Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
18,433 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Hyundai Sonata brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Hyundai Sonata:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Hyundai Sonata Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #23

Aug 312016

Sonata

  • 40,250 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We bought the car in September 2012. Within days, we started to notice rust spots on the body of the car that appeared to be coming from brake dust. We contacted the dealer and informed them of the issue, and our concern that it would damage the clear coat or paint. Dealer stated they could not do anything. We started to notice brake noise. May 16, 2013; at 6,400 miles, we took the car to the dealer for service, and again complained of grinding noise when braking; dealer inspected brakes and said everything was fine. August 9, 2013; 7,589 miles. Took car in to dealer for service, again complained about brake noise; dealer inspected brakes and said everything was fine. June 16, 2014; 16,176 miles. Took car in to dealer for service, again complained about brakes, dealer inspected brakes and said everything was fine. May 10, 2016; 37,247 miles. Heard severe grinding noise coming from brakes, took to dealer to inspect. I asked a mechanic to ride with me while I drove to make sure they heard the noise, and mechanic did hear it. Dealer kept car for 7 days, inspected brakes, and said could not replicate noise. August 31, 2016, 40,400 miles. Heard severe grinding noise on brakes again, took to dealer, again had dealer rep listen to noise. Dealer inspected the brakes, and stated there was severe wear on the inside brake pads, that had damaged the rotors to the point they had to be replaced. There was no warning that the brake pads were worn prematurely, and the dealer failed to identify the issue with braking system until it was too late, creating a safety hazard. There was a problem with the braking system from the beginning, and we documented it at the dealer, where we had all service done.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #22

May 112016

Sonata

  • 34,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Hyundai Sonata. When the brake pedal was depressed, the brakes made an abnormal noise and felt as though that they were dragging. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the calipers were getting jammed, which damaged the rotors. The rotors needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 34,000.

- Schaumburg, IL, USA

problem #21

May 012016

Sonata

  • 22,500 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Hyundai Sonata. While depressing the brake pedal, a grinding noise was heard coming from all four wheels and the stopping distance was extended. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the brake drums, brake pads, and brake rotors were rusted and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was invalid. The failure mileage was 22,500. Updated 08/03/16

- Southfield, MI, USA

problem #20

Mar 042016

Sonata

  • 21,085 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle was not used for about 4 weeks in February. Then the car was started in reverse with the foot on the brake pedal. Pedal went mushy with little to no pressure resulting basic loss of brake function while making loud noises. Had to stop vehicle with parking brake. Had vehicle towed to dealer. Service manager drove vehicle, acknowledged the problem, and indicated that rust had accumulated on rotors. He said high/low spots due to rust can result in loss of brake pressure, and loud noise was a result of brake pads rubbing on uneven surfaces. After dealer technician drove several miles and applied brakes, rust wore off and brake function returned. The dealer service manager said the car should be driven every couple days or at least once a week to prevent this from happening. He indicated he could turn the rotors but the rust would just return. I have never owned a vehicle in 30 years where the rotors are so prone to rust resulting in brake failure if not driven for 4 weeks, much less a week. Thankfully this was not noticed at higher speed on a road or this was an accident in the making. I believe there could be a rotor material design or quality issue that is promoting corrosion at such a rapid rate. Dealer's invoice is attached for reference.

- Northville, MI, USA

problem #19

Feb 262016

Sonata

  • 41,000 miles
My brake light on the driver side went out. While trying to change it I found it very hard to take the brake lights out on both sides of the car. Upon finally getting the light bulbs out I found that the brake light housing on both sides had melted and warped making it difficult to get the bulbs out. Along with this the light bulbs had fused themselves into their sockets. I had to break the bulbs to get the complete bulb unit out of the socket. I was able to get the new bulbs into the socket relatively easy. However, when I tried to put them back into the brake housing I had to force them back in. This happened on both sides of the car. My concern is the housing could melt more and ignite on fire. I do not have pictures of it but I do have video of the issue. I found this out when trying to change the bulds in a parking lot close to a local automotive parts company where I work.

- Pomona, CA, USA

problem #18

Oct 052015

Sonata

  • 22,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that when the brake pedal was depressed, the vehicle would continuously stop without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the brakes needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 22,000.

