Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2011 Sonata has a seriously defective engine that seizes without warning. It was awarded the dubious honor of being the first CarTalk / CarComplaints Turd of the Week in late September 2015.

A class action lawsuit was filed in May 2015 against Hyundai that claims the 2.4L Sonata engine is defective. More info here.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
12 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 1
Average Mileage:
43,469 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Hyundai Sonata steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Hyundai Sonata:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Hyundai Sonata Owner Comments (Page 9 of 42)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #663

Jul 012016

Sonata

  • 87,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. While driving, the electronic power steering sensor warning light illuminated and the steering wheel became very loose when making a turn. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the eps was reprogrammed. The steering wheel became very tight and difficult to maneuver. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 87,000. Updated 09/22/16

- Bedford, OH, USA

problem #662

Jul 142016

Sonata 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 36,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. While driving 65 mph, an abnormal clicking sound emitted from the steering wheel without warning. The failure occurred at various speeds and when making a left or right turn. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the steering coupler needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 16V190000 (steering). The failure mileage was 36,000. Updated 09/29/16 updated 10/04/16.

- Decatur, GA, USA

problem #661

Jun 302016

Sonata

  • miles
2 weeks ago I bought a pre-owned 2011 sonota gls with 69,000 miles, from drivetime. I asked for a car fax report which they provided something similar but their report only showed one recall on the vehicle which was recall number 143, regarding the eps problem. So for a week I looked into all the recalls this vehicle has but it was past the 5 day return policy by drivetime. We figured if it was a recall then it would have to be repaired by law, right" so I put my VIN # in to verify that indeed my vehicle was part of numerous recalls, so I scheduled an appointment for recall 132 at vandergriff Hyundai in arlington, tx. Before they even looked at the car they said that campaign was "closed" & said they couldn't assist me any further. I asked them what does closed mean, does that mean the engine block was replaced previously or not? they just said "its been done, " nothing more. We've had this car two weeks & already my girl has got a ticket for the left rear brake light being out which I've replaced 3 times now, the car for no reason pulls to the left which could cause a possible head on collision, & the engine & transmission both sound that they are on their last leg. Finally, I received a notice in regards to the extended warranty 10yr/120,000 miles which I was thinking we can get it looked at that way, but then after a series of questions I was told that our vehicle does not qualify for this warranty due to the vehicle we just purchased 2 weeks ago has issues. I told the rep I thought all of the 470,000 vehicles that were affected by the recall automatically was given that warranty" I want the info on what was done to fix/repair the vehicle on each recall & why are we being told all the problems we are having with the car now have been "closed." There's no way this vehicle has been repaired because we still have all the problems & symptoms explained in the recalls.

- Arlington, TX, USA

problem #660

Feb 102016

Sonata

  • 136,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that there was an abnormal noise coming from the steering wheel that progressed without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for further diagnostic testing to determine the cause of the failure. The dealer also mentioned that the dtc was not shown for NHTSA campaign number: 16V190000 (steering) and the failure may not be able to be replicated. The contact was unable to determine when the vehicle would be repaired as the noise from the area of the steering wheel continued. The contact was to check with the manufacturer to determine the guidelines for the dealer to repair the vehicle. The approximate failure mileage was 136,000. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Marietta, GA, USA

problem #659

Jun 012016

Sonata

  • 80,000 miles
Every time I turn my wheel left there is a horrible clanking sound and pop. Was told that on 2011's that the steering coupling is breaking. This is an issue that needs to be addressed asap. This happens stationary and in motion. When you go over bumps it causes the steering to shake uncontrollable.

- Maryville, IL, USA

problem #658

Jun 012016

Sonata

  • 67,642 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. While driving at unknown speeds, an abnormal sound was heard from the steering wheel. The contact mentioned that the vehicle was previously repaired per NHTSA campaign number: 16V190000 (steering). The vehicle was taken to the dealer; however, the vehicle was not diagnosed. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 67,642.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #657

Jun 082016

Sonata

  • 38,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle steering wheel has developed a clunking noise when turned to right or left when parked. Also has a hard clunking bang in entire steering wheel when a bump is encountered. Steering is also unresponsive at higher speeds when wheel is initially used to correct lane usage on highways. Constantly concerned steering failure is imminent. Vehicle has less than 39000 miles and otherwise excellent condition. Needs to be corrected but not at owners cost. This is an obvious manufacturing defect. Date of manufacture 4/05/11.

- The Villages, FL, USA

problem #656

Nov 022015

Sonata

  • 110,000 miles
Steering wheel/column stated making a clicking noise about 6 months ago. At first it wasn't that bad; now everytime you move the steering wheel a clicking noise is made. Every bump or rut you hit in the road makes it rattle. Sounding as if it is getting ready to break.. I have taken it to the Hyundai place several times and reported this problem. Hyundai keeps telling me that this is not a recall. It will cost me $250 to $300 to have this repaired. My question still remains that if this steering coupling is defected and it is controlling the steering of the car then why if is not a recall? my steering wheel vibrates, shakes, and makes an awful racket. I do not understand how this is not considered a recall.

