Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

3.3

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
41,015 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Jeep Compass engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Jeep Compass:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Jeep Compass Owner Comments

problem #13

Sep 122015

Compass

  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Marked by an audible whine and the illumination of the transmission overheat light, the cvt on the 2.4L 4-cylinder engine in the 2011 Jeep Compass experiences significant and dramatic power loss. This is especially prevalent at sustained highway speeds creating a potentially unsafe situation. If the transmission overheats too much, the vehicle will not move until the transmission cools down. This issue first happened on my 2011 Jeep Compass in July 2014 and was temporarily rectified by Jeep. Their solution was to replace the cvt transmission fluid. However, this problem has returned this summer under highway use, especially on hot days. On Saturday, September 12, my family and I experienced not only the whine from the cvt, but significant power loss on the highway. Fortunately, having experienced this previously, I was able to pull the vehicle to the shoulder allowing the transmission to cool down without incident. Chrysler refuses to acknowledge the problem despite a plethora of evidence that this cvt transmission is defective. Here is a link to a video/case that is nearly identical to what I have experienced: Https://www.youtube.com/watch?V=vnkezt0mr-4

- Parker, CO, USA

problem #12

May 312014

Compass

  • 20,000 miles
Transmission oil lights always come on when car drives over 70 mph at least 2 hrs in hot weather. Then car slow down and I have to pull over to let it cool off. It will do it 3-4 times during a long trip. It does every summer and the Jeep dealer never found the problem.

- Farmington, NM, USA

problem #11

Feb 252015

Compass

  • 115,000 miles
Engine will stumble and stall when driving and headlights are illuminated, windows are rolled down or any electrical drain occurs. This is an indication of tipm failure.

- Fort Lupton, CO, USA

problem #10

Sep 142014

Compass

  • 34,037 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Pls use this complaint Jeep Compass 4X2 year 2011, today, Sunday, Sept. 14, 2014, I heard a noise bottom of my Jeep and found a long metal piece manufacture sticker cvt transmission use only Chrysler. It was a metal pipe transmission oil filler tube, hanging on the bottom of my car, dragging on the ground, while I was driving. I took pictures it has a hole in the metal tube. It started with the steering wheel becoming very loose and requiring to turn more than usual to the right or left, which may be caused from a different recall (components: Steering: Column, NHTSA campaign : 11V-315), I was never informed about this steering wheel recall. When I safely returned home, on internet noticed different Chrysler forums, ppl same issue Jeep Compass. I notice a recall Wrangler with 3.6-liter V-6 engines), having the same exact issue as I experienced with my Jeep Compass. So, I called Chrysler group llc recall dept. 800-247-9753 today Sept. 14 2014. No recall for Compass. Recall for Wrangler with 3.6-liter V-6 engines. Frustrated my 3 year warranty ended last month Aug. 2014. Tomorrow, morning, tow truck Jeep, to local Jeep dealership and pay out of pocket. Chrysler recall dept. Said keep receipts if more people complain then there may be a recall just like the Wrangler. The recall issue is exactly what happened to me.(per the Wrangler recall solution: (Wrangler with 3.6-liter V-6 engines, Chrysler says a power steering fluid line can wear a hole in the transmission oil cooler line. The SUVS can leak fluid, damaging automatic transmissions. Dealers will inspect the lines for free and replace them or install a protective sleeve. The recall begins in July 2013.) recalling 221,000 Jeep Wrangler worldwide from 2012 and 2013 to fix transmission fluid leaks, according to NHTSA.

- Porter Ranch, CA, USA

problem #9

Sep 142014

Compass 4-cyl

  • 34,037 miles
It starts with the steering wheel is loose and at first we had no idea what was going on. This issue I have with my Jeep Compass 4X2 year 2011, is the same exact recall on the Jeep Wrangler stated below: I called Chrysler group llc, 800-247-9753 today Sept. 14 2014. I spoke with the recall dept. They said the Compass, at this time does not have this recall. Only the Wrangler below, which has the same exact issue as I do. So, I have to tow truck my Jeep tomorrow morning, to my local Jeep dealership, service dept and pay out of pocket. Chrysler recall dept said keep my receipts if more ppl complain then there may be a recall just like the Wrangler has below. This is exactly what happened to me>>>>> but this is Wrangler, not my Jeep Compass. Per the Wrangler recall solution: (Wrangler with 3.6-liter V-6 engines, Chrysler says a power steering fluid line can wear a hole in the transmission oil cooler line. The SUVS can leak fluid, damaging automatic transmissions. Dealers will inspect the lines for free and replace them or install a protective sleeve. The recall begins in July 2013.) it's also recalling 221,000 Jeep Wrangler worldwide from 2012 and 2013 to fix transmission fluid leaks, according to documents posted Thursday on the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration website. I am frustrated because my 3 year warranty just ended last month Aug. 2014. I researched on the internet and read a lot of other people encountering the same issue.