- Cottage Grove, MN, USA

problem #17

Dec 192015

Sonata

  • 10,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2013 Hyundai Sonata. While the vehicle was being parked, the brake pedal was depressed and the vehicle jerked forward, revved, accelerated forward, and crashed over two cement parking blocks. The air bags did not deploy. The contact had to drive the vehicle around and repeatedly depressed the brake pedal in order for the vehicle to stop. The vehicle stopped and the ignition was turned to the off position, but the interior lights illuminated continuously. The contact turned the ignition back to the on position in order to call for roadside assistance. The brake pedal was positioned differently. A police report was not filed and there were no injuries reported. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where the failure was not duplicated. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 10,000. Updated 02/23/16

- Bedford, OH, USA

problem #16

Nov 042015

Sonata

  • miles
My vehicle has been an issue since I purchased it. I have taken it in five times for the same issue with the sunroof leaking and damaging the interior of the vehicle. I have also taken it in for replacement of cv joints twice and as of yesterday for the third time with no resolution. When I dropped off my vehicle it was fine with no lights, no oil change light on or anything, but they called to let me know I had sludge in my engine and it is going to lock up on me. My bumper to bumper warranty will not cover it so I will need to pay out of pocket to fix the issue on a brand new car.I have also had to change my tires on the car at least eight times in the last 3 years. I purchased a warranty for tires and rims, but as usual they have loop holes. They promised I can change my rims if I had any scratches, but when I tried to change them, they have denied my request for three years. It is frustrating to know that what they promise is a lie.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #15

Apr 142015

Sonata

  • 17,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Hyundai Sonata. While inspecting the vehicle, it was found that the front passenger brake pad was cutting into the rotor. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for further inspection. However, the dealer advised that the brake pad cutting into the rotor was normal. The contact also had a local mechanic inspect the vehicle. The technician advised that the brake caliper was defective. The vehicle was not repaired the manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 17,000.

- Camden , SC, USA

problem #14

Aug 132013

Sonata

  • 5,700 miles
In rain car looses power. Wants to cut off.

- Tamarac, FL, USA

problem #13

Feb 012015

Sonata

  • 3,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I having a spongy brake pedal and my ABS, brake, traction control light keep coming on the dash. Then they will disappear.this happened about six times in one day.what may be the problem.I took it to dealer and they could not pull up a code.

- San Leandro, CA, USA

problem #12

Jan 192015

Sonata

  • 38,500 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Hyundai Sonata. While driving approximately 25 mph, the brakes failed to respond when depressed. As a result, the vehicle accelerated through a red light and avoided a crash. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician stated that the vehicle was functioning as designed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 38,500. The VIN was not available.

- Mashpee, MA, USA

problem #11

Jan 082015

Sonata

  • 18,201 miles
My 2013 Sonata was making a loud noise when I applied the brakes. I took it to my mechanic who stated I needed brake pads and rotors. I was told that it was suspicious that my rear brakes were almost new and the front were worn down to the rotors with 18,000 miles after owning the care over 2 years. The dealer denied any recalls on the brakes. A few months prior, this same car drifted out of parking onto the middle of a busy road. When I took the car to the dealer, they denied any problems with the car. I called the corporate office and was told to take it to another dealership. Hyundai dealerships does not treat their customers with respect and they do not own the problems with their vehicles.

- Sharon Hill, PA, USA

problem #10

Nov 012013

Sonata

  • Automatic transmission
  • 39,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that when the brake pedal was depressed, the vehicle would continuously stop without warning. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. However, the vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 39,000. Updated 7/13/15 the consumer the failure was caused by a defective brake booster. Updated 9/18/15

- Broken Arrow , OK, USA

problem #9

Jun 042014

Sonata

  • 19,627 miles
I have owned the car since November of 2012. Beginning in Q1 of 2014, I began to notice the brake pedal feeling spongy in the car. Over the next several months, the pedal became even more spongy, where the brakes would not engage sufficiently to slow the vehicle until the pedal was depressed past more than 2/3's of its full travel. Took the vehicle into the dealer for service on 6/4/2014 with 19,627 miles as vehicle is under warranty and no one else wants to work on it as it would void my warranty. I described the problem to the dealer. The dealer completed their tests and stated that brakes were operating normally. I then took the mechanic for a drive to show that the brake pedal went to almost the floor and again told this was normal by the dealer mechanic. Approximately a month later, after leaving the car parked for a week at the airport with the emergency brake engaged, the rear driver wheel began thumping and vibrating immediately upon driving out of the parking space. I stopped the car and examined the tire. No problems with the tire were detected so I drove home. The noise decreased during the drive but did not go away. The car was then taken to a tire shop where tires were swapped and problem remained with the same left rear brake. Another appointment is scheduled with Hyundai dealer to re-examine brake system. The problem with the spongy pedal has increased and now the brake pedal can be depressed to the floor without much effort. Additionally, the left rear brake continues to make noise when the vehicle is in motion. The noise is more pronounced when the brakes are used, but the noise still exists even when the brakes are not in use.

