Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.8

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
50,336 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Mercedes-Benz C320 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Mercedes-Benz C320:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Mercedes-Benz C320 Owner Comments

problem #8

Dec 202010

C320 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On the first occasion (December 16, 2010), my Mercedes C320 electrical system shut down the engine while I was driving. The car engine shut off as I was driving 57 mph on the freeway during morning rush hour. There were several cars and tractor trailers behind me when the car shut off as I was driving. The incident was terrifying, as no warning lights (nothing) came on in the car. Luckily, other drivers saw me in distress and I was able to maneuver over three lanes of traffic to get to the side strip. The car was towed to phoenix motors (Mercedes Benz dealership) whereas they indicated an electrical component had gone bad. However, I later learned this diagnosis was incorrect, because seven months later the electrical system shut down again as I was driving. Another incident took place where I had no control over the car mobility while driving 60mph on the freeway, because the engine went dead. The electrical system shutting down the engine without warning to the driver can cause a deadly crash. Presently (December 21, 2011), my car is in the hands of phoenix motors again, however, they have yet to determine why the electrical component is shutting down the engine while driving. I am requesting NHTSA to investigate this matter, because this type of defect has the potential to destroy innocent lives while driving. An electrical component shutting down an engine while driving is serious and deadly. Please, please look into this matter. I was lucky in both incidents, because an angel was watching over me. I could have easy been injured or killed, not to mention others that could have been killed. In both incidents a tow truck was called to tow the vehicle.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #7

Jun 252010

C320 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 102,211 miles
Malfunctioning seat control modules drain battery in 2001 C320 Mercedes Benz. Not long after purchasing the car in January 2008 with 51,000+ miles, I paid $175 dollars for a new mbz battery, before asking dealership to disconnect seat control modules. I was not prepared to pay $1200 to replace modules. June 25, 2010, my 2001 C320 stopped during a trip to phoenix, AZ from California, due to fuel pump going out. My 79 year-old mother and I waited in 100+ degree weather for a tow, which took 3 hours to get to phoenix mbz dealership. Oakland service rep never suggested replacing, although the car was serviced during the suggested mileage for replacement. The phoenix dealership initially replaced original fuel filter, and never thought to check if original fuel pump needed replacing. On June 28, 2010, my car stopped again on the return trip to ca, and we were towed back to AZ, where fuel pump was replaced. The incident cost me almost $2,000 more than I planned to spend, while attending my graduation ceremonies in Arizona. Considering the expense to maintain a Mercedes, as well as the cost of the car, you would think the service staff would be more proactive with customer service. I suggest Mercedes create a better warning system for equipment failures like the seat control modules and fuel pump. I also suggest Mercedes consider lowering their service prices, so the average "joanna" can pay the maintenance to keep a dependable car. The valve cover gaskets were leaking oil and transmission electrical connector was leaking. Updated IVOQ 09/10/10

- Antioch, CA, USA

problem #6

Dec 102007

C320 6-cyl

  • 31,151 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Mercedes C320. While driving 68 mph without warning the vehicle stalled, lost power and was unable to control the steering wheel. He was able to drove onto the emergency lane using a lot of force. The vehicle was then towed to a Mercedes dealer where they diagnosis indicated that there was a faulty crank position sensor and the computer shut down the vehicle. The faulty sensor was replaced at the owners expense. The failure mileage was 31,151 and the current mileage was 35,488. Updated 3/30/10 the first time the vehicle stalled, the mass air flow sensor was replaced. Updated 06/25/10.

- Arcadia, CA, USA

problem #5

Feb 122010

C320

  • 78,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2001 Mercedes C320 has died completely when driving at highway speeds. Will restart and run fine after the problem.

- San Rafael, CA, USA

problem #4

Mar 122009

C320

  • 72,193 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Mercedes Benz C240. The contact stated that the check engine indicator illuminated on the instrument panel. The dealer stated that the failure was due to a crankshaft center and thermostat issue. The crankshaft center caused the vehicle to overheat and it would not start until the engine cooled off. The dealer stated that the repair would cost $700. A diagnostic was performed, which showed that additional repairs would also be needed. The manufacturer stated that there was no warranty; therefore, the contact would be responsible for the repair cost. The failure mileage was 72,193.

- Solon, OH, USA

problem #3

Jun 202001

C320 6-cyl

  • 1,079 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Mercedes Benz C320. While driving approximately 20 mph on normal road conditions, the engine stalled without warning. The engine warning indicator remained illuminated on the instrument panel until the engine was turned off. The vehicle restarted after several attempts and was taken to the authorized dealer for diagnostic testing. The technician stated that the failure was related to the engine control module (ECM). The vehicle was repaired according to the service warranty. In addition, when the outside temperatures exceeded 100 degrees, the vehicle would shutter. When the vehicle has been parked for a couple of days, the electrical system rapidly drains the battery. On three separate occasions, the vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for identical failures without resolutions. The vehicle has not been repaired. The failure mileage was 1,079 and current mileage was 85,000. Updated 2/5/09 the consumer stated the air mass sensor was repalced. Updated 02/10/09.

- Ione, CA, USA

problem #2

Jul 312006

C320 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,000 miles
My car shuts down whenever I drive in temperatures over 90 degrees in slow traffic. Brought car to dealer who stated nothing wrong with car that they can find.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #1

Mar 202003

C320 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55 miles
The vehicle stalled without warning.

- Coral Springs, FL, USA

Not what you are looking for?