Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
110,539 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Hyundai Sonata suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Hyundai Sonata:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Hyundai Sonata Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #23

Jan 022013

Sonata 4-cyl Diesel

  • 127,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The right side sub-frame of my 02 Hyundai Sonata we just found out has rusted through and the lower control arm has separated causing the axle to pop out, this happened as I was driving and almost caused a wreck...the car is very well maintained and even though it was once in a northern state (that's where I bought it..in S.Dakota) I do not think this uneven rusting of the subframe is normal. I checked and found that there was actually a recall of this vehicle for the exact this same reason, I called Hyundai and the representative lied to my ear that it was not covered by that recall and that I should take to the Hyundai dealership and pay for the repair myself. This is unconscionable and shouldn't be so. I wish I can get some help.

- Birmingham, AL, USA

problem #22

Jan 152013

Sonata

  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that while having the vehicle serviced, it was found that the sub frame was rusted. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and informed the contact that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 09V124000 (suspension). The failure mileage was 85,000.

- Fairfax, VA, USA

problem #21

Jan 142013

Sonata

  • 125,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that while driving approximately 20 mph, the front passenger tire started to wobble. The contact was able to be move off the roadway and the vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic. The mechanic advised him that the sub frame was fractured due to corrosion and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and advised him that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 09V124000 (suspension). The failure and current mileages were approximately 125,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Red Oak, IA, USA

problem #20

Jan 022013

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 130,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Our son who was driving our Hyundai 2002 Sonata noticed that the steering wheel was loose and it felt like the car was pulling and needed an alignment. We took it in to have an alignment and the mechanic called us and told us they were unable to do an alignment and that the problem was much more serious than that; they told us that the cradle rusted through and that it was unsafe to drive. Because of this it also did damage to the tires. We now have a vehicle that is unable to be driven because it is not safe. I shutter every time I think what may have happened to him or his friends if he had been on the road or god forbid driving down the interstate. We live in a state where snow is a part of our lives; we always worry about driving on snow and ice but we should not also have to worry that our vehicle's cradle will rust through potentially causing harm or even death.

- Tea, SD, USA

problem #19

Jul 302012

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 165,000 miles
My son was driving the vehicle at 45 mph and heard a loud pop in the right front end of the vehicle and immediately afterwards the vehicle veered of to the right and on to the side of the road he was able to maintain control somewhat but if there had been pedestrians in that area I am not sure there would have not been serious consequences, the car was driven slowly to the nearest Hyundai dealer for assessment and after assessment the dealer stated that the sub-frame has rusted out to the point that the right front wheel could become detached thereby possibly causing a potential catastrophic failure or loss of control of the vehicle and unknown consequences, dealer has submitted information to Hyundai Corp, the vehicle has an active recall on this particular safety defect. Recall #089 issued in April 2008. We are awaiting Hyundai response as to the status of our recall request as of 08/01/12.

- Conway, SC, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #18

Jul 022012

Sonata 6-cyl

  • miles
2002 Hyundai Sonata. Consumer writes in regards to corrosion and rusting of the sub frame recall. The consumer stated the vehicle was originally purchased in Illinois. However, she purchased the vehicle used in Kentucky, which is not one of the recalled states. Hyundai customer service informed the consumer her vehicle was not included in the recall, due to the production date. The consumer believed the vehicle should be included in the recall, as she has pictures showing the corrosion and rusting of the sub-frame, which has since rendered the vehicle inoperable. According to a local repair shop, the vehicle has rusted all the way through the sub-frame on the passenger side, which is why the vehicle could not be aligned and caused such horrible wear on the right side tire after months of purchasing them. Updated 08/15/12

- Shelbyville, KY, USA

problem #17

Mar 132012

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 122,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My wife was driving home from work on a county road doing approx. 45 mph. The front right tire suddenly tilted 50 degrees inward and she lost control of the auto. After nearly missing a telephone pole, she plowed into a corn field and came to a sudden stop. She suffered a sprained wrist from steering wheel "whip" and bruised her knee in the accident. Upon examination by the mechanic, he found that the a frame on the right side had broke in half. The metal in the frame had rusted from the inside out making it difficult to see by previous under-carriage repairs, such as tire change, oil change etc. The car has had superb maintenance throughout its history and has been bought and sold within the same family since being bought new by the son in 2002. We love the car and have enjoyed the 123,000 miles of driving but are very disappointed with Hyundai because we have no record of ever receiving a recall on this vehicle. Hyundai has decided to repair the vehicle free of charge but has not said whether they will repair the body damage or the transmission if damaged from the incident. We could not get move the shifter after the incident.

