Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.5

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
61,035 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Mercury Sable suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Mercury Sable:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Mercury Sable Owner Comments (Page 4 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #35

Mar 102006

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,402 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Sable/2001 rear spring broke in not one but two spots, front springs are under recall for this problem, but the rears are not! why are thay not under recall!

- Upper Saint Clair, PA, USA

problem #34

Feb 232006

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,000 miles
: the contact stated the rear suspension of the vehicle appeared too close to the ground. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection. The dealer suggested replacing the rear coil springs because they were cracked. The rear coil springs were replaced which corrected the problem. Updated 04/11/06.

- Merrick, NY, USA

problem #33

Feb 282006

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,200 miles
: the contact stated while pulling out of the driveway at 5 mph it felt as if the parking brake was on. Upon inspection, the contact noticed the wheel wells were resting on the tires. The vehicle was towed to the dealership where they determined the front driver and rear passenger side coil springs was fractured. The front coil springs were replaced under recall, but the rear coil springs were not repaired. The rear coils springs were reapired under the recall as well. Updated 03/28/06.

- Reading, MA, USA

problem #32

Feb 222006

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 82,994 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On 2/22/06 the right rear coil spring on my 2001 Mercury Sable fractured. The vehicle was traveling at 30 M.P.H. on a smooth paved roadway. The Sable has just over 80,000 miles. When the coil spring fractured, it caused severe damage to the brand new tire, leaving it unusable. I was advised by Mercury, the would not cover repair cost because there is no open recall for the rear springs, just the front. I am in the process of purchasing a new spring ($50 )& tire ($150). It will cost $80 in labor to make repairs & $45 for an alignment. Total cost to me: $325!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

- Howell, NJ, USA

problem #31

Feb 202006

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 110,900 miles
Right rear coil spring broken.

- Bluffton, OH, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #30

Feb 072006

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,753 miles
: the contact stated while driving in normal conditions at 15 mph, a noise was heard in the right rear tire well. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection. The dealer discovered the right rear spring fractured, broke in half and rubbed a 360 degree groove on the tire. The dealer replaced both rear springs and rear tires to ensure additional safety measures. Updated 3/17/2006 -

- Manchester, CT, USA

problem #29

Feb 132006

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While at my Mercury dealer for a routine oil change and tire rotation I was informed by the service rep the drivers side rear coil spring was fractured/broken and continued use could result in punctured rear tire and a potentially dangerous situation. The vehicle which I purchased new and has 55,000 miles on it. I have no idea when the coil springs failed. The service rep suggested replacing both rear coil springs, both rear struts and stabilizer rods the cost of which would be $610!! the suggestion to replace both rear springs leads me to believe the one broken spring is not an isolated incident! after looking at the complaints on this site regarding similar complaints with the coil springs I'm convinced Ford is well aware of the inferior quality coil springs they have installed in these vehicles. The recall for the front coil springs leads me to believe that the rear coil springs are of the same inferior quality and present a dangerous situation which Ford has elected to ignore. I will no doubt grudingly have the repair done but will no longer trust or purchase the Ford product line which is unfortunate because I do like my Sable.

- E. Freetown, MA, USA

problem #28

Jan 312006

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 74,000 miles
: the contact stated while accelerating from a stop to driving 2 mph there was a loud noise and a rubbing sound coming from the rear of the vehicle. The vehicle was seen by an independent repair shop. The mechanic determined the left rear coil springs was broken and rubbed into the tire. Both the left and right rear coil springs, left tire and struts have been replaced. The manufacturer was notified. Updated 2/21/2006 -

- Bound Brook, NJ, USA

problem #27

Jan 152006

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 53,000 miles
Rear driver's side coil spring broke while backing out of garage. The spring was within 1/4" of poking my tire. My Mercury has 53,000 miles. The front coil springs have a recall but not the rear!"!"! I am sure glad that it happened in my driveway.

- Burnsville, MN, USA

problem #26

Dec 282005

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,400 miles
While driving on a busy toll way I heard some strange noises -- a loud banging and scraping or rubbing. In less than a minute, my right rear tire blew out. I pulled to the shoulder to change the tire. When I removed the tire, it had a groove cut into the inner sidewall with a puncture in the groove. I examined the wheel-well to determine the cause of the damage and saw a piece of the coil spring sticking out. I took the car directly to the dealer who informed me that the coil spring had broken and that both rear springs needed to be replaced. I asked what would cause that and he told me that usually it was due to corrosion. I remembered there had been a recall associated with the coil spring corrosion failure but the dealer informed me that the recall applied only to the front springs (though surely the front and rear springs would be made from the same metal). He further told me that he would not be able to get the Ford parts for nearly a week but he could get 3rd-party parts immediately, though at a higher price. I could not afford to go a week without my car (and given that the Ford parts had failed at five years with only 50000 miles, perhaps a new Ford part wouldn't really be that much of a bargain) so I opted for the aftermarket springs. They replaced both springs with the aftermarket parts but afterwards the car did not handle correctly and continued to make loud percussive sounds when going over even modest road irregularities. I took the car back a few days later and the dealer informed me that both rear struts needed to be replaced, adding that they were probably damaged when the spring broke. After the new struts were installed the car seems to be mostly back to normal. The total for all repairs was around $1000, plus I spent another $120 on a new tire and $70 for car rental while waiting on repairs. I do not have any of the old parts available.

