Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
35,658 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Jeep Compass drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Jeep Compass:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Jeep Compass Owner Comments

problem #16

Apr 202016


  • 41,000 miles


Today, 4/20/2016, I heard what sounded like metal dragging the ground in my 2011 Jeep Compass. After parking, I inspected under the car to find a metal pipe hanging down to the ground near the front left tire. I easily pulled the pipe out, and discovered it is the cvt transmission fill tube. It appears the tube rotted off from wherever it belongs. I have found multiple reports of the same thing happening to other Jeep models as well, particularly the patriot. While I have yet to determine any detrimental performance effects (it just happened today, and I have yet to drive it again), the tube could have easily dislodged while driving and struck a car behind me, endangering the lives of others. My Jeep only has around 40,000 miles, and has been kept up to date on all maintenance requirements. If I hadn't found other Jeep owners with the same problem, I would have concluded it was caused by a mechanic during a recent oil change. However, because I have found dozens of other complaints (and also assuming there are others who never even noticed that the tube had rotted off), I feel that the NHTSA should be aware of the issue, and take appropriate action. Thank you.

- Davie, FL, USA

problem #15

Apr 022015


  • 50,000 miles
The transmission overheat light comes on often and causes the car to lose power and or stall. This happens on any type of driving scenario highway, residential or stationary. I will take my foot off the gas and the light will go off. The windshield wipers will come on my themselves and I will have to physically turn them on and off for them to stop. More recently my oil change indicator came on when I have at least 1000 more miles before my car is due for an oil change

- East Hartford, CT, USA

problem #14

Sep 122015


  • 55,000 miles
Marked by an audible whine and the illumination of the transmission overheat light, the cvt on the 2.4L 4-cylinder engine in the 2011 Jeep Compass experiences significant and dramatic power loss. This is especially prevalent at sustained highway speeds creating a potentially unsafe situation. If the transmission overheats too much, the vehicle will not move until the transmission cools down. This issue first happened on my 2011 Jeep Compass in July 2014 and was temporarily rectified by Jeep. Their solution was to replace the cvt transmission fluid. However, this problem has returned this summer under highway use, especially on hot days. On Saturday, September 12, my family and I experienced not only the whine from the cvt, but significant power loss on the highway. Fortunately, having experienced this previously, I was able to pull the vehicle to the shoulder allowing the transmission to cool down without incident. Chrysler refuses to acknowledge the problem despite a plethora of evidence that this cvt transmission is defective. Here is a link to a video/case that is nearly identical to what I have experienced: Https://

- Parker, CO, USA

problem #13

Mar 032014


  • 60,000 miles


The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Compass. While driving at various speeds, the vehicle stalled without warning. In addition, while driving up a hill at various speeds, the accelerator pedal was depressed, but the vehicle failed to accelerate. The failure recurred intermittently. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the transmission fluid needed to be replaced. The vehicle was serviced, but the remedy failed. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 60,000.

- Lehi, UT, USA

problem #12

Sep 062015


  • 78,800 miles
Traveling on the highway at a constant speed 65-70 mph the power train was making a whining noise. After 30 to 60 minutes of highway travel in 80 degree weather the transmission warning / overheat light came on and the vehicle began to slow down. I pulled over to the side of the road and put the transmission into neutral and let the engine idle for about 15 - 20 minutes. The transmission warning light went out. After 5 minutes I continued on my trip at 60 mph and the light did not return. The vehicle did exhibit a slight rough feeling in the power train and was not the normal smooth engine & shifting.