- Saint Paul, IN, USA

problem #16

Feb 222012

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 104,000 miles
2002 Hyundai Sonata failed at 6 mph turning a city street corner. The axle and ball joint fell off, taking the right front wheel with it. This car was 'repaired' a few years earlier when it was recalled for undercarriage rust. They sprayed a rubberized coating on the undercarriage, and told me I was good to go! we all know, there is no way to stop rust.

- Bloomington, IN, USA

problem #15

Feb 142012

Sonata

  • 155,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Hyundai Sonata. While driving approximately 15 mph, the vehicle unexpectedly came to a complete stop after a loud noise emitted outside of the vehicle. The contact inspected the vehicle and noticed the front driver's side collapsed with the tire positioned outwardly. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic who stated the sub frame and lower control arm needed to be replaced. The mechanic recommended the vehicle be repaired by an authorized dealer. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing and to be repaired. There was a NHTSA recall campaign id number, 09V124000 (suspension); however the part was unavailable and the consequence occurred while waiting for the part. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 155,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Louisville , KY, USA

problem #14

Nov 072011

Sonata

  • 101,978 miles
Monday, 11-07-11, right front tire blew out while driving 45 mph. The inside inch of tread and sidewall of the tire had extreme wear down to the metal wires. This condition was not observable from the front or side of the car. The remaining tread showed normal wear. The left tire shows some of the same abnormal wear pattern as the right, leaving me to believe there was an alignment problem. Tuesday, 11-09-11, replaced front right tire. Wednesday, 11-10-11, scheduled an alignment with Firestone complete auto care. However, after examining the vehicle, I was told by their mechanic that the front right frame was cracked and separating, and the car was not safe to drive. Contacted myrtle beach Hyundai (mbh)to explain problem, and to schedule a service appointment. Thursday, 11-11-11, mbh confirmed that the frame is cracked and separating. Told us that it would be replaced at no cost to us because of a recall, and that currently the car is not drivable. However, we were told that a new replacement frame part would not be available until the end of next week. Also, we would have to pay for any associated parts to replace the broken frame, such as bolts, bushings, and etc. If they needed to be replaced. Furthermore, we were told that mbh would not provide us with a loaner vehicle during this recall repairs, and we would have to rent a vehicle for at least a week. We are on extended vacation at myrtle beach, SC and only have this car as our only means of transportation. Rented a car from enterprise rent-A-car for the week at $156.99 plus taxes, etc. If car rental is necessary longer than the week, the cost is $29.99 plus taxes, etc. Per day. In conclusion, the recall remedy of this potentially serious situation, as may be stated to be "free or no charge" to the vehicle owner, it is not inclusive of all the related expenses associated with the repairs.

- Ashtabula, OH, USA

problem #13

Sep 102010

Sonata

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Hyundai Sonata. While driving approximate 65 mph and attempting a turn, the contact heard an unusual scraping from the front passenger side tire. The vehicle was taken to a local repair facility where the mechanic advised that the under carriage of the vehicle had rotted. The contact located NHTSA campaign id number: 09V124000 (suspension) but was advised by the manufacturer that because the contact resided in South Carolina, the recall would not be honored because it was not a salt belt state. The contact stated that the vehicle was purchased used in Ohio which according to the recall, was a state in which the recall would be honored. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was unknown.

- Loris, SC, USA

problem #12

Jul 152010

Sonata

  • 98,000 miles
My 2002 Hyundai Sonata gls, originally purchased in New York and now registered in Florida, right front sub-frame is severely rusted, cracked and now almost gone. Steering is extremely erratic and suspension sagging drastically on right wheel. Vehicle is extremely unsafe to drive. NHTSA campaign id: 09V124000 summary covers this vehicle, however Hyundai says this VIN ([xxx]) is not covered by recall no. 089 and could not explain why. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Navarre, FL, USA

problem #11

Apr 212010

(reported on)

Sonata

  • miles
2002 Hyundai Sonata. Having problem putting fuel in the vehicle the consumer stated it seemed as though the pressure valve was not opening correctly when fuel was added. Also, last fall the consumer noticed the front right tire was leaning in and he thought it was a broken tie rod, but when he took the vehicle to a mechanic, he was told the sub frame of the vehicle had rusted through. The consumer learned there was a recall for the exact same problem. The consumer stated he never received a recall notice.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #10

Jan 282010

Sonata

  • 142,816 miles
1. hit a pothole, day or two later noticed car was pulling to the right and making noise when turning. Took it to a mechanic because I thought it needed an alignment 2. mechanic noticed large hole (2"+ diameter) with significant cracking in the right side subframe behind the wheel by lower control arm 3. attempting to contact Hyundai motor America.

