Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
9 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
8 / 0
Average Mileage:
49,470 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Hyundai Sonata seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Hyundai Sonata:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Hyundai Sonata Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #53

Jun 142008


  • 100 miles


The contact owns a 2008 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that while driving approximately 70 mph, the contact crashed into another vehicle as the airbags failed to deploy. A police report was filed and there were three injuries reported that required medical attention. The vehicle was towed to an impound lot. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 100. The VIN was unavailable...updated 08-11-14

- Madisonville, LA, USA

problem #52

May 012013

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 97,000 miles
Air bag warning light came on when driving and passanger seat belt light flashes when a passanger is present, even when the passanger seat belt is buckled. The dealer said it was due to a faulty sensor in the passager seat buckle and was not covered. I still have not fixed, but I must before next state inspection. I am reporting because I saw recent report of investigation into this matter.

- Saint Charles, MO, USA

problem #51

Jul 272014

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 79,374 miles
Airbag indicator lite up and the passenger seat belt light began to flash.

- Merrimack, NH, USA

problem #50

Jun 062014

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 84,109 miles


Wife was traveling to work at 0550 on rt. 147, when a deer jumped in front of car. She hit the deer, with the cruise set for 65 mph. The entire front of the car was pushed into the engine compartment. Luckily there were no injuries, but the air bags did not deploy. Police were notified and a report filed.we have contacted Hyundai with our terms, but have yet to hear from them.

- New Columbia, PA, USA

problem #49

Jul 152013

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 30,000 miles
Hit several rural mail boxes and came to a halt against two small trees. Air bags did not deploy even though there was over $7000 of damage to the car.

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #48

Feb 172013

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 93,000 miles
Since buying my vehicle in Feb 2013. I've had nothing but problems with it. Air bag light, tire pressure light and check engine light came on and car has broken down on me. Took care to get fixed from dealership within in my 30 days warranty. Robertsons Honda fixed the battery problem and the check engine light but not that other 2. they stated to me that they didn't have the correct equipment to fix it. Which is not my problem.

- Palmdale, CA, USA

problem #47

Feb 212014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 71,000 miles


The morning of the flash freeze on February 21, 2014, my daughter was turning left at an intersection when she lost control of the car due to slick roads. When she stepped on the brake, it slid and crashed head onto a traffic light pole. Part of the traffic light broke off as a result of the impact. Her airbag did not deploy. Her chest and mouth hit the steering wheel. She was in a lot of pain and it hurt her to breathe so was sent for X-rays. She didn't have any broken ribs but may have had internal bruising because she needed physical therapy for several weeks and a chipped tooth. When I called Hyundai and told her what happened, the representative said the airbag should have deployed. I was mailed out paperwork to fill out. I completed all the requested information. They then inspected the car. After a few weeks, I received a letter stating the accident did not merit the airbag deployment. They closed my case without any further conversation. I called after I received the letter and the representative said this was Hyundai's final decision and there was nothing more they can do for me....updated 12/09/15

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #46

Dec 222013

Sonata 4-cyl

  • miles
2008 Hyundai Sonata. Consumer writes in regards to air bag malfunction, during an accident. The consumer stated the air bags did not deploy, when she T-boned another vehicle. As a result, she suffered a broken vertebrae.

- Winter Springs, FL, USA

problem #45

Dec 012011

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
We began questioning Hyundai (tameron Hyundai in birmingham Alabama) when we noticed that this light stayed on. I also read in a haynes manual that there was a recall for this problem and I mentioned it to the dealership. The service dept. Informed us that there was no recall for that problem and that it was due to the passenger not sitting properly in the seat. We recently received a recall notice for this problem from Hyundai. I contacted the dealership and was informed that Hyundai had suspended this recall due to an overload of vehicles in the process of being fixed. They further informed me that I would need to bring the vehicle in for them to look at in order to be placed on a waiting list and then a second recall notice would be sent when the recall work suspension was lifted. I informed them that I would like to be put on the recall list without taking the vehicle in "to have it looked at" to save me 2.5 hours of driving time and a secondary wait time at the dealership. They told me they could not do that. Finally they told me that the repair would require them to remove the seat bottom and send it to California for the repair, but they would return the vehicle to me to use in the meantime. They could not give an estimate of the time the vehicle would be without the seat. This is my only car and I frequently need to use it to Transport 2 adults and 2 children. This would be impossible to do without a seat, especially if the amount of time would be for longer than 1 week. Your assistance is requested in this matter.

