Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
11 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
11 / 0
Average Mileage:
53,946 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Hyundai Tiburon seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Hyundai Tiburon:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Hyundai Tiburon Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #39

Aug 092016


  • 109,000 miles


The contact owns a 2003 Hyundai Tiburon. When the vehicle was started, the air bag and seat belt warning lights illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign numbers: 02V290000 (seat belts) and 03V321000 (air bags). The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 109,000.

- Citrus Heights, CA, USA

problem #38

Sep 022015


  • 170,000 miles
Takata recall air bag light remains on door handles inside and outside constantly break off even after being replaced by factory parts leaving occupants trapped in car also replaced camshaft contoller cause wiring is melting. Contacted brandon Hyundai dealer service dept they told me handles had been already replaced before and refused to repair also they lied and told me there were no further recalls for my vehicle but when I googled there are actually around 10 recalls for my vehicle and Hyundai refuses to fix or even admit there is a control arms need replacing also.

- Thonotosassa, FL, USA

problem #37

Jul 312015


  • 79,961 miles
Took vehicle to the dealer to check the air bag warning light. They said it was caused by the seat belt and wiring that needed to be replaced. After checking the recall information, there was a recall (056) under campaign number 02V290000. The dealer stated that the recall was not for my vehicle which was a 2003 Hyundai Tiburon. I called Hyundai and spoke with their rep and she said the same even though the recall includes 2003 Hyundai Tiburons. This fix will cost me close to $400 just to pass inspection. Makes you wonder what was done on vehicles produced after March 2003 that was claimed to correct this issue, considering so many Tiburons that were produced after this date are having the same issue. I currently own 3 Hyundai, very disappointed as this car has only 79961 miles. Updated 09/15/15

- Williamsburg, VA, USA

problem #36

Jun 012011


  • 90,000 miles


The contact owns a 2003 Hyundai Tiburon. While starting the vehicle, the air bag warning light illumined. The failure occurred on several occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 90,000. The VIN was not available.

- Hamilton, NJ, USA

problem #35

Oct 012012


  • 80,000 miles
The contact owned a 2003 Hyundai Tiburon. While driving approximately 60 mph, the contact swerved into another lane to avoid a crash but was unable to gain control of the steering wheel. As a result, the contact crashed into an embankment and the air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained chest injuries, a fractured nose, a fractured right foot, a torn ligament in the right foot, and bruises that required medical attention. The passenger sustained a cut on the lip that did not require medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed. The VIN was unavailable. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 80,000.

- Flint, MI, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #34

Jun 282013

Tiburon 4-cyl

  • 51,000 miles
Noticed air bag light was on in my son's car when I drove over the weekend. Looked online found out there was a recall on 2003-2008 tibruons in regards to air bag/drivers side seat belt buckle safety issue. Called Hyundai 1-800 to no avail took to columbia Hyundai dealer today. They stated was driver side belt buckle which was making air bag light come on and wanted $397 to repair. I told them is safety issue already $14 million lawsuit against Hyundai for same thing they told me to come get car. Called back Hyundai service just a few minutes ago. They refused any help.

- West Chester, OH, USA

problem #33

May 082014


  • 23,000 miles


The contact owns a 2003 Hyundai Tiburon. The contact stated that the air bag warning sensor light illuminated indicating that the air bag system could malfunction if a crash occurred. The failure was not diagnosed nor was the vehicle repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the defect. The contact was informed that the vehicle was not included in the NHTSA campaign number 03V321000(air bags). The contact stated that the vehicle experienced the same defect listed in the recall. The failure mileage was 23,000.

