Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.4

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
64,355 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Mercury Sable suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Mercury Sable:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Mercury Sable Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #29

Apr 132008

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 98,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Broken front and rear springs 2001 Mercury Sable.

- Oshkosh, WI, USA

problem #28

Apr 042008

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 88,000 miles
A loud bang from the rear of my 2001 Mercury Sable. I removed one of the rear tires and found that the rear spring had broke on the drivers side. It had a sharp edge on it that could puncture the rear tire. The front springs had a recall done on them. Why are the rear springs not covered under this recall?

- Weston, WI, USA

problem #27

Feb 242008

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles
Have a 2001 Mercury Sable ls premium with about 70,000 miles today after backing from the garage, I found a broken piece of coil spring about 6 inches long, laying of garage floor. One end showed a new break, the other end showed a ragged, rusted break showing the spring had also broken at least once before this date. This broken spring was laying towards the rear of the car about where the rear suspension is. I see there is a recall for front springs breaking but none for rear springs, although I have found numerous complaints about the rear springs breaking too, because of salt damage. Mycarstats.com shows at least 127 complaints on 2001 Sable rear spring breakage, that also cause instant tire deflation. I have been a Ford customer since 1955 and I think they are wrong to not cover this faulty rear spring problem as they do with the faulty front springs- I can't help that salt is used on roads, and it is their responsibility to make something as heavy and (should be) as strong as a spring should be, in a reliable manner. This just might end my relationship with Ford products although they have always been reliable for me in the past-jd myers.

- Zion, IL, USA

problem #26

Jan 282008

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 72,370 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Had to replace right rear coil spring, which broke and was scraping the tire, which was a very hazardous condition. The front coil springs were replaced in a Ford recall about 3 years ago, the left rear coil spring also broke in 2005 and I had to have it repaired privately as there was and still is no recall for the rear springs. (filed a dot complaint at that time also -- 3/9/05).

- Suffern, NY, USA

problem #25

Jan 052008

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 86,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Mercury Sable. The contact took the vehicle to have maintenance work performed, and learned that the rear springs on both sides of the vehicle failed. The cost to replace the struts and springs would be approximately $600. The current and failure mileages were 86,000. Updated 02-14-08.

- Melford, MI, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #24

Dec 102007

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 98,000 miles
Left rear spring broke while sitting in parking lot. When driven next the rear tire was shredded! vehicle had to be towed.

- Kingsville, OH, USA

problem #23

Aug 252007

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,417 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Broken rear spring, causing tire damage. (front springs replaced by Ford 2 months ago free under replacement program, dealer tells me that the Ford replacement program does not apply to rear springs).

- State College, PA, USA

problem #22

Jun 262007

Sable

  • miles
2001 Mercury Sable taken in for tire rotation and balance. When the rear tires were removed, mechanic noticed that both coil springs were broken at base. He said I was lucky in that the breaks were to the center of the car and not towards the tire side, which would have blown the tire. The left rear tire would not balance, it wobbled, resulting in purchasing a new tire. Cost to repair, $550. I am no metallurgist, but looking at the breaks I'd say that it looks like poor heat treatment of the metal coil that caused the breaks. Searching the internet revealed numerous complaints regarding 2001 Taurus for same coil breaking problem (same body as Sable). Why is there no recall by Ford to rectify this problem?. because in this country there has to be serious injury or death before any one reacts. How pathetic is that!.

- Clark, NJ, USA

problem #21

May 072007

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,456 miles
We own a 2001 Mercury Sable which was recalled previously due to problems with the front springs breaking on certain vehicles. Guards were placed on the front springs to avoid tire punctures. In May 2007 my wife travelled about 200 miles with passengers. Upon returning, one of the front springs fell apart in our yard. After the dealer inspected the vehicle, both front springs were broken, along with one of the rear springs. She was driving on highways with three broken springs! the rear springs seem similar in design to the front, if not identical. They have never been subject to a recall and the bill for replacement of both the rear springs was $632.30. The dealer refused to help. After speaking to the service manager at the dealer, she suggested pursuing this, claiming they have repaired lots of rear springs on these vehicles. She seemed to imply they have been a problem as well as the front units, although they have never been recalled and therefore not covered by Ford. Travelling 65 mph on three broken springs is an accident waiting to happen. Ford should be recalling these vehicles before someone gets killed.