- Sarver, PA, USA

problem #8

Sep 222014

Sonata

  • 65,000 miles
On Monday September 22nd around 540pm on the 10 fwy going eastbound right before towne ave. As the traffic on the freeway began to slow I came to a complete stop. About 5 seconds after stopping I noticed that the car began to roll forward. I applied more pressure to the brake pedal however the car continued to slowly roll. I then stepped on the emergency break and the car did not stop. The car slowly rolled about 8 feet before it stopped on the back of a big rig trailer bumper. I called 911 and explained that I did not want to move the car as I was not sure it would stop. The chp advised that they would send out a tow truck to get me off the freeway. I was removed from the freeway and I had aaa tow my car to the nearest Hyundai dealer in glendora ca. They called me the next day and said they ran a full test on the car and could not find anything. However they did fix the recall on my car for the rollaway risk and shift cable to the transmission. I asked them do you think this had anything to do with it. The dealer indicated no that maybe I was driving fast and the ABS took over. I told him that I had more than 8 feet between the big rig and myself when I came to a full stop and that I was not going more than 15-20 miles since traffic was slow. The dealer service agent said nothing showed up on the scanned test and they drove it and is fine.

- Victorville, CA, USA

problem #7

Jul 022014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 5,000 miles
I was turning on to smith switch road in ashburn Virginia from waxpool road. I reached to turn on the emergency flashers due to bicyclist on the roadway and I bumped the starter switch for the car and it shut the car off while it was still in motion. This caused the steering to be heavy and brakes very hard to use. Luckily I was able to coast off the road without an accident. I had to stop the vehicle totally and put back into park before it would start again and it would not start again while it was coasting. I tried and it didn't work.

- Woodbridge, VA, USA

problem #6

Jun 082013

Sonata

  • miles
This is an addition to NHTSA complaint number 10522412: After the crash when the vehicle was inspected to see why the brakes completely failed, we received documentation from a vehicle maintenance garage noting they found significant rust on the brake components (calipers maybe). The vehicle was rented in South Dakota where they use significant salt on the roads. While not all complaints noting spongy brakes that then go all the way to the floor without engaging have been reported to NHTSA, there are numerous complaints about this problem on Hyundai Sonata blogs.

- Annandale, VA, USA

problem #5

Mar 162014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 13,500 miles
I was in line at a fast food restaurant and as I approached the delivery window, I brake the car to 3 mph, preparing to stop behind the car in front. My foot was on the brake, but I felt the brake suddenly giving way, having a spongy feel as it was becoming inoperable. The car surged forward and hit the car in front of me. This was the second time this precise thing has happened. The earlier incident occurred in November, 2013, and, thankfully, each incident did not involve hitting a pedestrian. Fortunately, the rate of speed was very low, as well, so damage to vehicles was small. These incidents alarmed me for I couldn't help but think what the consequences could have been had I been at a railroad crossing, approaching a school bus discharging children, etc.. I took the car to rick case Hyundai in plantation, Florida, to have the car checked out and they said they found no problems. They also said there have been absolutely no recalls or other problems involving brakes or throttle malfunctions. So, nothing was actually settled as far as whatever this problem may be, or fixing it.

- Ft. Lauderdale, FL, USA

problem #4

Nov 282012

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 5,000 miles
When braking, the car self-accelerates. There is no predicting when this will happen- sometimes it does, sometimes it doesn't. this has occurred approximately twenty times when I have started/stopped the car while parking and also once on a busy highway when I was unable to stop for a red light. When this happens, my foot is on the brake, but the car accelerates. The car has been to the ciocca Hyundai dealer in quakertown, pa three times. They've kept it as long as three days. They tried to duplicate the problem and I was told it did not occur. They've told me that they've never heard of a problem like this. They checked out the car and told me that nothing is wrong. The problem has been reported to Hyundai- regional case #6004610 and case #6342874. After filing there's nothing that can be done besides file the report with the regional representative. I've been fortunate that no one has been injured so far. My family members will not ride in the car with me. The car currently has 5,700 miles on it. It is a killer car- an accident waiting to happen.

- Springtown, PA, USA

Read the next 3 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?