Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

3.5

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
36,744 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Mini Cooper S engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Mini Cooper S:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Mini Cooper S Owner Comments

problem #5

Jan 072016

Cooper S

  • 50,486 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This is the previous complaint that I had about the 2009 MINICooper S convertible 2 weeks ago which has additional information today from the certified BMW mechanic here in austin. Manufacturer: BMW of North America, llc vehicle identification no. (VIN): Wmwms33589T... summary: " I own a 2009 MINICooper S convertible. I bought it 4 months ago. I was driving on I35 going to austin the 26th of December 2015. The vehicle died without a warning while in motion. I turned the hazards on immediately...saw that I could safely stop. A san marcos cop came to help push the car further in to safety before the electricity of the car completely shut down and my key fob was stuck in the ignition.... they gave me a list. They said the vacuum pump melted. The report said that, pull valve cover found timing chain guides broken due to loose chain slapping them needs timing chain, guides and all associated seals and bolts. They gave me a quote of $2300 for all the parts..." today, I called the BMW repair shop only to find out that they couldn't do the repair because the engine needs to be replaced. It has been damaged. The cost for the engine replacement is about $4,000 in addition to the labor cost and previous cost which brings me up to almost $7,000 in cost. This has really gotten out of hand. I only had this car for 4 months and with all the problems and cost that it incurred is already such a burden, I've already lost 2 weeks of not being able to go anywhere. I hope there would be some kind of resolution. This car is defective. I am now stuck with not having a transportation and a huge burden of car payments, huge car repair payments and loss of productive days. Not to mention, it is unsafe.

- Round Rock, TX, USA

problem #4

Dec 262015

Cooper S

  • 50,486 miles
I own a 2009 MINICooper S convertible. I bought it 4 months ago. I was driving on I35 going to austin the 26th of December 2015. The vehicle died without a warning while in motion. I turned the hazards on immediately due to the dangerous situation I was in. There was no shoulder to the right; I let the car coast until I saw that I could safely stop. A san marcos cop came to help push the car further in to safety before the electricity of the car completely shut down and my key fob was stuck in the ignition. I had it towed to a BMW repair shop. I waited another day for them to open being it a holiday weekend. Then they checked what happened. They gave me a list. They said the vacuum pump melted. The report said that, pull valve cover found timing chain guides broken due to loose chain slapping them needs timing chain, guides and all associated seals and bolts. They gave me a quote of $2300 for all the parts needed to get it fixed and labor. I did not get any warning light within the 4 months that I have the car. Until I was in the highway and the car was stalling. I was in a very dangerous place for this to happen and now I am stuck with such a high bill and uncertainty whether my car will break down again in the near future after I get the problem fixed. The BMW repair shop said the engine doesn't seem damaged but I still have yet to find out when they start the working on the car.

- Round Rock, TX, USA

problem #3

Jul 042015

Cooper S

  • 41,000 miles
Motor was fine then all of a sudden all the oil drained out and the motor died all at once no light no alerts just working fine one min complete destroyed the next they want 10K to replace it and the warranty company demands I pay 3400 to have the old motor tested to prove it failed despite the mechanic saying it has and hearing a knocking of the rods on the lower half of the motor MINIcooper vehicles: 2007 through 2010 hardtop (R56), 2008 through 2010 clubman (R55), and 2009 through 2010 convertible (R57) (collectively, the "defective vehicles"). the defective vehicles have a defect within their timing chain tensioners that cost, at minimum, hundreds of dollars to fix and that can cause extensive engine damage (the "defect"). unlike most engines made for the consumer market, the prince engine uses a metal timing chain rather than a "belt" made of composite materials. When the prince engine was first introduced in 2004, defendant touted the timing chain's durability compared to a timing belt, and indicated that the timing chain would remain maintenance-free throughout the full running life of the engine. One of the features of the prince engine defendant has promoted is that the timing chain and tensioner are located inside the engine block. However, actual road use has shown a significant drawback to this design: If the chain fails, damage to the engine can be catastrophic. According to defendant's warranties and maintenance program, the chain and tensioner do not require service, and the on-board computer does not monitor chain condition. Accordingly, problems with the timing chain tensioner can easily go unnoticed and cause serious damage to the vehicle. A defective timing chain can cause damage to the engine and present serious safety concerns. When a chain tensioner fails, the vehicle will lose all power, even while it is in motion.

- Bixby, OK, USA

problem #2

Oct 112013

Cooper S 4-cyl

  • miles
I bought my used 2009 MINICooper S convertible on December 13, 2012. Approximately 10 months later on October 16, 2013, I noticed an oil leak and a couple days later the engine light came on. Brought it to fletcher's tire & auto off 27th drive and carefree hwy and they diagnosed the issue as the water pump and thermostat housing unit as the reason for the leak and engine light. I paid for the repairs to made. Additionally, had the front tires replaced as they were completely worn. Two months later on December 7th, 2013, the car broke down on carefree highway, I was unable to use the front breaks. My step dad was able to get the car to brake masters in anthem, AZ the following morning where they discovered that the front two wheels had the wrong rotors and 0 break pads left. According to the technician, the S model requires larger rotors on the front wheels, however scottsdale motor company sold me the car with the same size rotors on all wheels that the regular model MINIs are equipped with. See below: 2009 MINICooper S convertible- timeline of repairs date of purchase: 12/13/2012 1st repair- 10/16/2013 fletcher's tire & auto engine light displayed water pump thermostat housing unit 2 front tires total: $1,168.19 2nd repair- 12/7/2013 brake masters front brakes & front rotors engine light still displayed- code came up for thermostat housing unit total: $506.40 3rd repair- 2/17/2014 MININorth scottsdale pressure converter valve for turbo turbo heat shield battery valve cover gasket total: $637.86 4th repair- 5/19/2014 MININorth scottsdale timing chain- it was broken into pieces, unable to drive dar total: $1,480.99 5th repair- 1/6/2015 MININorth scottsdale engine light displayed valve cover replaced vacuum pump leaking turbo oil line leaking total: $2,145.19 total in repairs to date: $5,938.63.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #1

Nov 202014

Cooper S

  • 41,750 miles
Fluid leak under car. Water pump failure. Dealer said this car was not covered under a recall although other cars of the exact model and year were?

- Pittsfield, MA, USA

Not what you are looking for?