Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Structure: Frame And Members Problems

1998 Isuzu Rodeo (Page 1 of 3)


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
115,267 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

1998 Isuzu Rodeo body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 1998 Isuzu Rodeo:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

1998 Isuzu Rodeo Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #43

May 112014


  • 143,000 miles


The contact owns a 1998 Isuzu Rodeo. The contact stated that the electronic door locks intermittently locked the contact out of the vehicle. The front driver's side and rear driver's side doors failed to unlock electronically or manually. The contact mentioned that the key was used in order to unlock the front passengar's and rear passengar's side doors manually. The contact entered the vehicle from the front passengers side ocassionally. In addition, the contact had noticed that the rear end of the frame had rusted and corroded. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer for a diagnostic. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 143,000.

- Brookville, PA, USA

problem #42

Jun 012011

Rodeo 4WD 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 149,000 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Isuzu Rodeo. The contact took his vehicle to a private mechanic for routine maintenance and was informed the entire rear frame was covered with rust. The dealer did not offer any assistance. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure nor was the vehicle repaired. The current mileage was 155,000. The approximate failure mileage was 149,000... updated 09/21/11 updated 09/30/11.

- Etters, PA, USA

problem #41

Jul 132011


  • 125,000 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Isuzu Rodeo. The contact stated that the vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer to be repaired under NHTSA campaign id number 00V058000 (suspension: Rear). The dealer stated that the bolts and nuts for the rear axle could not be replaced because the subframe was severely corroded and the vehicle would be unsafe to drive. The failure and current mileages were 125,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Pawtucket , RI, USA

problem #40

May 152011


  • 142,000 miles


The contact owns a 1998 Isuzu Rodeo. The contact stated that he heard a banging sound and noticed that the rear bumper was loose. He further inspected and saw that the entire frame was rusted. The vehicle had previously been repaired according to NHTSA campaign id number:10V436000 (suspension:rear) by a previous owner. The contact called the manufacturer who stated that the recall had been performed and did not cover that part of the frame. The vehicle was not repaired. The current and failure mileages were approximately 142,000.

- Logan, OH, USA

problem #39

Apr 272011

Rodeo 4WD 6-cyl

  • 13,770 miles
1998 Isuzu Rodeo frame is rusted/rotted beyond repair. Mechanic has advised vehicle is not safe to drive & frame could collapse at any time. I had the recall 10V-436 done but frame failure is not covered. Frame has multiple holes in it including one that a fist can fit through.

- Inver Grove Heights, MN, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #38

Mar 162011

Rodeo 4WD 6-cyl

  • 127,000 miles
In regards to current safety recall no. 10V-436, I own a 1998 Isuzu Rodeo which has been found unrepairable by the vehicle inspectors I was sent to by Isuzu in compliance with the safety recall notice I recieved in December 2010. As the recall notice states, when repair is not possible, an alternative remedy will be provided. My inspection appointment ws March 16, 2010. My vehicle failed the safety and repairable conditions necessary for the vehicle to be driveable. I never got my vehicle back. I is still there. Three weeks have passed, no remedy has been offered. I have no means of transportation. The only communication I have had is one phone call offering a buyback of 1/2 the worth of the vehicle, $2500. I declined this offer as it is unfair, unjust, and I believe, illegal. I was told that I would recieve paperwork in the mail and another offer would be made. This has not happened. 2 weeks have passed with no communications. I have made three attempts to call the phone number I was given, have been put on hold for over 30 min each time, at which time I could no longer wait. I believe they are not answering the calls and have no intentions of making this right. They are not in compliance with the safety recall. Please investigate.

