Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
36,254 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Hyundai Sonata drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Hyundai Sonata:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Hyundai Sonata Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #22

Nov 132015


  • 70,000 miles


The contact owns a 2012 Hyundai Sonata. While driving 55 mph, the vehicle lost power. In addition, the accelerator pedal was depressed, but the vehicle failed to accelerate. The check engine warning indicator illuminated intermittently. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, but the vehicle was unable to be diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 70,000.

- Atoka, TN, USA

problem #21

Nov 022015


  • 90,000 miles
Boyfriend's vehicle. Check engine light came on and the code P0087 was noted by the obdii (fuel rail pressure low) mechanic originally stated that this was an "intermittent" problem and the whole system would have to be replaced at + $1200. This didn't make sense to him so he asked to be shown exactly where the problem was located, and what part was causing the problem. The mechanic could not give him an answer. "it's around this area" he replied as he waved across the center of car. He went to another mechanic and another after that. Only consistency has been the lack of know how to fix this problem. In the meantime, his oil is thickening and darkening, and his fuel is not giving him the mileage it should. It seems the only assistance anyone wants to give revolves around replacing the whole system, yet the servicemen themselves admit that they are uncertain that this avenue for repair is necessary. None of them can offer us a repair or replacement of the sensor itself. Finally, one mechanic advised us that under the P0087 error code the following could be causing the engine light to come on: 1. weak fuel pump, clogged filter or screen, restricted fuel supply line 2.faulty fuel pump driver module 3.faulty fuel pressure sensor. Unfortunately, this mechanic is a student and not certified to perform repairs. I verified his opinion thru but was quickly disillusioned because again, no one is willing to check these causes individually. Finally my boyfriend was told to just buy a can of air spray to blow out any surrounding dust and then just let him 'reset' the check engine light and see how long it stays off. I know that this is wrong and have found a repair guide finally. But, I also now find service bulletin no.: tsb-15-01-010 component(s): Engine NHTSA id number: 10058132 that seems to be about this issue. How do we resolve this problem already?

- Upland, CA, USA

problem #20

Feb 132016


  • 38,000 miles
While sitting still at stop light on a city street with foot on the brake pedal and in drive- the car lurched slightly like it was trying to go forward. The brakes stopped it from felt a bit like the car shifted to a another gear.the whole event lasted about 2 seconds. Otherwise the car behaved normally. This has happened three to four times since we bought the car new in Dec. 2011. A disturbing event. We would like to know if others have encountered this, and is it dangerous?

- Greenville, NC, USA

problem #19

Oct 202015


  • 44,000 miles


Issues with loud rattle noise coming from engine when accelerating over 40 mph.called Hyundai dealer service dept.& made appt to get inspected. Service rep claimed the mechanic heard no noise, so I had to go drive car with mechanic to identify noise. (noise obviously noticeable) after driving car with mechanic he said the cvts needed to be replaced. I took my recall notice for NHTSA # 15V-568. I asked if this was due to metal debris left in engine they said no.they gave me a rental.took 2 weeks for cvts to be replaced. About 8 days later after Hyundai returning car the noise was back. 3 weeks it got worse, called Hyundai dealer, took it back. The service rep. Again claims they dont hear anthing.have to drive my car again to identify noise to mechanic.its very frustrating. There still is no solution to rattle noise, recall or have they inspected my car properly for the car issues I am experiencing & reporting to them. The car stalled on my way to drop it off. Rpms increased but car did not accelerate. Let off gas pedal then tried again serveral times finally the car puttered & proceeded. My daughter was in the car with me so it was a scary situation for the both of us. I told the service rep what just happened. Left my car & they gave me rental.I have experienced loud noise from engine since I bought the car new in December 2011. Was told that the car is supposed to be loud & make the rattle noise bc of eco engine. As the years have gone by the car's performance has worsen. It has stalled several times. I dont feel safe. The car only has 45,000 miles. Ive had several issues battery, steerling wheel, radio, etc..bad experinces. Ive maintained the car with proper oil changes, reported all issues on file with Hyundai service dept.Hyundai needs to take responsibility & fix the problems with their cars & find a remedy to thier engine recall asap. Safety is important.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #18

Aug 232015


  • 49,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to accelerate without warning. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 49,000.

