Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Air Bags Problems

2008 Saturn Astra (Page 1 of 3)

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
10,952 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Saturn Astra seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Saturn Astra:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Saturn Astra Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #55

Feb 012016

Astra

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Saturn Astra. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V063000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms part not available.

- South Chesterfield, VA, USA

problem #54

Mar 012016

Astra

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Saturn Astra. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V063000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was not yet available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Carleton, MI, USA

problem #53

Nov 182016

Astra

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Saturn Astra. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V063000 (air bags). The part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Piqua, OH, USA

problem #52

Nov 162016

Astra

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall I have a 2008 Astra that is part of the takata airbag recall. Details are at the end of this message. There currently is no information available regarding the development of a remedy, and when a remedy will be available for this vehicle. It is unsatisfactory to not have information on what is being done to develop a remedy for this problem and when one can expect a remedy to be available. I am not willing to drive the vehicle until this problem is resolved so I need additional information. There are statistics on the safercar.gov website about recall completion rates by manufacturer. According to this, GM has only repaired 0.2 % of recalled vehicles, while Honda for example has completed over 48 % statistics regarding recalls. www.safercar.gov/rs/takata/takata-completion-rates.html recall information on the Saturn Astra the following recalls have been found for your 2008 Saturn Astra H ¿VIN: ¿results last updated: Nov 09, 2016 recalls and/or programs for your vehicle in which repairs have not been completed are listed below. Safety & non-compliance recalls what's this? ¿GM recall #: ¿2028811 ¿NHTSA # ¿16V063 ¿date issued: ¿Feb 03, 2016 recall title: Driver airbag recall description: In some vehicles, the driver airbag inflator may experience an alteration over time, which could lead to overaggressive combustion in the event of an air bag deployment. This condition could create excessive internal pressure when the air bag is deployed, which could result in the body of the inflator rupturing upon deployment. Safety risk description: Recall status: Incomplete. Remedy not yet available

- Greenwood Village, CO, USA

problem #51

Nov 102015

Astra

  • miles
Several things are happening, first I received a recall letter stating I would be contacted concerning an air bag recall, I have never been contacted since that letter back in February 2016.secondly, today my car just completely shut off, after a few minutes I tried starting it and it did start. Thirdly, the trim on the roof has completely disappeared. I would appreciate information on when I can get my car serviced for the air bag recall repair as well as information on any other recalls that may be connected to the two other concerns I've mentioned. Thank you. Rita mccarthy 617-858-4722 1322 union ave. Baltimore, md.21211

- Baltimore, MD, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #50

Nov 082016

Astra

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Saturn Astra. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V063000 (air bags); however, the part for the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Circle Pines, MN, USA

problem #49

Nov 032016

Astra

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Saturn Astra. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V063000 (air bags). The part for the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Plainwell, MI, USA

problem #48

Mar 012016

Astra

  • miles
The recall I received in March 2016 for the driver airbag inflator is still not completed due to parts not being available. Safety concern continues and unknown when parts will be available all these months later. GM recall 28810

- San Tan Valley, AZ, USA

problem #47

Oct 282016

Astra

  • miles
Takata recall - I received a safety recall letter from Saturn in March, 2016. As of today (10/28/16) the status of this recall is still: Incomplete. Remedy not yet available. I confirmed this with my local GM dealer. How long am I expected to have to wait for a solution while my wife and I drive around in a potential death trap?

- Manhattan Beach, CA, USA

problem #46

Mar 152016

Astra

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Saturn Astra. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 16V063000 (air bags). The contact stated that the parts needed for the recall remedy were still not available. The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Lakewood, CO, USA

problem #45

Mar 302016

Astra

  • 85,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall recall status: recall incomplete. remedy not yet available  parked until parts available due to safety risk 7 months no parts

- Plainwell, MI, USA

problem #44

Feb 012016

Astra

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Saturn Astra. The contact stated that the recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 16V063000 (air bags) was received in February of 2016. After contacting the dealer and the manufacturer on multiple occasions, the contact was informed that the parts needed for the recall remedy were still not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be provided. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Toledo, OH, USA

problem #43

Oct 182016

Astra

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Saturn Astra. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V063000 (air bags). The part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #42

Mar 012016

Astra

  • miles
Takata recall. I received a letter informing me that my vehicle is under recall with a date of March 2016. It is still listed as incomplete, remedy not yet available on the GM recall website as of 10/17/2016. This has been 6 months, which is an unreasonable amount of time in which to make a safety repair. I have not had an accident or problem with the airbag, but I want it repaired before there is an accident.

- Oakdale, MN, USA

problem #41

Feb 032016

Astra

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Saturn Astra. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V063000 (air bags). The part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Roseville, MN, USA

problem #40

Feb 012016

Astra

  • 40,000 miles
Takata recall Saturn letter of the recall notice for the takata air bag replacement is dated March 2016. Visited the authorized Saturn repair center, porter Chevrolet newark Delaware for the second time October 2nd 2016 to find out if the replacement of the air bag can now be done. The service advisor, john smashey advised they have not received the parts and has no information identifying when they will be available. After 7 months we are no closer to resolving this dangerous situation

- Landenberg, PA, USA

problem #39

Feb 022016

Astra

  • miles
Received recall notice in February; contacted the dealership immediately; still no airbag replacement.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #38

Mar 012016

Astra

  • miles
I received the recall letter with recall GM id 28810 in March 2016 and as of today the issue has not been resolved. I tried calling multiple times the GM customer service phone but automated system would always respond as your Saturn Astra vehicle has no open recalls. I visited twice a GM Chevy dealer and the people there told me they can't do anything about this. I insist my car to be fixed immediately since my family and I have been using it daily and this is threatening our safety.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #37

Mar 232016

Astra

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Saturn Astra. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V063000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Gilbertsville, PA, USA

problem #36

Mar 022016

Astra

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Saturn Astra. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V063000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Lebanon, PA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?