- Glendale Heights, IL, USA

problem #25

Jan 042006

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 68,330 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

: the contact stated the both rear coil springs broke and was rubbing against the tire. This occurred while the consumer was pulling into the driveway at 5 mph. A noise was heard, and the contact removed the rear tire and found the failure. There were no prior warnings of a failure until the coil spring broke, and the noise was heard. The manufacturer recommended that the vehicle be taken to a local dealership for repair. There is an open investigation, NHTSA PE05054 for this problem. Updated 01/25/06.

- Keyser, WV, USA

problem #24

Dec 282005

Sable

  • Manual transmission
  • 19,300 miles
The rear coil spring (driver side) is broken. Previously I heard an occasional scratching sound (mostly in reverse), then while driving something started dragging. Before I could stop and check, something fell off and the dragging noise stopped. The car was serviced today (oil change) and asked the mechanic to check to see if the corrosion shields (safety recall) installed on the coil springs had become loose or had fallen off. Mechanic discovered broken coil spring.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #23

Jul 012005

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles
The consumer stated that while driving he heard a noise in the rear of the vehicle. As he was taking the vehicle to the service dealer he experienced a flat tire on the rear passenger side. While replacing the tire he also noticed that the rear coil spring punctured the tire. The dealer repaired the vehicle by replacing both rear coil springs and struts. There is an investigation open for this component. (11/23/05)

- Greenwood Lake, NY, USA

problem #22

Oct 212005

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 54,000 miles
(1) I removed the right rear tire to inspect the brakes when I discovered that the coil spring had fractured and was making contact with the sidewall of the tire. Had I not investigated the brake grinding sound, I would not have realized the spring was broken. It is not a question of if, but when the tire would have blown out. (2) the minimum results of the spring failure is that when the spring finally wore through the tire, I would have been stranded somewhere. The maximum consequences is that when the tire finally wore through, I could have lost control of my vehicle and been involved in a severe automobile accident. (3) at present the vehicle is undrivable and sits on blocks in the garage. Ford Motor Company and the dealerships are taking no responsibility for the faulty spring even though a year earlier a recall was initiated on the front springs of the same vehicle. The repairs on the front springs was at no cost to me. Since Ford does not consider the broken spring to be a problem, I don't want Ford to replace the springs as the service parts may be from the same manufacturer of the faulty springs currently on the vehicle. The springs on both sides of the vehicle are to be replaced by an independent repair facility. I will request the facility to return the broken spring to me.

- Woodhaven, MI, USA

problem #21

May 172005

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 76,247 miles
On May 17 2005, when entering my 2001 Mercury Sable I heard a sharp cracking noise. Upon close inspection the drivers side quarter panel was lowered over the tire. I was luckily I was just a few miles from john lance Ford of westlake Ohio. The service writer knew exactly what was wrong, the strut spring had broken and was within 1/16 of the side wall of my tire. Had this event occurred at speed I probably wouldn't be here today. The service advisor informed me that Ford was acknowledging that they had a problem with the front springs, but were not admitting to any failures of the rear springs. I had to therefore pay for the repair, however Ford would retro fit the front springs with a containment device for no additional charge. Ford realizes that failure of the front strut spring will result in loss of control of the vehicle. Having an automotive back ground I began questioning why the failure had occurred on such a late model vehicle. The explanation I received was that any moisture on the spring would lead to corrosion and subsequent failure of the metal. I found this very interesting given the fact that I own a 1970 Ford torino with original springs, which after 35 years appear very rusty, and yet still support the weight of the vehicle. The dealer response was, "well Ford out sources these springs to india and the quality of the metal is very suspect." I still have the lower coil of the spring in my possession, which will be available to you at any time for your inspection. In viewing the cross section break, one can clearly see rust half way across the diameter of the coil, with fresh metal on the remaining.

- Medina, OH, USA

problem #20

Jun 252005

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 47,623 miles
The consumer stated that the passenger side coil spring broke and punctured the tire. This caused the tire to blow out. The consumer was slowing down when the tire blew out. This happened on dry pavement. The tires were serviced regularly, but the consumer heard some type of noise. This happened on June 25, 2005. The dealer said that the noise was due to the coil spring. The dealer replaced the rear coil spring and the rear tire. (11/17/05)

- Belpre, OH, USA

problem #19

Apr 102005

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 95,000 miles
I have had my rear tire damaged because of my rear coil spring breaking on my 2001 Mercury Sable.

- Southfield, MI, USA

problem #18

Jun 032005

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 87,000 miles
The consumer states his 2001 Mercury Sable rear coil spring broke on the driver's side. When the spring broke it punctured a hold in the tire and caused it to go flat. The vehicle had a recall for the front springs and it will be fixed tomorrow. The NHTSA campaign #04V332000, he received this notice a couple of days ago and he called Ford and was told the rear coil springs was not covered. This happened on June 3, 2005. The springs had to be replaced.

- Mckenzie, TN, USA

problem #17

Jun 242005

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,000 miles
Contact ownes a 2001 Mercury Sable. Both back coil springs on the busted. One went through a tire. Dealer said both back springs had to be replaced. Ford will not stand behind the fact that these were weak springs.

- Garvin, MN, USA

problem #16

May 162005

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 44,000 miles
While driving the vehicle was not responding correctly. The driver noticed something was wrong. The driver heard a hissing, sound, and noticed that there was a leak in the right rear tire, although tire was not flat, the mechanic determined that the coil spring broke and slashed the tire. The mechanic suggested that a new coil spring and tire would be needed and to come back next Monday. The repair was done by a personal mechanic. The consumer called Ford, but they stated that there was only a recall on the front coil spring and won't do anything to help about the rear coil spring problem.

- Cornwall, NY, USA

Read the next 15 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?