Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

5.9

fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
14,041 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2015 Hyundai Sonata engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Hyundai Sonata:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Hyundai Sonata Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #40

Aug 172016

Sonata

  • 27,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owned a 2015 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that while driving at 35 mph, the vehicle stalled and smoke started to emit from underneath the hood and the air conditioning vents. The vehicle was pulled to the side and the contact quickly jumped out of the vehicle just before the engine compartment exploded and the hood flew open. The contact stated that the fire department came to the scene and extinguished the fire. A police report was filed but there was no fire report. The contact stated that there were no injuries. The remains of the vehicle was towed to a junk yard. The failure mileage was 27,000.

- Lauder Lakes, FL, USA

problem #39

Oct 242016

Sonata

  • 3,000 miles
I got my car with 15 miles on it, before I even had 10 thoursand miles the car had a transmission heat up. Took it to the dealer they run a test nothing was found. A week later same thing happen, now the car is at 31 thoursand miles im so scared driving the car stalling like a manual car everytime I accelerate. The car keep on vibrating hard at 40-up mph.

- Newark, NJ, USA

problem #38

Apr 282016

Sonata

  • 7,000 miles
At about 7000 mi. The engine began burning oil at 13 K mi.it has been to the dealer twice they say it is normal burning 3/4 qt in less than 3K miles is more pollution than normal I would think

- Omaha, AR, USA

problem #37

Apr 282016

Sonata

  • 9,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The car at about 7K miles started using oil a qt, every 2500 mi. They are telling me it is normal. It is polluting more than than normal plus fouling the plugs over time

- Omaha, AR, USA

problem #36

Oct 202016

Sonata

  • 13,950 miles
Leased 2015 Hyundai Sonata SE trim in 05/2015. 1) in 02/16 --> sluggish acceleration reported to dealer and he applied software update to ECM. 2) 10/05/2016 ---> while driving car started to sputter, shudder and heavy smoke (mostly white) coming from tail pipe. Car was not accelerating at all. It was very dangerous situation and felt that car was not under control. Finally it came to stop. After few minutes, tried to start and succeeded in 3rd/4th attempt. Took it to nearby Hyundai dealer, and as per them, they updated ECM (engine control module) software. 3) 10/20/2016 --> issue appeared again with same symptoms.car is with dealer and he is looking into it. I am very concerned about safety.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #35

Oct 162016

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 12,400 miles
Vehicle has just over 12000 miles. On 10/16/2016 vehicle just stalled while driving it. I had backed out of a parking spot, put in drive, car moved forward about 15 feet and then it shook and made horrible noises and stalled. Took 3 attempts to restart. Brought to dealer, diagnostics revealed nothing and car was released. On 10/19/2016 car stalled again while driving. I was driving through apartment parking lot and it just stalled. Oil and battery lights came on. This time had it towed to dealer (too scared to drive it in rush hour traffic). Dealer ran diagnostics with no results. They are trying to duplicate episodes. How long does this mean they need to keep the vehicle" gave me free rental day 1, but after that? this is a serious safety issue. And from what I can see visiting websites, also a commonly occurring problem. Can the ntsb help before many people are killed? I don't want to drive my car anymore. I traded in an 8 year old car because I wanted something new and reliable. Not sure this was such a good idea. Dealer has been working diligently to identify the problem so they can remedy it, but without any diagnostic errors, they are forced to return the car to me. I really don't want to drive it until I know the problem has been identified and corrected. What if I were in the middle of nowhere and this happened, by myself, and after hours" this is what occurred 10/16/16 and I was lucky I got it restarted.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #34

Sep 242016

Sonata

  • 24,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving about at 50 mph on a highway with my kids and had only 1 to 2 miles left to exit. Suddenly, I felt something wrong in the engine or powertrain as I couldn't accelerate my car. When I tried to hit hard on the acceleration pedal, my car would accelerate a little bit, but not that much. While I stepped down on the pedal, I felt my car was rolling up and down. Anyway, my speed was being reduced as it didn't accelerate. Finally, I exited the highway. I had to stop at the intersection and then tried to start, but my car moved very slowly and hard with the rolling. It is only 1-mile distance to my home from the intersection, but I had to pull over my car to a shoulder as I found that I couldn't no longer drive my car without interrupting the traffic. I also could see white/black smoke coming out from my car through my room mirror and smell something burnt in the engine room. Lastly, I had to call a towing company for pick-up.

