Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
38,330 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Hyundai Sonata steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Hyundai Sonata:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Hyundai Sonata Owner Comments (Page 5 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #37

Jun 142013

Sonata

  • 18,210 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

As a result of the wandering steering issue, I have concluded my 2012, Hyundai Sonata limited 2.0T is unsafe. Up until this report, I have tolerated the steering. On June 14, 2013, I nearly crossed over the center of a two-lane highway nearly hitting an 18-wheel semi truck head on. The steering is not safe. Due to the very light nature of the steering and lack of progression just off center, there is too much play in the center of this electric power steering system. This play results in a slight delay in response to small steering inputs. Along with a poor factory suspension setup that is too stiff, the car easily begins to wander on even the smoothest of roads. An example is noted. Car moves right. I respond with left input. Car moves left. However, delay in steering response to center car results in overshooting center position of the lane. Then have to provide right steering input, again with delay in response to input. As a result, the car becomes stuck in a left to right oscillation. Even if I lighten up on the inputs, I cannot eliminate the oscillation because no road is perfectly flat. Add in crosswinds, it only gets worse. I am aware of numerous reports concerning the wandering steering of the Hyundai Sonata. I am also aware of some owners having the steering mode changed to sport, but I am not convinced this will help much if I choose to have this done. The poor suspension (too much damping) along with the low profile tires will still be there, and I cannot believe they can get the steering to work well with the suspension. Overall, the light, slow to respond steering and a too stiff suspension are not a good match for each other under daily driving. The steering is progressive during more aggressive driving, even though it lacks good feedback.

- Augusta, GA, USA

problem #36

May 212013

Sonata

  • 22,000 miles
While driving at a low speed, approximately 30 mph and slowing to a traffic light, the entire electrical system on my 2012 Hyundai Sonata gls failed. I lost the power steering, braking and gas. All of the warning lights lit up on the console. Luckily I was able to allow the car to come to a stop on its own - if I had been traveling at a higher rate of speed, or if someone had been crossing the road, the result could have been much, much worse. Once the car stopped, I put it in park and the lights stayed on. I turned the key to the off position and then back on and it turned right back on as if nothing happened. The car was then towed to the dealer and was in service for 5 days, and they claim to be unable to replicate the failure. Since they are unable to replicate, and lemon law state that an issue must occur 3 times, I have no course of action to take besides buying a new car and taking on added expense, or driving this car, which may or may not be safe from defect and hope it doesn't happen again. I will file a complaint with Hyundai as well.

- Levittown, PA, USA

problem #35

May 092012

Sonata

  • 500 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that while driving various speeds, the steering wheel required full force applied to the wheel in order to drive straight. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for diagnosis. The technician stated that the vehicle was equipped with electronic steering which functioned as designed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 500.

- Pittsfield, MA, USA

problem #34

Jan 302013

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 21,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

There are actually 2 issues going on. First off, I purchased the car new in September 2011 (to replace a GM lemon) and ever since I've had the vehicle, it has pulled to the right. Second issue, I left work pulling onto the road, drove a couple of blocks when traffic had stopped at the upcoming light; therefore I had not completely built up speed to the speed limit (40) when I had to stop. I applied the brakes and did not completely stop before hitting the Toyota 4runner in front of me, I felt like I was driving on ice. When I hit the brakes, the car started to stop but the brakes kept going further down to the floor, with no feeling of stopping. The dealership that repaired the vehicle through the insurance company( GM) said they did not find anything wrong with the brakes so I took it took it to my local Hyundai dealer, who did find that my brake lines had air in them. I don't know how since I had never had them worked on and it's a sealed system. After the technician called Hyundai, they assigned a case number. While my car was being repaired, I mentioned that the car pulled to the right so they did an alignment on it, since it was a front end crash. They did notice the pulling but the alignment did not help and thought I may have a bad tire, but with 21,000 miles, would not replace it. I get my tires rotated faithfully and have already been told they are wearing out. This is the first foreign car I've owned and (as prev. Noted) got it to replace a GM lemon, now I don't feel safe driving this car and I have to use it to travel across the state. Between the steering and the brakes, I don't know what to do. Did I get another lemon? since I can't seem to get any satisfaction, I'm contacting you, I'm tired of calling the Hyundai dealer since they say can't do anything. I don't want to get satisfaction, only after my family is writing my obituary. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Lake Worth, FL, USA

