Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
9 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 0
Average Mileage:
57,348 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Hyundai Sonata seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Hyundai Sonata:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Hyundai Sonata Owner Comments (Page 2 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #130

Mar 032014


  • miles


First experienced two occurrences of passenger airbag warning that had to be repaired by replacing bottom of seat and reprogramming. Then the instrument panel airbag light came on and has stayed on for a year. The dealership told me that it may be the pretensioner or it may be something else and to expect to pay about $600.

- Gaithersburg, MD, USA

problem #129

Feb 272015

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 105,500 miles
Re: investigation seat belt buckle electrical malfunction NHTSA action number: PE14023 NHTSA closed this investigation 12/1/14 on the condition that Hyundai would extend the warranty to 15 years and 250,000 miles for this repair. Per the letter attached to the case I contacted Hyundai today to get reimbursed for the expense related to this issue ($380.75). I spoke to two different reps at Hyundai and neither had any idea what I was talking about. So it's been three months since this case closed and Hyundai is not honoring the new extended warranty.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #128

Jan 162013

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
Air bag warning light is on since 2013 and I believe this means in case of an unfortunate accident air bag will not kick off. Searching on google I came to know that it is a common problem.....

- Mississauga, CO, USA

problem #127

Mar 122014


  • 10,909 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated. In addition, the passenger's side sun visor failed to remain closed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the front passenger and the driver's side seat needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 10,909.

- Virgina Beach, VA, USA

problem #126

Feb 202013

Sonata 8-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
Vehicle air bag light display fixed once under recall vehicle air bad light display fixed second time in 2013 at a cost of over $800 dealer insisted this was not covered under recall vehicle air bag light displays again scheduled for 3 attempt to fix with dealer on 2.19.15.

- San Jose,, CA, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #125

Jan 122015

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 114,000 miles
Airbag light went on again. Took to dealer for second time and they confirmed there was a fault in the seat belt buckle that trips up the airbag system. Quote is $310 to fix on top of $130 they charged me to determine reason for air bag light.

- Stockton, CA, USA

problem #124

Nov 152014


  • 100,000 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that the steering wheel became hard to maneuver and the contact had to apply force upon turning the steering wheel. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, who was not able to replicate and diagnose the failure. In addition, the contact stated that while traveling 40 mph, another vehicle crossed the contacts path while making a turn and crashed into the contacts vehicle. The air bags did not deploy. The driver sustained minor bruises to the legs and the passenger sustained head and neck injuries. The passenger received medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was not diagnosed. The contact was waiting for the manufacturer to determine the power steering failure and air bag failure. The contact was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 08V161000 (air bags). The VIN was not available. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000.

- Hemet, CA, USA

problem #123

Jan 072015

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 74,250 miles
Our 2007 Sonata air bag red light came on for no reason, just as hundreds of others have said while researching the problem on the internet. Probably will not attempt to get help from Hyundai at this point since so many others have been charged $400 plus for repairs that only last for a short time, and need to be done again. Always liked this car till this issue started. Because of Hyundai's disregard for the safety of those who own their vehicles, I will be selling this car, never buy from Hyundai again and will inform others of this problem so they can avoid the danger and frustration of dealing with Hyundai.

- Beatrice, NE, USA

problem #122

Jan 012015


  • 134,000 miles
Upon starting vehicle the air bag warning light illuminated as usual. The light turned off as usual but immediately re-illuminated. This has occurred each time since then with the air bag light illuminated in red on the dashboard. No event occurred prior to this warning light activation.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #121

Oct 152013


  • 39,225 miles
The 2007 Hyundai Sonata gls 4 cylinder 2.4 L, at 39 225 miles, the airbag warning light stayed on. I took it to the circle Hyundai dealer in shrewsbury NJ to check it out. The mechanic looked at the car and I was informed that the seat belt pre tensioner needed to be replaced and that it was not covered under warranty. The cost to me out of pocket would be $ $450 I did not have the repair completed. I have read many, close to 100 complaints on just this same issue, on just this same vehicle model and make being reported on this NHTSA website. It is overdue for a recall of this problem on the 2007 Hyundai Sonata. The owners of this make and model are a risk of injury to their persons should they be involved in a car crash and the airbag not responding and protecting the occupants.. I have also read that other owners of this year, make and model have had many of the same mechanical problems and posted them here on the NHTSA website and have paid out of their pockets to repair their vehicles. Repairs such as rear disc brakes that are staying onto the rear rotors, caliper not releasing and wearing out the disc pads and rotors prematurely, also the driver and passenger sun visors that drop down and block your line of sight, and nearly cause an accident. Loyal owners of these Hyundai vehicles should be reimbursed for the repair costs to them to keep the cars safe. Action should be taken to start a recall of these many manufacturing defects that can harm or injury to the occupants of these vehicles.

