Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2011 Sonata has a seriously defective engine that seizes without warning. It was awarded the dubious honor of being the first CarTalk / CarComplaints Turd of the Week in late September 2015.

A class action lawsuit was filed in May 2015 against Hyundai that claims the 2.4L Sonata engine is defective. More info here.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
12 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 1
Average Mileage:
43,469 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Hyundai Sonata steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Hyundai Sonata:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Hyundai Sonata Owner Comments (Page 39 of 42)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #63

Jan 012011

Sonata

  • 100 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I am the owner of a Hyundai Sonata 2011 limited since Dec 31st 2010. I have experience the pulling left issue since day 2. this issue is when driving on the right side of a two-lane street, if I place the steering wheel centered and then let go of the steering wheel, my car will drift completely to the left side of the street. This is a critical safety issue as I am constantly countering the left pull of the car. Please provide information on what can owner of such an issue can expect from dealer and manufacturer. Thanks.

- Gatineau, 00, USA

problem #62

Jan 012011

Sonata

  • 15 miles
Purchased Hyundai Sonata 2.0T limited on December 30th. Prior to purchasing I mentioned to the salesman that the vehicle seemed to pull to the left.since it was Friday I brought vehicle in on Monday Jan 3. service department put it on the alignment rack but had trouble getting it into specifications as evidenced by the invoice notes. Picked it up Jan 4th. With assurance that it was handled. Problem persisted. Brought it back on 5th. With the same problem. Wheel still pulls to the left on all surfaces and you have to apply constant pressure on wheel to keep vehicle running straight. Picked up again from service department on 6th. Drove off of the lot and problem still apparent. The car has only 378 miles on it. They told me it was in specifications and there was "nothing more they could do for me." I am concerned for the safety of this. If you release the wheel under any circumstances the vehicle drifts into the lane left of me.

- Independence, OH, USA

problem #61

Nov 102010

Sonata

  • miles
Since day one, my new 2011 Hyundai Sonata limited turbo has pulled severely to the left. I have returned it to the dealer three times for alignments, steering and camber adjustments, none of which corrected the issue. I have formally reported the issue to Hyundai and the dealer has consulted them on the repairs. They are aware. Every loaner vehicle I was given, all 2011 Sonatas, all pull severely to the left. This is a major safety concern. Drivers have many distractions, phones, radios, dropping things, kids, pets, putting make-up on, etc. That you must be allowed to remove their hands from the wheel for a few seconds without the car pulled out of the lane. Hyundai must be made to address this widespread issue on the 2011 Sonatas immediately. If they can't fix it as it would seem, then they need to buy them back.

- Dayton, OH, USA

problem #60

Jan 022011

Sonata

  • 400 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased a 2011 Sonata on 12/24/2010. I have driven the car 600 miles and now the car veers to the left after turning right. It is extremely dangerous to drive. At 60mph on the expressway the veers to left as if I am going to crash into the concrete median. I took the car back to the dealership (1/6/2011) and the said they performed software download and the car is fixed. Driving it home from the dealership on the expressway the car again veered of the road to the left. (this almost caused me to cash the car) I have taken the car back to the dealership (1/7/2011) they are currently working on the vehicle. I asked if this was a common issue and they said no after the recall on a loose steering column. My problem does not have to do with the steering column it has to do with the fact the car magically drives to the left. After doing some research on my own it looks as though I am one of many experience this problem with the 2011 Sonata. After my experience I am truly afraid that this car may kill me when driving. To me this is a very serious issue with this make of car.

- Derby, NY, USA

problem #59

Dec 292010

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 85 miles
Purchased a 2011 Hyundai Sonata turbo limited and took delivery on Dec 28, 2010. Returned car Dec 29, 2011 because of extreme pull to left. Driving the vehicle it would need constant correction to the right with the steering wheel to keep it straight. Dealer attempted alignment and pull to left still existed, left car with dealer. Dealer contacted Hyundai engineering and a "camber kit" was ordered and installed. Received car on January 5, 2011 after "repair"took car for test drive and while lessened to some degree, car still pulled to the left. Took test ride with service manager and he stated that in his opinion the there was no pull. Took car home to monitor left pull. On varying roads and highways, left pulled still exists. Note that service manager said "camber adjustment was in spec and further adjustment would cause excessive tire wear". contacted Hyundai customer service and filed complaint. Also at day of delivery of vehicle rear drivers side door was misaligned. Dealer took car to body shop to correct alignment. The complainant said his dealer made additional repair attempts (eccentric camber bolts to extend suspension alignment adjustment range, replaced front left mcpherson strut, subframe alignment) but the problem remains. He says the car constantly wants to turn left whether cruising, accelerating or braking and that he has to continually apply about 5 degrees of right steering correction and that this issue is most prevalent at highway speeds. He also says the issue is diminished when a passenger occupies the front seat.

