1.7

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
95,340 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Mercury Mariner steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Mercury Mariner:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Mercury Mariner Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #39

Nov 052016

Mariner

  • 79,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Mercury Mariner. While driving 35 mph, the steering wheel seized without warning. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the steering column failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering). The failure mileage was 79,000.

- Leesport, PA, USA

problem #38

Dec 152016

Mariner

  • 109,228 miles
Vehicle was stationary. Started vehicle and no power steering. Called Ford was told it was fixed on July 29, 2014 due to recall but same issue has happened again. Ford refuses to fix, was told was already fixed and nothing they can do. Went to dealership where it was bought now have to pay out of pocket.

- Revere, MA, USA

problem #37

Jul 212014

Mariner

  • 189,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Mercury Mariner. The contact stated that there was a sudden loss of power steering without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer to be serviced for NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering), but the failure continued. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where the failure was unable to be replicated and diagnosed. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the steering column needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 189,000.

- Lyman, ME, USA

problem #36

Oct 092016

Mariner

  • 2,004 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Power steering stop working could not turn the steering wheel

- Old Hickory, TN, USA

problem #35

Sep 192016

Mariner

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Mercury Mariner. The contact stated that the vehicle experienced a loss of power steering. The failure occurred without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the failure was due to the torque sensor being defective, which needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering); however, the VIN was not included. The failure mileage was approximately 100,000.

- Dewitt, MI, USA

problem #34

Apr 162016

Mariner

  • 107,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Mercury Mariner. While at a traffic light, there was a knocking in the steering wheel. The contact stated that an electric power steering assist warning light was illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 107,000.

- Tonawanda, NY, USA

problem #33

Feb 152016

Mariner

  • 97,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Mercury Mariner. While the vehicle was idling, the steering wheel began to vibrate violently and the power steering warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 97,000.

- El Monte, CA, USA

problem #32

Apr 042016

Mariner

  • 112,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Mercury Mariner. While driving 25 mph, the steering wheel became difficult to maneuver and an unknown warning light illuminated. The failure recurred intermittently. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000(steering). The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 112,000.

- Jupiter, FL, USA

problem #31

Feb 152016

Mariner

  • 90,571 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Mercury Mariner. The contact mentioned that the vehicle was serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering). While driving 25 mph, the steering wheel became difficult to maneuver. The electric power steering warning light illuminated. The failure recurred constantly. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the power steering control module failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 90,571.

- Cleveland, OH, USA

problem #30

Mar 082016

Mariner

  • 148,000 miles
On 3/8/2016 I started my engine and shifted into reverse, upon doing this I noticed I had no power steering. Leading up to this date for approximately 2 weeks, I noticed my steering wheel shook at all speeds while driving and while parked with engine running. I took the car to ray skillman Ford on 3/8/2016 and they diagnosed the problem as a failure in the steering assist motor and they said they would have to pull my steering column to repair the motor. I had my car serviced for recall 14S05 in September 2014 in which they reprogrammed the power steering sensor at capital city Ford. This recall remedy failed to prevent the issue of failure in my vehicle. The claim number through Ford is cas-8977665-P8M0T0. The total for the repairs is $996.04.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #29

Mar 082016

Mariner

  • 140,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While my car was parked, my steering wheel began shaking violently upon starting my engine on February 22,2016. The shaking continued every time I drove my car at high or low speeds and also while in park with the engine running. On March 8, 2016, after starting my engine, I noticed the power steering was completely non functioning. There has been a complete loss of power steering control and the steering wheel was very difficult to turn at low speeds.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #28

Feb 252016

Mariner

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Mercury Mariner. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 55 mph, the steering wheel shook violently and seized. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the steering column assembly needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 120,000.

- Newark, NJ, USA

problem #27

Jan 092016

Mariner

  • 80,743 miles
On January 16 2016 power steering failed and car became very difficult to steer. Power steering pscm had been reprogramed pursuant to nhsta recall in Dec. 2014. This did not correct the problem (obviously) Ford dealer determined that replacement of steering column was required to fix the problem but refuses to reimburse me for the cost ($1306.27)

- St Petersburg, FL, USA

problem #26

Feb 222016

Mariner

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Mercury Mariner. While turning the steering wheel either left or right, the steering wheel jerked. After the steering wheel lost power, it went into manual steering mode. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer or diagnosed. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact was unaware if the vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 120,000. The VIN was not provided.

- Oelwein, IA, USA

problem #25

Jan 282016

Mariner

  • 92,000 miles
Loss of power steering. Recall performed to update sensor in 2014 but failed Jan 2016. Ford will not cover under previous recall though internet shows many drivers with same resulting sensor failure

- Whitmore Lake, MI, USA

problem #24

Feb 132016

Mariner

  • 125,000 miles
As per recall I took my car to Ford dealer (2200 S. walnut bloomington, in 47401) to upgrade my electronic power steering assist software. Less than 30 days later the problem returned and power steering assist is no longer operable while driving.

- Nashville, IN, USA

problem #23

Feb 012016

Mariner

  • 125,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Mercury Mariner. While making a left turn at approximately 15 mph, the steering wheel became difficult to maneuver. The check engine and battery warning light illuminated. In addition, prior to the failure, an abnormal clicking sound emitted from the vehicle. The contact also stated that there was another clicking sound a few minutes later and the steering wheel operated properly. The contact mentioned that the failure recurred multiple times after the vehicle was previously repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering). The vehicle was towed to the contact's residence. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 125,000.

- Grand Blanc, MI, USA

problem #22

Feb 022016

Mariner

  • miles
I took my vehicle to the dealership in response to a recall notice about the power steering. I had never before experienced symptoms of the issue. The following day, I began having intermittent issues with the power steering. I returned to the dealership and they again serviced the vehicle. A few weeks later I again began having intermittent issues with the steering. It took 2 weeks to get into the service again, and now Ford tells me I need a new steering column but that it is too long after the original service and is now considered a new incident not covered by the recall, even though others have experienced similar problems caused by the initial "repair." They refuse to back out the software changes and refuse to fix the current issue. Ford case number cas-8718390-Z4C4M7

- Leesburg, FL, USA

problem #21

Nov 302015

Mariner

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Mercury Mariner. While driving at an unknown speed, the steering wheel seized and the contact was unable to steer the vehicle. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was previously repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering). The failure mileage was 50,000. Updated 04/19/16

- Daleville, AL, USA

problem #20

Feb 012016

Mariner

  • 125,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Mercury Mariner. The contact stated that while at an intersection making a left turn, the power steering failed. The check engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 125,000. The VIN was not available.

- Grand Blanc, MI, USA

Read the next 19 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?