Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.5

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
61,035 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Mercury Sable suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Mercury Sable:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Mercury Sable Owner Comments (Page 1 of 5)

problem #95

May 152014

Sable

  • 147,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Mercury Sable. While the vehicle was being inspected, the mechanic noticed that the front and rear coil springs fractured. The contact noticed a severe vibration underneath the vehicle and the steering wheel was difficult to turn. The two rear tires were damaged and replaced due to the defective coil springs. An independent mechanic stated that the front and rear coil springs were faulty. The coil springs were not replaced and the manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 147,000.

- Fort Loudon, PA, USA

problem #94

Sep 052011

Sable 6-cyl

  • 86,500 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Mercury Sable. The contact stated that the vehicle was parked when she noticed that the rear was sitting very low to the ground. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic and the contact was informed that both rear coil springs were fractured. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 86,500.

- Decatur, GA, USA

problem #93

Oct 042010

Sable

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2001 Mercury Sable. Consumer writes regarding Mercury rear coils springs. The consumer stated neither his mechanic or the local dealership could explain why the rear coils rusted through completely. The mechanic found a recall, but it was only for the front coil springs.

- Hodgenville, KY, USA

problem #92

Jan 102009

Sable

  • 120,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Mercury Sable. The contact stated that the rear coil springs are splitting in half on his vehicle. The front coil springs may also be failing. The dealer stated that the vehicle was not included in a recall. The contact wants his vehicle repaired. The failure mileage was 120,000.

- Mt. Washington, KY, USA

problem #91

Feb 092009

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Mercury Sable. While driving 30 mph, a rubbing sound was heard in the rear of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to a maintenance shop and the contact was informed that the rear springs failed. After inspecting the front springs, it was discovered that the front springs were chipped. The dealer referenced NHTSA campaign id number 04V332000 (suspension:front:springs:coil springs), but there was no recall for the rear springs. The current and failure mileages were approximately 80,000. Updated 03-27-09

- Somerville, OH, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #90

Dec 082008

Sable

  • 170,000 miles
Rear coil spring has broken and has the potential to puncture the tire. I caught it early enough that it didn't.

- Rushville, IL, USA

problem #89

Dec 022008

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 86,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Mercury Sable. The contact stated that the rear coil springs failed and punctured the tires. He will take the vehicle to be repaired on December 4, 2008. The contact feels that this is a safety issue because the tires could have blown out and caused a crash. The current and failure mileages were 86,000. Updated 01/14/09. Updated 01/21/09.

- Delta, OH, USA

problem #88

Dec 012007

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,063 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Mercury Sable. The contact stated that both rear coil springs failed and were replaced. Approximately four months later, the front driver side coil spring failed. There is a recall for the front coil springs, but the contact was unaware of the recall. The recall number was unknown. The current mileage was 87,000 and first failure mileage was 80,063. Updated 05/05/08 updated 05/05/08

- Downingtown, PA, USA

problem #87

Mar 082008

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,500 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Mercury Sable. While rotating the tires, the mechanic noticed that the front and rear suspension coil springs failed on the vehicle. The dealer replaced the front and rear coil springs and the tires remained unaffected. There were no warning signs prior to the failures. The contact can provide invoices. The approximate failure mileage was 49,500 and current mileage was 55,000.

- Lemars , IA, USA

problem #86

Nov 152007

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 84,000 miles
During a routine servicing in Nov. 2007 a rear coil spring was noted to be broken, which I had replaced. Subsequently in February 2008 a similar incident was reported to me, however it was a front coil spring which was replaced under a recall (NHTSA action #peo4044). I then investigated to see if a recall existed for the rear spring and found that under EA06002 although their were 162 incidents reported the only action is "continued monitoring". I believe with this many incidents Ford should have been required to issue a recall and return the cost of repair to the owners.

- Canfield, OH, USA

problem #85

Apr 012008

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 39,600 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Mercury Sable. While driving 50 mph, the contact heard a grinding noise coming from the rear of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to an automotive shop and it was discovered that the coil springs in both rear tires failed. The dealer stated that there was no recall for the rear coil springs. The powertrain was unknown. The current and failure mileages were 39,600.