- Struthers, OH, USA

problem #58

Sep 012010

Sonata

  • 4,400 miles
Steering wheel/column "rattles" when going 15-20 mph over rough road. Steering has a loose feel in these instances.

- Boylston, MA, USA

problem #57

Dec 082010

Sonata

  • 3,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that while driving 30 mph, the vehicle begin to abnormally pull to the left. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer and the dealer stated that the front driver side tire would need replacing. The dealer replaced the tire but the contact stated that the failure persisted. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer and the dealer stated that the vehicle would need a wheel alignment. The dealer performed a wheel alignment but to no avail. The third time, the dealer stated there was nothing wrong with the vehicle. The contact had not called the manufacturer to report the failure. The contact stated that he believed the vehicle to be very unsafe to drive. The failure mileage was 3,800.

- Brookville, WI, USA

problem #56

Dec 302010

Sonata

  • 101 miles
2011 Hyundai Sonata SE 2.0T the vehicle has a consistent pull to the left that is always present; it is more noticeable at speeds above 45mph. The pull to the left is significant enough to cause the vehicle to change lanes quickly and dangerously if the wheel is left unattended for a few seconds. Constant driver input to turn the wheel right is always needed to counteract this tendency to pull left. Turning the steering wheel to the left requires significantly less effort than turning the wheel to the right. This issue occurs on all roads, regardless of the travel lane, crown, or pavement type. The issue occurs under constant speed, acceleration, and deceleration (with or without applying the brakes). Additionally, the steering wheel does not appear to be perfectly centered when the vehicle is traveling in a straight path, it appears slightly turned to the left at all times. Arm fatigue sets in after long trips of fighting the wheel, especially in the left lane where the road is sloped for drainage, the problem is exaggerated.

- Bronx, NY, USA

problem #55

Dec 082010

Sonata

  • 100 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata limited. While driving approximately 45 mph he noticed that the vehicle pulled to the left. He stated that the steering feels light when turning to the left and heavy when turning to the right. The vehicle had not been taken to the dealer for the failure. He stated the failure has been on going for three weeks. The VIN was unavailable. The failure mileage was 100 and the current mileage was 1,200.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #54

Dec 232010

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 81 miles
Vehicle pulls to the left on any road surface when going over 40 mph. When the steering wheel is held to center, the car drifts into oncoming traffic within a few seconds (2 or 3). This is a huge safety concern. In order to correct the issue one must constantly hold the steering wheel to the right. Over long drives this causes major arm fatigue due to constant readjustment. After reviewing other user reports this problem seems widespread and is not being acknowledged by Hyundai as an issue. Many vehicles are being returned to customers with a blanket statement of, "we've done all we can do." This is an unacceptable safety hazard.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #53

Dec 042010

Sonata

  • 15 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that the vehicle was abnormally and abruptly pulling to the left. The vehicle had been to the dealer several times where the dealer performed an alignment and reset the electronic steering box to no avail. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was 15 and the current mileage was 1,335.

- Pound Ridge, NY, USA

problem #52

Oct 262010

Sonata

  • 30 miles
Purchased new 2011 Hyundai Sonata SE from oxmoor Hyundai in louisville, ky on 10/26/10. Noticed vehicle pulling left on drive home from dealership after purchase. Notified dealership the following day to have vehicle scheduled to be looked at by service department. Took vehicle to service department on 11/1/10 and they performed an alignment, which did not correct the problem. Returned to service department with vehicle on 11/3/10. Tire air pressure checked, alignment checked again and tires were rotated, but vehicle still pulled left. Advised by dealership to return with vehicle to have Hyundai factory representative involved with case. Vehicle has been at dealership since 11/7/10. Service rep said they have replaced left side control arm and strut, and are currently getting ready to install camber bolt and re-align vehicle. Vehicle, since we have owned it, pulls to the left frequently, but intermittently, and has yet to have problem corrected after 3 visits to the dealerships service department.

