Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
50,300 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Mercury Milan engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Mercury Milan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Mercury Milan Owner Comments (Page 3 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #101

Jul 102013

Milan 6-cyl

  • 66,000 miles


I was traveling at a high rate of speed (70mph) when my engine began to "stall out" on me causing a rapid deceleration. I would say it stalled, but it did not 100% cutout, rather it went into the lowest limp mode on the engine. Luckily, since it was a busy time of night (approximately 6pm), I was in the right hand land and was able to pull off before being rear ended...though it would almost inevitably happened had I been in any other lane. I was near an exit and coasted slowly in the limp mode and made it to a parking lot, where I turned off my car and popped the hood to examine the issue further. The oil was within range and belts were ok. Just as I was finishing the coasting, I saw the "wrench" light illuminate. After checking the engine, I was able to re-start my car and drive home without incident. I looked up the issue online & found many others with the same issue. I ordered oem replacement parts that took about a week to arrive. Over the course of that week, the issue occurred several more times and happened more and more frequently. I avoided highways altogether for safety concerns. I contacted Ford who told me I could have it repaired at my cost at a dealership (since I was a few thousand over the powertrain warranty). I bought oem parts & did the repair myself and the issue has not happened again since. This is the exact issue listed in NHTSA action number: PE13003.

- Grand Rapids, MI, USA

problem #100

Oct 202013

Milan 4-cyl

  • 51,200 miles
I was in the middle of making a left turn, when my engine suddenly stalled. I lost all acceleration in the middle of my turn, while oncoming traffic was approaching. My check engine light came on with code P2112. I had to pull over, shut the car completely off, and it was fine for only a few more miles. The problem is ongoing and the vehicle is not safe to drive on a highway. Intermittently, at speeds of 30 mph and higher, the vehicle unexpectedly stalled and showed signs of throttle body failure. The consumer stated all the symptoms he experienced, were consistent with the NHTSA action number PE13003. Also, the brake lights did not activate, when applied. Updated 11/05/13

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #99

Oct 172012

Milan 4-cyl

  • 105,000 miles
While commuting to work the engine suddenly lost all power while traveling approx 50mph on rt 9A in ossining NY. Fortunately I was in thr right lane but did not have enough time or momentum to completely pull off the road. A state farm sponsored help truck arrived anf pushed me to the side. At my husband's suggestion he looked to see if leaves had clogged the intake/air filter. It did not. Then he disconnected the hose to the throttle valve and when he pushed it with the screwdriver the engine regained power. I turned around to try and meet my husband at a midway point. The engine shut down again but after restarting, it regained power. I switched cars with my husband and he sprayed the throttle valve with carburetor cleaner and headed home. The car stalled out on him but he was able to roll into a gas/convenience store in garrison NY and sprayed it again. Once home in cold spring he cleaned out the assembly as good as he could and the car worked well for the next 2 weeks. While visiting hungary for a family illness, my son used the car and reported that it began to stall out on him but unstuck? and he was able to return home. The car was brought to freedom Ford in beacon NY this morning for repair since it is not safe to drive in nyc commuter traffic.

- Cold Spring, NY, USA

problem #98

Oct 142013

Milan 4-cyl

  • 54,010 miles


Passing another vehicle when my car suddenly stalled. If it wasn't for the quick thinking of the car I was passing, who sped up, I would have not had time to pull back into my lane in time to avoid a collision with an oncoming car. I had to pull off the road and put the car in park and restart it. It ran fine after that. Unfortunately, this stalling and rough running has happened on several occasions. From what I have read, it looks to be a problem with the throttle body. As you can see, this can be very dangerous when it happens at the wrong time. I never know when it will happen as there is no warning.

- Pocomoke, MD, USA

problem #97

Oct 102013

Milan 4-cyl

  • 45,500 miles
Driving down rural highway traveling at 58mph and suddenly lost all power and car started bucking. Able to pull off and coast to stop. Rough idling. Wrench light came on when this happened. Turned off car and restarted 5 min later. Wrench light went out. Proceed to drive and approached 58 again incident happened again. Same symptoms but now engine light came on. Turned off car and waited over 15 min. To restart. Restarted and wrench light went out but engine light remained on. Able to drive home on shoulders at speeds not above 40 mph. Called dealership and not covered under drivetrain/emissions standard manufactures warranty. Need to diagnose it in shop at labor rates. No money.

- Little Lake, MI, USA

problem #96

Oct 082013

Milan 4-cyl

  • 40,323 miles
I was driving on a local road. Suddenly the car lost power and the wrench light was on. It could only go very slowly before I parked it on the roadside. I waited for several minutes and started the engine, then everything seemed just fine and the wrench light went off. After the trip I tried to connect obdii code reader but cannot get any error code.