- Vincent, AL, USA

problem #44

Dec 052013


  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was repaired under NHTSA campaign number 08V161000 (air bags) but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The failure mileage and VIN were unavailable.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #43

May 172013


  • miles


The contact owns a 2008 Hyundai Sonata. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 08V161000 (air bags) and took the vehicle to the dealer for recall repairs. The dealer stated that the remedy part was on hold and they would be unable to service the vehicle. The manufacturer was not contacted. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #42

Oct 282013

Sonata 4-cyl

  • miles
My car was recalled for a faulty OCS system. This sensor is supposed to disable the passenger airbag when it detects a child, but a recall was issued because the sensor disables the airbag even for some adults. I have this problem too. I often notice that the "passenger airbag off" light illuminates when certain adult passengers over 120 pounds sit in the passenger seat.. so I brought my car to the pacifico Hyundai dealership in philadelphia, after examining my vehicle, the dealership representative told me, in no uncertain terms, that the mechanic verified that the system operated correctly, despite my insistence that the airbag was turned off for some adult passengers. As the purpose of the recall was to fix the sensor for exactly the problem my car was exhibiting, I was worried that the dealership did not conduct the proper tests. The fact of the matter is that the airbag on my car is disabled for some adult passengers. After hours of calling the Hyundai hotline and speaking with customer representatives, I was eventually told by a case manager that the dealership did not perform the necessary diagnostic test, and I should bring in my vehicle again. This is quite disturbing--if the dealership lied to me about conducting the safety tests, they very well could have lied to other customers as well. How many other Hyundai car owners are driving around with a faulty airbag because the dealership lied about conducting this safety test" how many other safety recalls did they violate" the dealership exhibited willful neglect in complying with this safety recall, and this needs to be addressed so they do not continue to do so.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #41

May 152013

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 54,000 miles
Air bag light came on and stayed on after adjusting driver's seat. Brought vehicle to dealership and was informed that driver's side seat belt buckle was defective even though no problems with operating seatbelt - repair cost $380. Read numerous reports about passenger side air bag recall - had checked out - no problem with passenger side. Read numerous complaints about Sonatas from various years having air bag problems because of defective seat belt buckles. Repairs were made on many but light came back on. Seems like this should be a recall issue because of so many complaints.

- Metairie, LA, USA

problem #40

Apr 252013


  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that while driving approximately 35 mph, the vehicle was maneuvered abruptly to avoid an object and swayed off the road into a ditch, crashing into concrete. The vehicle then rolled and landed upside down on its roof. The air bags failed to deploy. The driver and front seat passenger sustained severe bodily injuries. A police report was filed of the incident. The vehicle was destroyed and towed to an independent mechanic. The manufacturer was notified of the defect. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000.

- Rayville , MO, USA

problem #39

Sep 222012

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
Dashboard air bag light has come on and off intermittently since September 2012. At this time the air bag light is off. The passenger safety belt light remains permanently on since September 2012 as well. Called the dealer Hyundai of el paso and they said my car is no longer under warranty and is not included in the recall campaign. How can it be?

- El Paso, TX, USA

problem #38

Mar 142013

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 36,500 miles
Both at a complete stop while in gear and while moving at about 35 mph with my wife in the front passenger seat the air bag light remained on. In this vehicle that light is supposed to go off when someone over 85lbs sits in the front passenger seat. Took video of three incidents over a period of two days. Spoke to jenkins Hyundai, ocala, fl where we purchased the car & they were unable to pull a code. They were also uninterested in the videos and stated that the front seat sensor is calibrated for 115 lbs +/-. as my wife is 128 lbs they feel that it is well within limits & that sometimes the airbag sensor will not sense her presence. I thought the limit was 85 lbs for small children. If we have an accident with my wife in the front passenger seat the airbags might not deploy.

- Crystal River, FL, USA

problem #37

May 152008

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 2,100 miles
Sometimes the passanger air bag off light turns on from new to present problem has persisted and dealer ignores the situation.

- El Paso, TX, USA

problem #36

Oct 102012


  • 36,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated while the vehicle was on. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection and they stated that the passenger seat sensor needed to be replaced. The technician also stated that vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 08V161000 (air bags). The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 36,000.

- Hauppauge, NY, USA

problem #35

Mar 202012

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 27,272 miles
Airbag and front passenger light came and stayed on. On March 20, 2012 dealer stated recall took my car for a week then returned no lights. The problem came back again on August 14, 2012 and they refuse to do any further work because my 2nd owner warranty expired in April of 2012, the dealership won't even honor the parts/labor warranting their work for 1 year I was told they were supposed to do. This is bad for me because I chronically ill. I brought a extended warranty from them and after being told my all involved it would cover future airbag/seat problems they said we can't find it in the contract and are giving me the run around. I really to ill to deal with this. What can I do? who regulates dealerships when they are behaving badly.

- San Bruno, CA, USA

problem #34

Nov 012012

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
I started up the car and no one was in the passenger seat. The air bag light comes up on the dash disappears and reappears and stays on. After visiting mechanic the error code B1448 appears. I'm afraid that the air bags won't deploy if I'm in an accident. I'm also thinking whether this is associated to the larger oc sensor failed recall.

- Cliffside Park, NJ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?