Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
86,407 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Mercury Mountaineer engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Mercury Mountaineer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Mercury Mountaineer Owner Comments

problem #17

Apr 182015

Mountaineer 8-cyl

  • 200,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My spark plug on #2 cylinder just shot out of my truck's engine... argh!!!! destroyed my coil pack and could have busted the fuel line. And now I cant put in the spark plug. Wtf........"?????"

- Corinth, MS, USA

problem #16

Sep 112014

Mountaineer

  • 150,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Mercury Mountaineer. While driving approximately 3 mph, the high temperature and low oil warning indicators illuminated. The oil pressure gauge dropped to zero and a loud noise was heard. The contact merged the vehicle to the emergency lane and shut the vehicle off. The contact checked the oil level and observed that the oil was full. The contact restarted the vehicle and the noise was still present. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic. The technician noticed that there were metal shavings in the engine oil and the engine needed to be replaced or repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 150,000.

- Venice, CA, USA

problem #15

Apr 072011

Mountaineer 6-cyl

  • 137,912 miles
I purchased a 2002 Mercury Mountaineer on 4/11/2011. As I was driving it home from the dealership, the same day, I noticed some black smoke coming out the back of the car. There were no messages that came up in the message center window so I had no clue what was happening. As I looked back up from the rear view mirror, I noticed a first responders truck next to the drivers window who was yelling " get out of the vehicle, its on fire!" immediately I pulled over and my mother and I had to jump from the vehicle because the entire engine area was engulfed with flames. I was injured while I was fleeing from the vehicle. The fire department and state troopers were enroute and my vehicle was hosed down and towed. I almost died in this vehicle because of the rear differential going out on it. This vehicle type has had many problems with this part and their customers should be compensated! this car is a fire hazard! if I would have had my 3 small children in their car seats I may not have been able to get them all out in time. Compensated!!

- Whittier, NC, USA

problem #14

Jun 062011

Mountaineer 6-cyl

  • 165,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2002 Mercury Mountaineer has unexpected ignition misfiring codes, causing hard idle. And this is causing costly diagnostic servicing that cant locate the problem. I had asked 25 other owners and the are having the same problem...VIN # [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Newark, NJ, USA

problem #13

Jul 152004

Mountaineer

  • 92,213 miles
New showroom 2002 Mercury Mountaineer. The engine in this vehicle malfunctioned twice without warning; no overheating, no dashboard light indicators either time. July 2004/odometer reading 92213, the mechanics at the freeway Lincoln Mercury were baffled. They advised me that all the fluids were in the vehicle. Later (one week) they found a "hole" in the radiator. I was told I had a new engine, with a new warranty. 2nd time was June 06, odometer 166199, (new engine 73986) no warning, no dashboard lights, no overheating. Per a different certified mechanic not only was the engine not new but it had severe corrosion in it and showed signs of multiple overheating conditions. They told me of an "all technical service bulletin" dated 1/21/02 for my vehicle's engine regarding the "engine head gasket"---"some engine assemblies with aluminum cylinder heads repaired in-vehicle have been found to leak coolant and/or oil from the cylinder head gasket area due to particle contamination or scratches and dents to block mating surfaces." Action: Refer to the following service information for recommended gasket sealing surface preparation procedures. If the engine diagnosis points to a faulty head gasket (leaks oil, leaks coolant, oil or coolant contamination, or air in coolant), thorough cleaning procedures are necessary for a successful head gasket repair. Diagnosis and post- repair confirmation can be done successfully utilizing leak detection methods such as a black light dye process. Service procedure:to sum up, a successful leak repair depends on:accurate diagnosis of the leak using Ford-recommended test equipment and procedures.surface preparation and gasket installation using the approved tools, cleaners, and methods.exercising care and cleanliness during disassembly/assembly of components use of genuine Ford oem replacement parts - San Bernardino, CA, USA