- Bradenton , FL, USA

problem #32

Apr 062004


  • 8,000 miles
I have never received any recall notices at my address, by phone email, not even face to face with the dealer when I took the car to the dealership. I stumbled across this by accident trying to find online how to fix my electronic key, that was Friday, February, 28, 2014. From 2002 to now, no mail, except to extend my warranty. They could reach me then. The dealer never informed me or said anything about a recall on my airbags, light has been on for years, I was told the airbag was no big deal, seatbelt replacement, fuel tank, suspension, I got locked in the car and I couldn't get out, I never know if I will be able to get my car to unlock. It locks itself which is scary, I am Florida and if I get locked in again, with no A/C I can die quickly, it is called barters syndrome so I am on disability, I cannot keep potassium in my body which in a car locked in I could easily die, I can the dealer didn't utter the work recall or anything close to the word. He gave me prices to fix all these problem on the link below he is giving me these prices like I have to fix these at my expense am supposed to fix these recalls. If I can't get help or guidance I just the car the until it does kill me., then my family will sue, will sue Hyundai and anyone else. The neurosurgeon's at mayo clinic said if I have an accident I will either be dead or in a wheelchair. How do I find any one to help the car has on it at this time 3/4/14, 42,282 thousand miles.

- Ponte Vedra Beach, FL, USA

problem #31

Dec 042013


  • 112,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Hyundai Tiburon. The contact stated that as soon as he started the vehicle, the passenger's side air bag erroneously deployed. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for inspection or repairs. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 112,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Lompoc, CA, USA

problem #30

Feb 152013


  • miles
There was a collision which involved significant front end damage to a 2003 Hyundai tiberon. The speed at impact was 55mph. The driver airbag failed to deploy.

- Bristow, VA, USA

problem #29

Apr 142012

Tiburon 6-cyl

  • 110,000 miles


This report is being filed by an accident reconstructionist at the request of the vehicle's insurance carrier. Vehicle was proceeding in the left lane of a 4-lane (2 lanes in each direction, divided by a double-yellow center-line) state highway when operator's airbag deployed for no apparent reason, causing loss of control. The vehicle then drifted leftward across center-line and both oncoming lanes, and came to rest after mounting the curb and colliding with a fire hydrant. Event was witnessed by two, separate, independent and involved motorists. Vehicle's owner was the only occupant and was injured. Owner purchased used vehicle in January, 2012 reported previous trouble with clutch, transmission, and that mileage at the time of incident is on known due to the for replacement of the operator's console, and was therefore estimated. Its speed at the time is also estimated at 40 mph, the posted speed limit.

- Cheshire, CT, USA

problem #28

Nov 162004


  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Hyundai Tiburon. The contact started the ignition and the air bag warning indicator illuminated on the instrument panel. The warning indicator remained illuminated continuously until the engine was turned off. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer and repaired however one week later, the failure recurred. On a separate occasion the vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who refused to repair the vehicle and recommended that the vehicle be taken to a dealer. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number: 03V321000 (air bags: Frontal) but the VIN was not included in the recall. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was under 100,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Portola, CA, USA

problem #27

Jul 222011


  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Hyundai Tiburon. The contact stated that while driving approximately 10 mph, he crashed into the side of another vehicle. The front passenger side air bag deployed, but there were no injuries. The contact expressed concerns over the air bag deploying in a crash at such a low speed. The contact also expressed concerns over the fact that only one of the air bags deployed. The police were notified and a report was available. The vehicle was not inspected by a dealer, nor repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure and current mileages were approximately 80,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Bloomsfield, NJ, USA

problem #26

Apr 122011


  • 94,000 miles
2003 Tiburon : my lights started going on and off on their own and indicator lights on and off erratically. Air bag light stayed on I went off the road at 100K and airbag did not deploy also having alternator problems melting fan switch and attaching harness rear wiper failed, trunk release fail, both door locks failed cant lock my car anymore. Alot of safety issues that seem to be really common all related to BCM computer and electrical wiring cheap and dangerous. I have also had a head gasket go while the car was under warranty and the dealership refused to replace saying it was detergent in my oil I have worked on cars my whole life and been a mechanic for the last 12 years had to replace the head gasket myself after the warranty ran out. Transmission shift solenoid also failed from 1 to 2nd gear dealership replaced the transmission for that one. I have had a very bad experience with Hyundai service I had plugs fouling because of the head gasket leaking and capital Hyundai said it was my plugs which were ngk and only a few months old they were fouled Hyundai wanted $100 to replace them I said I would do it myself and when I got there they had six plugs in a box ngk and champion six plugs in all I only have a 4 cylinder car I don't know where the extra plugs came from. After the head gasket was changed amazingly my detergent stopped, my engine didn't make oil and the antifreeze stayed in the rad lol. What a coincidense.cant believe that they are able to do this I love my car but the problems that im having and lack of service and lies on behalf of the staff I will never buy a Hyundai again. P.S. getting a new car.

