Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

5.2

fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
18,467 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Kia Rio engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Kia Rio:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Kia Rio Owner Comments

problem #3

Jun 162011

Rio

  • 52,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2005 Kia Rio (VIN provided later) purchased 2006, low miles. Summer 2011 car stalled, stopped & check engine light came on & had it towed to the nearest shop, ntb. Replaced timing belt & no damage to my motor. I found out the timing belt needed changing at 60K miles (mine was lower). The mechanic wasn't able to determine a reason for the check engine light. Another suggested a bad sensor & wiped something off under the hood. The light went off after driving less than 5 miles. Replaced the alternator April 2013 (new alternator, belt & parts still under warranty). June 2013 the check engine light started coming on when parked upward on an steep hill, esp when outside temp was very hot (tx). The light would remain on until after parking it in a covered garage & driving hrs later. July 2013 mandatory car inspection. Week or 2 later, problems w/ RPM started; during take after idle. About 2wks later, ac speed suddenly slowed & became warmer. 2days later check engine light on & a strange noise near the driver's side. Again, towed to the nearest shop, the same ntb. All electrical components was still working. At the shop the car started but not long. They were puzzled. After 2days I was told my motor was bad & needed replaced. No one had an explanation.I had to have my car, only transportation for me & my kids towed home. I talked to different mechanics that agree I have a bad sensor & catalyst which caused my motor to lock (pre-ignition). There are several blogs/articles w/this same problem. However, Kia has never said anything about the 2005 Rio fuel problems, only the 2004 & supposedly correcting it. But it wasn't & mechanics can't diagnose it. Something is wrong & needs investigating. A fatal accident could have occurred if I had been driving on the hwy. Kia should take responsibility for lost $ and time bc they only bandaged the problem & not actually fixing it.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #2

Oct 232005

Rio 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,400 miles
The consumer stated several times while at a stop light, then again at a stop sign with her foot on the gas pedal with the vehicle in drive and the gear shifted int neutral. The problem also occurred when driving at very low speeds in the parking lot. The gear shifted into neutral again. While driving at 65 mph in a rain storm the vehicle made a noise and the dashboard lights came on. The consumer pulled off of the freeway and turned the vehicle off. The consumer started the vehicle, backed up and it worked fine. The vehicle had 3400 miles on it. The problem started at 2000 miles. The vehicle had been checked at a local dealership. The mechanic stated that the transmission sensors were fine. (11/29/05) the overdrive would shut off at 65 mph.

- Linwood , WA, USA

problem #1

Jul 302005

Rio 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Kia Rio senco. The vehicle will stall in the middle of the road. It is currently at the dealership. Also, the contact was thinking about the lemon law. On July 30, 2005 the vehicle lost power at 65 mph. The check engine light came on, steering locked, and vehicle was in the path of a tractor trailer. The contact picked up the vehicle from dealership on August 1, 2005 and again on August 3, 2005 the vehicle went back to the dealership, who replaced the computer chip. The vehicle failed three times. The last time it occurred on August 11, 2005 the vehicle lost power and shut off. This occurred while driving at a steady speed after the car has been driven for awhile. There was no warning before this happened. The check engine light came on immediately afterwards all this happened within less than 30-35 seconds. The first time she was driving at speeds of 65 mph, the second and third it was between 35-45 mph. The engine restarted right back. The vehicle is currently at the dealership she was unsure of what they were going to do with vehicle they told her they where going test drive the vehicle.

- Louisa, VA, USA

Not what you are looking for?