- Portland, OR, USA

problem #33

Aug 052016

Sonata

  • 22,438 miles
High speed engine stall: While driving at highway speeds on August 5, 2016, my vehicle suddenly lost power while driving on the highway, which resulted in vehicle coming to a stop. On attempting to restart the engine, the engine had seized and would not restart and the restart attempt was accompanied by noise from the engine and vibrations causing the entire vehicle to shake. Vehicle had to be towed to the dealer for repairs.

- Secaucus, NJ, USA

problem #32

Oct 162015

Sonata

  • 14,000 miles
We had a life-threatening incident when the engine remained running in our attached garage when the driver forgot to turn off the engine and went in the house with the key fob in his pocket. Eventually we smelled fumes and resolved the problem.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #31

Aug 022016

Sonata

  • 17,400 miles
Faulty engine control module - while driving home from vacation, after approximately 9 hours on the highway, our check engine light came on in our 2015 Sonata. We were only two hours away from home and the light wasn't flashing, so we continued driving. While on an acceleration ramp changing highways, the car sputtered and seemed to be losing power, even with the gas pedal completely floored. Thankfully, the engine didn't shut off and we were able to continue driving, however, the engine seemed to "mis-fire" and the car was hesitating and riding rough. The next day, the check engine light went off. A few days later, it came back on, and while trying to gain enough speed to get on the highway, the engine felt like it was cutting out and began to ride rough again. I immediately called Hyundai to make an appointment to have the car looked at. When I made the appointment, the scheduler indicated there was a recall on my car. I asked if it had anything to do with the check engine light being on, and I was told it didn't. I took the car in, and after 2 or 3 hours they called and said my car was ready and they had replaced a faulty ECM (engine control module), which had caused the check engine light to come on. No mention was made of the recall. After reading all the posts on this site, I am convinced the problems people are having with their engines dying is the result of a faulty ECM. I have searched everywhere on the internet about Hyundai recalling vehicles that could be affected, and I could find absolutely nothing. We never received a recall notice by mail or email either. Symptoms of a bad or failing ECM include the check engine light coming on, engine stalling, misfire or performance issues. Shame on Hyundai for not protecting their customers against a potentially life-threatening hazard as this.

- Saint Louis, MO, USA

problem #30

Jun 102016

Sonata

  • 8,340 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

1st event June 10 2016 - car stopped on the fwy at speed over 65 mph. Stepped on the gas pedal and was no power. Attempt to restart and car run rough. Car towed to dealer (tuttle click-Hyundai -irvine, ca.) 2nd event July 18 2016 - driving on fwy at speeds over 65 mph, gas pedal starts vibrating, driving become rough, clicking noise from engine when idling. File complain with dealer, dealer say it did not find anything, blame the situation to costco gas, and it says that the car requires to use different type of gas (such: Chevron, shell).

- Santa Ana, CA, USA

problem #29

Jun 062016

Sonata

  • 12,513 miles
On three different occasions the dash flashed "check TPMS" meaning check air in the tires. On all 3 occasions the car would not go into gear.the next occasion the check TPMS came on so I put air in the tires and drove around the corner to reset the tire pressure monitor (computer). Upon coming around the corner to park the car the check TPMS warning came on again the car powered down and I coasted to park. The next morning I called the dealership to have the car checked I was told from jared that the technician did a software update and that " he thinks, maybe, might have fixed the problem. At this point I did not pick up the car because they could not guarantee the car had been fixed and that it will not die while driving around Hyundai service department said they were not sure because they could not duplicate the problem I had with the car. I left the car there contacted hyndai corporate where they opened a case #9327831.. they in turn had a fast team working on my car and they are not sure if the car is fixed or not because they could not duplicate the same problem. The have had my car for a month now still have not been able to find out what the problem is. I was told it does not fall under lemon law unless the car does the same thing again. But I do not know if the car is fixed 100% it only has 12,513 miles on it. Car would not go into drive the gear shift would not move to where I could drive the car.

- Perris, CA, USA

problem #28

Apr 182016

Sonata

  • 36,148 miles
Engine oil consumption: 1 quarter every 1,000 miles and increasing.

