Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2011 Sonata has a seriously defective engine that seizes without warning. It was awarded the dubious honor of being the first CarTalk / CarComplaints Turd of the Week in late September 2015.

A class action lawsuit was filed in May 2015 against Hyundai that claims the 2.4L Sonata engine is defective. More info here.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
12 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 1
Average Mileage:
43,469 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Hyundai Sonata steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Hyundai Sonata:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Hyundai Sonata Owner Comments (Page 10 of 42)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #643

Jun 272016

Sonata

  • 74,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that while stationary, the engine made a loud noise as if the vehicle were to independently accelerate. The contact had the engine replaced under a manufacturers recall but the failure recurred. In addition, the steering wheel did not support the movement of the vehicle while driving on numerous occasions. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 74,000. The VIN was not available.

- Columbus, GA, USA

problem #642

Apr 052016

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 96,000 miles
Takata recall I received several recall notices and has called about my vehicle issue. Only to have been called a liar and telling they refused to fix my vehicle. In the affected vehicles, the electronic power steering (eps) circuit board may be damaged and result in a loss of power steering assist. This is a huge safety risk with traveling with my kids. Hyundai does not have a remedy not yet available. With a loss of power steering assist, extra steering effort will be required, especially at lower speeds, increasing the risk of a crash. Hyundai dealership refuses to fix this, I even had brand new tires placed on the vehicle and I would like to reimburse for.this is total unacceptable. Thank you for your time.

- Riverview, FL, USA

problem #641

Jun 212016

Sonata

  • 80,888 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. While the vehicle was being serviced, the dealer diagnosed that the steering coupling failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 80,888.

- Suffolk, VA, USA

problem #640

Apr 302016

Sonata

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Everytime I turn my steering wheel and/or slightly move it in any way, it makes a very unnerving and scary popping sound. As if it will just come right off of the hinges. It makes the same popping sound while driving on these terrible California uneven highways and local streets. Apparently the vehicle has a recall number 16V19000 but there is no remedy....how can that be" do we wait until someone has a accident, then notify all the customers"

- El Cerrito, CA, USA

problem #639

Jun 212016

Sonata

  • 89,000 miles
Every time I go over a bump in the road, a rattle comes from the steering column. There is play in the steering wheel when I go to turn the wheel. I had a professional look at this and he tells me the sterring coupler needs to be replaced. This same issue has occurred on many other 2011 through 2014 Sonatas. It is going to cost over $300 to get it fixed. Given the many issues with this part, it appears to be defective. Every time the vehicle is in motion on any street, a rattle comes from the steering column when I go over the smallest bump.

- Prattville, AL, USA

problem #638

Apr 292016

Sonata

  • 50,000 miles
I started noticing while driving and making turns, a knocking sound coming from the steering wheel of my vehicle. Any time I would turn left, right or go over a bump, a large rattle would come from the steering column. I contacted a dealership that indicated this is an extremely common problem with Hyundai Sonata's and that it's due to a faulty steering coupler. They indicated that they replace close to 2 or 3 a week. I find this to be completely disturbing considering a drive my children around in this vehicle yet Hyundai has not issued a recall for a problem them obviously know they have.

- Carterville, IL, USA

problem #637

Feb 122016

Sonata

  • 138,250 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Constant clicking in the steering column whether I am driving or sitting still. While in park, if I turn the steering wheel there is a clicking noise. While driving every bump in the road clicking. On the interstate a very bad vibration and clicking at 60mph. This only started happening after having several recalls completed on 02/05/16. Campaign 132 - complete engine replacement, campaign 122 and 123.

- Gaffney, SC, USA

problem #636

Jun 012016

Sonata

  • 69,563 miles
Whenever you hit a bump or turn the steering wheel click and rattles.

- Champaign, IL, USA

problem #635

Feb 222016

Sonata

  • 97,000 miles
One day driving, this clicking noise, started to come from steering column every time I made a turn and also when I drove over a slight bump in road. This noise has progressively gotten worse. Now I can hear it all the time when driving. I took car in for other recalls and service manager said this needed to be repaired. Cost of 375.00! I feel because this has been noted on websites from many upon many of Sonata owners that this particular steering coupler is faulty. Hence, the responsibility lies with the auto maker and not the car owner to absorb the cost of repairs. To make right, this dangerous wrong. Thank you

- Sewell, NJ, USA

problem #634

Mar 092016

Sonata

  • 47,231 miles
There is an issues with the steering coupling on my 2011 Hyundai Sonata. This car has less than 50000 miles and has been maintained since I've owned this vehicle. The steering wheel feels like it could fall of at any moment it shakes violently when stopping and also when going over 60 miles and hour. The smallest bumps in the road cause a violent shaking as well. This part the coupling is literally a piece of rubber the size of a quarter it cost 15 dollars at the part store and the dealership wants 200 dollars to fix it. I know several other Sonata owners that are having this same issue and every website I've found there have been many many of the same complaints. When I called my local dealership the man I spoke to new exactly what was wrong and how much it would cost to fix. He also said this is a common problem with the 2011 Sonata. This is a major safety issue. Please issue a recall!!!!!

- Auburn, AL, USA

problem #633

Jan 012016

Sonata

  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. While driving 55 mph, the steering wheel vibrated and an abnormal noise was heard. The contact had to pull the vehicle over to investigate the noise. When the vehicle was back in motion, it became difficult to steer. An independent mechanic diagnosed that the steering coupler needed to be repaired. The vehicle was taken to a dealer who confirmed the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 55,000.

