Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Fuel System, Gasoline Problems


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
47,346 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Pontiac Torrent fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Pontiac Torrent:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Pontiac Torrent Owner Comments

problem #18

Jul 032015

Torrent 6-cyl

  • 32,000 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac Torrent. The contact stated that there was a fuel odor inside the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnostic testing. The mechanic stated that the fuel tank was fractured. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact was made aware of NHTSA campaign id number: 12V459000 (fuel system, gasoline) however, the VIN was not included. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 32,000. Updated 09/09/15 the vehicle was repaired. Updated 09/15/15

- Mattituck, NY, USA

problem #17

Jun 022014

Torrent 6-cyl

  • 123,167 miles
We purchased the 2007 Pontiac Torrent on 10/02/2013. The test drive seemed to be fine. We drove the car in the city. The average speed limit is 25-35. We only drive the car to and from work and almost of the time to various drives. When I had to use highway 95 in Delaware the car began pulling back and would not shift and from 40-55 (60) the car does not shift from 35-60 all of the time. We had to take the vehicle for inspection on 06/18/2014 we had the vehicle for 6-7 months. The 2007 Torrent failed (when we had only owned it 5-6 mths). PF9-return mvxcs20P, mvxcs30M, we had no choice but, to have the car repaired that day. Certified automotive and diagnosed ( malfunction indicator lamp ) aka service engine includes the scanning of computer codes inmemory comparing da ta stream-clearing memory-performing retest for hard codes. Diagnose vehicle failed dmv emissions had 2 codes: P0404-P0405 both of which are associated with egr position error which caused the failure of the egr exhaust gas recirculation valve. The egrv (egr valve assembly) and the egrp (exhaust gas recirculation valve inlet pipe & gasket ( $402.84 ) diagnostic codes C0561, P0404, & P0405. Prior to returning to the dmv we had to go on 95 and drive the car for a minimum of 20 minutes prior to pass inspection. Confirmed fix summary 21 - exhaust gas recirculation (egr) valve, 1 - exhaust gas recirculation (egr) passages, 1 - exhaust recirculation wiring. Command egr valve opens and idle at times will stall.

- Wilmington, DE, USA

problem #16

Aug 122013

Torrent 6-cyl

  • 23,000 miles
Experiencing the exact same problem as stated in NHTSA campaign number: 12V459000. Contacted GM and the vehicle is not included in the recall. Shouldn't any 2007 Pontiac Torrent with the exact same problem be included no matter where it is? seems a little suspect that California, Arizona, Nevada and Texas are included but New Mexico is excluded. We get our vehicles from the same factories as the those other states. Current estimate to fix my vehicle is $1000.

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

problem #15

Jul 272013

Torrent 6-cyl

  • 70,990 miles


Received a recall notice about a fuel pump/fuel leak issue. Went on 7/9/2013 to jim ellis Chevrolet to have the part replaced. 2 weeks later, we have gas leaking out under the fuel tank of vehicle. Dropped car off at dealership who replaced the part (today is Sunday) and they are closed. Left it there so they can look at it in the morning. Never had a problem until the part was replaced. I hope I don't have a problem with this dealer fixing what they did with the recall. On notice.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #14

Dec 312012

Torrent 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
I have been detecting the odor of gasoline from the area near the fuel tank. On visual inspection, I was never able to see anything on the ground or on the underside of the car, and the smell didn't seem to be present all the time. I took the car to a neighborhood mechanic, and initially, he didn't detect anything either, but the odor has continued to be detectable off and on, sometimes rather strongly. When I had an oil change done on May 23, I asked the mechanic to check again for a leak. This time, with the car on the lift, he could see where fuel has been leaking from somewhere above the gas tank. He did a "smoke test" which confirms there is a leak, but because of the way the car is built, he can't see the source of the leak without removing the gas tank, which would also necessitate removing the exhaust pipe from the catalytic converter on back. From the general location, though, I suspect the problem is the same that is referenced in NHTSA recall 12V459000, a leaking fuel pump module, although I do not live in any of the states affected by the recall. I have an appointment to take it to the dealer to verify the source of the leak.

- York, PA, USA

problem #13

Nov 012012


  • miles
I have a 2007 Pontiac Torrent that had the plastic supply port on the fuel pump crack causing it to pump fuel to the ground. There is a recall on this part in certain states but not mine. I live in Alabama but flordia is included in the recall, why are we not?

- Courtland, AL, USA

problem #12

Feb 282010


  • miles


I have had an issue with this vehicle ongoing since I purchased it. The actual first that the company has documented is 2/2010, 3/2011, and currently 2/2012. First the stabilitrak light comes on then shortly after the engine light comes on then you loose power to the vehicle and cannot accelerate and it is difficult to direct. I have contacted GM on two occasions regarding this issue. It appears that others are having this issue as I googled the info on the problem. I am not asking GM for something for nothing I am only asking them to find out why this is an ongoing problem, obviously there is a defect in the car somewhere to have this occur every year around the same time. I am currently under the powetrain warranty but that will expire in may of this year and this cost anywhere from $600-$800. This problem can be very dangerous and they seem to fail to see the dangers in it. You loose all power to the vehicle!!!! what is not dangerous about that. You don't have much of a warning because once that light comes on that's it...wouldn't be a problem if you are close to home but both times I was approx. 200 miles from home. I only ask them to either fix the issue or replace the vehicle!!!!!

