Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Suspension: Front: Springs: Coil Springs Problems


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
64,093 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Mercury Sable suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Mercury Sable:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Mercury Sable Owner Comments

problem #15

Jan 202012

Sable 6-cyl

  • 110,000 miles


Coil spring broke. It almost punctured the tire...updated 01/25/12

- Novi, MI, USA

problem #14

Jun 112011

Sable 6-cyl

  • 116,000 miles
Front suspension coil spring fracture resulted in a punctured tire. Same as EA08-018.

- New Glarus, WI, USA

problem #13

Mar 232011

Sable 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Mercury Sable. The contact stated that the front driver side coil spring fractured and punctured the front tire. The dealer stated that there were no related recalls to the failure. The vehicle was taken to a local independent repair shop where the coil spring failure was repaired. The contact called the manufacturer who filed a complaint but offered no further assistance. The current and failure mileage was approximately 70,000. Updated 07/08/11 updated 09/19/11

- Livonia, MI, USA

problem #12

Dec 092010

Sable 6-cyl

  • 78,000 miles


The contact owns a 2003 Mercury Sable. The contact stated that while driving 40 mph, the contact heard a bang and the front of the vehicle lowered suddenly. The contact attempted to drive to the dealer but the front driver side tire blew. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer where the front coil spring was being replaced. The failure mileage was approximately 78,000. Updated 01/18/11 updated 01/31/11

- Tresque Isle, ME, USA

problem #11

May 072010


  • miles
Complaint or inquiry received via email, internet by the Wisconsin department of agriculture, trade and consumer protection 2003 Mercury Sable. The front coil springs failed.

- Jim Falls, WI, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #10

Mar 042010

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 165,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Mercury Sable. The contact stated that while backing out of driveway at 5 mph, the driver side tire suddenly exploded. When the vehicle was put on a jack, a piece of the front coil spring was on the ground, and the tire was cut all the way around. The contact had not taken the vehicle to the dealership; she called the manufacturer and was told that they could offer no assistance. The vehicle had not been repaired at the time of the complaint. The current and failure mileages were approximately 165,000. Updated 4/23/10 the spring did not have any visible corrosion, it just broke in half. Updated 06/04/10.

- Arden Hills, MN, USA

problem #9

Jun 152009


  • miles


The contact owns a 2003 Mercury Sable. While driving in reverse, the coil spring broke and punctured the tire. He heard a noise as if something was splitting on the front left side of the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to a local dealer who confirmed that the front coil spring was broken. The vehicle was repaired at the owners expense. The failure mileage was 86,000 and the current mileage was 89,000.

- Hewitt, NJ, USA

problem #8

Mar 132008


  • 51,620 miles
Drivers side coil spring broke and collapsed when car was placed in gear. Protruding edge of spring punctured and deflated tire. Spring and tire were replaced by mechanic at substantial expense. Old tire and spring were discarded.

- Ortonville, MI, USA

problem #7

Dec 112008


  • 64,442 miles
2003 Mercury Sable suspension-front:springs:coil spring NHTSA action # PE04044 campaign id #04V332000 this is a old problem that is still here and alive. My 2003 Mercury Sable has broken a spring and destroyed the driver side front tire. I call the local Ford dealer service department and was told there are no recalls for this problem. I had my car towed to a repair shop and they said this is a normal problem with Ford & Mercury. They replaced both struts and coils and tire and alignment for $1366. The car had just arrived home and was in the garage when the tire blow. This could have happened while driving and caused injury. I think the recall should be extended to include all Ford & Mercury cars until this problem goes away. I have cut off about one foot of the old coil to prove a faulty coil before the car was towed to the repair shop and took pictures of the tire and coil spring while still on the car.

- Mchenry, IL, USA

problem #6

Jan 242008

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 72,000 miles
The front left coil spring on our 2003 Mercury Sable broke and shredded the tire. Luckily this happened at 0-30 mph, or it could have been catastrophic. The 2003 Mercury Sable has 72,000 miles.

- Woodbridge, VA, USA

problem #5

Dec 172007


  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,577 miles


My wife was backing out of our driveway when there was a popping noise and then a blowout on the left front tire.I was standing next to the mv at the time. The coil spring broke/shattered and a piece of it went thru the side wall of the tire putting a 6-8" gash in the tire. We have the pieces of the spring. Ford refused to reimburse us for the repair which was made at a Ford dealer(northampton Ford ). the vehicle had 50577 miles. In researching this on the internet I find that since 1999 they have had recalls and repair programs for this problem on various models but apparently they do not acknowledge it in the 2003 Sable. Fortunatley she was not driving down the highway when this happened. I found two sites on the internet that had many reports/complaints of this in various Ford vehicles. The following week my 82 yoa mother who drives a 2003 Ford Focus thought she had a soft tire, went to her local dealership and was told both front coil springs were broken. These repairs were covered and reimbursed by Ford. I spoke with several mechanics and was advised that this is a common problem in Ford vehicles.I was advised by a mechanic that the aftermarket manufacturers do not make replacement struts for the 2003 Sable. All of this indicates to me that Ford has a problem with the design and or manufacture of their coil springs which covers several years of vehicles. Had my wife been on the highway she probably would likely have lost control and had a very serious accident. Finding a broken coil spring after an accident like that you would probably not be able to prove that it (the broken spring which caused the blowout) was not caused by the accident. I am not aware of any other manufacturer having similar problems. I believe that the safety of the public is in jeopardy. Our vehicle is used exclusively by my wife a school administrator- no teen agers driving it who would be emulating the dukes of hazhard.

- Amherst, MA, USA

problem #4

Jun 042007


  • Automatic transmission
  • 34,800 miles
I recently had a tire blow out on my vehicle. Upon removing the tire it was discovered that the right front spring snapped, which had ruptured the tire. I was able to get the car to a local shop to replace the spring and tire at my expense, with a used spring to keep the cost down. I contacted Ford, and Ford advised they would not cover any expenses related to this. The carwas a 2003 Mercury Sable with low miles on it. Also, contacted my dealer, and the dealer agreed that this type of damage should not have occurred, yet could not rectify the problem since Ford has not recalled it for springs. I believe there was a fault in the springs, and was fearful this may happen to the remaining springs on this car. Ford's advice to me was to have the remaining springs examined, at my own expense, as they reminded me that therewas no recall for faulty springs. I have retained the damaged spring as I was convinced there was an issue that was not being addressed. In my opinion, it was a matter of safety. A car's springs should not break, especially when it wa sa relatively new vehicle. This has been the second costly repair I have made to this vehicle, I previously had to replace the right front sway bar. Also, should not have broken and again not a covered expense.

- Thomaston, CT, USA

problem #3

Jul 102006

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 22,157 miles
: the contact stated while approaching the vehicle in the driveway, the front left tire was noticed to be flat. The vehicle was taken to the tire dealer where it was determined the left front coil spring fractured which punctured the tire. There is a NHTSA recall, # 04V332000, regarding the front coil springs. The VIN was not included in the recall. The dealer and manufacturer have been alerted.

- Ellicott City, MD, USA

problem #2

May 262006

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 83,900 miles
Springs in front end shocks broke. One at a time.

- W. Monroe, NY, USA

problem #1

May 122006

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,900 miles
Mercury Sable 2003 front coil spring broke. Will have repaired at Mercury dealer and will keep failed part. This is the same recall we had on our 1999 Mercury Sable 2 years after we paid to have its coil springs fixed. This seems to be an on going problem with Mercury Sable as well as the Ford Taurus.

- Forestville, NY, USA

Not what you are looking for?