- Mont Vernon, NH, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #11

Dec 172014

Compass 3-cyl

  • 97,000 miles
Vehicle dash red lightning and stability control lights turned on with warning chime upon braking at the traffic light on the freeway off ramp while exiting interstate 10. This was accompanied with rough engine idle and lack of power for accelerating. Turning the engine off for a minute and restarting seems to clear these warning lights and vehicle operates normally. Vehicle was towed to nearest Chrysler service center with diagnostics completed and the mass flow sensor replaced. Issue occurred again the following week. I drove the vehicle to the same Chrysler service center without shutting off the engine so that the service technician could read the error codes and observe/document the warning lights lit in the dash. A third visit to the same service center resulted in the replacement of the powertrain control module which was covered under extended warranty. Issue occurred again within two weeks after the most recent service visit. I had mentioned to the service advisor that I had one incident prior to the initial event for this issue of braking hard which most likely engaged the ABS-anti-lock braking system. The service advisor did not seem to believe there might be a connection between this incident and this issue. This issue occurs several times each week and only upon stopping after exiting the freeway. Vehicle operates normally during street driving with no problems. When this issue does occur, pulling into a nearby gas station and shutting off the engine seems to reset everything with the vehicle operating normally after restarting the engine. I have been dealing with this unresolved issue with Chrysler for approximately 4 months.

- Banning, CA, USA

problem #10

Jun 282012

Compass 4-cyl

  • 10,000 miles


In June of 2012 I was pulling out of a parking lot and as I merged on to the main road I heard a scraping noise, I pulled over and looked underneath and saw a metal tube hanging from the bottom of the engine, I took it out and noticed it was the transmission filler tube, it had snapped off. I took it to the dealer and they replaced it. The other day[April 2015] I was changing my air filter and noticed that the filler tube was gone again went to the dealer and they told me that it wasn't covered under manufacturer warranty. It is a flaw in the design of the vehicle I understand a sensor going bad but something that is not supposed to break off should be covered.

- Kissimmee, FL, USA

problem #9

Jul 102012

Compass 4WD 4-cyl

  • 7,000 miles
Outside temperature 102, driving posted speed limit of 75 mph. After 1 1/2 hours warning light came on saying transmission fluid overheated, the speed automatically dropped to 55 mph. I pulled to the side of the interstate and engine stalled. After 30 minutes engine started. Took to Jeep dealership and they said common problem and they could repair it for $1,000. I said the vehicle is under warranty. They said not covered under warranty. They advised I drive in the middle of the night and make frequent stops to avoid the problem. This has happened 5 times. I have found multiple complaints of the same nature online. I do not understand why this has not been a recall. It is a severe safety problem. I am not young, female and a widow, I do not feel safe driving this car in the middle of the night. I care for my elderly parents and drive 500 miles in Arizona every other week to be at their home. My safety is at risk. Please consider opening an investigation relating to this problem.

- Prescott, AZ, USA

problem #8

Sep 142014


  • 34,037 miles
Pls use this complaint Jeep Compass 4X2 year 2011, today, Sunday, Sept. 14, 2014, I heard a noise bottom of my Jeep and found a long metal piece manufacture sticker cvt transmission use only Chrysler. It was a metal pipe transmission oil filler tube, hanging on the bottom of my car, dragging on the ground, while I was driving. I took pictures it has a hole in the metal tube. It started with the steering wheel becoming very loose and requiring to turn more than usual to the right or left, which may be caused from a different recall (components: Steering: Column, NHTSA campaign : 11V-315), I was never informed about this steering wheel recall. When I safely returned home, on internet noticed different Chrysler forums, ppl same issue Jeep Compass. I notice a recall Wrangler with 3.6-liter V-6 engines), having the same exact issue as I experienced with my Jeep Compass. So, I called Chrysler group llc recall dept. 800-247-9753 today Sept. 14 2014. No recall for Compass. Recall for Wrangler with 3.6-liter V-6 engines. Frustrated my 3 year warranty ended last month Aug. 2014. Tomorrow, morning, tow truck Jeep, to local Jeep dealership and pay out of pocket. Chrysler recall dept. Said keep receipts if more people complain then there may be a recall just like the Wrangler. The recall issue is exactly what happened to me.(per the Wrangler recall solution: (Wrangler with 3.6-liter V-6 engines, Chrysler says a power steering fluid line can wear a hole in the transmission oil cooler line. The SUVS can leak fluid, damaging automatic transmissions. Dealers will inspect the lines for free and replace them or install a protective sleeve. The recall begins in July 2013.) recalling 221,000 Jeep Wrangler worldwide from 2012 and 2013 to fix transmission fluid leaks, according to NHTSA.

