Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

3.2

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
43,017 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Mercury Sable suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Mercury Sable:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Mercury Sable Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #28

May 152014

Sable

  • 147,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Mercury Sable. While the vehicle was being inspected, the mechanic noticed that the front and rear coil springs fractured. The contact noticed a severe vibration underneath the vehicle and the steering wheel was difficult to turn. The two rear tires were damaged and replaced due to the defective coil springs. An independent mechanic stated that the front and rear coil springs were faulty. The coil springs were not replaced and the manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 147,000.

- Fort Loudon, PA, USA

problem #27

Jun 162009

Sable

  • 78,100 miles
Back in 2004 a safety recall (04S71) was issued for in certain 1999-2001taurus and Sable. The issue was that the front coil springs could potentially fracture when operated in high corrosion areas where salt is used on the roadways during winter months. There is a potential for a fractured spring to move past the spring seat and contact a front tire. If a spring should fracture and come in contact with a tire, the tire may rupture resulting in a rapid air loss, which could increase the risk of a crash without warning. With that said, on June 16, 2009, this exact scenario happened to my back coil spring on my 2001 Mercury Sable. Fortunately, a crash did not result in my case. However, I believe the same protective spring shields that were placed on the front tires to prevent this from happening should also had been and still should be placed on the back to prevent this from happening to avoid a potential unsafe situation.

- Warren, NJ, USA

problem #26

Jan 102009

Sable

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Mercury Sable. The contact stated that the rear coil springs are splitting in half on his vehicle. The front coil springs may also be failing. The dealer stated that the vehicle was not included in a recall. The contact wants his vehicle repaired. The failure mileage was 120,000.

- Mt. Washington, KY, USA

problem #25

Apr 132008

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 98,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Broken front and rear springs 2001 Mercury Sable.

- Oshkosh, WI, USA

problem #24

Dec 012007

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,063 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Mercury Sable. The contact stated that both rear coil springs failed and were replaced. Approximately four months later, the front driver side coil spring failed. There is a recall for the front coil springs, but the contact was unaware of the recall. The recall number was unknown. The current mileage was 87,000 and first failure mileage was 80,063. Updated 05/05/08 updated 05/05/08

- Downingtown, PA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #23

Mar 082008

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,500 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Mercury Sable. While rotating the tires, the mechanic noticed that the front and rear suspension coil springs failed on the vehicle. The dealer replaced the front and rear coil springs and the tires remained unaffected. There were no warning signs prior to the failures. The contact can provide invoices. The approximate failure mileage was 49,500 and current mileage was 55,000.

- Lemars , IA, USA

problem #22

Feb 242008

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Have a 2001 Mercury Sable ls premium with about 70,000 miles today after backing from the garage, I found a broken piece of coil spring about 6 inches long, laying of garage floor. One end showed a new break, the other end showed a ragged, rusted break showing the spring had also broken at least once before this date. This broken spring was laying towards the rear of the car about where the rear suspension is. I see there is a recall for front springs breaking but none for rear springs, although I have found numerous complaints about the rear springs breaking too, because of salt damage. Mycarstats.com shows at least 127 complaints on 2001 Sable rear spring breakage, that also cause instant tire deflation. I have been a Ford customer since 1955 and I think they are wrong to not cover this faulty rear spring problem as they do with the faulty front springs- I can't help that salt is used on roads, and it is their responsibility to make something as heavy and (should be) as strong as a spring should be, in a reliable manner. This just might end my relationship with Ford products although they have always been reliable for me in the past-jd myers.

- Zion, IL, USA

problem #21

Feb 092008

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 68,000 miles
My 2001 Mercury Sable rear coil spring broke as my wife was backing out of the garage and a piece of the coil spring fell to the floor. If she were out on the highway, she could have lost control of the vehicle. The dealer said Mercury will replace the front coil springs free of charge, since they admitted to a problem with the quality of the springs. But the rear coil springs, even though this is a common problem on this model, they will not stand behind. This car only has 68,000 miles on it. I have owned many cars and put well over 100,000 miles on them and never have had a coil spring break. Ford and Mercury know they have a problem and will not help the consumer. How many traffic accidents and deaths does it take for action to be taken" what can you do for the owners of these vehicles"

- Natrona Heights, PA, USA

problem #20

Jan 182008

Sable 6-cyl

  • miles
My front spring on Mercury Sable 2001 gs just broke. It tore my front tire and now the car is not in driving condition. I put the spare tire and it tore it apart as well.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #19

Apr 232007

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,264 miles
Turning left had extremely loud noise due to fractured right front and left rear coil springs, replaced 4 coil assemblies.