problem #12

Jul 152004

Mountaineer

  • 92,213 miles
New showroom 2002 Mercury Mountaineer. The engine in this vehicle malfunctioned twice without warning; no overheating, no dashboard light indicators either time. July 2004/odometer reading 92213, the mechanics at the freeway Lincoln Mercury were baffled. They advised me that all the fluids were in the vehicle. Later (one week) they found a "hole" in the radiator. I was told I had a new engine, with a new warranty. 2nd time was June 06, odometer 166199, (new engine 73986) no warning, no dashboard lights, no overheating. Per a different certified mechanic not only was the engine not new but it had severe corrosion in it and showed signs of multiple overheating conditions. They told me of an "all technical service bulletin" dated 1/21/02 for my vehicle's engine regarding the "engine head gasket"---"some engine assemblies with aluminum cylinder heads repaired in-vehicle have been found to leak coolant and/or oil from the cylinder head gasket area due to particle contamination or scratches and dents to block mating surfaces." Action: Refer to the following service information for recommended gasket sealing surface preparation procedures. If the engine diagnosis points to a faulty head gasket (leaks oil, leaks coolant, oil or coolant contamination, or air in coolant), thorough cleaning procedures are necessary for a successful head gasket repair. Diagnosis and post- repair confirmation can be done successfully utilizing leak detection methods such as a black light dye process. Service procedure:to sum up, a successful leak repair depends on:accurate diagnosis of the leak using Ford-recommended test equipment and procedures.surface preparation and gasket installation using the approved tools, cleaners, and methods.exercising care and cleanliness during disassembly/assembly of components use of genuine Ford oem replacement parts - San Bernardino, CA, USA

problem #11

Jul 152004

Mountaineer

  • 92,213 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

New showroom 2002 Mercury Mountaineer. The engine in this vehicle malfunctioned twice without warning; no overheating, no dashboard light indicators either time. July 2004/odometer reading 92213, the mechanics at the freeway Lincoln Mercury were baffled. They advised me that all the fluids were in the vehicle. Later (one week) they found a "hole" in the radiator. I was told I had a new engine, with a new warranty. 2nd time was June 06, odometer 166199, (new engine 73986) no warning, no dashboard lights, no overheating. Per a different certified mechanic not only was the engine not new but it had severe corrosion in it and showed signs of multiple overheating conditions. They told me of an "all technical service bulletin" dated 1/21/02 for my vehicle's engine regarding the "engine head gasket"---"some engine assemblies with aluminum cylinder heads repaired in-vehicle have been found to leak coolant and/or oil from the cylinder head gasket area due to particle contamination or scratches and dents to block mating surfaces." Action: Refer to the following service information for recommended gasket sealing surface preparation procedures. If the engine diagnosis points to a faulty head gasket (leaks oil, leaks coolant, oil or coolant contamination, or air in coolant), thorough cleaning procedures are necessary for a successful head gasket repair. Diagnosis and post- repair confirmation can be done successfully utilizing leak detection methods such as a black light dye process. Service procedure:to sum up, a successful leak repair depends on:accurate diagnosis of the leak using Ford-recommended test equipment and procedures.surface preparation and gasket installation using the approved tools, cleaners, and methods.exercising care and cleanliness during disassembly/assembly of components use of genuine Ford oem replacement parts - San Bernardino, CA, USA

problem #10

Jan 082010

Mountaineer 8-cyl

  • 86,000 miles
Driving from dallas, tx, to West lafayette, in, in Jan 2010, the 2002 Mercury Mountaineer with 4.6L V8 engine blew a spark plug out of the cylinder head causing us to stop in a small town to have the engine repaired. This was a factory installed (not replaced) spark plug. I have seen many complaints about this in the Ford V8 engine. The vehicle had around 86,000 miles on it at the time and was not due for a spark plug replacement until 100,000 miles. This was a safety hazard as gasoline is spewing out of the cylinder head with an attached and still arcing spark plug.

- Coppell, TX, USA

problem #9

Sep 242009

Mountaineer

  • 125,630 miles
While driving on I75, I heard a loud bang then a constant popping sound from under the hood. I pulled off the interstate and looked under the hood. I found that one of the spark plugs had blown out of the engine, which allowed fuel to escape into the engine compartment.

