Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Air Bags Problems

2007 Pontiac Torrent (Page 1 of 2)

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
74,802 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Pontiac Torrent seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Pontiac Torrent:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Pontiac Torrent Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #28

Jun 012016

Torrent

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Check air bag light on dash is

- Slaton, TX, USA

problem #27

May 152016

Torrent

  • 144,000 miles
Airbag service light has been on for many months. It is cost prohibitive to have serviced since the dealership says it will cost about $1000 to run it down but that it is probably a sensor in the passenger seat. Stabilitrak service light comes on intermittently while driving but doesn't seem to affect the driving and check engine light has appeared at the same time as stabilitrak light started appearing. Check engine code is egr value needs replaced. My Torrent has 144,000 miles. For many months the ignition will not turn all the way off most of the time. Sometimes it turns off fine and other times I have to wait for a series of clicks before it will turn off all the way. I don't know if it is a computer issue or an ignition issue.

- Rolla, MO, USA

problem #26

Jul 202015

Torrent

  • 136,523 miles
The passenger seat modular was replaced 7-20-2015. I kept old modular. Passenger lite would come on randomaly when stopped when moving with someone in seat when no one in seat.had seat reprogramed more than once. Finally had it replaced and it has never done it again...the problem started in early 2015

- Pekin, IL, USA

problem #25

Apr 272016

Torrent

  • 180,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased this vehicle a month ago and it was working fine. Multiple times since then the stabilitrak light comes on and off at random and my airbag doesn't work on the passenger side randomly. It goes on and off and says service airbag, but of course when I get it to a mechanic, it is not happening at that time so they can't do anything about it. I am worried about the safety in my car. I checked for recalls and there are recalls for the exact same issues I am experiencing with the airbag, but it does not cover my VIN, apparently. There is no rhyme or reason to when these lights come on and when things work and when they don't, it is completely at random.

- Des Moines, IA, USA

problem #24

Jan 082016

Torrent

  • 137,523 miles
The air bag for the passenger set will turn on and off at various times. It will be off when someone is sitting in the seat and on when nobody is in the seat. It does it sitting still as well as moving. The traction stabilizer will turn off when it is dry outside and I am driving. My key will get stuck in the ignition for about 30 to 45 minutes before I can pull it out.. I have to either sit in my car for that length of time or I have to leave the key in the ignition for that length of time and risk someone stealing my car.

- Scottsville, VA, USA

problem #23

Nov 092015

Torrent

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac Torrent. While driving at approximately 35 mph, the air bag warning indicator illuminated continuously. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the SRS module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of failure. The approximate failure mileage was 70,000.

- Nulanics, CO, USA

problem #22

Nov 012015

Torrent

  • 98,460 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My son was driving my car in normal, dry weather conditions. He was on a road with a speed limit of 40mph. He bumped a curb with the right front tire, then adjusted the car away from the curb and proceeded down the road. About 30 feet later, the side-curtain airbags deployed. He was obviously shaken-up by the explosion of the bags deploying which has caused rining in his ears, but luckily, he was checked out by emt's who responded to the scene. I have no damage on my vehicle, no flat tire, bent rims, nothing. Just deployed side-curtain airbags in a now undriveable vehicle.

- Mansfield, TX, USA

problem #21

Apr 102012

Torrent

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac Torrent. The contact stated that the air bag warning lamp and service stability traction control warning lamp flashed and remained illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a repair shop and the technician reset the codes, but the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who test drove the vehicle, but the failure could not be diagnosed. The vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 07V344000 (air bags), but was included in NHTSA campaign number: 12V459000 (fuel system, gasoline). The contact was unable to determine if the dealer completed the recall repair. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failures. The approximate failure mileage was 90,000.

- Coolidge , AZ, USA

problem #20

Jan 282015

Torrent 6-cyl

  • miles
I recently read an article in the March 2015 issue of motor trend magazine regarding the takata airbag recall (page 20). Can you tell me if my Pontiac Torrent is affected by this problem?

- Mountainair, NM, USA

problem #19

Oct 012014

Torrent

  • 99,000 miles
My wife and I were driving to tinker air force base when the service air bag light came on. We completed our grocery shopping and left to make the 30 plus mile trip home. The light continued to be on and I went to the dealer ship and they told me that there were no recalls for my VIN number. I even contacted Pontiac and they too said my vehicle was not on the recall list and that they could not help me. So I still do not have a solution to this known problem that Pontiac refuses to service.

