Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Fuel System, Gasoline Problems

2010 Mercury Milan (Page 1 of 2)


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
55,371 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Mercury Milan fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Mercury Milan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Mercury Milan Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #28

Mar 232016

Milan 4-cyl

  • 81,000 miles


I received a recall notice (15V-793) from Ford in January 2016 about the canister purge valve, vapor canister, gas tank, and power control module on my 2010 Mercury Milan. I took it to the Ford dealer and they did an electronic test and said it was ok. One month later the check engine light came on and the code said the problem was the prior recalled canister purge valve. Took it back to the dealer and they did their electronic test again and said it was the gas tank fill tube valve. Four days later the check engine light came on again and the codes again said it was the canister purge valve. This time the dealer did as I asked them and mechanically checked the valve, and discovered that it and the vapor canister had failed. However, Ford will not cover the repair. Is this allowed? I will mail a letter with more detail. After researching the issue, this particular valve commonly failed by sticking open or closed and the only way to detect it, was to do a mechanical test by taking the hoses off and checking for pressure or vacuum. The dealer did not perform the test properly. Updated 05/31/16.

- Golden Valley, MN, USA

problem #27

Apr 232014

Milan 4-cyl

  • 114,000 miles
Immediately after entering a main highway, the engine seemed to die yet idled around 1000 RPM. The dash lights came on, the engine sputtered, but wouldn't increase speed and vehicle wouldn't move more than 2 or 3 miles per hour. After getting it off road and turning ignition off for a couple of minutes, it started and drove fine.

- Chatsworth, GA, USA

problem #26

Dec 182013


  • 37,000 miles
2010 Mercury Milan with 3.0 liter V-6 build date March 2010. Car went into limited limp mode while it was being driven at less than 30 mph. This has happened on three occasions. Each time the engine drops to a rough idle at 500 to 900 RPM and the "wrench" light is illuminated. Engine does not respond to throttle input. Car speed drops drastically but steering and brakes appear to operate normally. (engine is still running an close to normal idle speeds.) engine does not produce enough power to go up the slightest of inclines. After restarting, the engine the condition clears and car drives normally. Portable obdii scan tools do not indicate any dtc codes. Dealer replaced throttle body mechanism due to an intermittent short in the position sensing circuit. Dealer kept old unit due to core charge. This is a safety concern in that under many traffic conditions the car may be hit from behind or unable to move to a safe shoulder out of the traffic flow.

- Irmo, SC, USA

problem #25

Aug 272013


  • 49,000 miles


My wife and I own a 2010 Mercury Milan. One day last week, as my wife was leaving work, the car suddenly lost power, sputtered and was not able go faster than 10 mph. The car went into the "limp home" mode. We subsequently took the car to the Ford dealership where the problem was diagnosed as a "networking problem" and was told that the throttle body must be replaced! now, I am told that there is a nationwide shortage of this part and it will be at least two weeks before the part will arrive! the dealer estimates that the repair will cost $750. I respectfully request that your Agency issue a recall on these vehicles. I believe that this throttle body defect has produced a life-safety hazard and should be addressed quickly! thank you. Max a stewart

- Clarksville, TN, USA

problem #24

Nov 022013

Milan 4-cyl

  • 39,050 miles
While driving at a speed of 55 miles per hour on November 2, 2013, and at a speed of 50 miles per hour on November 4, 2013, my 2010 Mercury Milan abruptly stalled and I had to pull over instantly on both occasions in order to prevent being hit from behind. On these two occasions, the car had to be re-started. I brought the vehicle in for service as soon as possible on Wednesday, November 6, to correct the problem, which was a defective throttle body that had to be replaced. The throttle body was no longer under the general warranty and not included in the power train warranty.

- Nazareth, PA, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #23

Oct 062013

Milan 4-cyl

  • 67,900 miles
The car lost all acceleration on the highway. I was driving 65 in the middle lane and had to get over to the shoulder with no way to accelerate. The wrench warning light appeared on the dash. Turned the car off and restarted it and it worked fine for three days. Took it to the dealership and it is the throttle body going bad. This costs $420 to replace. This is a terrible hazard as the only thing you can do is hope to coast to the shoulder of the road safely.

- Overland Park, KS, USA

problem #22

Sep 152013

Milan 4-cyl

  • 35,100 miles


Driving approximately 30 mph, the car coasted to a stop and the wrench showed on the dashboard. Waited a short while, restarted and it was okay. Did notice some lurching and the car felt like it was in the wrong gear, prior to the second incident on 10/07/20. Driving through an intersection at 30 mph, wrench showed on dashboard and car slowed to a crawl. I had to make it through the busy intersection and off ramp from a highway in order to safely get the car off the road. I could have been rear-ended both times, to say nothing about the fear of your car just conking out in the dark at 5:30am. The 3 year/36,000 mile warranty expired May 27, 2013... and my current mileage is 35,581 miles!!!!!!!!!! 111 days over the months and 419 miles under the warranty.... so, I am paying around $300+ to have this fixed. With all the exact complaints as happened to others, I am surprised Ford did not send a notice to owners to get it fixed or face the potential of being involved in a crash... thank you.

- Poughkepsie, NY, USA

problem #21

Oct 032013

Milan 4-cyl

  • 34,000 miles
I was driving approx 60 mph on a highway. My car "jerked" forward once, and I completely lost the ability to accelerate. After moving to the shoulder of the road, my car was shaking and difficult to put in park due to the shaking. Car would start up again, but did not have the ability to accelerate except in low drive. Would not accelerate except in low. Had to towed to the dealership, where the throttle body needed replaced and kam reset. This is a 2010 car, fairly new.