- Syosset, NY, USA

problem #95

Sep 152013

Milan 4-cyl

  • 35,100 miles


Driving approximately 30 mph, the car coasted to a stop and the wrench showed on the dashboard. Waited a short while, restarted and it was okay. Did notice some lurching and the car felt like it was in the wrong gear, prior to the second incident on 10/07/20. Driving through an intersection at 30 mph, wrench showed on dashboard and car slowed to a crawl. I had to make it through the busy intersection and off ramp from a highway in order to safely get the car off the road. I could have been rear-ended both times, to say nothing about the fear of your car just conking out in the dark at 5:30am. The 3 year/36,000 mile warranty expired May 27, 2013... and my current mileage is 35,581 miles!!!!!!!!!! 111 days over the months and 419 miles under the warranty.... so, I am paying around $300+ to have this fixed. With all the exact complaints as happened to others, I am surprised Ford did not send a notice to owners to get it fixed or face the potential of being involved in a crash... thank you.

- Poughkepsie, NY, USA

problem #94

Sep 132013


  • 55,000 miles
Driver was proceeding on I-290 in left lane at speed of 60mph with moderate traffic. The engine started misfiring and bucking without warning and the vehicle experienced a drastic reduction of speed nearly causing accident from behind since the speed reduction was without warning. The wrench light illuminated. The engine continued to decelerate and created a situation where driver could not change lanes to right and was forced to move to left shoulder. The engine completely stalled and shut off before car stopped. After 30 minutes, vehicle started and operation resumed. Service department denied any problem with vehicle. 3 weeks later, while traveling 55 mph on NY rte 33, the vehicle stalled again at highway speed. The engine could be restarted but only operated with very rough condition. This vehicle is unfit and unsafe to be operated on a public highway.

- Williamsville, NY, USA

problem #93

Sep 212013


  • 54,312 miles
Wrench icon appears and engine RPM drops and vehicle slows while unable to accelerate. Engine surges at idle slightly below 1,000 RPM. If vehicle is shutoff and then restarted it will operate for an unpredictable time/distance. Very dangerous to drive due to unpredictability. Vehicle has been driven approximately 140 miles since first shutoff and has shut off numerous time since. On 9/27/13 it shutoff four times in 12 miles. Wife is terrified to operate this car. Vehicle will remain parked because of potential life-threatening safety hazard. Hopefully a recall for this will occur.

- Kinsman, OH, USA

problem #92

Sep 122013


  • 33,500 miles
I've experienced several instances of my vehicle stalling while in motion at various speeds (30-65 mph). At the dealership it was determined that the problem is with the throttle & the part is on back order. It is my only means of transportation & cannot get it repaired. Despite the low mileage, I am being told that this is not covered under the manufacturer's warranty. This issue is not due to wear & tear but to a manufacturer's mechanical failure. Why is the consumer responsible for the repairs to a preexisting problem in these cars?

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #91

Aug 272013

Milan 6-cyl

  • 49,604 miles


Driving to work one morning my car appeared to stall without warning on the incline of a viaduct. It slowed dramatically without me braking, so there were no brake lights to warn other drivers. I was fortunate the driver behind me was paying attention and did not run into me. I made an emergency maneuver to get off the road, and called aaa for a tow. While on hold with aaa, I restarted my car. It appeared to be working normally, so I went to work without incident. Later in the day my car seemed to stall again on the way to lunch. This was in a remote area with no other traffic. Again it restarted, and worked fine on my return to work. While driving home it happened a third time in a construction zone. I had to pull over near huge rollers that were leveling newly laid asphalt. Luckily it started again and I merged back into construction traffic and drove home. I called the Ford dealer I bought the car from. They told me over the phone it sounded like another bad throttle body. I got a ride to work the next day, and took it in as soon as I could get an appointment. The Ford dealer replaced the throttle body, and I have had no problems since.

- Beecher, IL, USA

problem #90

Sep 072013

Milan 4-cyl

  • 55,600 miles
While driving on interstate at 70 miles per hour, the car jerked and the car immediately decelerated. The throttle warning light came on and we had to maneuver through multiple lanes of traffic to get to the shoulder. The car was idling very rough. Parked the car and turned off the ignition. Restarted the car and it ran fine for 2 days, when it occurred again, this time we were driving at 40 miles per hour. It has since occurred 5 more times, mostly at highway speeds, during rush hour. This has occurred both with the air conditioner running and when it was off. We have come very close to being rear-ended multiple times, we were not in safe situations and this is our only vehicle. I am unable to afford a rental car and the dealership will not provide us with a safe vehicle.

- Oklahoma City, OK, USA

problem #89

Sep 172013

Milan 6-cyl

  • 27,500 miles
Vehicle stalls out, no RPM's, over $400 in repairs to an item that should last a lifetime in a vehicle, I understand this is a common problem in Ford Fusion and Mercury Milan's. the electronic throttle body should be a recalled item. This could cause an accident if vehicle stalls on a major highway.

