USA

problem #7

Mar 302011

Genesis 8-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
The brake pedal goes to the floor when stopping the car. Once stopped you have tp pump the brakes to keep the car from moving forward. The Hyundai dealer indicated that this was an ABS failure and he has replaced many units already.. my car is out of warranty. I went on to the Hyundai owners forum for the Genesis and this has happened alot to these cars. Hyundai has replaced these ABS units when the car was out of warranty. This is a safety issue and a failure to warn owners of a continuing problem.

- Naples, FL, USA

problem #6

Feb 162013

Genesis 6-cyl

  • 40,055 miles
On several occasions since 2/16/13 I have been having intermittent problems of brake pedal gradually going down to the floor at a stop light or while waiting at a stop light the brakes would gradually lose pressure and the car would start creeping forward. This has been occurring whether I am driving 30 mph on residential streets or 70 mph on highway (which I stopped doing!). my husband also drives the car and experienced the same issues. After pumping the brakes, I was finally able to stop. Driving in inclement weather has been almost hazardous. Car taken back to dealer (March 7, 2013), had part replaced, picked up car on March 8, 2013 and had to take the car back the very next morning, March 9, 2013, and the problem was worse than when it was taken in the first time. When this started happening, I was very afraid of having an accident, especially when I never could tell if my brakes would hold with just a simple stop light. I have spoken with other Genesis 2009 owners and found out that this problems as been occurring since July 2012 and Hyundai has been made aware of this problem and certain dealers are not handling the repairs in a customer friendly way, especially since is definitely a safety issue.

- Windsor Mill, MD, USA

problem #5

Feb 052013

Genesis 6-cyl

  • 59,000 miles
After sudden deceleration, brake pedal went soft. Brakes continued to operate but less predictably. Initial repair of brake booster worked for a week or so, then failed. Replacement of ABS module seems to have fixed the problem. All work done under warranty.

- Jupiter, FL, USA

problem #4

Feb 012013

Genesis 8-cyl

  • 62,930 miles
I was traveling on the on ramp of interstate I20 @ 45 mph, applied the brakes and nothing happened except that the pedal went right to the floor, 7 miles later on the exit ramp at about 70 mph exactly the same thing happened again, took the car to the dealer that evening after work. They told me the master brake cylinder had failed and because my mileage was 2,930 over the 60K limit it would not be a warranty repair. I said "are you kidding me?, you must call hna this is a serious problem". they must have because they repaired it "one time good will for customer satisfaction". my confidence in this brand has gone away, this should be a recall.

- Martinez, GA, USA

Read the next 3 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?