- Spring, TX, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #17

Aug 072015


  • 136,564 miles
On August 7, 2015 at approximately 9:30 pm, I was coming back from running an errand with my 16-year old daughter in the car with me. I made a right-hand turn when suddenly, all of the lights on the instrument panel illuminated and the engine stopped. Additionally, I lost all power steering, etc. I was able to maneuver the vehicle to the side of the road immediately, but almost got rear-ended by a pickup truck that was following me. I turned off the car, let it sit for a few minutes, and started it up again. The car seemed fine at that point, and I was able to continue my short drive back to my home (approximately 1.25 miles). When I arrived at home and placed the car in park, the oil pressure light was flickering slightly. I turned the car off and went into the house for the night. The next morning (8/8/15), I checked the oil level in the engine, and noted that it was slightly above the fill line. I added some synthetic oil to the engine, checked the level and noted that it was adequate. I started the engine to go run some errands. The car seemed fine at first, but when I was approximately 5 miles from my home, the oil pressure light began to flicker again while the car was idling (at a stop light, etc.) I called my husband right away, who told me to bring the car home. I noted that the engine had somewhat of a ticking noise while driving it. When I was approximately a quarter-mile from home, the engine started knocking/banging very loudly. I immediately shut the car off, called my husband, and called for a tow truck. I had the car towed to my mechanic's shop. On Tuesday, 8/11/15, my mechanic removed the oil pan and informed me that the bearings were failing, which caused metal shards to clog the oil pump filter, and he also noted that the oil pan was full of shards. This car is a safety hazard and needs to be recalled!!!

- Pleasant Prairie, WI, USA

problem #16

Sep 152014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • miles


Sep 2014: Received a recall notice that the transmission shift cable may detach from the shift lever pin. Sep 2014: Contacted Hyundai service center, brandon Hyundai, 9915 adamo drive E, tampa fl 33619 and was given an appointment for Sep 22/14 to have the recall issue taken care of. Sep 22/14: Took vehicle to Hyundai service center; however, was informed that the part was on order and someone would contact me once the part was available. Oct 1/2014: Contacted Hyundai customer service at 855-671-3058 and spoke to [xxx] (# [xxx]) as no one contacted me and I am assumed that the part was still not available. Dec 3/14: Contacted Hyundai customer connect center at for assistance. Dec 3/14: Hyundai motor America advised me "we will contact brandon Hyundai on your behalf to see when parts will arrive. We will contact you within 3-5 business days when an update to your case is available and look forward to assisting you further." To date: No one has contacted me and I am still driving a vehicle that Hyundai recalled to have a defective part fixed. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Valrico, FL, USA

problem #15

Aug 102013

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 15,042 miles
First time noticed that the oil pan is leaking at 15,042 miles. Took the car to the dealership and they resealed it under warranty. Started leaking again at 22,566 miles and took it to the dealership. This time they replaced the oil pan and resealed it again under the warranty. I just noticed it that it's leaking again at 30,660 miles. I am really concerned that this brand new car is leaking oil like this. Also, I strongly feel that the fix is not addressing the underlying issue which may be something else. I think Hyundai needs to look at this issue closely and must come up with a permanent solid fix. I have been reading on the Hyundai Sonata forum that many are facing the same problem. I am surprise that there is no recall for this yet. This is my first and last Hyundai.

- Wheaton, IL, USA

problem #14

Sep 032012

Sonata 4-cyl

  • miles
The car hesitates during start up! I have had it into the shop approx 9 times since we have had the car. This last time (approx 30K miles) they told me it was normal. I am afraid this car is an accident waiting to happen!

- Rotonda West, FL, USA

problem #13

Sep 102014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Hyundai Sonata. After the contact parked the vehicle, it rolled away. The driver attempted to re-enter the vehicle, but it crashed into a wooden fence. The driver's left leg became stuck in the front driver side door and was pinned between the vehicle and the fence. The fire department sawed the fence off in order to open the door and get the driver out of the vehicle. The driver sustained injuries to the hip, left thigh, knee cap, and foot. The driver required medical attention. A fire report was filed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 50,000. Updated 10/29/14 updated 7/14/2015

- Augusta, GA, USA

problem #12

Apr 012014


  • 26,000 miles


The contact owns a 2012 Hyundai Sonata. While in park, the vehicle rolled forward and crashed into a curb. A police report was not filed and no injuries were reported. The failure occurred three times. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 26,000.

