Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.2

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
72,813 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Hyundai Sonata brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Hyundai Sonata:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Hyundai Sonata Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #14

Dec 052012

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 90,250 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I noticed a shuddering at 90,250 miles, while traveling during the winter at around 30-45 mph, but was very intermittent, and would go away. Then on 10/9/2013 at 102,515 miles, from park, the transmission would not engage into reverse or drive. I could hear the transmission shift, but it was not disengaging from park. Per Hyundai service technician, the transmission was "junk" and would need to be replaced. I contacted Hyundai corporate, during which time I was informed they didn't have my information in their system and that in fact there were 2 recalls that they failed to notify me of, and was told that if I allowed the Hyundai service to do the repair right then, that I would be eligible for their policy reimbursement. One of the recalls was an ECM and tcm software update in which symptoms were improper clutching and de-clutching of gears when accelerating and decelerating. That shift quality over time caused undo stress on the gearing causing my failure. The repair was made, I then had to pay upfront, and a week later they've denied my policy reimbursement claim due to fluid being the cause of failure. I then provided them with further documentation showing that their own technician re-used 5 quarts of my original fluid on the repair order, and that I followed the maintenance record that was suggested by their own technicians advice when I purchased the vehicle. Drain and fill every 30,000 miles. The last drain and fill was on June 14, 2013. Hyundai did not provide me with any fluid analysis or specs to support their denial of my policy reimbursement. I saved the agents voicemail of the denial in which she stated due to "color" and that alone, was the reason why the claim was denied.

- Kansasville, WI, USA

problem #13

Nov 142013

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 135,000 miles
My vehicle continues to have problems with the ESC light intermittently lighting up. Occurred again yesterday - several times. Issue addressed back in 6/18/2011 when the car had 67,604 miles - brake switch was replaced due to the ESC light intermittently lighting up. There is a current recall campaign 110 and Hyundai recall 13V-113 underway, but my vehicle is not included. I ask that this recall be expanded as I am having these issues with my car at present and Hyundai is unwilling to diagnose or fix without the owner paying the cost. This is an issue that was recalled a few yrs ago as well and obviously a manufacturing defect.

- Humble, TX, USA

problem #12

Nov 132013

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 95,000 miles
ESC off light intermittent on my dash board.

- Scottsdale, AZ, USA

problem #11

Sep 162013

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 123,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Related to previous complaint dated 9/16/2013 NHTSA id number 10543783. My vehicle continues to have problems with the ESC light intermittently lighting up - more frequent than previous. My vehicle previously also had this issue addressed while under warranty on 6/18/2011 when the car had 67,604 miles, at which time the brake switch was replaced due to the ESC light intermittently lighting up. There is a current recall campaign 110 and Hyundai recall 13V-113 underway, but my vehicle is not included. I ask that this recall be expanded as I am having these issues with my car at present and understand that others not included in the recall are also experiencing similar problems.

- Humble, TX, USA

problem #10

Sep 012013

Sonata

  • 139,400 miles
My ESC and air bag malfunction lights are illuminated and my brakes mal-functions. Recall campaign 110 recalls the brake light switch on some of these cars but not on my year and model. I am suggesting that the recall may need to be expanded to include the 2009 Sonata since the switches seem to malfunction in that make/model/year as well.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #9

Sep 162013

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 123,000 miles
Upon start up this morning, the ESC off light turned on. This has happened intermittently over the past year, at least 4 times. I have taken it to the dealer, when the car was under warranty to be told not to worry about it unless the light simply did not turn off eventually. Each time the light has turned off after turning the car off and then restarting it. I am concerned that this has been an ongoing problem with the Hyundai, yet the dealer never told me nor did they try to make a permanent fix to the problem. Now I am out of warranty and the problem continues. There was a recall prior to the 2009 Hyundai for this same issue and wondering if so many people continue to be experiencing the same issue why there is not another recall.