- Ashland, KY, USA

problem #11

Dec 102011

Torrent 6-cyl

  • miles
I have a 2007 Pontiac Torrent with strong smell of gas fumes when parked in garage. The vehicle was lifted today and there were a few drops of gasoline dripping from the underside of the tank. I suspect a problem with one of the fuel lines near the tank. The vehicle has about 63K miles on the odometer.

- Vail, AZ, USA

problem #10

Nov 052011

Torrent 6-cyl

  • 27,737 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac Torrent. The contact stated that while the vehicle was parked in a residential garage, an overpowering smell of fuel was emitted from the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to a private mechanic and the mechanic confirmed there was a leak in the fuel pump and pump tank seal which was leaking onto the top of the gas tank. The manufacturer was not contacted. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was 27,737 and the current mileage was 28,403. Updated 01/13/12 updated 03/05/12

- Middletown, DE, USA

problem #9

Oct 042011


  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac Torrent. The contact stated that the vehicle would leak fuel from the top of the fuel tank and the contact could smell fumes coming from the vehicle. Neither the dealer nor the manufacturer were notified of the failure and the vehicle was not repaired. The failure and the current mileage was 75,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Romona, CA, USA

problem #8

Nov 012011

Torrent 6-cyl

  • 72,844 miles


The vehicle had a strong fuel smell at the rear of the vehicle while parked. The repair facility found the fuel line had cracked at the fuel pump module on top of the fuel tank and fuel was spraying from the fracture. The shop manager said this was the third GM vehicle in about a month with this same problem. I was also told that a replacement part was not available from GM as the part was on national backorder.

- Durant, OK, USA

problem #7

Aug 242011


  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac Torrent. The contact stated that while driving 20 mph, fuel fumes were emitted into the vehicle. The contact inspected the vehicle and realized that there was a fuel leak. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer and the manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 50,000.

- Altus, OK, USA

problem #6

Aug 162011

Torrent 6-cyl

  • 86,388 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac Torrent. While parked, the contact noticed an overpowering fuel smell. After inspecting the vehicle the contact noticed a fuel leak. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostics where the technician stated that the fuel housing had to be replaced because it was fractured. The vehicle was repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 86,388 updated 10/19/11 when the vehicle was raised, fuel spilled from where it had been pooling on top of the fuel tank. It apparently was evaporating when the vehicle was not being driven. The mechanic found a plastic strap that was around the fuel tank and around the return line on the primary fuel pump. The strap's replacement may have put stress on the return line fitting where the pump housing was obviously cracked. The crack was located where the strap was located. The strap was fused into place; not a zip tie. The mechanic cut the strap off. Updated 01/03/11

- Florence, KY, USA

problem #5

Aug 082011


  • 45,000 miles
After smelling fuel for a week, thinking that it was something else in the garage, I decided to look under the car. Sure enough, the fuel tank was wet on the sides of the tank and also was wet on the bottom of the tank. I called a couple GM dealers to ask about fuel leaks on the Torrent, but there all like, bring in the car and let us check it out. So, because the car was out of factory warranty, I decided to check into it further myself. After dropping the tank and reconnecting the electric and fuel connections, and turning the key on, I could see the fuel streaming out of a cracked fuel line right up next to the fuel pump. The leak is in the fuel supply line from the fuel pump and goes up to the engine. The leak is in the fuel pump itself. Lifting the fuel line slightly would make the leak worse and pushing down on the fuel line would make it less severe. The fuel would come out in a steady stream the diameter of the size of the lead in a pencil.

- Coloma, MI, USA

problem #4

Feb 072011

Torrent 6-cyl

  • 48,253 miles
Strong odor of gasoline while driving vehicle. Removed fuel tank assembly from vehicle. Inspected fuel pump and observed a crack on the plastic line on the top of the fuel tank which connects to the fuel hose.

- Channelview, TX, USA

problem #3

Nov 272010

Torrent 6-cyl

  • 91,716 miles
There has been a strong gas odor. Then it would start "missing" when we were driving it. We took it to our mechanic. He called to order the fuel pump. It was on back order. We had to wait until the part came in almost 2 weeks to have it repaired. It was very costly.

- Kyle, TX, USA

problem #2

Oct 012010


  • 36,126 miles
Fuel 2007 Pontiac Torrent with 36K miles. Catastrophic failure of fuel pump assembly. Fuel line broke at point where the line connects to the pump causing fuel to leak from above gas tank and cover entire bottom of vehicle. Entire fuel pump assembly was required to be replaced to correct issue.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #1

Sep 112007

Torrent 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac Torrent. When the vehicle is started in the morning, it smells of gasoline. The contact was afraid to drive the vehicle due to the strong odor. She took the vehicle to the dealer and they stated that nothing was wrong. When she returned to the dealer a second time, they stated that the smell was caused by the exhaust fumes. The contact believed the odor was gasoline. The smell was first noticed on September 11, 2007 and occurs intermittently. The powertrain was unknown. The current mileage was 12,000 and failure mileage was 10,000.

- Miramar, FL, USA

Not what you are looking for?