Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

1.7

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
96,065 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Mercedes-Benz E320 fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Mercedes-Benz E320:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Mercedes-Benz E320 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #42

Feb 032014

E320

  • 73,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Mercedes Benz E320 the contact stated that fuel fumes emitted from the vehicle constantly. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer. The technician suggested as an interim fix to not fully fill the fuel tank but provided no diagnosis or remedy for the failure. The contact continued to smell the strong fumes. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the sending unit needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 73,000.

- Spring Valley, CA, USA

problem #41

Aug 012011

E320

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Mercedes Benz E320. The contact stated that the odor of fuel was present inside and outside the vehicle. The contact indicated that the odor was much stronger while the engine was turned on. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the fuel line injection system was faulty. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 90,000.

- Greer, SC, USA

problem #40

Jan 092014

E320 6-cyl

  • 108,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Mercedes Benz E320. The contact stated that there was fuel fumes that emitted from the rear drivers side of the vehicle. The contact stated that the fuel odor emitted each time the vehicle was refueled. The failure occurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the fuel sending unit was leaking and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 108,000 and the current mileage was 111,860. Updated 9/4/14 the consumer stated the gas smell was so strong it made the owner dizzy at times. The fuel tank sending unit was the source of the problem. As of 7/25/2014 the vehicle was repaired by german motors in las vegas, nv. Updated 12/17/2014

- Henderson, NV, USA

problem #39

Jun 302014

E320 6-cyl

  • 111,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Smell of gas after I fill up at the pump.

- Henderson, NV, USA

problem #38

Feb 182014

E320

  • 57,638 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Mercedes-Benz E320. The contact stated after refueling the vehicle a fuel odor was present in the cabin. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated that the fuel system needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 57,638.

- Stuart, FL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #37

Jan 312013

E320 6-cyl

  • 59,455 miles
Each time after a refuel I get a fuel smell in the cabin, and when parked in my garage I see the gas leaking undercarriage of the vehicle.I am forced to let the garage doors opened for a while to evacuate the gas fumes.

- Lawrenceville, GA, USA

problem #36

Dec 242013

E320

  • 95,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Mercedes Benz E320. The contact stated after the vehicle was parked, he began to smell gasoline fumes from outside of the vehicle. The failure was not diagnosed by the dealer or an independent mechanic. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 95,000.

- Brea, CA, USA

problem #35

Oct 092013

E320

  • 101,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Mercedes Benz E320. The contact stated that the vehicle would emit an overpowering gasoline odor inside the vehicle whenever the fuel tank was refueled. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for inspection or repairs. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 101,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Lees Summit, MO, USA

problem #34

Nov 202013

E320 6-cyl

  • 88,900 miles
I started smelling gas in the car cabin. There was gas on my driveway as well. The gas sign started to flash on my dash and the check engine light came on. Went to the dealership and they said there was a major leak in the purge system. They quoted me $3066.88. They should take responsibility and not pass it on to me.

- Grand Prairie, TX, USA

problem #33

Nov 122013

E320

  • 96,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Mercedes-Benz E320. The contact stated that gasoline fuel was smelled within the cabin. The vehicle was taken to a private mechanic where the failure could not be diagnosed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was 96,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Irvine, CA, USA

problem #32

Oct 042010

E320

  • 53,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Strong odor of gasoline evident after fill up. This coincided with accuracy issues of the fuel gauge, where vehicle now runs out of gas when gauge indicates 1/4 tank. The strong smell of gas happens now repeatedly with every fill up, which seems to indicate some form of leakage at or near the top of the tank.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #31

Aug 022013

E320

  • 99,700 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Mercedes Benz E320. The contact stated that while parked, a strong gasoline odor was emitted inside and outside of the vehicle. The vehicle had not been diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 99,700. The VIN was unavailable.

- Nashville, TN, USA

problem #30

Aug 172013

E320

  • 113,800 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Mercedes-Benz E320. The contact stated that a fuel odor was emitted from the vehicle. Upon inspection, it was found that there was a fuel leak. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 113,800.

- Namp, ID, USA

problem #29

Aug 142013

E320

  • miles
I purchased the Mercedes in April 2013 of this year and less than 30 days of purchasing the car I had major repairs done to the car. I slightly smelled fuel vapors when I purchased the car however I thought that it was just a possible after effect of me refueling the car. Over the course of two months the fumes became worse and worse and I stay with a migraine everyday. Today was unbearable as it is hot outside and it is becoming hard to concentrate and it feels like my head is about to burst. I am going to take it into the dealer as this is the worst experience in my life! the people I purchased the car from refused to pay for anything and I wanted to return the call altogether! I plan on going to the dealer, and to the doctor.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #28

May 012013

E320

  • 153,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Mercedes Benz E320. The contact stated that the vehicle emitted a strong gasoline fuel odor when the fuel tank was filled. The vehicle was taken to the dealer to have a diagnostic performed. The failure was located at the fuel sending unit. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 153,000 and the current mileage was 159,000.

- Gilbert , AZ, USA

problem #27

May 222013

E320

  • 97,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Mercedes Benz E320. The contact stated that the there was a strong gasoline fuel odor inside and outside the vehicle. The contact also stated that the vehicle would frequently hesitate to start. The vehicle was taken to the dealer to have a diagnostic performed. The contact was advised that the fuel pump neck and the fuel pump sending unit failed. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The failure and the current mileage was 97,000.

- Lewisville , TX, USA

problem #26

Jan 122011

E320

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Mercedes Benz E320. The contact stated that after filling the fuel tank, he would smelled fuel outside of the vehicle. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for inspection. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 80,000.

- Wellington, FL, USA

problem #25

Apr 302013

E320 6-cyl

  • 165,000 miles
After filling fuel tank and parking car in garage, I noticed a strong fuel odor.

- Alpharetta, GA, USA

problem #24

Mar 222013

E320 6-cyl

  • 44,000 miles
Vehicle was bought on 3/19/13 from a used car dealer. On 3/22/13 tank was filled and strong gas smell was noticed when parked in garage. Had mechanic replace both sending units on top of tank on 4/5/13. The problem with smell still exists everytime tank is filled, and seems to be concentrated by the left rear wheel well. We are very concerned, and are convinced that there is a defect with the fuel tank, which is most definitely a safety issue.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #23

Apr 092013

E320 6-cyl

  • miles
Recently, my 2003 E320 Mercedes Benz continue to produce a very strong odor of gasoline immediately after fill up. I checked the car surrounding for any available leak but I could not find any. I had the car for more than seven (7) years with the smell could someone explain why? all indicators on the panel says normal please help!!! before the explosion!!!!!!!!!!!

- Austell, GA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?