- Middleton, NH, USA

problem #37

Mar 222011

Rodeo 4WD 6-cyl

  • 94,201 miles


My 1998 Isuzu Rodeo, 94,000 mi, has a large (6") hole in the frame behind the right rear wheel. This hole was discovered yesterday when I took my car to Liberty Mazda in wakefield, MA for a routine oil change. This frame damage was not present on December 20, 2010 when I had work done for safety recall no. 10V-436 at cornerstone Mitsubishi in wilmington, MA. The hole in the frame shows extensive rust and a large chunk simply fell out while I was driving. The car needs a new frame or is undrivable as an extreme safety hazard. I was told that it would cost approximately $8000 to repair this vehicle which has an estimated value of less than half that amount. Other than the frame, the car runs great and I have spent thousands of dollars in the past few years (at least 8000) to replace the engine in may, 2008 (cracks in cylinder), replace the radiator (twice; 2007 and 2010), brake work, among other expensive repairs. Now the car is a safety hazard and I am without transportation unless the frame is replaced.

- Medford, MA, USA

problem #36

Feb 012011


  • 124,000 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Isuzu Rodeo. The contact received notification of NHTSA recall number: 10V436000 ( suspension:rear) and took the vehicle to the dealer for repairs. The dealer informed him that the entire frame was severely rusted beyond repair. The manufacturer offered to repurchase the vehicle for $1,000. No further assistance was provided. The current and failure mileage was 124,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Youngs Town, OH, USA

problem #35

Feb 192011


  • 260,000 miles
1998 Isuzu Rodeo frame is rusted/rotted beyond repair vehicle is not safe to drive. I had the recall 10V-436 done but service facility said this frame failure is not covered.

- Townsend, MA, USA

problem #34

May 162010

Rodeo 4WD 6-cyl

  • 76,000 miles
Frame rusted out on drivers side, cost $1300 to have it repaired for inspection, left bracket broke in half while driving, cost another 300.00/ exhaust is rusting out and have to take it in for repair. Recall does not include any frame damage.

- Latrobe, PA, USA

problem #33

Jan 202011


  • 90,000 miles


The contact owns a 1998 Isuzu Rodeo. The contac received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 10V436000 (suspension:rear) and the vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the contact was informed that the actual frame of the vehicle was severely corroded, not just the mounting bracket. Due to the actual frame being severely corroded the recall remedy would not be sufficient in correcting the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was unavailable. The failure and current mileage was 90,000. Updated 03/08/11 updated 03/09/11

- Charlottesville, VA, USA

problem #32

Jan 142011

Rodeo 4WD 6-cyl

  • 130,000 miles
Parts falling off my frame with the frame still attached to them. Shocks. I have a case number for other parts falling off with frame attached. 10277055 from Oct 4. my recall letter did not say it was going to address the frame. Spoken to other Isuzu owners with recall and there cars are sitting in service parking lot as unrepairable and undriveable. Isuzu has not determined what they are going to do with those. I need a car. The mechanic that looked at my vehicles said something needs to be done. The frame is disintegrating.

- Westford,, MA, USA

problem #31

Jan 012010

Rodeo 4WD 6-cyl

  • 140,000 miles
I own a 1998 Isuzu Rodeo. I just received a letter from Isuzu stating that there was a recall on this vehicle due to massive amounts of corrosion on the frame. Last January, when I went to get my inspection sticker, my mechanic stated how bad the rust was on the underside and advised me to get rid of the vehicle stating that "it is unsafe to drive". I ended up holding on to the Rodeo until now and upon looking into this matter have found out that there have been numerous complaints about the same issue(s) I had. Let me state that I also get a 1998 Ford F-150 repaired by the same mechanic. My mechanic made a statement about how my work truck may look rough, but it is in way better shape structurally than the Rodeo. They both have the same manufacturing date, approximately the same amount of miles, and been driven on the same Massachusetts roads with the same salt on them. So, my questions to you are, why did it take so long to get this recall in motion" why are they able to state that because the vehicle is over 10 years old they are not responsible for it even though this issue has been going on long before Isuzu's recall date, or when they notified the NHTSA" it seems as if they are getting kind of a pass here. My friends Toyota Tacoma was recalled a few years ago and Toyota stood by their product and reimbursed her the value of the truck. There should be some sort of standard set forth on certain types of recalls. This is not an issue of a faulty seat belt or rusting spare tire holder, this is an issue of a car falling apart on the road while driving it possibly injuring the passengers as well as other motorists on the road. No excuses for Honda or Isuzu, there is no possible way they did not know about the faults years ago while servicing the same vehicles in their garages. Toyota got a public lambasting for faults in their vehicles but I have not heard a peep about Honda or Isuzu's lack of initiative to repair the vehicles. Thank you

