10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
39,536 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Mercury Milan seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Mercury Milan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Mercury Milan Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #29

Sep 012015

Milan

  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall: My passenger side front seat airbag is very swollen. I have brought it to Ford dealers for the past 3 or so years but they tell me it is not a recalled vehicle. I saw in a recent newspaper article that 2006-2009 Mercury Milan airbags now have a recall. I have not received a letter from Ford as of yet. My airbag is extremely swollen and can't be pushed back down or glued in, it would have to be entirely replaced at this point according to repair shops that I have visited. It is definitely a defective piece of equipment in this car and looks to be dangerous. This car has never been in a front end collision that I am aware of.

- Pomfret Center, CT, USA

problem #28

Jun 012016

Milan

  • miles
Takata recall still no word on when the recall will be fixed, recall issued 6/1/16, notices sent 6/15/16 advising owners that they will be notified when parts are available. Still nothing

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #27

Jul 012016

Milan

  • miles
"takata recall" my question is its been over half a year since the recall, is there a solution in the near future thank you

- Chartley, MA, USA

problem #26

Dec 312016

Milan

  • 116,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall for my vehicle. The areas in front on the dashboard look as though the entire system beneath the material wants to fall apart. As if the dashboard is slowing deforming. Brakes when pressing the brakes while driving over rough surfaces, wet surfaces, dry surfaces, or uneven surfaces the brakes will simply "go out". the brake pedal will go all the way down to the floor. Its almost like the brakes are experiencing a strong-winded belch. The brakes will not allow the car to come to a full stop even when pressing down full force on the brakes. It takes a few moments of holding the brake pedal down as hard as possible in order for the vehicle to truly stop. On even-flat surfaces, if I'm in a situation where I need to press down on the brakes immediately, the brakes will simply "go out". the many different surfaces refer to train tracks, flat/even paved roads, wet pavement roads that are moist or wet streets that have an uneven areas, or dry surfaces. After several attempts to regain the proper function of the brakes, the function will come back. I'm forced to pull over to the side of the road and turning on the hazard lights so I can constantly "pump" the brake pedal. Every day I get behind the wheel I'm afraid for my life and others on the road with my vehicle because the vehicle is very unsafe due to the improper function of the brake system and the poor airbags. The problem with the brakes happens to me every day I leave my neighborhood. It's so unsafe to not press the brakes before leaving my neighborhood. I have to roll over the area very slowy so the brakes don't "go out". in the front of my neighborhood, there is a crosswalk and kids are always walking past the neighborhood because the high school is right across the street. I have to slowly go over the rough area, which has 2 speed bumps and brick pavement in between the two speed bumps

- Peachtree Corners, GA, USA

problem #25

Jul 112016

Milan

  • miles
Takata recall....in July 2016 I received a safety recall notice for the passenger frontal airbag inflator. To this day, I haven't heard anything from Ford Motor Company as to solving this issue.

- Orland Park, IL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #24

May 012015

Milan

  • miles
On my dashboard, on the passenger side, there is a hole the part of the console pushed up where I think is the airbag. Plus my brakes are not working properly. I have to pump my brakes to make a complete stop. In icy conditions, I slow down while pumping my brakes lightly. I did not received any notices by mail on recalls. I've moved to a new location about 1 1/2 years ago. No accidents yet.

- Montgomery, IL, USA

problem #23

Jul 112016

Milan

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Mercury Milan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V384000 (air bags); however, the remedy was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Palatine, IL, USA

problem #22

Jun 011216

Milan

  • miles
Takata recall. I consider this delay inexcusable. I drive an older vehicle in a state with very hot summers...both indicators of a greater risk of airbag malfunction. Why is this taking so long?? I wrote a letter to Ford Motor Company on 9-12-16 but still have no idea when a replacement airbag will happen.

- Seminole, FL, USA

problem #21

Dec 112016

Milan

  • 190,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Mercury Milan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V384000 (air bags); however, the part for the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact stated that the air bag warning indicator illuminated. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. VIN tool confirms parts not available. The approximate failure mileage was 190,000.

- Columbus, IN, USA

problem #20

Jul 182016

Milan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Mercury Milan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V384000 (air bags) and stated that the part was not available within a reasonable time frame to schedule the recall repair. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. For months, the dealer stated that the contact would need to receive a second letter to determine when the parts would be available. The manufacturer could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 01/04/17 updated 01/05/17.

- Smyrna, DE, USA

problem #19

Dec 012016

Milan

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall - have not had an issue as yet since I am not suppose to drive the car until recall is satisfied. When will replacement airbags be available so we can use the vehicle. We have a vehicle we are told is unsafe to drive. Why are parts not available. Why can't Ford rectify the situation!! I can't sell the car in without having this corrected and not suppose to drive it. I cannot afford to buy a brand new car and leave this one sitting there in the garage. From reading below, I guess this can happen even without a crash, just driving the vehicle.

- Smyrna, DE, USA

problem #18

Nov 302016

Milan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Mercury Milan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V384000 (air bags); however, the part for the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 01/04/17

- Wooster, OH, USA

problem #17

Nov 072016

Milan

  • 170,000 miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Mercury Milan. The contact received the recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 16V384000 (air bags) in June. After contacting the dealer and the manufacturer on multiple occasions, the contact was informed that the parts needed for the recall remedy were still not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be provided. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Northfiled, MN, USA

problem #16

Nov 012016

Milan 4-cyl

  • miles
2008 Mercury Milan. Consumer writes in regards to replacement parts not available to repair passenger frontal airbag inflator recall notice. The consumer stated the engine light illuminated shortly after the vehicle was purchased.

- Saint Matthews, SC, USA

problem #15

Jul 062016

Milan

  • 125,000 miles
Takata air bag recall - reeieved notice of recall from Ford in July 2016 and have not heard from them since. What is taking so long to replace the passenger side airbag"?" I, M concerned for the safety of my wife and family who occupy this seat. Please let me know when I can come into malouf dealership to have this airbag replaced.

- Hillsborough, NJ, USA

problem #14

Oct 252016

Milan

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Mercury Milan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V384000 (air bags). The part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Emerson, NJ, USA

problem #13

Oct 062016

Milan

  • 0 miles
This is a very dangerous condition and no remedy is available. How can this be allowed?

- Mason, OH, USA

problem #12

May 142016

Milan

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Mercury Milan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V3840000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Chartley, MA, USA

problem #11

Aug 152014

Milan 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Mercury Milan. The contact noticed that the dashboard was bulging and was concerned that the passenger side air bag could deploy. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 16V384000 (air bags). The approximate failure mileage was 50,000. Updated 09/20/16 updated 09/26/16.

- Medfield, MA, USA

problem #10

Aug 102016

Milan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Mercury Milan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V384000 (air bags); however, the part for the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. VIN tool confirms parts not available....updated 09/19/16 updated 09/20/16.

- Pittsburg, PA, USA

Read the next 9 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?