Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
76,802 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Hyundai Santa Fe brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Hyundai Santa Fe:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Hyundai Santa Fe Owner Comments (Page 3 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #9

Dec 092011

Santa Fe

  • 75,000 miles


ESC off light is illuminated when vehicle is not in park, and check engine light is illuminated. Brake lights don't work (seem to be always on). I got the problem code from the vehicle, did some research, and found Hyundai campaign 092 covered these conditions caused by a faulty stop lamp switch. I contacted Hyundai, and they informed me my vehicle was manufactured (July 2006) prior to the recall date range (which started in Oct 2006), and would not be replaced without charge by a dealer. This is the same problem as was covered in the recall, and Hyundai should be liable to fix it!

- Marion, IA, USA

problem #8

Dec 122011

Santa Fe

  • 68,000 miles
ESC off indicator stays illuminated problem: No brake lights. Dealership states my vehicle is outside the manufacture date range included in the tsb campaign # 092 / 09-01-018 and will not replace the stop lamp switch under warranty. (my Santa Fe was manufactured in June 2007). Approx. $75 replacement cost for a known issue. According to online forums this problem is not limited to the manufacture dates indicated in the tsb. This is a serious safety issue; one that I would have hoped Hyundai would take more seriously.

- Ozark, MO, USA

problem #7

Oct 032011

Santa Fe

  • 73,998 miles
Stop lamp switch replaced without any problem noted on 28 Oct 2009 by dealer under recall. 3 October 2011 the electronic stability control off switch illuminates and dealer replaces stop lamp switch and charges $71. Hyundai states these are valid charges on this recalled item since it was already replaced once.

- Clayton, NC, USA

problem #6

Jun 012010

Santa Fe 6-cyl

  • miles


My ESC light comes on and goes off intermittently while driving, this has been happening for probably the past year. I have never noticed any effect on the performance of the vehicle and since I didn't know what ESC was I did not pay it a great deal of attention to it. My passenger air bag light also does this "coming on and going off thing" so I assumed it was a weird dash light glitch. About 4 months ago vehicle started having electrical problems (power door locks sometimes stop working). Finally today I noticed my rear brake lights were not coming on... obviously I was very concerned and called Hyundai to find out if there were any recalls. Hyundai gave me a case # but said my vehicle is not covered under current recall, so I am not sure if anything is wrong?

- Kingwood, TX, USA

problem #5

Aug 012011

Santa Fe

  • 72,500 miles
On my 2007 Hyundai sante fe: Check engine light is on. ESC off light is on. Cruise control has stopped working. I have found that there is a NHTSA action #peo9003 and also a NHTSA recall campaign number 09V122000 to replace the stop lamp switch which causes these malfunctions.. in a letter from Hyundai motor America (campaign 092/ 09-01-018) dated Jun 2009, it states that these malfunctions may lead to a crash. Yet, when I took my car to the Hyundai dealer they refused to replace the stop lamp switch at no charge to me as stated in the letter. The Hyundai technical service bulletin states that dealers must perform this campaign on all affected vehicles whenever an affected vehicle is in the shop for any maintenance or repair. I have had my vehicle in the shop several times for unrelated issues since 2009 but this repair was never mentioned, offered or performed. I feel that I am driving an unsafe vehicle and Hyundai is avoiding a major safety issue.

- Gilbert, AZ, USA

problem #4

Apr 222010

Santa Fe

  • miles
My 2007 Santa Fe was purchased used in 2010. The first day I had it, it gave me the problem. Every so often, I never know when it'll happen, the front tires kind of lock up with a grinding sound and the car violently jars to the right. All the while, the ESC light is flashing. It is very scary and I'm afraid may cause an accident eventually. We have tried driving it with the ESC turned off and it did not help. I brought it to the dealership and they could not fix anything. I later called them when it kept happening and they told me it was just "a burp" and they wouldn't be able to detect it unless it happened while hooked up to their computer, which of course is impossible. Not much later, with only 3 of my 6 six years up and only about half of my covered mileage used, the dealership sent me a letter telling me my warranty was expired. I have recently had two mechanics check it out and they cannot fix it. I do not trust this car and would give anything to go back in time and purchase an american car instead!!

- Spring Hill, FL, USA

problem #3

May 232011

Santa Fe 6-cyl

  • 46,500 miles


The electronic stability control (ESC) on my 2007 Hyundai Santa Fe SE shuts off while driving. It cannot be forced back on my either pushing the on/off switch or stopping the car, shutting off the engine, and restarting. This has happened approximately six times over the last year. The problem was first noticed when the vehicle had approximately 20,000 miles on it and is now happening more frequently at 46000 miles. The dealer cannot determine the cause.

- Linn Creek, MO, USA

problem #2

Jul 192010

Santa Fe

  • 58,900 miles
2007 Hyundai Santa Fe - May 27, 2010 I was driving on the interstate at 65mph when the passenger rear wheel locked up causing the car to fishtale - as I moved over in to the slow lane, it fishtaled again. The dealer it was towed to said it was the yaw sensor which they replaced. I informed them at that time that the ecs off light had been coming on to which they replied it had nothing to do with the yaw sensor I called the week of July 4th to let the dealer know that the ecs off light came on again - they informed me that this has been a problem for many Santa Fe's and they needed me to come down (150+ miles one way) to hook it up to see what the code tells them. On July 19, 2010 driving 75mph on the interstate, both rear wheels locked up and there were no brakes. This car is a danger to my life!

- Edwards, CO, USA

problem #1

Oct 132008

Santa Fe

  • 16,158 miles
We bought a brand new 2007 Hyundai Santa Fe on 8/20/07. The "ESC off" light intermittently illuminates on the dashboard. The first time I took it to the dealer for the problem was at 765 miles on 9/13/07. A special part was ordered per the repair order. The next time I took it to the dealer for the same problem was on 10/4/07 at 1863 miles. On 9/4/08 at 14721 miles, it happened again. This time I had an incident right near the dealer where the car lurched forward and pulled to the right. Thankfully I did not have an accident. The repair order states the dealer could not duplicate customer concern. On 10/2/08, at 15462 miles, I again took the car to the dealer to have the car looked at for the same problem, the "ESC off" light illuminating on the dash. The repair order states a "tab broken?" on 10/13/08, I was driving down I-95 in cherry hill, NJ (125 miles from home) when the "ESC off" light came on again. The car again made a scraping noise under the engine. The car suddenly lurched forward again. I was able to pull to the side of the road. I turned the car off, turned it back on and pulled onto the highway again. The same thing happened. It was towed to burns Hyundai in cherry hill. The service manager said it was a broken yaw ring. After that it seemed fine for a while but within the last several weeks, the "ESC off" light has come on intermittently at miles 17697, 18948, 19292 and 20076. I haven't had the dragging sound under the hood; however, I don't understand why this problem hasn't been able to be fixed. If you can help me to resolve this problem, I would greatly appreciate it.

- Westminster, MD, USA

Not what you are looking for?