Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Engine And Engine Cooling Problems

CarComplaints.com Seal Of This Might Hurt

CarComplaints.com Notes: No heat, no air conditioning, and visibility issues because of a busted defogger system. Basically, anything coming out of a vent in the 2006 Torrent is broken.

3.0

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
46,286 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Pontiac Torrent engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Pontiac Torrent:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Pontiac Torrent Owner Comments

problem #13

Oct 012014

Torrent 4WD 6-cyl

  • 100,101 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have no heat from the vehicle no matter which setting is used. I have read several articles that this a common problem with the 2006 Pontiac Torrent and Chevy equinox.

- Fairmont, WV, USA

problem #12

Dec 252012

Torrent 6-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
The car has a tendency to have loss of power or stall while driving. The one particular time that is of great safety concern is when it had loss of power while driving on the highway. The car also won't randomly start and have been stalled in the -30 degrees freezing cold for over an hour on a remote highway. Took it into multiple mechanics, including GM mechanics, and they have no idea what is going on. Had the battery replaced, throttle body cleaned, etc. Called GM, they can car less that the car has a chronic problem. A simple search on Pontiac Torrents shows there are hundreds of the same issue.

- Farg0, ND, USA

problem #11

Nov 162013

Torrent

  • 126 miles
This Torrent stopped at 65 mph on a triple lane highway when I was in the middle lane. A good samaritan with a truck came up behind me with his flashers on and pushed me to the side of the road. The engine would not crank. After waiting a while the engine would crank and started right up. This has happened 5 times now where it just stops but restarts after a few minutes. I understand a vehicle can break and not run. But a vehicle that is running should never be shut down by the computer when it is capable of running and be putting a driver in danger. If this vehicle is capable of correcting itself in a few minutes to run again for another week before it happens again it should run right through the dangerous shutdown. It is a dangerous flaw that need to be addressed. Rather than shut the car down it could go into a run mode to allow the drive to make it to a safe location. Pontiac knows of this issue and has issued service bulletin on it. This vehicle is too dangerous to drive on a highway.

- Plymouth, WI, USA

problem #10

Oct 112011

Torrent 6-cyl

  • 43,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This is an issue with the actuator that moves the flap in the heater/ac case. This causes the heat not to be released into the car, just cold air. This issue is all over the internet with several people having the same issue. I believe that GM needs to see this issue as a fault of the part. The repair for this unit requires complete removal of the dash board. I have gotten quotes from 900-1500 to repair this part and they do not say that its not going to happen again.

- Jefferson City, MO, USA

problem #9

Apr 152010

Torrent

  • miles
April 15th, 2010 our ignition wouldn't kick over. It would take more than three times to kick over. I tried conditioning the spark plug and it didn't help. (we just lived with the problem) June 2011 we had our first electrical problem with the car. The radio was the first to go in May. Then in July our A/C stopped working, and all we had left was our heat. We were able to fix the A/C, but it didn't last very long. We then lost A/C again and our radio started working in August(2011). Shortly after the radio started working we lost heat. Now we have only the radio that works. We cannot see anything because of the heat not working. The visibility is completely horrible! I have researched this issue and found that it would cost us 1,500 dollars to fix it. I can't afford that! we haven't had the car two years yet and it's stating to break down! this is a serious issue!!!

- Mountain Home Afb, ID, USA

problem #8

May 202011

Torrent

  • miles
During the summer, the air conditioning on our 2006 Pontiac Torrent started acting up. We could only run the car's air conditioner for a few minutes before it would start blowing out warm air. We found that if we turned it off for a while, then turned it back on, it would work for a while longer, then we would have to repeat the process. Now that cooler temperatures are here, we have found that the heater is blowing out cold air. We took it to a repair shop to see what was wrong with it and was told that it was the blend door, which is a common problem with the Torrent. Cost: $1200, as it would be a good eight hour job to replace the necessary part. Since the cost was so high, we took it to another place and was given the same verdict, but the repair cost was substantially less - $750, which is still a lot for a part that costs less than $100. We don't have the money to have this part replaced right now because we just dished out $551 to have the catalytic converter replaced, so we are looking into a portable heater until we can afford to have the repairs done. The blend door should be recalled and taken care of by the manufacturer. Our family of five (the youngest being nine years old) has been bundling up every time we get into the car, but are worried about when the temperature gets colder and the windows start frosting over. This part, in particular, is extremely dangerous to be without during the winter, due to inadequate visibility from windows that cannot be defrosted. Definitely a safety issue that should be addressed by the manufacturer!!!

- Granite City, IL, USA

problem #7

Oct 202011

Torrent 6-cyl

  • 78,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The heater stopped working on my 2006 Pontiac Torrent, cold air comes out of the vents regardless of the setting. I live in Michigan where it is essential to be able to use the defrost and the heater. We contacted the dealer and were told that it would cost a minimum of $1200 dollars to fix and 8-10 hours of labor, the actual part is under $100. The delaership even said that this is a typical problem on the Torrents and that they have fixed many of them. The warranty doesn't cover it once the vehicle has gone over the mileage allotted by the manufacturer however I don't feel that this should be a factor for the heater as the number of miles driven does not affect the heating/cooling system. I don't feel that I should be responsible for replacing a plastic part and paying for labor especially since this seems to be a common defect in the Torrent. Additionally and most importantly this is a huge safety issues since you need to see out your windshield to drive. GM needs to make this right by having a recall on this part!