- Porter Ranch, CA, USA

problem #8

Aug 302014

Compass

  • 63,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Compass. While making a left turn out of a parking lot at 10 mph, the vehicle stalled and the check engine indicator illuminated. After fifteen minutes, the contact restarted the vehicle. The failure occurred twice. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 63,000.

- Madison, NC, USA

problem #7

Jul 272014

Compass

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Compass. While driving 60 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was able to be restarted, but the failure recurred. The dealer was unable to diagnose the cause of the failure. The failure recurred multiple times. The manufacturer was notified. The VIN was unavailable. The approximate failure mileage was 80,000.

- Panama City, FL, USA

problem #6

May 202014

Compass

  • 52,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Compass. The contact stated that while driving 50 mph, the vehicle stalled as the check engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was able to resume and function normally. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technician diagnosed that the crank shaft positioning senor needed to be repaired. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 52,000 and the current mileage 52,800. The VIN was not available.

- Freehold, NJ, USA

problem #5

Feb 032014

Compass 4-cyl

  • 56,000 miles
My 2011 Jeep Compass that I bought new for $23,000 has 56,000 miles and wouldn't start. It is not reliable. Many times I had a loss of power. Had it towed to the dealership and they charged me $900 to fix it. They said I needed a new totally integrated power module. They said that my computer wasn't telling the engine to start and that was why all the lights were on in the dash but the car wouldn't start and that was also why I had a total loss of power. I spent the money to fix it at the dealership. Not a week later I had the same problem!! I just spent $900 to fix 3 yr old Jeep that I bought new foe 23 grand, so I would have something reliable for my 20 yr old daughter to drive while she was away at college and all that money was for nothing as my kid has a piece of junk that breaks down all the time. I looked online and saw all the problems that people are having with their Jeep. And saw how Chrysler still hasn't done a recall. Please look into this. I lost alot of money on a car that is worthless I cannot have my daughter drive an unsafe car. I will have to sell it. Please look into this asap. It's just not right that this large Corp won't stand behind their product. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Altamonte Springs, FL, USA

problem #4

Aug 182013

Compass 4-cyl

  • 45 miles
While stuck in traffic for 6 minutes (windows down), the car temperature gauge went to "H". once I started moving, the guage went to half. When I got home I checked the fluid levels and they were fine. On the way to work the next day while stopped at a traffic light, the car temp guage went to "H" again. I brought it in to my mechanic who said that the fan motor was not spinning, causing the engine to overheat. Upon further inspection he noted that the computer module that operates the fan was "fried" and the transmission dipstick somehow got lodged in the fan motor. I replaced the dipstick and computer module ($1100) and the same thing is happening again. Overheating for no reason. When I called Chrysler/Jeep about my extended warranty, they said that only the engine was covered, not the computer module that could seize my engine. According to a local dealership, 70 computer modules were replaced in a week! when does this become a safety hazard? if I was driving on the parkway and my engine seized, I would of been dead!

- Sound Beach, NY, USA

problem #3

Nov 212012

Compass

  • 16,080 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I left work from downtown pittsburgh at 4:15 pm, and while crossing outbound on the vetrans bridge, my Jeep turned itself off. The steering became extremely tough, and I was barely able to get to the side of the road. I turned off the Jeep, turned it back on, and thankfully it started again. If traffic was moving faster, like it usually does, I would have caused a wreck.

- Gibsonia, PA, USA

problem #2

Aug 092012

Compass

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Compass. The contact stated that while traveling 75 mph, the engine suddenly stalled without warning. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where the failure could not be replicated. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted about the issue. The failure and current mileages were unavailable. The VIN was not available.

- Odessa, TX, USA

problem #1

Jul 102012

Compass

  • 8,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Compass. The contact stated that while making a turn the vehicle stalled. The contact mentioned that the failure occurred multiple times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who was unable to duplicate the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 8,000 and the current mileage was 11,170.

- Bryan, TX, USA

Not what you are looking for?