Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Poor side crash test ratings from the IIHS are really no surprise.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 2
Average Mileage:
5,357 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Jeep Wrangler steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Jeep Wrangler:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Jeep Wrangler Owner Comments (Page 6 of 10)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #82

Sep 182013

Wrangler

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Wrangler. The contact stated that he received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V234000 ( power train, steering ) in late 2013. The contact stated that he attempted to have the vehicle repaired on numerous occasions but the parts were unavailable. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced the failure.

- Dunlap, TN, USA

problem #81

Mar 052014

Wrangler

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Wrangler. The contact stated that he attempted to have the vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 13V234000 (power train, steering ) but was informed that the parts were not available. The contact felt that since the failure was reported in June of 2013, there should have been a remedy available before March of 2014. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Tunnelhill , GA, USA

problem #80

Dec 172013

Wrangler

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Wrangler. The contact stated that he received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V234000 ( power train, steering ) in December 2013. The contact stated that he attempted to have the vehicle serviced on numerous occasions but the dealer stated that parts were unavailable. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced the failure. The VIN was unavailable.

- Tenton Falls, NJ, USA

problem #79

Nov 222013

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Wrangler. The contact received NHTSA campaign number: 13V234000 (power train, steering) and stated that the recall had surpassed a reasonable about of time for repairs. The dealer was notified about the recall multiple times. The manufacture was not contacted. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Paducah, KY, USA

problem #78

Feb 282014

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • miles
Received the recall safety notice and brought the Jeep into fields in glencoe, il. Was told the part was on backorder. It has been 3 months and the part still is not in. Called to check and they say that only one part gets sent every 14 days and people since August have been waiting. I'm now #100 on the list. If I do the math correct in 4 years I'll get the part. Hello" is anyone out there" safety recall!!! this is ridiculous. Called Chrysler and they said the parts are sent as soon as possible. Maybe they should go to a different provider.

- Laona, WI, USA

problem #77

Feb 272014

Wrangler 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Wrangler. The contact stated that she attempted to have the vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 13V234000 (power train, steering ) but was informed that the parts were not available and that the dealer was only receiving one recall part per 14 days. The contact felt that since the failure was reported in June of 2013, there should have been a remedy available before February of 2014. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 03/20/14 the consumer stated there was another recall but the consumer does not live near a dealer. The dealer has refused to send the necessary part to a different dealer in order to complete the repairs. Updated 03/20/2014

- Conroe , TX, USA

problem #76

Oct 012013

Wrangler

  • 14,645 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Wrangler. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 13V234000 (power train, steering) had exceeded a reasonable time to have the repair performed. The recall notification was received October 2013. The contact stated that the tie rod area was exhibiting separation, as listed in the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 14,645.

- Buford , GA, USA

problem #75

Sep 192013

Wrangler

  • miles
TL- the contact owns a 2012 Jeep Wrangler. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 13V234000 (power train, steering). The contact was informed by the dealer and the manufacturer that the part to repair the vehicle was only available every fourteen days. The dealer was unable to provide an expected date for the part to be available. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. There are no failures at this time.

- Staunton, VA, USA

problem #74

Sep 192013

Wrangler 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Wrangler. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V234000 (power train, steering) and the dealer advised the contact that they were only receiving one part every four to six weeks. The dealer was unable to provide an expected date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 03/18/14

- Edmonds, WA, USA

problem #73

Feb 252014

Wrangler

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Wrangler. The contact stated that he received notification of NHTSA campaign number 13V234000 (power train, steering) and was informed by the dealer that the parts were not available. The manufacturer was not contacted about the issue. The VIN was unavailable. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #72

Dec 022013

Wrangler 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2012 Jeep Wrangler. Consumer writes in regards to transmission oil cooler tube recall notice. The consumer was informed the parts were not available. The consumer stated she finds it unacceptable, since she received the recall, last year. The dealer stated, they were only allowed to order one part, per week.