problem #33

Feb 152012

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 475 miles
I am the owner of a 2012 Sonata limited turbo. I have been extremely loyal to the Hyundai Sonata brand, this being my fourth Sonata. I purchased 2 of them used (both 2006's) and the other two brand new (2009 & 2012). Until this most recent new vehicle, I have not had a single problem with any of the three others. They are pretty amazing cars, if you ask me. They are a world away from Hyundai"S first imports of the excel in 1986. VIN number is[xxx]. having driven the car a short time, it seemed to me that the car wandered excessively and always felt on the parkway that you were driving on the crest of the road. At 65 mph and above, my impression is that this car is all over the road. I wrote to Hyundai on February 15th, 2012 when the car had 475 miles on it. I was given case number [xxx]. L thought it was alignment problem because of the wandering condition. When picking it up, I asked about what the problem was. They said that it was there was an air pressure problem. No alignment was done. On a winding road, it is all over the road. I wrote again to Hyundai on July 19st. I was given case number [xxx]. they said that they would be contacting the service manager. I have yet to hear back from Hyundai. I'd like a factory rep or zone manager to drive this car and then examine it to determine what needs to be done to this car to either fix it, or replace it. I"D also like to drive an identical 2012 turbo to see if it is perhaps, just my car that is problematic. This car was brought in three different times to two different dealerships. Both say there is nothing wrong with the car, however, independant shops and other people driving this car cornfirm that there is a problem. This car is unsafe to drive on the highways. If you were to lose concentration for even a moment, you would be involved in an accident.

- Commack, NY, USA

problem #32

Dec 062012

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 6,473 miles
Bought car as new with 6172 miles, car has consistent pull to right, when trying to make correction, car starts to pull harder. Drove car on snowy roads and was unable to keep car in lane at a safe driving speed with traffic, causing me to slow and became a hazard on roadway. Have taken to 2 different dealerships 4 times being told "that this a normal condition and there is nothing wrong". have taken to third party repair shop, who has documented a pulling problem, but unable to repair due to what they diagnose as a computer power assist problem. Drive car only on dry roads and not being used for daily use due to this unsafe and dangerous steering condition.

- Florence, MT, USA

problem #31

Feb 012012

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 3,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle has been to dealership 5 times for steering issue. Car pulls to right no matter road conditions, type of road, or speed of vehicle. Car showed excessive tire wear around 3500 miles. In total car has been aligned five times, four new tires put on car, new struts and mounts, and new shocks. Had independent mechanic drive vehicle after vehicle "repaired" fifth time and he said there is something definitely wrong with the vehicle's steering. Went to the dealership today to inform them that their last attempt to repair the vehicle failed. They basically blew my husband off and told him the car is fixed. However, car is still pulling to the right and he is experiencing arm fatigue from the pulling of the steering wheel.

- Goshen, IN, USA

problem #30

Jul 282011

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 75 miles
Since purchasing this vehicle, it has had steering problems. It tracks constantly to the left and is exhausting holding the wheel in line on longer trips. I have had it to the dealer four times and they have given a variety of reasons/excuses. The field manager came out and when I picked the car up, all they said was it was fine and nothing was done. It is wearing the tires. I saw that there was some sort of fix for the 2011, but clearly this needs a fix.

- Perris, CA, USA

problem #29

Nov 282011

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 7 miles
Since the first day I leased this vehicle I've complained about the steering. I was told that only happened in the 2011 Sonata and it has been corrected. The dealer tells me there is nothing wrong! surely there is! the car has a mind of it's own when driving. It is all over the road, when I put on the brake it goes off to the left. I had to react fast in a situation, and I truly thought I was going to flip over due to the steering. The 2012 Sonata is a very dangerous when it comes to the steering.

- Long Beach, CA, USA

problem #28

Aug 222011

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 760 miles
While braking hard to avoid a coyote, vehicle pulled hard right even though I was trying to steer left. Was pulled off road to the right and hit a driveway. Caused extensive damage to under carriage and bumper. Notified dealership of the issue while vehicle was repaired at the same dealership I purchased vehicle from. At the end of September 2011, I received an E-mail from Hyundai blue link that there was an issue with the ESC (electronic steering control). Brought the vehicle to the dealership and was told that it was an error with the blue link system. A month later, another E-mail, took car back to dealership, they performed diagnostics and a clock wheel sensor was dead in the steering column. The ESC adjusts pressure to the brake calipers in an attempt to maintain the vehicle in the same direction before braking. Was told by service manager that if a sensor was bad in the steering column, it would affect the braking and could have caused the vehicle to improperly apply braking pressure thus pulling the car off the road. Contacted insurance company and they were pursuing Hyundai about this issue.