- Humble, TX, USA

problem #8

Sep 102012

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 62,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Basically it appears that I'm having the same brake switch issue common with many Hyundai. However, currently the '09 Sonata is not covered under any recall. The problem began at least a year ago when the ESC off light would turn on at random times. It would normally clear upon turning the car off. A few days ago the ESC off light would not turn off. Today I could not shift into park from drive. After searching the internet I quickly found the brake switch issue. I confirmed that my brake lights were not functional. This is something occurs with absolutely no warning which is a bit scary since I drive home on a major highway. I'm not sure how long the brake lights had been out. I also noticed that the cruise control stopped functioning when the ESC off light became permanent. However, for some reason it started working again when the shift lock problem occurred. Odd. Not sure why an additional issue would make the speed control functional again.

- Bow, NH, USA

problem #7

May 012013

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 49,000 miles
I have noticed for months beginning in may of this year my ESC light would come on, the light would come on and off intermitently.I took my vehicle to a Hyundai dealership to inquire about this problem, I was told that I would have to bring the vehicle in for diagnostic testing to find out what the problem might be.the service manager stated my vehicle was out of warranty for three months, and all costs would be my responsibility for the parts and labor.the manager also ask me if my brake lights were out, because of prior problems with the stop light switch. I returned home and found all of my brake lights out, I had been driving for several months with no brake lights.I discoverd on line that all 2009 Sonatas were recall for this exact problem that were manufactured after Jan 01,2009, I was told this by hyubdai motor company when I call them about this problem. I was given a case number to have my vehicle fixed under the recall, case # 5994137. I received a call back from the same repersentative that my vehicle was not covered under the current campaign because my vehicle was manufactured on Feb 22, 2008 and the current campaign were for 2009 Sonatas manufactred after Jan 01,2009.I then took my vehicle to my own mechanic for testing and repair he found that the stop light switch was bad and I had it replace. It is too consequential that a car manufactured 9 months later after my vehicle to have the same problem that I experience. I find that the same part used in the Sonatas that were manufactured 9 months after my vehicle, is the same part that was put in my vehicle you do not have to be a rocket scientist to understand this !!! therefor, please investigate this issue regarding the above stated matter, not only for a recall issue but most importantly a safety issue. Thank you for any consideration you may give this incident. Sincerely. [xxxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Hasbrouck Heights, NJ, USA

problem #6

Aug 222012

Sonata

  • 72,000 miles
While driving the check engine light and ESC light comes on and it's like the gas is shut off but doesn't die. This has happened several times over the past 9 months and it really hasn't been an issue because normally you can shut the car off and turn it back on and it's fine but the other day I was on a major hwy in the middle lane and it shut down. Luckily I was able to make it to the shoulder otherwise I would have stalled in the middle lane causing an accident.

- Wills Point , TX, USA

problem #5

Jul 112013

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 68,500 miles
Driving on the interstate, 'ESC off' light came on; at the same time, the cruise control quit working and I noticed that the brake lights all quit working at the same time.

- Orange Park, FL, USA

problem #4

May 022013

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 82,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

ESC light constantly on no brakes lights.

- Danbury, CT, USA

problem #3

Jun 052013

Sonata

  • 99,827 miles
While driving home, I braked to turn into my neighborhood and was almost rear ended. My friend whom was following me stated that my rear brakes did not come on when I brake. I attempted to park my vehicle and I could not put the car into park but only neutral, nor could I shut off the vehicle. The key would not turn to shut off the vehicle. I had drive the car to a friends garage, place the car into neutral, detach the battery in order to have the vehicle shut off.

- Clinton, MD, USA

problem #2

Feb 082013

Sonata

  • 63,214 miles
I was driving the Sonata when all of a sudden the car lost its force and wouldn't move. While stuck in the middle of the street I was pushing the gas peddle but the car would not go. The ESC off light came on, and the check engine light as well. I powered the car off and turned it back on but the car still did not have a lot of force, but enough to get to a nearby parking lot. I left the car off in a parking lot for about 5 min and turned it back on. The ESC light turned off, but not the check engine. There have been similar problems where its a switch in the brake peddle but that should not make the entire car shut off. I took it to my dealership since I just bought the car 2 weeks ago and now I'm waiting for diagnostics to come back.

- Topeka, KS, USA

problem #1

Apr 042012

Sonata

  • miles
The brake lights do not illuminate when the brake pedal is depressed. The gear shift not able to be shifted out of the park position. The electronic stability control (ESC) malfunction light illuminates. Very similar to recall for same model on another year (2006).

- Herndon, VA, USA

Not what you are looking for?