- Bridge Port , CT, USA

problem #11

May 152014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 25,000 miles
While attempting to accelerate from a stop the vehicle got to 30 to 35 mph and would not go any faster despite pressing gas pedal and rpms went up to 7 and 8. after pushing gas pedal several times the car will finally increase in speed which is very concerning given I drive on an interstate. This has happened 3 times in past 4 months and same exact thing at 10 mph and RPM went to 4 and 5 and car would not increase speed. I stopped vehicle and accelerated and then it operated normally. Dealership has been in unable to duplicate it and has questioned me several times about driving with two feet which I do not do and laying purse on console against shifter which I also do not do. 3 of the 4 times it happened it was at the beginning of my drive within first mile or so. 1 time was near end after about 20 miles. Purchased car used with 18000 miles on it and did not drive on interstate from July 2013 until March 2014 on regular basis.

- Summerville, SC, USA

problem #10

Aug 042014


  • 57,678 miles
Car put in park to call a persons house was at his neighbors house next door for directions ran off in ditch thought at time I might have left car in drive.went down bank when my dog and I stopped car in park did not think nothing else about it until today. Went to store came back parked 2012 Sonata in driveway left car on to run in house right quick so dog would be cool. I put legs outside car 2012 Sonata took off like a bat out of [xxx] threw me out on the ground. I hurt my back and rear end very painful and 2012 Sonata ran into my 2004 anniversary edition collectors car which was as close to new as they get. They have a recall on line that say the date has not been made to send out notices about a pin breaking in gear shift causing the car to go in park and still be in drive. I read on this same sight about a women who had her car do her the same way and had to have 10 stitches.I called Hyundai dealer near by they said bring it in to be checked.I asked who would fix my 2 wrecked car that will have a lots less value. He told me to call my insurance company. So I called accident will raise my insurance payment that will cost me the rest of my life. Do not know where they got this thing at the end of the mileage is 30,000,32000 or 45,000 miles and they are release from fault when people are coming close to getting killed or cripple for life. These car companies are getting away with things if I did in my business they would get everything I have and make me pay for life hope I have better luck than these other people. They are going to tow the car in and check the problem. Who is to say they will fix it and say nothing was wrong like I have already read. Please be careful if you on a 2012 Hyundai Sonata information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Lanett, AL, USA

problem #9

Jun 222014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 39,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that after parking and turning off the vehicle in her residential garage, the vehicle started rolling backwards. In an attempt to stop the vehicle the contact fell which caused her to scrape her chin needing 10 stitches. The contact was taken to the emergency room. The failure mileage was 39,000. The consumer stated she and the police attempted to piece together the scenario, that the vehicle was not in park, when she turned it off. The consumer stated the vehicle could be put into any gear, and it could roll, whether it was on a flat of hilly surface. Updated 08/20/14 updated 8/27/14

- West Caldwell, NJ, USA

problem #8

Oct 182013

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 30,251 miles
Starting on 10/16/2013 when attempting to accelerate, the vehicle did not respond. Rpms were at 3K and when I attempted to accelerate, there was no response even when pushing the gas pedal all the way to the floor. In another incident on 10/17, when attempting to accelerate, rpms spiked at 6.5K and the vehicle would not shift. On 10/18 I attempted and succeeded in replicating both behaviors. When experiencing the spiking rpms without shifting condition, I manually shifted the vehicle with the paddle shifter to get it to up shift. When the car began shifting again in on it's own, it then downshifted and an attempt to accelerate was met with no response even when pressing the accelerator all the way to the floor. These behaviors create dangerous driving conditions that prevent the driver from moving the car through an intersection or accelerating to get to speed to merge into traffic. I am taking the car in to have the dealer look at it today.