- Derry, NH, USA

problem #18

Oct 152005

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Front coil sring failed and damaged tire as well. I had this happen to the backof the car anf Ford covered it. It happened to the back and Ford will not cover it. It cost over $1000 to repair. Car is a 2001 Mercury Sable.

- Fairport, NY, USA

problem #17

Jan 242007

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 101,170 miles
- the contact owns a 2001 Mercury Sable sedan. The contact received safety recall notice, #number 04V332000. The contacts safety repair was being performed. However, the special service support center has denied repair to associated damaged caused by the fractured coil spring. There was damage to the front tires. The driver side tire has a groove and the front passenger side tire has a puncture. The contact would like to have the tires replaced under the safety recall.

- Livonia, MI, USA

problem #16

Apr 292006

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 82,656 miles
: the contact stated while the vehicle was parked in the driveway a portion of the rear spring on the driver's side fractured and fell off. The dealer has been contacted. Also, contacted Ford Motor Company, and they were not interested in taking care of the problem since there was no recall on the rear springs. Front spring fractured and broke on 07/08/2004 at 54101 miles. Both front springs were replaced. A recall was issued for them in August 2004. Springs were replaced again on 03/02/2005 as per the recall. The consumer was reimbursed by Ford Motor Company for the cost to replace front springs on 07/08/2004. Updated 06/07/2006.

- Diamond, OH, USA

problem #15

Feb 132006

Sable

  • 74,635 miles
2001 Mercury Sable ls tire blew out. The front coil spring and strut assembly fractured, piercing the tire. This caused the tire inside wall to shred. The vehicle was taken to an independent repair shop for repairs. The consumer later found out that the front coil spring had been recalled. The consumer contacted the manufacturer who advised her to contact the local dealer and submit the invoice for reimbursement. The invoice was taken to the local dealer but they refused to accept it because the repair were not made by them or at another Ford dealer.

- Glenmont, NY, USA

problem #14

Mar 302006

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Took my car to a repair shop for noise coming from right rear, thought maybe the brakes. Repair shop showed me broken spring and strut had cut groove in right rear tire. I bought car used in 2003 with only 16,000 miles on it. I T now has 33,000 miles on it. I am a 52 year old woman that is the sole person driving this car. I haven't driven this car more than 17,000 in almost three years. This kind of problem should not be on this car. The repair shop told me that this repair is common on this particular car! I think this part is has been defective since manufactured. Can I get any reimbursement for this repair? it is costing me over $900!!

- Lafayette, IN, USA

problem #13

Aug 082004

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 54,000 miles
The contact received program 04M04 notification in August 2004 regarding the front springs. He called the number listed on the letter. The recorded message stated that if the front springs fracture they could puncture a tire which could lead to an accident. The contact felt that Ford Motor Company should replace both front springs at no cost to him before this happens. Updated 12/07/05.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #12

Mar 012005

Sable 6-cyl

  • miles
Problems getting recall repair complete on 2001 Mercury Sable. When the consumer arrived at the dealership for his appointment, he was told no vehicles would be fixed in the state of Montana.

- Great Falls, MT, USA

problem #11

Dec 282004

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Recall campaign 04V332000 concerning front coil spring failure. Consumer made several attempts to get the dealer to honor this manufacturer recall since mid December 2004, every time consumer called the dealer, he informed the consumer that no parts were available. Evoq returned, insufficent address. *

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #10

Aug 012004

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
NHTSA campaign 04V332000; Ford issued a front coil springs recall. This vehicle was included in the recall, but the dealer did not have the parts available in order to repair.

- Trenton, MI, USA

problem #9

Aug 102004

Sable

  • miles
Consumer received a recall letter for the front coil springs, and to date the manufacturer had not made contact to advise the consumer that the parts were in as the letter stated.

- Decatur, IL, USA

Read the next 8 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?