- Bolton, NC, USA

problem #655

Jun 172016

Sonata

  • 40,700 miles
There is a clicking/thumping noise when I turn my steering wheel. Feels like the wheel is going over a bump. This is heard more when the wheel is being turned to the left and right. My vehicle has 41,066 miles on it. You can hear/feel the noise while the vehicle is stationary or while driving. I have read similar complaints on message boards which describe this failure as the steering coupling.

- Spotsylvania, VA, USA

problem #654

Jul 112016

Sonata

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V190000 (steering); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Aliceville, AL, USA

problem #653

Jun 012016

Sonata

  • 98,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Steering wheel clicks when turning or when turning wheel when in park. Steering wheel shakes at speeds greater than 50mph. I am concerned for my safety when driving my car. Something needs to be done about this immediately!

- Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #652

Jul 072016

Sonata

  • 70,000 miles
The steering coupler was defective on my car. My steering started getting progressively looser, and especially noisy/vibrating when going over bumps while driving straight. The dealer said it was my coupler based on my description (and it turned to be exactly that) because they said it was common problem with Sonatas and they have to replace them all the time. I have found many other complaints online about this same issue with the Sonata. Having a loose and vibrating steering wheel can't possibly be safe, and the fact that it is a common problem makes me believe something should be done about this other than forcing customers to foot the bill for a defective part that causes steering wheel issues.

- Ballwin, MO, USA

problem #651

Jul 072016

Sonata

  • 49,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. While the vehicle was parked, the steering wheel became completely loose and difficult to maneuver. The failure occurred after the vehicle was serviced per an unknown recall. The technician stated that the steering column needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 16V190000 (steering). The failure mileage was 49,000.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #650

Jan 042016

Sonata

  • 45,000 miles
The steering wheel shakes and vibrates badly and loudly whenever applying pressure to brakes, especially if you are slowing down from going 50 mph+. the steering column also clicks and has a lot of give whenever turning. Hyundai mechanic says reason is the steering coupler is loose and needs to be replaced. I have read numerous forums and discussion boards, and thousands of people are having this issue, and it needs to be addressed. I bought my car brand-new and have less than 60,000 miles on it. Apparently this issue is not related to the 2010-2011 investigation where the steering column was becoming separated and causing the same issue. Those cars were recalled and fixed. To fix this problem costs around $320 due to the mechanics having to remove the steering column. No recall as of yet covers this issue. Mechanic also warned that if it is not fixed, the steering column can become loose and in extreme cases, come off. This is a serious problem with this model and needs to be investigated.

- Carrollton, GA, USA

problem #649

Jan 152015

Sonata

  • 80,000 miles
This vehicles steering column shakes, rattles, and pops while driving, turning, etc.. I have had to also replace 4 front tires and several front end alignments within a years time frame. The tire couples inside every time I have had to replace from abnormal wear and wires are visible on the inside of the tires. When I reach 55-60 mph the whole front end shakes violently, and as stated front end alignments do not last long.

- Texarkana, TX, USA

problem #648

Jul 032016

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 77,000 miles
Eps dash light came on and vehicle lost power steering assist steering. Vehicle was parked in a parking lot and this happened as the car was started when backing up out from the parking space.

- Wichita Falls, TX, USA

problem #647

Jun 222016

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
Recall - NHTSA 15V-568 - engine recall - engine could seize up at any time while driving. On 6-22-2016 Hyundai dealership inspected engine and stated no issues at this time.I do not feel safe driving this car, especially with two toddlers. Thank you recall - steering - loss of power steering could happen at any time while driving. Hyundai dealer stated no current fix is available yet from Hyundai as of 6-22-2016 when my vehicle as getting checked for the engine recall and the brake pad recall was done at the same time. I do not feel safe driving this car, especially with two toddlers. Thank you

- Cherry Hill, NJ, USA

problem #646

Jun 272016

Sonata

  • 96,000 miles
When I hit a bump the steering wheel will start to shimmy, sometimes violently, almost to the point of loosing control of the vehicle.

- Daytona Beach, FL, USA

problem #645

Jun 222016

Sonata

  • 97,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. While driving 15 mph, the electronic power steering warning light illuminated. The failure occurred whenever the vehicle was operated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact stated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 16V190000(steering). The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 97,000.

- Grand Prairie, TX, USA

problem #644

Mar 012016

Sonata

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. While driving 35 mph, the steering began to shake violently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the mdps flex coupler needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V190000 (steering). The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 60,000.

- Manassas, VA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?