Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
6,919 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Hyundai Santa Fe electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Hyundai Santa Fe:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Hyundai Santa Fe Owner Comments

problem #8

Oct 112016

Santa Fe

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driver's seat lurches forward and backwards at random times while driving. This happens regardless of speed, brake/ acceleration/ cruise control, type of road, direction or movement etc. Often times while the car is parked or in motion, the seat will not move at all in any direction. Also, the ABS, traction control, and downhill light have all been turning on and off at random, and, while parked and without provocation, my speedometer needle began jumping. Less important, the driver's seat A/C does not work consistently which leads me to believe this is an electrical malfunction, however, the multiple times I have taken this vehicle into the "service center", the mechanics said they could not recreate the problem and sent my broken car home, so the official reason is unknown. I am only 5'2" so this has caused me considerable problems with suddenly not being able to reach the pedals, and has almost resulted in numerous accidents.

- Denton, TX, USA

problem #7

Jun 212016

Santa Fe

  • 10,000 miles
Hyundai and other mfg are using edible coating on wiring harness and creating a hazard for fire and loss of control because rodents are eating the wire my Santa Fe wiring was eaten and I lost my whole electrical entertainment sysrem.deallers know about problem and has been for years but does nothing. Your online system has over 16 reported problems some serious. The fix is simple wrap harness in editable wrapping. NHTSA going to wait until a car loses control and kills somebody. Check car forums this is a well known problem for Ford Toyota Hyundai Lexus Honda

- Colchester, CT, USA

problem #6

Oct 252014

Santa Fe

  • 11,922 miles
2014 Hyundai Santa Fe sport, less then 12,000 miles purchased new 5/10/14. At less then 2000 miles discovered no coolant in reservoir. 6 weeks after delivery back up camera replaced. On 10/18/2014 while shifting into reverse extreme loud noise in front of hood on driver side, navigation system goes black simultaneously. Cochran advised safe to drive cannot service car until 10/29/2014. Saturday 10/25/2014 while in park with engine off and no one in auto it rolls back causing over $6000 in damages. After 15 months, Hyundai expert mechanics insist auto is mechanically safe but cannot explain the loud noise this is the second filing on this car.

- Irwin, PA, USA

problem #5

Oct 252014

Santa Fe

  • 11,922 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2014 Hyundai Santa Fe sport, less then 12,000 miles purchased new 5/10/14. At less then 2000 miles discovered no coolant in reservoir. 6 weeks after delivery back up camera replaced. On 10/18/2014 while shifting into reverse extreme loud noise in front of hood on driver side, navigation system goes black simultaneously. Cochran advised safe to drive cannot service car until 10/29/2014. Saturday 10/25/2014 while in park with engine off and no one in auto it rolls back causing over $6000 in damages. After 15 months, Hyundai expert mechanics insist auto is mechanically safe but cannot explain the loud noise this is the second filing on this car.

- Irwin, PA, USA

problem #4

Jun 202015

Santa Fe

  • 3,670 miles
6/20/2015 backed out of stall at costco, marysville, wa. Immediately loss of power steering and three alerts came on. There are known issues with this happening. Brand new car www.Hyundai-forums.com/dm-2013-santa-fe/303441-2013-santa-fe-XL-power-steering-problem.html will have to have car towed. Not safe to drive 3 alerts 1. ESC malfunction 2. downhill braking 3. sport mode......updated 10/20/15

- Arlington, WA, USA

problem #3

Jan 052015

Santa Fe

  • 3,900 miles
This is not a safety issue but rather a design issue that could lead to problems starting the vehicle. The key fob is designed such that a very slight amount of pressure on a button can remove the entire electronic portion of the key inadvertently. If this is done on accident and the electronic portion of the key cannot be found then the car will not start. Contrary to most key fob designs, where the metal key (valet) portion flips out from the body or has to be removed using some force, the key fob on the new Santa Fe will detach without almost any force. I have already lost a fob at a cost of $280 to me and the key has become detached multiple times in pockets and around the house without hardly any force. I believe this is a design issue and consumer protection issue that needs to be addressed. It seems Hyundai designed this part for the sole goal of increasing replacement key fob sales.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #2

Dec 062014

Santa Fe

  • 2,015 miles
Blind spot detection stop working while driving and the driver screen said bsd canceled. I parked the car stop the engine and after restarting the bsd started to working again.

- Hialeah, FL, USA

problem #1

Oct 252013

Santa Fe 4-cyl

  • 11,922 miles
Hyundai Santa Fe sport. Can start/stop engine in various gear including reverse. Purchased April 10, 2014. After driving my new Hyundai for a week or so, decided to wash it. My habit is to wipe out the hatch and under the hood. Upon opening the hood discovered no coolant in reservoir. Evident there never was any from the factory. Month later replaced back-up camera. 5 months later shifted to reverse navigation system went totally black. Couldn't get service appointment until week and half later. One week to date, after navigation blacked-out while in park and no one inside auto drifted back. Vehicle was damaged. Found Hyundai Santa Fe can start or stop in various gear including reverse which is dangerous. I could never feel safe driving the auto again. Filed complaint with Hyundai motor America eating for resolution.

- Irwin, PA, USA

Not what you are looking for?