- Leesburg, GA, USA

problem #632

Jun 132016

Sonata

  • 59,000 miles
Steering wheel flaws, when turning to left you will hear a noise and pull. Going over bumps or any type of surface that is not flat road hear a very noticeable clanging noise. Steering wheel rattles at speeds over 55 mph. Like other notifications here, the dealership states this is a known issue with the steering wheel but wants to charge to correct the issue. Car has never been in an accident and is well maintained.

- Mobile, AL, USA

problem #631

Jan 062016

Sonata

  • miles
Clicking in steering wheel. Shakes violently at 60 mph. Noise comes from the steering wheel when U hit a bump. Dealer knew exactly the problem and the cost before I could even explain. Evidently, this is a known issue with Hyundai that need to be fixed for free and not $350 later.

- Phenix City, AL, USA

problem #630

Mar 162016

Sonata

  • miles
Purchased car on 3/8/2016, the car made noises while turning. Both shaft assembly replaced, parts $749.70, labor $150. Our daughter was given the car on 3/12/2016, on 3/16/2016 while driving the eps light illuminated, power steering was loss. Hyundai dealership diagnosed and replaced steering column and column assembly, cost $1701.18. The passenger airbag has come out on two occasions. The dealership in charlottesville, va pushed it back in. On 6/11/2016, passenger airbag came out while driving. (husband pushed it back in, however, I don't feel our daughter and her passengers are safe). On 6/11/2016, while trying to drive the car, put the gear into D and the car moved backwards. Turn the car off and shifted into D(it worked). This according to our daughter, this has occurred on several occasions. Interior lighting has to be manually manipulated to turn them off.

- Glen Allen, VA, USA

problem #629

Mar 012016

Sonata

  • 55,000 miles
There is an issues with the steering coupling on my 2011 Hyundai Sonata. This car has less than 70000 miles and has been maintained since I've owned this vehicle. The steering wheel feels like it could fall of at any moment it shakes violently when stopping and also when going over 60 miles and hour. The smallest bumps in the road cause a violent shaking as well. This part the coupling is literally a piece of rubber the size of a quarter it cost 15 dollars at the part store and the dealership wants 350 dollars to fix it. I know several other Sonata owners that are having this same issue and every website I've found there have been many many of the same complaints. When I called my local dealership the women I spoke to new exactly what was wrong and how much it would cost to fix. If she knew this info right off the top of her head then that leads me to believe several Sonata drivers in my area are having this issue. Please issue a recall!!!'N

- Leesburg, GA, USA

problem #628

Jun 072016

Sonata

  • 77,000 miles
The steering column inside the cab rattles each time I hit a bump or hole in the road. I have 77,000 miles on the vehicle now, but I started to notice a suttle noise about 15,000 miles prior to what is now a major safety conern. Driving into my garage to park the vehicle, I heard a loud snap as I was turning the steering wheel and what sounded like parts falling in the steering column. I pulled forward far enough to close the garage door and there my car sits. Guess I'm lucky I wasn't at 3,000 ft level like I was the day before when the steering decided to break apart. Apparently, after doing some research on my own, the steering coupling is defective and may seperate and leave the driver with no means to steer the vehicle. No recall from Hyundai even though many are having the same issues as noted all over the internet. The Hyundai service center in fresno, ca seems to have marching orders to deny the fact that this issue is much more prevelant than simple wear and tear and are practically ready to fight you if you try to get them to admit it. Don't call the service manager "bro" or he will have the biggest hissy fit about how disrespectful that is. His name is "matt", ok; as though covering up an obvious safety defect that could cost someone their life is just silly childs play! Hyundai, do the "right" thing (ethics 101) and recall the damn thing before people get hurt or killed, if they haven't already.

- Fresno, CA, USA

problem #627

Apr 092016

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
When driving over 50 mph steering wheel shakes uncontrollably, steering wheel makes a clicking noise when any slight movement made other than driving straight. I took my car to be evaluated at my local Hyundai dealer and was god my steering column was loose and that the entire steering column would need replaced. The dealership told me this issue is affecting the safety of my vehicle and the repair would be at my own expense. They could give no explanation as to why the steering column became loose ( my car has never been involved in an accident) I did some research online and found hundreds of other people complaining of the same issue with this specific year make and model vehicle. My VIN # has had 12 safety recalls since purchase. I feel this steering column problem needs to be a safety recall issued by Hyundai. Thank you

- Mcdonald, PA, USA

problem #626

Mar 312016

Sonata

  • 56,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. While driving 30 mph, the steering wheel became difficult to turn. The contact had to apply force to the steering wheel in order to steer the vehicle. In addition, there was an abnormal noise coming from the steering wheel and the steering wheel vibrated after driving over a bump. The failure recurred on numerous occasions and worsened over time. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the steering coupler needed to be repaired. The vehicle was not repaired and was taken to a dealer who confirmed the failure. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 56,000.

- Pontoon Beach, IL, USA

problem #625

May 012015

Sonata

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. While turning the steering wheel in either direction, a clunking type noise was present coming from the steering column. The cause of the failure was not diagnosed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 50,000.

- Wilson, NC, USA

problem #624

Dec 232015

Sonata

  • 55,000 miles
Making clicking sounds while turning steering wheel. My has started doing this when I took it for a recall approx 6 months ago. The dealer said that this could be dangerous as steering column could deteriorate and would affect accuracy of steering wheel. This has been an issue with many of Hyundai forums online, specifically with steering coupler and column. Defect in manufacturing when thousands have problems with this.

- Tulsa, OK, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?