- Aberdeen, NJ, USA

problem #120

Nov 282014

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 85,879 miles


Airbag light illuminates. Was told by dealership it is a problem with an electric circuit inside the seatbelt buckle and that it can lead to problems with airbag. Checked online and saw many, many Hyundai Sonata 2006 and 2007 users complaining of the same problem. On the Hyundai paperwork they wrote: " scanned and found code B1701 driver seat belt buckle shorted needs driver seat belt buckle parts and labor".

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #119

Nov 102014


  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that the air bag light remained illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Rockville City , NY, USA

problem #118

Nov 042013


  • 136,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated continuously. The dealer replaced the driver side seat pretensioner. The failure recurred on the passenger side seat. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 136,000.

- Somerset, MA, USA

problem #117

Nov 112014


  • 74,000 miles
Air bag light came on, so took it to dealer an they said passenger seat belt buckle needs replacement at the cost of 400 bucks. So air bags won't deploy an seat belt may not work. This is dangerous an should be a recall on this vehicle as I see it has happened to lots of people years 2006 2007 2008. When can we expect the recall on this. I would like to get my car fixed. Thanks, [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Whiting, NJ, USA

problem #116

Sep 232013

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 104,000 miles
Hyundai Sonata 2007 air bag light came on. They say it is the pretensioner in the passenger seat. I feel this is a safety issue since the air bags will not deploy with this problem. The code was B1706. It is going to cost me $500 to fix. Cannot pass inspection without it.

- Vienna, WV, USA

problem #115

Jul 082014

Sonata 6-cyl

  • miles
This is the second time this has happened since 2010. The first time was in August of 2012. The front passenger seat was pushed all the way back and the air bag light came on. I did not go to get it fixed right away. I went to get an oil change around October 2012 and my mechanic said that one of the connectors to the airbag had become disconnected. He connected it back but the light stayed on because it was still in the computer. He told me I had to go to the dealer in order to have them hook it up because he could not get the car to communicate with his computer. I took it to pride Hyundai because there just happened to be a recall on the air bags but it did not apply to my car. They said that they could not find anything wrong with the airbag. They erased the codes that were stuck in the computer and everything was ok until July of 2014 when my son adjusted the seat by pushing it back. The airbag light pops on again. I think this is a gimmick of Hyundai by making the connectors either too loose or too short. Of course I do no longer have a warranty on the car. It expired at 65,000 miles because I am the second owner. I keep reading horror stories of how much Hyundai charges their customers to fix this issue. They tell them it is a faulty passenger seat belt assembly. They supposedly fix it and it keeps happening. Something needs to be done about this because it is a safety issue.

- Melrose, MA, USA

problem #114

Oct 162007

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 1,000 miles
The airbag light came on shortly after I purchased my car. I took it in and they sent the seat off to be re-calibrated. This happened about ever 2-3 months until January 2012 and it did not come back on until August 2012 but during this month I took it back a total of 8 times because the airbag light kept coming back on! the last time they fixed it was in October 2012 and I was informed that because it was past warranty they would no longer fix it for "free" and suggested I purchase one of their new cars. I am a widow and cannot afford to get a new car. In December 2012 the airbag light came on again and has remained on ever since.

- Kyle, TX, USA

problem #113

Oct 242014


  • 40,000 miles
While driving I noticed that my air bag light came on, I immediately went to the dealer. They said that my passenger seat belt is defected. They said the cost of fixing is approximately $500, and the initial fee was $110. I looked online and there has been alot of complaints about this same issue.

- Miami , FL, USA

problem #112

Dec 192013

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 92,925 miles
Air bag light stayed on at all times, with and without passenger present. Dealer claimed it was not related to ongoing recall, but driver side seatbelt pretensioner, which was replaced for $267. A half year later, the light came back on and stayed on, intermittently. Dealer checked it out, but on that occasion the light stayed turned off. However, when I drove out of the dealer's lot it turned back on and has stayed on since. I have tried to ignore it, but the recent recalls make me very nervous.

- Plymouth, MA, USA

problem #111

Sep 262014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 123,900 miles
The air bag warning light stays on. Took car to a Hyundai dealership and they said it the passenger seat belt assembly. It will cost about $400 to replace.

- Stony Point, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?