- Boonville, IN, USA

problem #20

Sep 132013

Milan 4-cyl

  • 31,000 miles
Driving at highway speeds vehicle stalls out without warning. When attempting restart engine light and "orange wrench" light turn on. Vehicle does eventually restart.

- National Patk, NJ, USA

problem #19

Sep 122013

Milan 4-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
Car suddenly stalled in intersection with cross lane traffic and on mass transit trolley track. Move to other side of intersection and restarted fine, then stalled again on highway multiple times. Pulled vehicle over each time and it restarted, yet stalled again after a short amount of time. Check engine light was on steady (non-blinking). Had vehicle towed to Ford dealership would indicated the throttle body was bad and must be replaced.

- Mattapoisett, MA, USA

problem #18

Sep 102013

Milan 4-cyl

  • 49,000 miles


I was driving on the northway preparing to get in the right lane to exit and I lost all speed, no acceleration was possible but I still had radio/A/C, etc. I was able to get over and stop the car and when I put it in park it "sputtered" until I shut the engine off entirely. I waited a few moments and turned the engine back on and it started fine and then drove fine the rest of my drive. When I got back to work I researched this problem online and was surprised at the number of complaints for the same issue. Everyone had taken their car to a dealership or mechanic and could not figure it out. No warning lights came on in the dash. Finally after reading so many of the same complaints one car owner stated that a diagnosis resulted in code P2111 (faulty throttle body). I'm concerned about driving this car and having it happen again. I drive on a fast 3 lane highway about 20 miles each way to work and it's not always very easy to get over to safety. After seeing this has been investigated in another state I am hopeful it results in a recall so this problem can be properly addressed and fixed. Please help!

- Clifton Park, NY, USA

problem #17

Sep 082013

Milan 4-cyl

  • 53,051 miles
This has happened to me many times over the last month at least 12 times. This occurs at various speeds, the car will stall or nearly stall. I am unable to accelerate. I have to coast to a safe location turn the key off put the car in park and restart the car. Luckily the car has restarted everytime. The wrench warning light comes on after the near stall, but goes off after I restart the car. When I come to the stop the engine seems to be trying to run but has no power and the idle is very rough. I went to the dealer and they said it sounds like the throttle body. This seems to be a know problem but I don't see a recall on it? when it goes into the near stall I have no acceleration and puts me in a very dangerous position as I try to jockey to a safe location with no power.

- Murphysboro, IL, USA

problem #16

Aug 272013

Milan 4-cyl

  • 68,500 miles
I was driving on the interstate at 72 miles per hour in my 2010 Mercury Milan when the car lost all power. I was able to coast to the shoulder without interfering with other traffic. It was very frightening and I was very fortunate that traffic was not close and I was able to maneuver off the road safely. Since this first episode my Mercury Milan has done this another 3 times.

- Winchester , VA, USA

problem #15

Aug 212013

Milan 6-cyl

  • 39,290 miles
Was driving vehicle on expressway about 60 mph in fast lane, lost all acceleration. I was still trying to accelerate and the speed was dropping and I had to cross three lanes of traffic to get to the side of the road. The wrench light was on and I turned the car off. I decided to try to move a little father up to a wider shoulder so I started the car again and the wrench light was out and it seem to run ok. I was very blessed that I moved to the side without being hit by all the big trucks and cars around me. The dealer tells me it is the throttle and I do not have extended warranty and my warranty has run out. I am very concerned as I see there are other complaints of this nature with this car. I could have been run over by a truck or caused a lot of cars to crash and kill a lot of people when this happened. I Transport grandchildren four days a week in this car and I am very concerned that this has not been recalled and fixed. My last Mercury I had 13 years and never had such a scare. What will it take for Ford to do something about this" a rear end collision with a fire to kill a lot of people on the expressway"

- Fayetteville, GA, USA

problem #14

Dec 032012

Milan 4-cyl

  • 46,972 miles
Car would occasionally stall, then restart. Would become more frequent over time until car would stall after only driving a block.

- West Mifflin, PA, USA

problem #13

Aug 182013


  • 58,000 miles
I was traveling 70 mph when my car stalled out, the wrench light came on and I had to coast to safety. This happened again the next morning going approximately 10 mph. Car was towed to dealership and it was diagnosed as the throttle body control.

- Plano, TX, USA

problem #12

Aug 012013

Milan 4-cyl

  • 46,000 miles
Driving car started to shake acted like it wanted to die check engine light came one and little wrench light this happened out of the blue no warning or anything one second car running fine the next will not accelerate?

- Waco, TX, USA

problem #11

Jul 232013

Milan 4-cyl

  • 54,352 miles
Driving in city traffic when the car began to stall. Almost rear ended by the car behind me. Wrench light came on and the car stopped. I turned it off and then back on and was able to creep to a shoulder when it stalled out again. $500 repair and $55 tow. My mechanic told me the Ford Motor Co. Was well aware of the problem and that it has been happening when the mileage gets around 50,000 miles. This is inexcusable. I'm going to sue them in magistrates court on Monday.

- Aiken, SC, USA

problem #10

Jun 202013


  • 57,000 miles
Car died multiple times on highway.I pulled over each time, turned off key, and restarted the car and proceeded. Dealer said it was a fuel pump. Replaced fuel pump. Car still dies. O'reilly's says it is the throttle body. I am having trouble finding the part. Car is not safe and I need it fixed or replaced.

- Lamar, CO, USA

problem #9

Jun 202013


  • 57,000 miles
Car died multiple times on highway.I pulled over each time, turned off key, and restarted the car and proceeded. Dealer said it was a fuel pump. Replaced fuel pump. Car still dies. O'reilly's says it is the throttle body. I am having trouble finding the part. Car is not safe and I need it fixed or replaced.

- Lamar, CO, USA

Read the next 8 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?