- Dayton, OH, USA

problem #8

Jun 232009

Mountaineer

  • 110,000 miles
Just left the highway and ended up at a red light traffic signal and one the light turned green, I went to drive off and a loud boom I could hear coming from under my hood, as I looked in my rear view mirror a semi truck started honking its horn and slammed to miss hitting from behind. I went to pull to the side the road but truck was jumping all over and I had to pull in front of cars turning which I smelt a smell like something burning. The spark plug had ripped from its socket, it had happened the first time 1 year ago now 2nd one, repairman says he sees this all the time with my vehicle, " Ford is helping putting my kids through college with these problems from your year" wow, I thought Ford got, paid, repairmen got paid, and I'm the only one taken for a ride of a lifetime. Not right is it.

- Andover, MN, USA

problem #7

Jun 232009

Mountaineer

  • 110,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Just left the highway and ended up at a red light traffic signal and one the light turned green, I went to drive off and a loud boom I could hear coming from under my hood, as I looked in my rear view mirror a semi truck started honking its horn and slammed to miss hitting from behind. I went to pull to the side the road but truck was jumping all over and I had to pull in front of cars turning which I smelt a smell like something burning.

- Andover, MN, USA

problem #6

Mar 012005

Mountaineer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,851 miles
2002 Mountaineer stalls, transmission control assembly, main control valve, and gasket had to be replaced. The lift gate was sticking, and while closing it, the glass shattered, the glass was recalled, and was suppose to have been fixed. The oil light illuminated. The trim on the front door fell off while driving. There was a grinding noise coming from the rear wheels, it was determined that there was severe rust on the brake componets, the park brake shoes fell apart due to corrosion, the rear wheel bearing and knuckle assembly had excessive rust.

- Silverdale, WA, USA

problem #5

Aug 262005

Mountaineer 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 54,000 miles
1. purchased this vehicle 4/05. 2. 8/26/05 while driving on I-81 the vehicle began vibrating and making a tapping noise. Check engine light came on. Pulled over, could not determine the problem and drove straight to the dealership of purchase. 3. 8/26/05 -cylinder head needs to be replaced because spark plug blew out and damaged the head. Extended warranty does not cover the replacement/repair because it "was not caused by a moving lubricated part." Vehicle would be ready by Friday, 9/2/05. 4. original technician at school, and new technician would be assigned. New date for vehicle to be ready Wednesday 9/7/05. 5. turned in my rental car on 9/7/05. After test drive by dealership the vehicle appears to still have a problem. Got a ride home. Received a call about 5:30pm advising that the "timing chain pulley" needs to be replaced. Part ordered and vehicle may be ready on 9/8/05. No discussion on the warranty coverage for this additional repair. 6. go to consumeraffairs.com/automotive/ford_spark.html and you will find that since June 2001 this spark plug defect has been reported. 7. costs are extensive for the repair in excess of $3000, and I've only had the vehicle for 4 months and drove it only 2 months because I have been away with the Virginia army national guard. 8. no guarantee that this problem won't happen again since Ford has not recalled the vehicles to correct the problem. How can I get my money back for the repair? I feel that I have purchased a lemon and I also feel that the dealership knew more about the issues with this vehicle than they revealed. I would like the vehicle exchanged for one of equal value.

- Christiansburg, VA, USA

problem #4

Aug 012004

Mountaineer

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Consumer called and requests several times for certain parts. It has been several months and dealer has not responded. Consumer was waiting to get vehicle serviced.

- San Bernardino, CA, USA

problem #3

Nov 202001

Mountaineer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 883 miles
Problems with vehicle's transmission at various speeds. The engine remained slipping, jumping, and making noises, the rear window did not hold and fell on the consumers head, the steering column locks, the fuel engine read empty and the light was on, the interior coat hooks had come out of the walls, and the transmission was jumping, clunking, and slipping. Dup of 10022342_pco

- Dover, DE, USA

problem #2

Jun 152003

Mountaineer

  • Automatic transmission
  • 0 miles
The service dept. States that the wiring is bad.after replacing the wiring the problem still exist.I'am afraid to drive this car if the wiring is bad theres a chance that the car will catch a fire.

- Birmingham, AL, USA

problem #1

Aug 042003

(reported on)

Mountaineer

  • 6,000 miles
While driving or idling vehicle will cut off without warning dealership cannot locate cause of problem.

- Lake Arrowhead, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?