- Wendell, NC, USA

problem #9

Jan 182010

Sonata

  • 91,590 miles
On Monday evening 01/18/2010 my wife and I left our home with our 2002 Hyundai Sonata we drove no more then 3 tenths of a mile when the steering wheel starting pulling very hard to the right we then turned around and drove back toward home but only made it about 2 tenths of a mile before the front right wheel collapsed bringing us to a dead stop in the middle of the road. Thankfully we were only going about 20-25 mph the police were called for traffic and the car was towed to R.J shore automotive branford ct 06405 the next morning the owner of R.J.auto informed me that my front engine sub-frame had failed due to corrosion, and showed me a print-out of a recall from Hyundai dated April 14, 2009 then stated he called the Hyundai dealer in branford ct 06405 but the dealer refused to pick up the car so I had to pay $81.41 to have the car towed to branford Hyundai. The staff at the Hyundai had no answers and continued to state you will have to call the corporate office, so I did. The employee chris stated that there were 200.000 vehicles involved in this recall campaign #089 or #09V124000 and we have not mailed out all of the notices (shame on them because it's been almost a year and if we were on the highway we could have died) the employee then called the branford Hyundai and was told that the car would take 1 or 2 weeks to fix and no loaner or rental vehicle will be provided I said that is unacceptable and demanded a loaner still the answer was no but somehow they managed to fix my car on 01/20/2010 when I picked my vehicle up at 420pm on 01/20/2010 my wife and I were not allowed to view what was repaired and was told that they bent over backwards to fix this car quickly because of my call to Hyundai corporate I stated (bent over backwards, someone could have died, from this accident) the manager bob guevera, and a chris vailette then called the police and told us to never come back again, to have the corporate office fix my car next time.

- Branford, CT, USA

problem #8

Dec 282009

Sonata 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 73,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Hyundai Sonata. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for routine maintenance. The technician detected that the sub-frame exhibited excessive rust corrosion. The contact experienced the identical failures as recall NHTSA campaign id number 09V124000, suspension; however, the VIN was excluded from the recall. The vehicle has not been repaired at this time. There was concern of the safety risk involved. The failure mileage was 73,000 and the current mileage was 74,031. Updated 02/03/10 updated 02/11/10.

- North Port , FL, USA

problem #7

Aug 202009

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that the vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for a recall remedy repair under NHTSA campaign id number 09V124000 (suspension). The subframe had excessive damages and corrosion. During the recall service repair the technician detected the front lower control arms exhibited severe rust corrosion. The vehicle has not been repaired at this time for the defect. The failure mileage was 130,000. The current mileage was 133,000. Updated 03/14/10 updated 05/06/10.

- Pittsfield, MA, USA

problem #6

Sep 222009

Sonata

  • 141,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Hyundai Sonata. There was a hole in her undercarriage due to corrosion. She took the vehicle to be inspected because her tires were not properly aligned. She called the manufacturer and was advised to take her vehicle to a dealership. She went to the dealership and was advised that her vehicle identification number was excluded from recall # 09V124000 (suspension). No repairs were made. The current and failure mileages were approximately 141,000. Updated 01/06/10 updated 01/07/10.

- Newport News, VA, USA

problem #5

May 282009

Sonata

  • 35,000 miles
All four original equipment struts factory installed on a 2002 Hyundai Sonata 4 cylinder, have failed. Vehicle has 51,000 miles and the struts have not been doing their job for 15000 miles. When looked into, at the dealership (vehicle has extended warranty) the dealerships position is they will not replace the struts unless they are leaking. And if 1 was leaking they would only replace that one strut.... have the same issue with a 2004 Hyundai Santa Fe 2.7 AWD vehicle also. That vehicle has 79,000 miles and have the same drivibilty condition. And was told the same exact thing about the dealership/ manufacturer's position.

- Oceanside, NY, USA

problem #4

Oct 262009

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 117,049 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Hyundai Sonata. While making a right turn at 5 mph he noticed a loud popping sound from under the vehicle. After examining the vehicle he noticed that the outer arm assembly had separated from the passenger side tire. 5 days prior, recall campaign id number# 09V124000 was performed on his vehicle. After the repair the steering wheel had became more difficult to steer. The vehicle has not been diagnosed by the dealership. The current and failure mileages were 117049. Updated 3/30/2010 updated 05/05/10.

- Pickerington, OH, USA

Read the next 3 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?