Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

1.9

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
86,046 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Hyundai Sonata engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Hyundai Sonata:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Hyundai Sonata Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #31

Oct 142016

Sonata

  • 87,260 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My wife and I purchased the vehicle on 10/11/2016 at J.D. byrider of mansfield and noticed that there was a clicking type sound when starting vehicle. On 10/14/2016 while my wife was leaving work she went to turn the vehicle and it was very hard but managed to get home and woke me up, I then went out and viewed that the serpentine belt was very loose and that there was a pulley laying by the engine; jd byrider fixed the issue of pulley and belt; after we received the vehicle back we noticed that the clicking type noise was still there.

- Mansfield, OH, USA

problem #30

Aug 022016

Sonata

  • 50,000 miles
Purchased this Sonata used 3 months ago with 45,800 miles on it, drove it 4,000 miles and it developed a engine ticking noise which now has turned into a knocking sound at 1800 rpms goes away, then comes back at 2200 rpms. I contacted Hyundai customer service to establish a case number. The dealer has removed the oil pan and found shavings saying it needs a "short block" motor replacement at a cost of $5,800. Hyundai motor America denied the request for repair totally. I find that at 50,000 miles and being only the second owner, this motor had a defect that should be acknowledged as a defect and they should stand behind there product! this is my third Hyundai, new 2005 and new 2007 and I'm seriously in the market for a new SUV but if Hyundai won't stand behind a costly defect like this they will loose a 10 year very loyal customer forever.

- Brooklyn Park, MN, USA

problem #29

Jul 142016

Sonata

  • 32,564 miles
While driving, the damper pulley seperates and the power steering fails along with the water pump and the alternator. This damper as it is called is a device that drives all the belt powered devices on the engine. I asked the dealer if there was a recall on this and the reply was no. How can a power steering failure not be a recall? when you are turning and the power steering fails I would say the majority of drivers would not be able to steer the vehicle out of this situation. Look online and view all the places that list this problem. This is a big safety issue the vehicle steers very hard and is difficult to control.

- Fond Du Lac, WI, USA

problem #28

Dec 162015

Sonata

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When I start up my car my car sounds like in grinds then it stops its the chain tensioner replacement

- Fort Irwin, CA, USA

problem #27

Apr 262016

Sonata

  • 118,500 miles
Vehicle was in motion on Chicago city streets and temp gauge started to rise slowly and I began smelling anitfreeze. Later the temp gauge rose signigigantly the antifreeze began leaking heaily from beneath and smoke began rising from under the hood very heavily. Upon auto shop inspection the repairman noticed that the smoke was coming from an area by the engines' heating core rubber hoses. The repairman removed the heating core rubber hoses for inspection and found that the engines' heating core metal tubing nosles/nipples appeared as though they have been dipped in acid. The repairman concluded that heater core metal tubing nosle/nipples severe corrosion is not normal wear or tear or a common automobile problem.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #26

Jan 082016

Sonata

  • 85,000 miles
My Sonata 3.3L V-6 engine with what appears to be a very common and dangerous problem. This vehicle seems to begin stalling and slamming into 3rd gear fail safe mode, luckily I have not been rear-ended due to this yet! I have read up extensively on this and found many with the same complaint on www.carcomplaints.com website. It appears many dealerships are aware as they have had vehicle in to be problem solved with what appears to be an electrical problem more so than a mechanical problem. After having my car into 4 different shops including a dealership the first time it happened with no fix and only a ┐if we can┐T replicate the problem we can┐T fix it┐ response I get mad. We have ruled out everything possible; transmission, engine, relays, etc. For 4 months it has been in and out of shops trying to diagnose the problem. Which is happening so often now it is not safe and I am having to take out a loan to try and buy a new care. I cannot trade this in due to the problem. When it is running it runs great, until it slams into 3rd gear with no warming and you loose all acceleration or it dies completely. You can shut it off and restart it and it runs as if nothing happened, until it stalls again. The last mechanic having verified everything he was told to check has determined it must be in the computer. Some individuals said early on they had the computers replaces (at a big cost) only to have it happen again. My car is 10 years old and only has 118,000 miles on it. I hate having to get rid of this car but there is no way it is safe to drive in this condition. Hyundai seems to be ignoring this complaint as no recall has been issued and no help in repairing the problem. Too many cars at the aprx mileage with the same problem and leads me to believe a recall is in order or financial reimbursement for the months of repair to fix it should be made. Elaine huska

- Belvidere, IL, USA

problem #25

Mar 182016

Sonata

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

First, oil is leaking on alternator and area around, car needs a valve cover gasket, driver airbag light stays on, passenger sun visor wont stay up, the vehicle has 149000 miles on it. There are to many complaints for these subjects, a recall needs to be issued.

- Petersburg, VA, USA

problem #24

Nov 202015

Sonata

  • 40,000 miles
On lambda/lambda II mpi series engines, engine oil can leak onto the alternator, which could affect charging system function and potentially cause the engine to stall and not restart. This would result in a loss of motive power as well as affect power braking and power steering system function, which would unexpectedly increase steering and brake pedal effort, potentially increasing stopping distances and the risk of a crash causing injury and/or damage to property. Every make/model of vehicle that has this engine has oil leaks on the alternator and other critical components (I've replaced 3 alternators so far! ~$200 each! + labor!!!) yet only a certain year of the "vera cruz" received a recall because the cost to Hyundai would be higher to fix this issue on all affected vehicles (Azera, sante fe, and my Sonata etc. Models)

- Melbourne, FL, USA

problem #23

Dec 102012

Sonata

  • 100,000 miles
I own a 2006 Hyundai Sonata, at 100,000 (hwy miles) the front upper control arms became squeeky and detatched from the rubber bushings, making a horrible ride and clunking sound when I would put the car into gear. This problem makes the car bouncy and unstable. There is also a knocking or loud clicking sound in the engine at crusing speeds, when I barley push the gas pedal. It sounds like the air intake control valve. It goes away when I accelerate. The radio and cruise control electornics seem to work only when they want too!