- Taylorsville, KY, USA

problem #51

Apr 152010

Sonata

  • 4,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that while driving 35 mph the vehicle pulled to the left. While this happened the contact heard a loud bang. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer and they were unable to diagnose the steering failure. The dealer suspected that the wheel alignment was off. The dealer performed four wheel alignments four times which did not correct the failure. The contact called the manufacturer regarding the steering and the manufacturer will send a regional representative to inspect the vehicle. The contact stated that the safety issue that could potentially cause a crash. The failure mileage was 4,000.

- Windber, PA, USA

problem #50

Oct 132010

Sonata

  • 7,250 miles
Vehicle was brought into the auto dealer for oil change & check of steering recall on Oct.13,2010. On subsequent dates of Oct. 19, Nov. 4, and Nov.11,2010 I brought it back because the steering was pulling to the left. It would appear to be fixed on each of these dates, but the pulling would return. On Dec. 6 I called the dealer & was informed that an engineer was on site and determined that the problem was self correcting & no further work would be done on my car. When I complained to service mgr., he was sympathetic and gave me tel. # Hyundai customer affairs. I called and was given a cae #4208898. On Dec. 8 I received a call from chet conner, who related to me that an engineer & D'arcy mtrs. Service mgr. Checked out my car on Dec. 6 and determined that the" steering was performing as it should" ( on that date my car was with me-not at the dealer). When I informed him that the steering was still pulling to the left, he repeated the aforementioned statement and terminated the conversation. Never had a steering problem until they initially checked the car relative to steering recall

- Lockport, IL, USA

problem #49

Dec 152010

Sonata

  • 15,000 miles
I started the car in the parking garage and a high pitched whine was produced while the esp light was flashing. I turned the motor off and restarted and the issue went away, later that evening after leaving a restaurant I started the car and the loud high pitch whine started again with the esp light flashing. Of great concern was the steering wheel began shaking violently and would not stop. The car was not drivable so I pulled to the side of the parking lot and turned off the engine. The steering wheel would not stop shaking and did so for about 30 minutes until it stopped. The loud noise also stopped. I called Hyundai assistance and it was going to be morning before I could get it towed. I have had cars give trouble in the past but not like this where I was extremely concerned for my safety.

- Buford, GA, USA

problem #48

Dec 012010

Sonata

  • 100 miles
Car constantly pulls to the left when on highway speeds when hands are off steering wheel. When hands are on steering wheel, I have to constantly fight it.

- Hayward, CA, USA

problem #47

Dec 032010

Sonata

  • 24 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that the vehicle was having a steering problem and pulled hard to the left. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who stated that the problem was common but there was no remedy. The vehicle was put up on an alignment rack but it could not be straightened. An engineer from the manufacturer drove the vehicle and acknowledged but stated that there was no fix for the problem. The failure mileage was 24 and the current mileage was 900.

- Irvine, CA, USA

problem #46

Dec 032010

Sonata

  • 40 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact was driving at various speeds when suddenly the vehicle began to pull into the left direction. The failure occurred whenever the vehicle was in operation. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where they informed the contact that the failure could be related to the electronic steering or the steering cradle. Also, the technician informed that there was not a remedy for the steering failure and would continue to investigate for a resolution. The failure mileage was less than 40.

- Aliso Viejo, CA, USA

problem #45

Nov 292010

Sonata

  • 300 miles
2011 Sonata 2.0T limited pulls to the left at all times. It is much more apparent when driving on the freeways, but is present when driving slower on side streets and county roads. The degree of pull varies. At times you can't feel it pulling, but if you take pressure off the steering wheel the vehicle drifts left. At other times you can feel the left pull and have to correct via pressure on the steering wheel in the opposite direction. A front and rear alignment was performed and the problem is still there. I test drove the only other 2011 Sonata 2.0T at my local dealership and it pulled left the same as mine.

- Maple Grove, MN, USA

problem #44

Nov 302010

Sonata

  • 50 miles
Car has a consistent pull to the left that is always present. The degree of the left pull varies and is much more noticeable when cruising at freeway speeds. The moment you are no longer putting pressure on the steering wheel the car wanders left immediately. Leave pressure off for about 5-7 seconds and the car has already drifted an entire lane to the left. It doesn't seem to matter what type of road bed you are on, nor does it seem to matter how much of a crown the road has. The car pulls left under all conditions(keeping steady rate of speed with accelerator, keeping steady rate of speed with cruise control, car in neutral rolling along, accelerating). A full vehicle alignment has not solved the problem. Every similar car at the dealership where I purchased mine from exhibited this same behavior.

- Maple Grove, MN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?