- Edmond, OK, USA

problem #18

Jun 012010

Torrent 6-cyl

  • 35,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2007 Pontiac Torrent, VIN [xxx], that appears to have an issue with the passenger airbag sensor, symptoms very similar to GM recall # 07174. However, my VIN is not included in the recall. Above date and mileage are approximate, as I don't remember exactly when this issue started to occur. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Mineral Point, WI, USA

problem #17

Dec 042014

Torrent

  • miles
For sometime my vehicle airbags have been showing a warning that they are not working and need to be serviced, I called Pontiac because after researching this I saw that they had a recall on some of these vehicles but they said mine is not affected by this. Well apparently it is because it isn't working correctly and they don't want to be the one to have it checked, I have to do it at my expense or just wait for an accident to find out.

- Petersburg, WV, USA

problem #16

Aug 042014

Torrent

  • 15,591 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac Torrent. The contact stated another vehicle crashed into the rear end of the vehicle and the seat belt failed to secure. Also, the contact mentioned that the air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained neck and back injuries that required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. However, the failure was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 15,591.

- Orlando , FL, USA

problem #15

Sep 012014

Torrent

  • 160,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac Torrent. While driving approximately 45 mph, the air bag warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 160,000.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #14

Aug 292014

Torrent

  • 113,098 miles
My vehicle would loose all electrical power and engine would turn off while traveling. All electrical and engine would stop for two to five seconds then come right back on. During that time my car became difficult to steer and decrease acceleration. Then everything would come right back on. My clock would have to be reset. Then this morning my car would not start and lost all power. The vehicle would not turn over nor make no sounds. When I try to put the key in off mode, the ignition key would not go into turn off mode. All the doors were locked and would not open, accept for drivers door was unlock. A few hours went by then tried again and the vehicle started. I was able to take the key out of the ignition. The electronic stability control warning light is on. At this time I can not trust this vehicle however need transportation back and forth to work. Please help!

- Denham Springs, LA, USA

problem #13

Jan 132014

Torrent 6-cyl

  • 82,000 miles
Air bag service light illuminated on the dash. Service air bag message appeared in drivers information center. Also note that the air bag will go on off intermittently with someone in the seat. A 200 pound man sitting in the seat should render the airbag operational, however, it stays off and light on. This is a severe safety issue that in the event of a crash the airbag will not deploy/operate correctly. Its ridiculous and standard for GM to not acknowledge this is a problem and fixing it until someone is killed. This is not an expense a vehicle owner should be expected to pay when it is an obvious/ blatant defect.

- Jacksonville, AR, USA

problem #12

Mar 102014

Torrent 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
The airbag light has been turning on an off intermittently for several months now. We have also more recently been having issues with the car starting and a smell of gas. On 5/30/14 we took the vehicle to a local service center who informed us of the recall for the fuel pump and also a recall for the passenger pressure sensor (pps). We set up an appointment with the local dealer, gainesville Buick GMC. During the call we informed the service advisor [xxx] about both issues and the recalls. On 6/03/14 we took the vehicle to the appointment and again informed [xxx]. murscoe about the issue and recalls. Hours later we received a call informing us that the fuel pump was indeed faulty and would be covered under a "special warranty", but the part would have to be ordered. We were also told that the airbag issue was not covered and would cost $163 to repair. We declined service for the airbag at that time so that we could further research the issue. We picking up the vehicle at the dealership we were charged a $60 diagnostic fee. We were not informed before hand that they would be charging this fee. They would not release out vehicle until we paid the fee. After returning 6/05/14 we brought in the recall notice which listed out vehicle as a potentially affected until and the dealer still refused to perform the thirty minute, labor only repair. The receipt provided by the dealer clearly states the same issue and remedy as indicated by the recall notice GM07174. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Gainesville, FL, USA

problem #11

May 052013

Torrent 6-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac Torrent. The contact stated that the air bag warning light would illuminate intermittently. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the electronic control unit in the seats needed to be reprogrammed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and stated that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 07V344000 (air bags). The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 72,000 and the current mileage was 74,765. Kmj..updated06/16/14

- Sterling Heights , MI, USA

problem #10

Nov 012013

Torrent

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac Torrent. The contact stated while driving approximately 30 mph, the air bag warning indicator remained illuminated until the engine was turned off. The failure recurred intermittently. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer, who stated that the front passenger's seat presence module was faulty. There was a recall related to the failure under NHTSA campaign id number 07V344000 (air bags). The manufacturer was notified and they informed that VIN was not included. The vehicle had not been repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 70,000.

- Huntington, WV, USA

problem #9

Feb 242014

Torrent

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac Torrent. The contact stated that the air bag warning light erroneously illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was found that the electronic control unit for the seats needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and informed the contact that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number 07V344000 (air bags). The failure mileage was not available.

- Forest Lake, MN, USA

Read the next 8 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?