Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
93,345 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Kia Sedona suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Kia Sedona:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Kia Sedona Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #37

Sep 102015

Sedona

  • 120,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Lower control arm has been broken and it seems to results from corrosion. My understanding is that it used to be a recalled item back in 2013. When visiting a local dealership for recalled part in Nov 2014, we were told that the part was fine so they just did anti-corrosion treatment. It's been less than a year since the last visit and control arm is broken in a half. I wonder if the maker got this recall campaign done properly.

- Wixom, MI, USA

problem #36

Sep 062015

Sedona

  • 112,069 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Kia Sedona. While driving at an unknown speed, the front driver side lower control arm fractured and detached from the bottom of the vehicle. Unknown warning indicators illuminated when the failure occurred. In addition, there was an abnormal noise coming from the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic where the contact was informed that the vehicle was previously serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 13V550000 (suspension). The independent mechanic diagnosed that the recall did not remedy the failure and the lower control arm corroded. As a result, the lower control arm needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 112,069.

- Minnetonka, MN, USA

problem #35

May 302014

Sedona

  • 150,000 miles
In March 2014 we received a recall notice Kia recall #SC100. This was concerning the lower front control arms being subject to rust and failure for northern vehicles. The vehicle was taken to paramount Kia, hickory nc. According to Kia the control arms were inspected and found to be in satisfactory condition. Approximately two months later the front passenger side control arm broke in two. I had the vehicle towed the a local garage and the arm was changed out with a used like new control arm. On Friday August 14th 2015 the drivers side control arm broke into. I called Kia and was told that because it was inspected in March 2014 and nothing was done then that there was noting that could be done now. Needing the vehicle for transportation elected to have it towed to the garage that fixed it the last time to get it fixed again. Kia is aware of the problem with these control arms however has elected not to do anything with the ones on my vehicle. I do feel that I should be reimbursed for the cost of having the vehicle towed twice and the cost of parts and labor to have the arms replaced. I complaint has been filed with Kia also.

- Taylorsville, NC, USA

problem #34

Jun 272015

Sedona

  • 124,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driver side lower control arm broke due to corrosion. Vehicle had inspection via recall 13V550000 in 03/2014. Sprayed with compound. Obviously it should have been replaced, only one winter season and now failure of component. Rh lower control arm requires replacement as well due to corrosion, per dealer. Recall 13V550000 is not effective. I can provide pictures of the broken lower control arm upon request.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #33

May 212015

Sedona

  • 85,000 miles
I was driving with my 3 young children in my 2006 Kia Sedona when another driver pulled out in front of me causing me to apply the brakes, at which time I lost control of the van which nearly rolled over. I later learned that when the brakes were applied, the driver's side lower control arm completely broke due to rust which is what caused me to lose control. Thankfully, the van came to a stop but only because the wheel broke and became lodged. Had this accident happened on the freeway, there would have been serious injuries or fatalities. Corrosion on the front lower control arm was part of a recall issued in November 2013. On February 20, 2014 (before I owned the van), the van was taken to a Kia service center for service related to the recall. A rustproof coating was applied to the rear control arms and the front were visually inspected and determined to be fine. Just over a year later the part determined to be "safe, " broke from simply applying the brakes which very easily could have resulted in devastating consequences. I contacted Kia on May 22, 2015. As of June 3, 2015 (13 days since the incident) I am still awaiting a response from Kia as to what corrective action they will take. I fear for the safety of my family to ever drive this vehicle again.

- Baltimore, OH, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #32

May 202010

Sedona

  • 46,888 miles
This car has had problem after problem with the suspension since it was 4 years old. It does not feel safe to drive at all. The dealerships repeatedly told me there's nothing wrong with it, but every time someone gets into it, they ask whats wrong with it. It has felt like the wheels are going to fly off at any moment. Here's a list of time's I've taken the car in to be checked out; or had service done. 05/20/2010 sway bar links replaced steering/suspension checked 03/15/2011 steering/suspension checked 04/12/2012 safety inspection completed 09/11/2013 steering/suspension checked 10/28/2013 maintenance inspection completed 11/01/2013 vehicle serviced 03/24/2014 safety inspection completed 11/12/2014 steering/suspension checked 03/11/2015 steering/suspension checked shock absorber(s) replaced strut(s) replaced lower ball joint(s) replaced rear wheel bearing(s)/hub(s) replaced sway bar link(s)/bushing(s) replaced April 2015 both coil springs replaced April 2015 entire rear nuckle replaced

- Wexford, PA, USA

problem #31

Mar 142015

Sedona 6-cyl

  • 116,576 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Kia Sedona. While driving at 45 mph, the contact heard a noise coming from the front driver side of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that both front springs needed to be replaced. The vehicle was then taken to a dealer who confirmed that the springs needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The contact was made aware of NHTSA campaign number: 13V55000 (suspension), but the VIN was not included. The failure mileage was 116,576. Updated 7/1/15 the consumer stated two days after making this complaint the right rear spring broke. Both were replaced by a local mechanic at the owners' expense. Updated 9/15/2015

- High Gate Center , VT, USA

problem #30

Apr 062015

Sedona

  • 71,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Kia Sedona. The contact stated that the front end of the vehicle dropped and both the front driver and passenger side lower control arms broke. The vehicle was towed to the dealer and the contact was informed of NHTSA campaign number: 13V550000 (suspension) and that the vehicle was not included. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 71,000.

- Blauvelt, NY, USA

problem #29

Apr 042015

Sedona

  • 100,002 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Kia Sedona. While driving at 40 mph, the driver heard a noise and noticed that the front of the vehicle went downwards. Upon further inspection, the contact noticed that the front passenger tire was leaning outwards. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic, who diagnosed that the tire, the fender, and lower ball joints needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The vehicle was previously repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 13V550000 (suspension). The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 100,002.