- Westland, MI, USA

problem #6

Dec 012010

Torrent

  • 115,488 miles
I own a 2006 Pontiac Torrent which heat went out about a month ago. Several diagnostic assessments were done on my vehicle and all three came up with same diagnostic. I was told that something was wrong with the blend box and it would cost $1000 or more to be repaired. I also contacted GM and they refused to assist me. I did research online and found out that there were numerous complaints with the same problem on 2006 Pontiac Torrents. I would like to know why this vehicle is not on the recall list due to safety issues. When you're driving in fog or bad weather the fogger does not work due to heater not working which is a problem because it obstructs your view and cause you not to be able to drive safely which could mean increased accidents as well as deaths.

- Kernersville, NC, USA

problem #5

Sep 012010

Torrent

  • miles
The heater stopped working on my 2006 Pontiac Torrent, cold air comes out of the vents however regardless of the setting hot/warm air does not come out. I live in a region of the country where it is essential to be able to use the defrost and the heater. We contacted the dealer and were told that it would take upwards of $1000 dollars to fix and 6-8 hours of labor, the actual part is under $100. The warranty doesn't cover it once the vehicle has gone over the mileage allotted by the manufacturer however I don't feel that this should be a factor for the heater as the number of miles driven does not affect the heating/cooling system. I don't feel that I should be responsible for replacing the part and paying for labor especially since this seems to be a common defect in both the Torrent and the equinox. The amount alone is also something that many americans don't have.

- Buffalo, NY, USA

problem #4

Feb 182010

Torrent

  • 97,000 miles
No heat in car. 97,000 kms. The dealer states the vehicle needs an actuator, vlv door, and thermostat 250.0$ in parts but 990.00$ in labor. We live in Ontario the warmest part of Canada. Questioning in that in 3 1/2 years we have used this enough to cause this kind of damage. We are not taking regular wear and tear.

- Windsor Ontario, 00, USA

problem #3

Oct 082009

Torrent

  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2006 Pontiac Torrent heater won't blow hot air and check engine light on dealership says test for engine light is a large gas leak and the gas cap needed replacing only a mere $180. I replaced the gas cap myself for $20 and the check engine light is still on. This car needs major recalls but GM won't fix anything even though there are major complaints every where you look. The dealership said they can't even give an estimate on the heater because they would have to take the entire dash off and it would be a waste of time if I didn't want them to fix it while the dash was off. They estimated over $1,000 to fix the heater but said it could be more once the dash was removed. How can I save money for a repair if I don't know how much it will cost. Please help!

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #2

Feb 042008

Torrent

  • 28,000 miles
I bought my 2006 Torrent September 2007 new within one year I started having starting issues. I have had the vehicle in the dealership numerous times for the same problem over the last year. I have several files with Pontiac regarding this problem dating back to February of 2008 my first file is #599-445824. Over the last year the dealership has replaced starters, fuel pumps, ignitions, and other items. Since then my manufacturers warranty expired. I opened a recent file with Pontiac in December 2008 file # 71-688518762. After several days of the dealership having my car and me losing pay because I couldn't work. (alfred matthews said my extended warranty wont cover a rental car until a diagnosis has been made) I had to open a file with alfred matthews to get a specialist to look at my car. It took eight days to duplicate the problem and finally they gave up and the file was closed. The specialist found nothing. The last time it was in the dealership in January 2009 jason the service manager said I cant help you anymore you need to call Pontiac. This was the service manager jason 209-577-0140 the problem is still unresolved. I contacted Pontiac as I was told. Pontiac told me I have to start over again in order for them to send an engineer out to look at my car today. 2-26-2009 meaning drop the car off at the dealership again. They also told me that they have called jason at alfred matthews three to four times a week for the past two weeks and he will not return calls. They want to go over my file with him. Jequita lewis a supervisor at Pontiac 1-800-462-8782 and stephanie villaon.they will both vouch that jason is usually unavailable. As of now I am waiting for alfred matthews to contact me to make yet another appt to drop off my car. There are 22 other people online who are having the same problems with now resolution. www.townhall-talk.edmonds.com or go to google.com and type starting issues with Pontiac Torrent. Please help me!

- Modesto, CA, USA

problem #1

Nov 052007

Torrent

  • miles
Purchased a new Pontiac Torrent on Sept 2006 several times it went in to a no start mode. Still having problems noise in engine in shop several times cant find any thing. Then really loud noise in engine back to shop, they tore the engine apart and found a bolt from the oil pan lodged in fly wheel. Said it had to come that way from the factory.. now still noise, starter sticking they say it normal, windows bounce on the way down when wet. They still cant find noise.

- Morgantown, WV, USA

Not what you are looking for?