- North Dighton, MA, USA

problem #30

Dec 252009

Rodeo 4WD 6-cyl

  • 125,000 miles
Car spun out on highway because rotted frame, rear wheel locked out inside fender hit snow bank.

- Revere, MA, USA

problem #29

Oct 242010


  • 77,000 miles
TL-the driver owns a 1998 Isuzu Rodeo. While having the vehicle examined by an independent mechanic he was informed the fuel tank and undercarriage of the vehicle was severely rusted. The vehicle was not repaired. He also stated the fuel gauge stopped functioning. He repaired that failure himself. The failure and current mileages were 77,000. The VIN was unavailable. Sm.

- Binghamton, NY, USA

problem #28

Oct 142005

Rodeo 4WD 6-cyl

  • 140,000 miles
Suspension/frame rotted out making the vehicle very dangerous to drive vehicle is 1998 Isuzu Rodeo 4WD.

- Burlington, MA, USA

problem #27

Aug 262010


  • 170,000 miles
I own a 1998 Isuzu Rodeo and the rear frame also rotted to the point ware the rear spring support and a crossmember are almost completely rotted off also the left rear shock support completely became detached from frame.

- Bridgewater, MA, USA

problem #26

Sep 242010


  • 143,539 miles
While driving at about 30 mph I heard a loud pop from the rear of my vehicle. I immediately lost control, and the truck swerved into oncoming traffic. It was like it had a mind of it's own. I fought the truck back into my lane at which point it appeared to come up on 2 wheels (and it felt like it also), I was able to get stopped and pulled to the side of the road without collision. Upon further inspection I found that the vehicles frame rusted clean through and broke, the rear axle stabilizer arm also dropped off frame, causing the rear tires to lose any direction they had and wobble freely in the wheel well. This is the only time I have experienced anything like this, or ever seen anything like this. Once was enough. I have had it looked at by several frame and body specialists, even boilermakers, all with the same result, and the same answer, no. They say the truck is totaled, and refuse to work on it because of liability issues. The body and interior are in perfect shape, 143K miles, full tank of gas, licensed through next August, insured through April, parked for good. There is nothing that can be done to fix this, what is clearly a flawed design, and manufacturer shortcoming. Prompt attention is greatly appreciated, and necessary before someone gets killed.

- Hustonville, KY, USA

problem #25

May 182010

Rodeo 6-cyl

  • 138,945 miles
1998 Isuzu Rodeo severe frame corrosion resulting in the rear end almost dropping off of the vehicle. Discovered during replacement of cracked rear spring the back half of the frame has completely turned into crystalline rust. Repair of the frame has required welding new side plates onto the frame rails to strengthen the rear bumper support. Without the added support plates the rear bumper is has no protective properties at all. Inspection of this repair indicates that at best this fix will only last for a short period of time before additional structural failure of the frame occurs. Truck is only has 138,000 miles on a 12 year old SUV this should not be happening to this vehicle. Requesting an investigation into this problem it appears to be systemic to the 1998 to 2002 year models of this SUV. Requesting a recall and replacement of the vehicle frame. I am the original owner and sole driver of this garage keep SUV. I have in the last 2 years had the transmission rebuilt, and a full top end engine job done only to find this problem just prior to getting the 2010 pa state inspection. With out the repairs it won't pass inspection. Its costing me a fortune to fix a problem that should not have happened.

- Allison Park, PA, USA

problem #24

Aug 102010


  • 150,863 miles
Broken frame rust issue.

- Remsen, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?