Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
47,091 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Mercury Milan seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Mercury Milan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Mercury Milan Owner Comments

problem #17

Nov 072016

Milan

  • 170,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Mercury Milan. The contact received the recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 16V384000 (air bags) in June. After contacting the dealer and the manufacturer on multiple occasions, the contact was informed that the parts needed for the recall remedy were still not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be provided. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Northfiled, MN, USA

problem #16

Nov 012016

Milan 4-cyl

  • miles
2008 Mercury Milan. Consumer writes in regards to replacement parts not available to repair passenger frontal airbag inflator recall notice. The consumer stated the engine light illuminated shortly after the vehicle was purchased.

- Saint Matthews, SC, USA

problem #15

Jul 062016

Milan

  • 125,000 miles
Takata air bag recall - reeieved notice of recall from Ford in July 2016 and have not heard from them since. What is taking so long to replace the passenger side airbag"?" I, M concerned for the safety of my wife and family who occupy this seat. Please let me know when I can come into malouf dealership to have this airbag replaced.

- Hillsborough, NJ, USA

problem #14

Oct 252016

Milan

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Mercury Milan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V384000 (air bags). The part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Emerson, NJ, USA

problem #13

Oct 062016

Milan

  • 0 miles
This is a very dangerous condition and no remedy is available. How can this be allowed?

- Mason, OH, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #12

May 142016

Milan

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Mercury Milan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V3840000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Chartley, MA, USA

problem #11

Aug 152014

Milan 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Mercury Milan. The contact noticed that the dashboard was bulging and was concerned that the passenger side air bag could deploy. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 16V384000 (air bags). The approximate failure mileage was 50,000. Updated 09/20/16 updated 09/26/16.

- Medfield, MA, USA

problem #10

Aug 102016

Milan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Mercury Milan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V384000 (air bags); however, the part for the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. VIN tool confirms parts not available....updated 09/19/16 updated 09/20/16.

- Pittsburg, PA, USA

problem #9

Aug 012014

Milan

  • 0 miles
Takata recall... dash bulging at air bag area, getting worse, passenger side. Afraid to drive car. I'm 77 yo and take my 74 yo sister places several times per week (doctors etc.). we're very scared. Two Ford dealerships said my car has no recalls but yet I see it listed as having a recall regarding this issue. Why don't they know this?

- Medfield, MA, USA

problem #8

Jul 202016

Milan

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Mercury Milan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V384000 (air bags); however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was unavailable. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Muncie, IN, USA

problem #7

Jul 222016

Milan

  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

So Ford sends us a recall notice telling us death could occur for the airbag malfunction but that no solution is available. The good news is Ford will contact us when a solution is available at which time they will fix the car. In the meantime there is nothing they can do given it is a supplier problem. So now what do we do" always drive the car with no one but the driver" called Ford and that is basically the only answer they have.

- Easton, PA, USA

problem #6

Sep 092015

Milan

  • 88,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Mercury Milan. The contact stated that the front passenger side air bag housing was separated from the dashboard. The vehicle was taken to the dealer to be inspected, but the vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 88,000. The VIN was not available.

- Springfield, MA, USA

problem #5

Aug 042014

Milan

  • 33,454 miles
Passenger side air bag is in dashboard. Cover on air bag is lifting up. Took it into dealership. They said that happens because of the heat and that unless the air bag light goes on the air bag itself is ok. They would have to replace the entire dashboard at a cost of over $2000. Noticed it in 2014 for the first time. A year later and it is getting worse with more of the cover buckling up. Had the car back at the dealership for oil change and asked service dept. Manager about it again. He said it's not a big deal - he's seen it before. Just needs some glue but they won't repair it. Called around to various vinyl repair and car repair places. No one will touch it because it's by the air bag. We live in northeast Ohio - not a warm state like Florida. This shouldn't be happening and if it is just the cover then why won't the dealership fix it with whatever glue was used when they manufactured the car? I don't want to risk the airbag deploying. I googled this problem and there are other people out there with the same issue in the 2007 and the 2008 Milan but no one has responded to their questions of how to repair it. Updated 09/09/15

- N. Royalton , OH, USA

problem #4

Jun 252015

Milan

  • 115,000 miles
Front, passenger-side dashboard housing the front, passenger-side airbag has become completely warped. This is a safety hazard that will not allow the front, passenger-side airbag to deploy properly. No parts are available online to resolve this issue.

- Marietta, GA, USA

problem #3

May 302014

Milan

  • 68,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Mercury Milan. The contact stated that the front passenger's side air bag housing became completely warped. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the repairs needed were unknown. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 68,000.

- Wareham, MA, USA

problem #2

Jan 142013

Milan 6-cyl

  • 51,000 miles
My car was sitting for a month in my driveway. I just got back from vacation. Next day I was going to work, my air bag light came on. I was not sure if it was safe for me to drive to work. Right away I called my garage and they told me that I should bring it in to get it inspected. Upon inspection they realized that the sensor under my passengers seat was malfunctioning. They gave me the exact name of the problem. Its a B2290 occupant classification system status, front passenger side. The problem is that I'm the only one that drives that car and rarely does somebody sit in the passenger seat. Something needs to be done with this problem. I M not the first one to have this same problem. My garage fixed the problem. But I believe that this should be posted on the recalls for this type of car. This is a serious safety hazard concern.

- Dover, PA, USA

problem #1

Aug 142008

Milan

  • 100 miles
Involved in a serious motor vehicle crash on 8/14/08 in my vehicle and the air bags failed to deploy. This was a side, almost T-bone impact, and the curtain/side air bags did not deploy. As a result I had glass lacerations and my head hit the driver's window, smashing it and causing injury to my head.

- Cudahy, WI, USA

Not what you are looking for?