- Midland City, AL, USA

problem #27

Apr 212012

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 25 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2012 Sonata will not drive straight, it pulls to the left mostly but also to the right. Basically the car swerves all over the road, especially at higher speeds. I took it back to the dealership and they told me all foreign cars drive like this. They adjusted the tire pressure but that did not solve the problem. I do not feel safe driving the car. Hyundai issued a service campaign to fix the 2011 Sonatas for this exact problem, why can't they just do the same for the 2012S?

- Nashville, TN, USA

problem #26

Jul 102012

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 560 miles
Above 55 mph the steering is extremely hard. Small movements of the steering wheel cause large lateral movements of the vehicle requiring over steer to correct. At 55 mph and greater, the feel is like manual steering causing arm and wrist fatigue.

- Shepherdstown, WV, USA

problem #25

Apr 052012

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 4,000 miles
- main symptom. : unstable driving condition. 1. steering won't be perfectely centered after making turn ( both left and right) as much as 1/2 inches at any speed. 2. easely wandered even after manually centered. It has a driver make adjustments constantly. Simply, my car doesn't go straight. In order to keep track, I need to keep making steering adjustments at any speed. I feel like unstable, wandering on highway. I visited dealer, issued case to Hyundai customer center. But dealer said there is no solution (they did their best), customer ctr. Said there is no safety issue.(not sure but seems like they noticed) since my 20 more yrs driving. This is the most ridiculous experience. Whatever they said, this is definitely safety issue. Please check it out.

- Cary, NC, USA

problem #24

Jun 092012

Sonata 4-cyl

  • miles
After purchasing the car new in Sept of 2011, we received notice from Hyundai advising of recall due to pulling whiling driving. We contacted the local dealer multiple times and were advised they were waiting on the technical specification on how to fix the problem. This has continued since November of 2011. The driving condition of the car has continued to decline and has even caused the front two tires excessive wear. The front tires already need replacement. The car drifts off to the right severely when you release the steering wheel, causing fatiguing of the arms due to continued correction of the steering.

- Valdosta, GA, USA

problem #23

Apr 012012

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 50 miles
The vehicle wanders at highway speeds. It is not suitable for highway driving as it is very fatiguing to drive any distance on the highway. I am constantly fighting with the steering to stay in my lane. Most of my driving is on the highway and this problem is very much a safety concern.

- Jupiter, FL, USA

problem #22

Mar 222012

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 600 miles
Purchased Mar 15 2012 and 1st highway driving was Mar 22, 2012. At approx 50 mph and greater vehicle wanders enough from left to right to require constant correction to keep it from going over center line or off side of road. If I adjust steering to left vehicle continues to left requiring an immediate adjustment to right which causes vehicle to continue to right, etc, etc, etc. No accident so far. However, have gone over center line and off side of road periodically. Bottom line... my wife and I are concerned about our safety driving this vehicle. Will email info to dealer..

- Wilmington, NC, USA

problem #21

Apr 022012

Sonata

  • miles
2012 Hyundai Sonata. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle drifting while driving

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #20

Jan 022012

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 10 miles
Purchased 2012 Hyundai Sonata in December of 2011. Steering feel is extremely light/loose, especially at highway speeds. Car wants to wander from side to side and constant incremental steering adjustments are needed by the driver to keep the vehicle tracking straight. Creates a danger if over-steer is applied by driver during an adjustment in an effort to keep car straight. Have heard that many owners are having the same problem.

- East Meadow, NY, USA

problem #19

Sep 122011

Sonata 4-cyl

  • miles
Vehicle does not track straight, pulls to the left or right. Purchased car 9/10/12. Earliest appointment to returned to dealer 9/22/11. Tech. Reset tire pressure. He drove vehicle and verified complaint. Track balance -tracked for 17 seconds. Contacted dealer again but had to leave for Florida. Went to orlando dealer Jan.3, 2012. They indicated NJ dealer replaced both tie rods, performed alignment, recalibrated steering, checked tire pressure. No change in performance. Constant corrections are needed to keep vehicle in proper direction. Difficult to control at any speed. Contacted NJ dealer[xxx]) numerous times to restate that this car is not safe to drive. Returning to the dealer April,2012 to request replacement. This car not safe to drive! information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Hamilton, NJ, USA

problem #18

Mar 062012

Sonata

  • 2,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that while driving approximately 50 mph, the vehicle began to unintendedly wander into the next lane. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer twice for the same failure. The four tires were rotated and a wheel alignment was performed. The failure persisted and became progressively worse. The technician stated that the failure was a manufacturer's defect and they were unable to provide a remedy. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 2,000.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

Read the next 17 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?