- Goulds St John's, 00, USA

problem #25

Jan 022009


  • 65,488 miles
I co-own this car with my daughter. The air bag light came on and would not go off. We found out about safety recall 02V290000 which specified that on 2003 Tiburons the driver seat belt buckle could be damaged by the height adjuster mechanism, resulting in failure of the air bag or the permanent lighting of the air bag light with failure to deploy on impact. The dealer refused to fix it because Hyundai claims the problem was fixed by March 2003 and will not agree to fix cars manufactured afterward. Hyundai protection plan refused to cover repair because they say this is part of the cars restraint system excluded by the warranty. Paid to have it fixed Jan 2009. Problem has now recurred in Sept 2010 and dealer says I will have to pay to repair again because parts and service are only covered for 12 months. Meanwhile, my daughter is driving a potentially unsafe car.

- Chandler, AZ, USA

problem #24

Jan 012008


  • miles
Having the same problem as most stated! seatbelt dings constantly when not buckled and air bag light on at all times. Found the recall. Took it to a dealership who said my car was not covered under the recall. If my car is having the recalled problem and is a 2003, and it is a consistent problem for others... it should be covered! I refuse to settle for anything less! because of this issue and Hyundai's lack of taking responsibility for their problem, I will never purchase a Hyundai again.

- White, GA, USA

problem #23

Aug 312010


  • 62,000 miles
My Hyundai Tiburon 2003 is just over 60K miles and the airbag light is on. At the very beginning, it stays on longer than it should be. Several days later, the light is always on.

- Ann Arbor, MI, USA

problem #22

Feb 252009


  • 86,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Hyundai Tiburon. While driving approximately 30 to 35 mph the driver's side air bag deployed. It was difficult for her to drive onto the emergency lane. She inspected the vehicle and confirmed that she had not crashed into anything. She sustained injures to her neck, shoulder and arm. She also stated that the drivers seat was torn. The following day, the vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer. The dealer performed an air bag diagnostic test and suggested that the left seat back modular wiring and sensor be replaced. The air bag and the tear in the seat were repaired by a relative. The sensor was never replaced. The approximate failure mileage was 86,000 and the current mileage was 120,000.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #21

Nov 102009


  • 70,000 miles
The seat belt wiring appears to be faulty which was suppose to be fixed in 2003 when I brought my car into the Hyundai dealership in bloomington, mn for this recall. The seat belt keeps dinging when IżM buckled up and driving, I noticed the air bag light also came on and hasn't come off since the seat belt dinging started. I can stop the dinging from the seat belt by moving the seat belt piece around which is located between my seat and center council. The manager at luther Hyundai referred me to the Hyundai Consumer Affairs and they made a report and conveyed that I should bring it back to the dealership. I spoke to the manager again at the dealership and he is saying that regardless heżll have to charge me $119 for a diagnostic fee. My VIN number is very close to the VIN numbers that are being recalled for this very same problem but Hyundai wonżT look at it without charging me. I'm getting conflicting information from Hyundai Consumer Affairs and manager at the Hyundai dealership. Ultimately, IżM concerned that if I am in a car accident and the air bag doesn't deploy it could cost me my life.

- Shakopee, MN, USA

problem #20

Mar 142009

Tiburon 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Hyundai Tiburon. The contact stated that the air bag warning indicator remains illuminated in the vehicle. He took his vehicle to the dealer and was informed that the driver's seat belt buckle wiring caused the air bag wiring lamp to illuminate. The failure could also cause the air bag fuse to open and prevent air bag deployment. The vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id number 02V29000 (component: Seat belts:front:buckle assembly). The contact would have to pay $300 for the repair. The manufacturer agreed with the dealer. The contact stated that he just purchased the vehicle five days prior to the failure. The failure mileage was 65,000. 4/01/09 updated 04/06/09.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

Read the next 19 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?