- Porter Ranch, CA, USA

problem #7

Aug 102014


  • 88,000 miles
I bought the car in 2011. The transmission got broken before the car had 1000 miles and it was covered by warranty with a new transmission. A year later I was driving and the transmission light turned on and the car stopped responding. After waiting for about one hour, the light went off and I could drive to a dealer. They did not find "anything wrong" with the transmission and they did not make any reparation. A month ago the same happened after driving for two hours. I left the car at a different dealer, and after having my car for three days they told me the same: "nothing is wrong with the car" and no reparations were done. Last Sunday I was driving to a different state, and again after 2 hours driving, the car stopped responding and the transmission light turned on. After waiting for 2 hours in the roadside I could finally reach my destination. There is definitely something wrong with the transmission of the car, and it seems that Chrysler does not want to take responsibility for it. Maybe they are waiting for me to hit 100,000 miles to tell me that the transmission is useless and I have to pay for a new one"?? how come the same problem happened 3 times and 3 dealers did not identify the problem" the fact is that the car is not reliable, and I cannot plan any trip longer that 1 hour drive...

- Fair Lawn, NJ, USA

problem #6

May 012014

Compass 4-cyl

  • 44,000 miles


At 45000, the throwout bearing went on my Jeep Compass. This will also cause a need for a new clutch plate. I have been reading online, and this is a very common problem, for a lot of Jeep with manual transmissions.

- Effort, PA, USA

problem #5

Mar 202013


  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Compass. The contact stated that while stationary, the vehicle erroneously shifted from park and rolled away. The contact was able to press the brake and shift into park. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted about the failure. The failure mileage and VIN was unavailable.

- Lockport, NY, USA

problem #4

Mar 302012


  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Climbing out of a parking garage incline, we found ourselves going backwards rather rapidly. Fortunately, there were no cars behind us. Since then there have been many incidents although we are aware of this strange phenomenon for an automatic shift automobile and apply the brake with the left foot while accelerating with the right. Not something we should have to do.

- Aiea, HI, USA

problem #3

Dec 272011


  • 3,600 miles
With my foot on the brake, completely stopped at a light or stop sign, while in drive only, the car vibrates and the engine makes a loud rumbling noise. This can be felt in the steering wheel, brake pedal and throughout the entire car. When I take my foot off the brake or put it in neutral, reverse or park the noise from the engine and vibration will stop. The vibration is so bad it is uncomfortable to keep your foot on the brake, or hands on the steering wheel, making it dangerous, as I am having to put the car in neutral at every stop. Have had it at an authorized Jeep dealer 2 times now and they have found nothing wrong. Contacted Jeep, as the car only had 3600 miles on it when I first took it in, they assigned me a case number, and will be in the shop until it is fixed. Thank you Jeep for trying to find a cure for this problem, as I love my Compass, and really want it fixed.

- Susanville, CA, USA

problem #2

Dec 232011

Compass 4-cyl

  • 2,025 miles
I was driving the car and it tacked high 3-4 for a few seconds and did not drive although foot was to the floor on gas pedal it would just not move, knew it was transmission problem but engineering at Chrysler has tried every fix they can think of to avoid replacing transmission with no success. Waiting supposedly for new transmission and has been in the service center at the dealer for 20+ days. I had the car for 52 days prior to failure and it only had 2025 miles on it.

- West Milford Nj, NJ, USA

problem #1

May 312011

Compass 4-cyl

  • 70 miles
The problem vehicle is a 2011 fwd Jeep Compass. On 5/31/11 within the first 10 (ten) miles of ownership the vehicle stalled out on me while stropped at a traffic light. I put the vehicle in park and was able to restart it without any difficulty. On 6/19/11 (while in motion), without any advance indication of a problem the vehicle totally lost power. I put it in neutral and was able to roll it out of traffic and into a turn lane. The vehicle struggled to restart but did after a couple of tries, a "check engine" light came on and remained on for approximately 30 miles. After weeks, I am still waiting for an "inspector" to examine the vehicle.

- Tuscaloosa, AL, USA

Not what you are looking for?