- Piscataway, NJ, USA

problem #28

Feb 042015

Sedona

  • 105,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Kia Sedona. While driving 20 mph, a loud crack was heard and the vehicle stalled and collapsed without warning. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic who stated that the failure was due to a defective control arm. The driver and passenger side control arms, sway bar links, and drive axle assemblies were replaced. There was also a front end alignment performed. The contact was made aware of NHTSA campaign number: 13V550000 (suspension) however the VIN was not included. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The contact was provided a legal document to sign in order to receive a refund for the repairs. The contact did not feel comfortable signing the document in order to receive a refund from the manufacturer. The approximate failure mileage was 105,000. Updated 5/12/15...updated 06/03/15

- South Park, PA, USA

problem #27

Feb 112015

Sedona

  • 133,470 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Kia Sedona. While driving at approximately 50 mph, the control arm fractured from rust causing a loss of steering. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact referenced NHTSA recall notification number: 13V550000 (suspension).the manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 133,470.

- Griffithsville, WV, USA

problem #26

Feb 092015

Sedona 6-cyl

  • 106,000 miles
The suspension makes a noise like is going to fall apart. I have seen recalls made on front suspension of Kia Sedona 2006 in 21 states, but they are not honoring these recalls in the state of Kansas were there is a lot of salt been used during winter as well as the other 21 states.. please let me know what I need to do in this case.

- Topeka, KS, USA

problem #25

Dec 242014

Sedona 6-cyl

  • 120,000 miles
Front drivers side lower control arm snapped from rust. Kia motors failed to include me in recall even though I have been registered in one of the affected states.

- Suffield, CT, USA

problem #24

Nov 242014

Sedona

  • 170,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Kia Sedona. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 25 mph, the lower control arm fractured. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign number: 13V550000 (suspension). The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 170,000.

- Utica, NY, USA

problem #23

Oct 302014

Sedona

  • 100,000 miles
The lower control arm in my vehicle broke while I was driving in a parking lot. I got the vehicle to coughlin Kia in newark Ohio. They are trying to charge me for an alignment, a stabilizer, and a tire. The control arm that broke is a recall, and all the things that they are charging me for need replaced because of the control arm breaking. I believe that if the part that broke caused the other damage to the three parts stated above, it should be included in the replacement of the recall. I was told, by a coughlin Kia associate that the reason that I am being charged is because there was no preventative maintenance to my vehicle by a Kia dealership. It has only been months since I have purchased this vehicle from finks, in S. zanesville, Ohio. I would appreciate any help in solving this matter. Thank you for your time.

- Zanesville, OH, USA

problem #22

Aug 142014

Sedona

  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Kia Sedona. The contact stated that while driving 25 mph, the vehicle made a loud noise and the front end of the vehicle dropped down to the ground. The contact stated that after inspecting the vehicle he noticed that the front tires split in two different directions and the control arms were fractured due to corrosion. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 130,000.

- Morrisville, PA, USA

problem #21

Apr 152014

Sedona 6-cyl

  • 122,000 miles
My fiance' dropped our oldest daughter off at school. While driving home she heard a loud clunk but everything felt fine. She then went to drop off our youngest at the babysitters. She then went to turn around in the driveway and heard a loud pop and felt the front end of the van fall. She got out to find the driver's front tire completely flat and the sway bar shoved into the tire. Upon further inspection we found both sway bar end links had completely failed. The balls had completely rusted out of their sockets and allowed the sway bar to fall in a way that allowed it to rupture the tire. Kia has a problem with front suspension components rusting out and failing. We were going to take the van in for the lower control arm recall because they are breaking due to rust. I contacted my dealer and they told me the tire and sway bar would not be covered by the control arm recall. I am currently working with Kia motors to see if they will resolve this issue. Had this happened while travelling down the road at highway speeds, the outcome would have been much worse and possibly tragic. I do have pictures of the damage if needed.

- Evansville, IN, USA

problem #20

Mar 112014

Sedona 6-cyl

  • 83,000 miles
I took my Kia into the dealer for a recall check on my control arms. The dealer found out my front left coil spring was in pieces along with the bearing. There was a recall on this but I never received one. I read where the van had to be made between Dec.20, 2005 and March 20, 2006. If my van was made later then that then they still did not fix the corrosion problem. I had to pay for all repairs. I can't be the only one that this has happened to on a later made van.

- Wisconsin Dells, WI, USA

problem #19

Oct 012013

Sedona 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
Was driving normally and suddenly left front wheel started skidding as it felt like it was turned in a direction that opposed the other front tire direction. Vehicle quickly became unstearable. Left lower control arm was found to be totally rust weakened with large rust holes and cracks.....and after part was removed by a mechanic, I could easily bend the whole control arm in half with very little effort. If this sudden failure had occurred moments earlier with my kids on the way to school and on the highway....this could have been a much worse result. As a result, I also had to replace both front tires, certain parts connecting to this control arm and had to have the vehicle realigned. The opposite control arm on the right side seems to look 'normal' with no apparent rust weakening. It seems as though the intact side has a type of coating that is intact and the failed side is missing much/most of the coating.

- Saint Louis, MO, USA

problem #18

Oct 302013

Sedona 6-cyl

  • 113,000 miles
While slowing to make a left hand turn on a residential street applied brakes and heard load noise (like tire blowing) followed by sudden lock up of front wheel. Upon inspection the left lower front control arm had blown out do to metal corrosion. Once removed the inside of the hollow arm was full of rust flakes.

- Big Flats, NY, USA

Read the next 17 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?