- Shinglehouse, PA, USA

problem #20

May 252007

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 57,552 miles
Ford Motor Company recall for front springs on 2001 Mercury Sable but not rear springs my vehicle has just over 60,000 miles and I had to replace both rear springs due to braking how is the rear springs any less of a danger then the front springs

- Johnstown, PA, USA

problem #19

Jan 032007

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 110,100 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Rear spring broke on 2001 Mercury Sable-4 dr. Sedan. Car sat in unheated garage for 1 week while on vacation. Temperature in garage approx. 30 degrees. When vehicle used first time after vacation on Jan. 3, 2007, while backing out of garage, heard loud noise of something breaking or possibly being run over. Stopped vehicle to check for anything behind or under vehicle. Found nothing. Continued to drive vehicle to work, approx. 25 miles without further incident. Noticed upon return home that evening that vehicle was setting low at rear of vehicle. I did not take to a dealership until April 2, 2007. Used another vehicle for transportation. Wife used this vehicle only as needed until the dealership visit this morning. Was informed of the broken rear spring.

- Sturgis, MI, USA

problem #18

Jan 272007

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,867 miles
Rear coil spring fracture / passenger side- 2001 Mercury Sable - resulting in minor additional damage to tire.

- Sandwich, IL, USA

problem #17

Nov 222006

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 101,000 miles
2001 Mercury Sable - right rear spring broke.

- Plymouth, MI, USA

problem #16

Oct 262006

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,435 miles
2001 Mercury Sable ls right rear spring broke while operating the vehicle. A piece of the spring protruded and gouged the inside sidewall of the right rear tire down to the tires metal core. The car was being operated at highway speeds in heavy traffic immediately following the incident. Tire fail is imminent. Had this occurred while the vehicle was being operated loss of control and a collision would be very likely.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #15

Oct 132006

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 115,000 miles
Rear left coil spring reported broken by my Ford dealer on my 2001 Mercury Sable. Spring will be replaced.

- Huntley, IL, USA

problem #14

Aug 182006

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 56,000 miles
: the contact stated the rear coil springs fractured. An independent mechanic determined the rear coil springs fractured during a routine tire check to have the tires rotated. There were no problems with the vehicle prior to the tire rotation. Updated 09/21/06.

- Scituate, MA, USA

problem #13

Jul 022006

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 125,000 miles
Driver side rear coil spring broke and grooved tire. Strut, tire, spring and alignment are required for repair.

- Oswego, IL, USA

problem #12

Jun 042006

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 63,362 miles
: the contact stated there was a rumbling noise coming from the rear suspension at various speeds. Upon inspection the dealership determined the rear springs fractured causing both rear tires to tear. Updated 6/23/2006 -

- Newton Falls, OH, USA

problem #11

May 302006

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 33,000 miles
2001 Sable rear coil spring corroded and broke. The broken spring punctured the tire causing a blowout. Our dealer informed us that both springs needed to be replaced. Additionally we were informed that there was a recall on the front springs O4S17. However the recall is not to replace the springs, they will be installing special shields on the front springs so that if a spring does fail it will not cause the tire to blow out. This to me is unacceptable! how can you allow the Ford to produce and sell faulty and unsafe automobiles without demanding that they fix the problem and not apply a band-aid?

- Derry, NH, USA

problem #10

Dec 302005

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 59,777 miles
While eating breakfast, my wife heard a metal popping sound outside near our 2001 Mercury Sable. When she went out to investigate, she found a piece of the rear right coil spring. This happened minutes before she was to leave with our children. I contacted Ford and the dealer and was left to pay for the towing and repairs $80 & $303.99 for a total of $383.99. This is the second time this has happened. The first being a front coil spring and tire which was blown out then subsequently replaced by Ford on a recall. I find it disturbing that the springs with the same faulty metal were allowed to remain on the rear suspension and not replaced. Twice my family has averted disaster connected with these coil springs. When is Ford going to do the right thing and replace all these faulty springs? maybe after enough people are injured or die!

- Harveys Lake, PA, USA

Read the next 9 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?