- Lawrenceburg, KY, USA

problem #88

Sep 142013


  • 40,450 miles
At dusk on Saturday september14,2013 traveling North bound on 6 lane interstate I-55 in far left lane at 67 mph with cruise control on the car began to slow RPM returned to idling speed under 800 RPM and was unresponsive to accelerator pressure. The traffic was heavy and I was lucky to be able to move across lanes and reach the shoulder before car had slowed to 5 mph. The wrench light came on. Shut off the car restarted it and accelerator was responsive began to accelerate to merge back on to highway and again lost power. Shut off car again and accelerating very slowly was able to reach an exit about 1 mile away before car again lost power. Called for a tow back home as vehicle was unsafe. Car taken to dealership September 16th for repair and the throttle body needed to be replaced. I learned on line that this seems to be a common problem with certain Ford and Mercury products but there has been no recall to fix this defective part which puts the driver and passenger in grave danger when the throttle body malfunctions.luckily I was in a fairly populated area and cell phone service was available. I fear what could have happened if traffic had been even heavier or been in a more remote area. These products should be recalled as they present a serious safety issues for drivers.

- Naperville, IL, USA

problem #87

Sep 132013


  • 41,719 miles
While leaving work, vehicle RPM's dropped and car surged and nearly stalled out, pushing accelerator made no increase in power then "wrench" light illuminated on dash cluster, pulled off to side of road with brakes applied, and put car in neutral, RPM's low and fluctuating. Shut engine off. Started engine, no sign of "wrench" light, car made trip home, but RPM's fluctuated at stops, engine surging. Performed internet search, found NHTSA action number : PE13003 which contains very similar issues for other owners of 2010 Mercury Milan. Very scary and very lucky not to have issue on freeway, or in traffic. Thank you for your time, [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Quakertown, PA, USA

problem #86

Sep 132013

Milan 6-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
Driving 2 weeks ago, going 45 mph and the accelerator stopped working. Engine was running and I could still safely pull it over to the side of the road. I turned the vehicle off and then back on and it worked again. Since there were many areas of non-safe roads to pull over, I decided to have it towed home. It has driven fine ever since, until today, going 55mph, on the interstate, accelerator stops working. I safely pulled over, turned off and restarted engine. I safely drove to my nearest Ford dealership where they say it is the throttle sensor. Why is this not eligible for recall yet as I read these many, many pages of posts on the same thing? I have to wait until November for the part as it is on backorder. No safe car to drive until then.

- Chesapeake, VA, USA

problem #85

Aug 222013

Milan 4-cyl

  • miles
I was on my way to work and got on the freeway and as I accelerated to the flow of traffic, the car started splutting and I was in the middle lane with a truck close behind me and cars on each side. The speed started to decrease as I pushed on the gas petal with nothing happening. It was as though it ran out of gas and the console lights came on. I panic and tried to work my way to the side of the road. I was able to get over after the truck barely missed pitting me and coasted til the car slowed down and turned the car off and tried to start it again, it started because I knew that it wasn't out of gas, I had a full tank. There was no check engine light on at that time either. I preceded to get back on the freeway and got up to 50 mph and went to the nearest exit and my car repeated the same thing, this time with a jerking motion..that when the check engine light came on. I moved the car to a safer area and called to get it towed. It was place on the a machine that read P2111 and P2112. The auto shop informed me that it was the throttle body.

- Arlington, TX, USA

problem #84

Jun 152013

Milan 4-cyl

  • 48,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Mercury Milan. The contact stated that while driving 35 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The failure recurred on separate occasions. The contact was able to restart the vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 48,000. Updated 10/29/13 the consumer stated the vehicle would unexpectedly stall and showed signs of throttle body failure. All the symptoms he experienced were consistent with NHTSA number PE13003. Updated 11/12/13

- Chicago , IL, USA

problem #83

Sep 082013

Milan 4-cyl

  • 53,051 miles
This has happened to me many times over the last month at least 12 times. This occurs at various speeds, the car will stall or nearly stall. I am unable to accelerate. I have to coast to a safe location turn the key off put the car in park and restart the car. Luckily the car has restarted everytime. The wrench warning light comes on after the near stall, but goes off after I restart the car. When I come to the stop the engine seems to be trying to run but has no power and the idle is very rough. I went to the dealer and they said it sounds like the throttle body. This seems to be a know problem but I don't see a recall on it? when it goes into the near stall I have no acceleration and puts me in a very dangerous position as I try to jockey to a safe location with no power.

- Murphysboro, IL, USA

problem #82

Sep 042013


  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Mercury Milan. The contact stated that while driving approximately 30 mph, the vehicle stalled as the wrench warning icon illuminated. The contact merged to the shoulder and shut off the engine momentarily. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the failure was unable to be replicated. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure and current mileage was 60,000.

- Madison Heights, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?