- Purcellville, VA, USA

problem #71

Dec 042013

Wrangler 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
2012 Jeep Wrangler. Consumer writes in regards to transmission oil cooler tube recall notice. The dealer informed the consumer, the part(s) for the recall, were not available.

- Binghamton, NY, USA

problem #70

Nov 072013

Wrangler

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Wrangler. The contact stated that he received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V234000 (power train, steering). The contact attempted to have the vehicle repaired but was informed that the parts were unavailable. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the part unavailability. The contact had not experienced any failures.

- Pottsville , PA, USA

problem #69

Nov 142013

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 8,000 miles
Since December 2013 I had taken my vehicle into the dealer for recall repair and was told that the part to do the repair had to be ordered. Now it is February 2014 and the dealer is still stating that they have not received the part from the factory to do the repair yet.

- Miramar, FL, USA

problem #68

Feb 142013

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Wrangler. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V234000 (power train, steering) and was informed by the dealer that they only received one recall kit every two weeks. The contact stated that she was listed as number 56 on the list for the remedy part, which the contact believed surpassed reasonable time to repair a defect. The manufacturer was not made aware of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Cornville, AZ, USA

problem #67

Feb 132014

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Wrangler. The contact stated that he attempted to have the vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 13V234000 (power train, steering) but was informed that the parts were not available. The dealer was only receiving one recall kit per month. The contact felt that since the failure was reported June 2013, there should have been a remedy available before February 2014. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Temecula, CA, USA

problem #66

Nov 012012

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 25,000 miles
Please help. I have received many Chrysler notifications regarding a safety recall on my Jeep. (one component rubs up against the transmission and causes it to leak). I started getting these recall notices in November, 2013. I have called grapevine Jeep many times to get an appointment. They continue to tell me that there are not enough parts from Chrysler and I am on a waiting list of over 40 people. Why are there no parts and Chrysler continues to send out notices of safety issues. This concerns me very much. Please help resolve this issue and put the heat on Chrysler to make us safe. I will be happy to contact the local news stations here. I love my Jeep, however, I'm far from excited about the sales/service that Chrysler (my nearest dealership) offers. I dread dealing with them. Thank you in advance for your prompt needed attention to this matter.

- Grapevine, TX, USA

problem #65

Aug 012013

Wrangler

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Wrangler. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 13V234000 (power train, steering) had exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The contact received the recall notification August 2013. The dealer advised that they only received one part per week and the contact would be placed on a waiting list that could push the repair back out until the following summer. The contact had not experienced a failure...updated 03/25/14 the consumer stated it has been 8 months, and she was still unable to get the recall completed. Updated 04/01/14

- Cumming, GA, USA

problem #64

Oct 292013

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • miles
I received a letter that there was a recall on the transmission oil cooler tube (safety recall N28/ NHTSA 13V-234). I took my vehicle in Oct 30, 2013 and was told the parts were ordered and I would be notified when parts arrive. 2 months later I was still not notified of the parts arriving. I called the dealership and was told there was a 2 year waiting period for the part. I was told it was supposedly on order already and to see if it had come in. They said it was never ordered and would call me right back. It has been nearly 3 weeks and I have received no call back. On my recall letter it stated that if a dealer fails or is unable to remedy this defect in a reasonable time, that I may file a written complaint. That is what I am here to do.

- Salt Lake City, UT, USA

problem #63

Feb 052014

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • miles
Safety recall N28/NHTSA 13V-234 notification code N28 notice received approx. 4 months ago. Went to the dealership this am 2/5/2014 to have the repair done. Dealer said that they only get one part per month so they put me on a wait list. Apparently there are 15 ahead of me at jones Ford/Chrysler in wickenburg AZ. So it looks like a year plus wait. Can't be much of a part regarding the issue so am at a loss at the delay. The failure however can result in a incident. Some prodding to get parts out to the dealers may be in order.

- Wickenburg, AZ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?