Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
32,700 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Mercedes-Benz CLK350 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Mercedes-Benz CLK350:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Mercedes-Benz CLK350 Owner Comments

problem #5

Mar 052012

CLK350 6-cyl

  • 52,500 miles


Check engine light came on and Mercedes dealer replaced camshaft sensor the vehicle had 52500 miles. Check engine light came on again I took it to an independent repair. They stated it is the same problem the camshaft problems. The vehicle has 68000 miles now and this should not be happening to this vehicle. It continues to have problems and I have contacted Mercedes and they refuse to take responsibility for these premature issues I am having with this vehicle. I would like the government to put in a lawsuit for me and make it a class action law suit against Mercedes because there are several consumers with this very same problem and Mercedes isn't doing anything about it.

- Stone Mountain, GA, USA

problem #4

Apr 242009

CLK350 6-cyl

  • miles
My complaint is against Mercedes-Benz, usa for their failure to inform me of the substantive defects and recalls at the time of my purchase of the 2006 Mercedes C280; VIN [xxx]. on April 24, 2009, I engaged in a contract with Mercedes Benz financial services for the purchase of the above 2006 C-280. I was never informed of the serious defects on the vehicle. I was never given an opportunity to make an informed decision. Hence, the business practice of Mercedes Benz and or it's dealership was deceptive. It is hard to imagine that anyone, let alone myself, whose medical impairment of fear, anxiety and panic disorder (ada act) would purchase a vehicle with full knowledge of the risk factors involved; during and prior to the purchase, pursuant to: A). report date:December 3, 2011 at 07:19 am mfr's report date: Dec 15, 2005...NHTSA campaign id number: 05V560000..component: (air bags)... consequence: In the event of a crash, an occupant may not be properly restrained which could (result in injuries).. dealers will install a new air bag inflater module free of charge Mercedes-Benz recall no. 2006020005. The recall began on March 15, 2006. B). December 3, 2011 (NHTSA campaign id number): 08V303000...(component): Electrical system.... Mercedes-Benz recall no. 2008 070001 thank you for conducting an investigation on my complaint.[xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Coral Springs, FL, USA

problem #3

Dec 012010

CLK350 6-cyl

  • 78,000 miles
Check engine light came on in my 2006 mb 350 clk. Took to a mechanic was told it was a balance shaft issue and would cost about $5000 to repair.

- Lancaster, CA, USA

problem #2

Nov 192007

CLK350 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 24,000 miles
2006 clk 350 coupe / check engine oil levels (message). I've owned my car since March 18, 2007. I'm writing to inform you that I have received a message three times stating "check engine oil levels" the message came on for the first time in July 2007. I drove the car back to the dealership where I bought the car from and I arrived at the service department 15 minutes before they closed and they didn't have time to look at my vehicle, so they placed oil in my car and turned me away. Thankfully a very professional young man from that same dealership rectified this experience for me and had a talking to the man that turned me away. My car was misdiagnosed. A week later the same light came on. Check engine oil level. At this moment in time, I call Mercedes Benz road side assistance. I pulled the car over and explained the situation. They asked me not to add any oil and to take it to the nearest dealership. I took it to md san diego. They conducted and oil consumption test to find what was wrong and they asked me to come back in 1,000 to 1,200 miles or if the light came on. August 7, 2007 - I was near newport beach, and the light came on again. So I took it to the dealership where I bought it from and they had to re-do the oil consumption test because the test needs to be conducted at the same dealership each time. (I questioned the validity of this statement). They instructed me to come back in 1,000 - 1,200 miles or when the light came on. I brought the car back in 1,000 miles (August 2007) to the newport beach dealership and they couldn't find what was wrong with the car and Mercedes Benz wouldn't authorize the (warranty) work for the engine to be taken apart to find out where the oil is going to. It is now November 19, 2007 and the same light came on again. I have scheduled an appointment to bring my car back in. Hopefully they can solve the problem this time, or it might be that I have been sold a lemon.

- Temecula, CA, USA

problem #1

Aug 012006

CLK350 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,000 miles
: the contact stated while traveling various speeds, there was a knocking sound coming from the engine compartment. The dealership was unable to duplicate the problem. The brake pedal shakes while depressed. The dealership determined this was normal operating conditions.

- Freehold, NJ, USA

Not what you are looking for?