- Andover, MA, USA

problem #84

Jan 152008

Sable 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,000 miles
Three springs are broken on my 2001 Mercury Sable - one front and two back. The dealership told me they would replace the one broken front spring and nothing more. I have since read that they are responsible to replace both front but not the rear. It seems apparent that there is a general problem with the springs whether front or back and Ford/Mercury should be responsible enough to admit and fix the problem. I am told they will do nothing about the rear springs even though this issue (front & rear springs) seems to effect many people by stuff I have read on the internet. Ford/Mercury needs to step up to the plate and fix this problem.

- Strongsville, OH, USA

problem #83

Mar 112008

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 56,425 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Mercury Sable. The contact stated that her vehicle was repaired under the recall for the suspension:front:springs:coil springs. Currently, she is experiencing issues with the rear coil spring and believes a recall should be available. The contact has to pay for the repair. The recall number was unknown. The current and failure mileages were 56,425.

- Lemars, IA, USA

problem #82

Mar 182008

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 43,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Mercury Sable. The contact found a piece of coil spring on the floor of his garage. He took his vehicle to the dealer for inspection and was informed that both rear springs failed. The edge of the passenger side spring was touching the tire. Both coil springs were replaced because the recalls were for the front coil springs, not the rear. The contact believes that the rear springs should be recalled as well. The recall number was unknown. The failure and current mileages were 43,000. Updated 4/7/08 updated 04/07/08

- Clearfield, PA, USA

problem #81

Feb 202008

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 74,000 miles
Rear coil spring broke in multiple locations causing severe tire rub. If not caught immediately tire would have been punctured.

- Missoula, MT, USA

problem #80

Mar 122001

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,600 miles
I have a 2001 Mercury Sable and while driving down the road today the rear coil broke and went through the inside of my tire.

- Lorain, OH, USA

problem #79

Mar 102008

Sable

  • Automatic transmission
  • 77,000 miles
I went in to the local dealer to have a coolant leak checked and was told that my rear springs, struts and brakes were all bad, the springs were broken and were hazardous to drive with. Total cost of these repairs is well over $1,500. I asked about the recall on the springs and was told it was only for the front of the vehicle. The recall should include the rear also because the same springs were used in the rear as in the front. I should not have to pay to have all these things repaired because of faulty springs. I was also told the other items, struts and brakes were likely cause from the bad springs. Ford needs to be accountable, many other people have had this problem.

- Oregon, WI, USA

problem #78

Jan 262008

Sable 6-cyl

  • 28,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Mercury Sable. While driving 30 mph, the contact heard a loud noise. He pulled into a gas station, heard a loud pop, and noticed that the rear driver side tire was losing air. While replacing the tire with the spare, the contact noticed loose wires. The vehicle was towed to the dealer and they confirmed that the rear driver side coil spring failed and punctured the tire. The contact was urged to file a complaint with the manufacturer because the failure could become a recall. The transmission type was unknown. The current and failure mileages were 28,000.

- Niles, IL, USA

problem #77

Feb 092008

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 68,000 miles
My 2001 Mercury Sable rear coil spring broke as my wife was backing out of the garage and a piece of the coil spring fell to the floor. If she were out on the highway, she could have lost control of the vehicle. The dealer said Mercury will replace the front coil springs free of charge, since they admitted to a problem with the quality of the springs. But the rear coil springs, even though this is a common problem on this model, they will not stand behind. This car only has 68,000 miles on it. I have owned many cars and put well over 100,000 miles on them and never have had a coil spring break. Ford and Mercury know they have a problem and will not help the consumer. How many traffic accidents and deaths does it take for action to be taken" what can you do for the owners of these vehicles"

- Natrona Heights, PA, USA

problem #76

Jun 252007

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,661 miles
Rear of my 2001 Mercury Sable had been sagging for some time, to the point I was afraid that the top of the wheel well would hit the top of the tire, (on several occasions the rear end did bottom out on slightly steep inclines). I finally took it to a mechanic, who said that both rear springs had failed (broke), and from the rust accumulated on the brake areas, it had been broken for sometime. I called the local Ford dealer in quincy who said that this wasn't an issue. I had another mechanic, (my brother due to the high cost), replace the rear springs and shocks. I know that there has been a recall on the front springs (road salt corrosion), but I would be curious to find out how many other Sable/Taurus's have had the same problem.

- Quincy, IL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?