Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
48,528 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Kia Rio seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Kia Rio:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Kia Rio Owner Comments

problem #14

Mar 132016


  • 107,000 miles


The contact owned a 2007 Kia Rio. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 70 mph, he fell asleep and the vehicle flipped over three times. None of the frontal air bags deployed. A police report was filed and there were no injuries reported. The vehicle was towed by the police department. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 107,000. Updated 05/11/16

- Spring, TX, USA

problem #13

Oct 132008


  • 34,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Kia Rio. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 35 mph, the airbag warning light illuminated indicating that the airbag was not activated. The failure recurred on multiple occasions. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the coupling was loose. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 34,000.

- Campbellsville, KY, USA

problem #12

Aug 222014

Rio 4-cyl

  • miles
The 'airbag' dash light illuminates and the dealership has determined the cause of the failure is the sensor assembly located in the front passenger's seat cushion. This problem was addressed by a 'voluntary safety recall campaign' conducted by Kia affecting "2006-2008 my Rio occupant classification system mat" but according to the local dealership my Kia Rio manufactured in April 2007 was not included in this recall even though the problem/diagnosis/fix is identical.

- Navarre, FL, USA

problem #11

Jan 252014

Rio 4-cyl

  • 23,400 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Kia Rio. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated that the passenger front occupant sensor mat had failed. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure and informed the contact that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number 12V244000 (air bags). The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 23,400. Updated 7/8/14 updated 07/14/2014

- Staten Island , NY, USA

problem #10

Nov 202012

Rio 4-cyl

  • 95,000 miles
My vehicle's air bag sensor has been on and the Kia manufacturer claims it not to be a recall since my warranty has expired this past November 2012. Now my car temperature gauge goes from cold -0- to half on the gauge. It starts to shake and shuts down in the middle of me driving. Almost caused me to have 2 accidents. I had it taken to take it to get a diagnostic test and this was in part of a recall that the manufacturer claims is not their problem.

- Jacksonville, NC, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #9

Nov 032011

Rio 4-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
Truck stopped at stop sign raining at the time 1304 pm got on brakes to slow down and stop and rain wet roads made the car slide into the trailer hitch of the tall 4X4 truck air bags did not go off on the Rio car hit center on the front bumper over $3,000 in damage to car done to truck and no bags set off seems like a big things if the bags did not get set off.

- Huntsville, AL, USA

problem #8

Nov 072011

Rio 4-cyl

  • 61,230 miles


Just after the warranty expired at 61, 230 miles we had to replace the front passenger side seat cushion because the air bag light came on and Kia would not cover it under their recall. Kia's safety recall campaign number is SC097.

- Navarre, OH, USA

problem #7

Feb 082012


  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Kia Rio. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated on the instrument panel. She received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign id number: 12V244000 (air bags:frontal:sensor/control module). The vehicle was taken to a dealer to be repaired; however, the failure recurred. The dealer stated she had to pay for a diagnostic test in order to see why the light remained illuminated on the instrument panel. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 70,000.

- Newton, IA, USA

problem #6

Jun 012011


  • 40,000 miles
The dashboard airbag light came on approximately 1 year ago, and when I contacted the Kia dealership where I purchased the vehicle they advised me that they would have to charge me to search for the cause of the problem...I heard of a recall on the Kia Rio airbags on NHTSA and I called Kia to ask to bring my vehicle in so the problem could be fixed and the service department told me that they are unaware of any such problems with that vehicle and would not allow me to bring the vehicle in unless I paid to have it looked at!!!

- Hamilton, OH, USA

problem #5

Nov 012011


  • 117,000 miles
I was driving to work and a car came out of a gas station, crossed two lanes of traffic and hit my car in the left front corner causing it to roll over.

- Fitchburg, MA, USA

problem #4

Oct 182007


  • 0 miles


Air bag light does not go out all the time when a passenger is in the passerger seat.

- Fitchburg, MA, USA

problem #3

Jun 102009


  • 40,766 miles
On Wednesday June 10, 2009 I was in a head on accident. The front end of my 2007 Kia Rio sx was hit. My car was equipped with 3 air bags. None of the air bags deployed. Car was a total loss.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #2

Nov 212008


  • 38,000 miles
Fell asleep driving 2007 Kia Rio on the interstate to army reserve training (traveling 65 mph). Car hit - head on - the upcoming end of a guard rail which drove the radiator back into the engine. Neither fender got damaged. Had seat belt on and hit head on steering wheel; cut head; concussion; dislocated part of hand. The airbag did not deploy. Unconscious for over an hour. The highway patrol was concerned that the airbag did not deploy but the guy rebuilding the car (3 hours from us; $7000 worth of damage) says it didn't necessarily need to deploy because there are only 2 censors and both censors must trigger to deploy. However local mechanic says there are 4 censors and any one of them will deploy the airbag. Have bumper to bumper warranty on the car from the dealer where bought it used.

- Fletcher, NC, USA

problem #1

Sep 112008


  • 13,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Kia Rio. While driving 50 mph, the contact applied the brakes many times, but the vehicle would not stop. Finally, the brakes locked up and the contact rear ended the preceding vehicle. The front end of his vehicle sustained over $5,000 in damages. None of the air bags deployed and the front passenger seat belt did not work. The front passenger was injured. A police report was filed. The contact has pictures available. The VIN was unknown. The current and failure mileages were 13,000.

- Dagsboro, DE, USA

Not what you are looking for?