- Katy, TX, USA

problem #27

May 302016

Sonata

  • 38,500 miles
On May 30, 2016 at around 9 pm I stopped my 2015 Hyundai Sonata at a traffic light and without warning the engine died. I was almost rear ended when the light changed to green. No warning lights came on until the engine died. After about two minutes I was able to restart the car. I turned left at the intersection where my car had stalled and in the middle of the intersection the engine died again. I thought I was going to die. Exited the car and waved traffic by. Two more minutes and the engine started again and I was able to drive the three remaining blocks to my home. I had the car towed to ourisman Hyundai where I bought it. They have had it ever since. Today, June 6, ourisman called and said they could not duplicate the problem and I should return the loaner car and pick up my Sonata. I will not pick up a Sonata that dies in the middle of driving. I would like to live. I called Hyundai America and reported the issue and they open D a case file. I have left messages with the GM at ourisman and he has not returned my calls. Oh, I forgot to mention that when I bought the car (it was a year old) I told the salesman that I did not want a hertz, avis or any other rental car. He assured me it was not purchased from a car rental company. After over 5 hours at the dealership, I was told it had been from a rental company. I was worn out and thought it still had four years left on the warranty. I feel like a fool. I have asked Hyundai America to buy my car back.

- Columbia, MD, USA

problem #26

May 282016

Sonata

  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Hyundai Sonata. While driving 65 mph, the vehicle began to lose power and the check engine light illuminated. The vehicle began to decrease in speed when the accelerator pedal was depressed. The vehicle was towed to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the turbo failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 30,000. The VIN was not available.

- Hopewell Junction, NY, USA

problem #25

Apr 252016

Sonata

  • 13,000 miles
My 2015 Hyundai Sonata has been back and forth to the dealer. Every time I turn around the this car has a recall. I don't even know about the recall until a light pops up or I have a weird noise while driving. One time the car just felt weird while driving and I went to get it checked out and found out about the recalls. First seatbelt, then engine line needed replacing, then another part needed replacing, then another. After going there Monday for for the engine immobilizer, the brake hold light being I was told something was replaced, and oh a recall was handled. Then to come back Friday and after 4-5 hours be told the ABS has to be replaced, meaning I have to come back because it has to be ordered. Then, after leaving, now the tire pressure light is on, and there appears to be enough air in each tire!! so I don't know what is going on. Note to self, don't by a car before the year it comes out. Bought this 2015 in 2014. I really think the manufacturer needs to notify consumers of these recalls. I shouldn't find out about them only after bringing the car in for an issue or an oil change.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #24

Apr 142016

Sonata

  • 56,000 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Hyundai Sonata. While driving approximately 60 mph, the oil and check engine lights suddenly illuminated before the engine began to sputter and stall. The vehicle was towed to the dealer who did not yet determine the cause of the failure. No additional information was available. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 56,000.

- Winterville, NC, USA

problem #23

Apr 082016

Sonata

  • 44,000 miles
I purchased a used 2015 Hyundai Sonata with 43K miles. I have had it for three months with minor problems such as sluggish acceleration, hard deceleration when removing foot from gas pedal, and a noisy engine. However, on 4-8-2016 at about 7:30 am, I was attempting a left turn on a busy metropolitan street when the 2015 Hyundai Sonata shut down suddenly, completely turned off! all the warning lights on the dash lit up like a christmas tree and then went dead. The 2015 Sonata came to a stop, and there was a truck approaching at a high speed rate that had to swerve around me to prevent a collision with me. I was lucky the driver was paying attention. This problem is very dangerous and it is just a matter of time before someone is killed due to this problem, which seems to be occurring in many 2015 Hyundai Sonata vehicles. I believe Hyundai must know about this and Hyundai probably knows what is causing this safety issue with the 2015 Sonata. Hyundai or NHTSA need to recall the 2015 Hyundai Sonata vehicles asap!! if nothing else tell the owners what the problem is so that they can repair it on their own dime!

- Gardena, CA, USA

problem #22

Mar 172016

Sonata

  • 4,000 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Hyundai Sonata. While exiting the vehicle at 40 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was able to be pulled over to the side of the road, but could not be restarted. The vehicle was towed to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the engine seized and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 4,000.

- Stoughton, MA, USA

problem #21

Feb 102016

Sonata

  • 49,000 miles
Engine ceases and all the lights on the dash board flash and stay on and the car stalls. This happened for the 5th time yesterday on rt 78. I almost coursed a collusion because my car lost power and stalled on the highway. I managed to move over to the shoulder as quick I could. After a few minutes later the engine started. This happens both when the car is parked and in motion. This is very dangerous. Have taken the car back to the dealership and they say they fixed the problem but it keeps happening. I have google this problem and found other owners experiencing the same problem. I think the should have a recall for this engine to get it fixed.

- Easton, PA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?