- Placerville, CA, USA

problem #22

Nov 012015

Sonata

  • 100,000 miles
Oil leak from engine valve cover - left (front) side of 3.3 V6. This is directly above alternator. Eventually alternator fails due to severe oil/dirt contamination. First noticed when battery light comes on at idle, showing charging problem. By then damage is done. Valve cover must be replaced along with alternator or problem will quickly recur. *there is currently a recall for Hyundai veracruz with same engine for the same problem. Sonata is not included, but a quick internet search shows this to be a common, well-known problem for many years.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #21

Jan 092015

Sonata

  • 105,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

In Jan. 2015 it was on a 100 mile highway trip. Upon arrival he noticed the engine developed a knocking noise. I found many 2.4L Hyundai's with the same problem on the internet. The engine was made in Indiana. It sounds the same as nhsta campaign #15V-568. It needs a new engine. I can't upload it, but I have video of the knocking. I believe the recall needs to be expanded to earlier years

- Midland, MI, USA

problem #20

Jul 192014

Sonata

  • 125,000 miles
The car was expertly maintained, followed the severe duty maintenance schedule. Never had a problem until 125,000 miles. Metallic debris in the crankcase caused the oil pump not to spray oil onto the connecting rod bearing causing a complete engine failure. This is the same thing that was recently recalled on the newer 2011-up theta II. The theta I and theta II are the exact same short blocks except for the theta II's direct injection system. My mechanic who did the repair was very surprised since he always inspected my car annually and knew I used to be a mechanic and maintained all my cars like clockwork. The repair cost was $4,113.53, see attached invoice. The existing recall should be for all theta engine since 2006-up not just for the 2011-up.

- North Babylon, NY, USA

problem #19

Aug 012015

Sonata

  • 140,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Hyundai Sonata. While driving approximately 50 mph at night, the headlights did not illuminate. The contact stated that the check engine and air bag indicators illuminated. The failure occurred on several occasions. The contact drove the vehicle to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The technician stated that the evap and O2 sensor needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 140,000. On another day, the ABS indicator illuminated and caused the brake lights not to illuminate. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 140,000.

- Oak Creek, WI, USA

problem #18

Sep 022015

Sonata

  • 96,500 miles
At approx. 79K miles, when vehicle was turned on you could hear a mild knocking noise, and then it would fade. Took to dealer they could not identify the problem. At approx. 96K miles vehicle was driving on highway and vehicle shut off. Could not restart. Towed the vehicle after wards vehicle started up and knocking noise got louder. The noise is now on all the time and has a cyclic knocking noise from the engine. Advised manufacturer of other problems with vehicle in July of 2015. The engine stall happed in mid Aug of 2015. Had vehicle diagnosed on Aug 27, 2015. I have uploaded that diagnosis. Dealer advised possible metal debris, but said I would have to pay addistional fees to determine the cause. The diagnosis states the same problems as the NHTSA campaign number: 15V-568 and Hyundai campaign # 132. Loud tapping noise when running coming from bottom end rod. Need engine replaced. This was documented before the news broke out about the engine recall.

- Duquesne, PA, USA

problem #17

Sep 012015

Sonata

  • 106,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that while driving at 35 mph, the engine warning light illuminated. The contact stated that the vehicle made an abnormal noise and the engine stalled. The vehicle was towed an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that metal was in the oil. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 106,000. Updated 11/18/15

- San Francisco , CA, USA

problem #16

May 052011

Sonata

  • 58,344 miles
Ecs warning light along with check engine and ABS warning lights came on when turning key in ignition. This has happened twice since, with ESC and ABS warning lights coming on while driving.

- Middleton, WI, USA

problem #15

Nov 142011

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
Valve cover gasket and timing cover leaking oil on the alternator. Was fixed by a Hyundai dealership in August 2013 for ~$1,800 (including an new alternator). Now experiencing the same oil leak onto the new alternator just over a year and a half later and less than 20,000 miles later. [xxx] 2006 Hyundai Sonata gls 3.3L V6. Why has there not been a recall for this and why are dealerships only trained to fix the resulting symptoms and not the underlying problem that caused the leak to start? information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Miamisburg, OH, USA

problem #14

Mar 072014

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
There is an existing recall for the Hyundai veracruz (which also uses the Hyundai lambada engine). There is an issue with the valve cover leaking oil onto the alternator, causing the alternator to fail. This happened to my car a year ago (approx), and I paid to have the repair done. The leaking issue is starting to surface again, which caused me to look online for how widespread this issue was. That was when I discovered the veracruz recall.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #13

Jan 312014

Sonata

  • 123,354 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Hyundai Sonata. While driving 25 mph, the engine stalled and the check engine warning indicator was illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 123,354.

- Matthews, NC, USA

problem #12

Sep 302014

Sonata

  • 108,596 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Hyundai Sonata. While driving 20 mph, the check engine indicator illuminated. In addition, while accelerating, the speedometer displayed various gears being shifted and there was a loud abnormal noise coming from the engine. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 108,596.

- Dunedin, FL, USA

Read the next 11 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?