- Leesburg, VA, USA

problem #7

Sep 222013

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 22,000 miles
On 09/22/13, I left for a 75 mile trip. When I first started my car that morning, I noticed it was moving sluggishly, but thought it was due to our overnight chilly temperatures. I drove the short distance to the interstate. As I attempted to merge onto the interstate, I had the most frightening experience of my life. I pressed on the accelerator to prepare to merge and discovered that I had practically no acceleration! my car got to between 5000 and 6000 rpms before it shifted out of first gear! at that point, I was going approximately 45 mph while trying to merge onto an interstate, in front of a semi that would not get over for me to merge. I literally had my accelerator pedal pushed to the floor, as the car again hit between 5000 and 6000 rpms to shift into second gear! I was able to eventually get my car to 65 and turn on the cruise control. I double checked to make sure I was in drive (rather than neutral or manual--no dashboard lights on). On occasion during that drive, I turned off the cruise and hit the accelerator to see if what I had experienced was a fluke┐┐it was not. My accelerator was literally mashed to the floor as my car┐'s speed slowly lurched higher, while my rpms raised above 5000 before shifting to the next gear. Once I returned home, I turned off my car for a few minutes, before restarting the vehicle to test it. The transmission problem was gone (although I question whether my turbo is still working effectively, as it seems less responsive). Today, I took my car to the local car dealership to address the recent Sonata recall, and I also requested they examine my transmission, describing the above incident to them. I noted that other drivers mentioned that a waste gateŁ issue appeared to be causing the shifting problems. They could find no problems and suggested I shifted into manual accidentally.

- Champaign, IL, USA

problem #6

Aug 042013

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 52,151 miles
While driving on interstate 77 North bound in North Carolina I noticed the passenger safety seat belt light was flickering but there was no one or nothing on the seat to warrant the light turning on. So I reached over and snapped the seat belt in and the light turned off. About 10 miles afterwards the eps light starts flicking as well as the brake indicator on the dash, next thing you know the engine shuts down and power steering goes stiff. I manage to pull to the shoulder avoiding getting struck by a car or truck and I am not able to turn on the car back on. I am able to turn on all other items ( radio, turn signals, interior lisghts) I am not able to use the blue link service so I had to call aaa and have the car towed to the nearest dealership 18 miles away. I will have to wait until the dealership looks into the issue, its Sunday and the service department is closed.

- Montgomery, NY, USA

problem #5

May 072013

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 21,000 miles
The transmission ceased to work while driving. This is a new car only one year old and needs a new transmission according to the dealer.

- Wyomissing, PA, USA

problem #4

Apr 272013

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 19,000 miles
Stopped to put car in park and got stuck in reverse this the second time the has happened in a 10 day period. The first time happened they said the shifter cable came loose. Can you imagine if this happened to someone while they were driving?

- Seffner, FL, USA

problem #3

Nov 152012

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 400 miles
On three separate occasions, the most recent, 2/4/13, I required quick acceleration to avoid a collision. A sudden thrust of the accelerator pedal should result in rapid acceleration, instead the car hesitates, de-accelerates, presumably while it tries to find a solution (battery vs gas), stalls, then slowly accelerates. This delay is dangerous and will result in an accident. Specifically, I approached a busy intersection where the traffic signal was not working. Drivers treated the intersection as a four way stop, as they should, when it was my opportunity to turn left, I executed my turn normally, but then noticed a truck crest the hill to my left at a high rate of speed about Ż block away, I tried to accelerate quickly to finish my turn and get out of the way. The car felt like it powered down, sat there for a second, then accelerated slowly. The truck swerved and slammed on its breaks to avoid colliding with me. I have been driving for 30+ years, I am a safe, defensive driver. I have also owned another hybrid car (2007 Toyota Camry) where this problem did not occur. I have reported this problem to the dealership where I acquired the vehicle and filed a complaint with Hyundai corporate office. Additionally, two other issues I have experienced with this vehicle are; I have driven this car for 1,883 and recorded my mileage and gas purchases using the tools from and have realized an overall mpg of $23.73. For a car that is supposed to achieve between 34 and 39 mpg, it misses the mark. The hybrid battery will not charge above 50%. occasionally, during highway driving, the hybrid battery will charge above 50%, but quickly depletes the battery to below 50% within a few miles. I wonder if this affects the cars lack of electric reserves when evasive driving measures are required. Hyundai service indicated the battery charge levels are normal.

- St. Louis, MO, USA

Read the next 2 complaints »

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?