NHTSA — Air Bags Problems

2008 Saturn Astra (Page 1 of 4)

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
11,382 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Saturn Astra seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Saturn Astra:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Saturn Astra Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #69

Mar 262016

Astra

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Saturn Astra. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V063000 (air bags); however, the part for the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Hicksville, NY, USA

problem #68

Mar 072016

Astra

  • miles
I have received information about driver seat air bag recall. After that I have contacted local GM dealer and they are not responding properly

- Los Angels, CA, USA

problem #67

Jan 132017

Astra

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Saturn Astra. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V063000 (air bags). The part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Orange, TX, USA

problem #66

Feb 032016

Astra

  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall (NHTSA recall number: 16V063) - my understanding is that older cars in humid environments will be given priority on replacement of defective airbags, especially those on the driver side. While I have a 2008 vehicle possessing a defective air bag on the driver's side and living in the humid environment of South Louisiana, I'm still waiting a year later for the replacement of the air bag. I just called the GM recall line (1-800-972-8876) and was told no parts are available for the recall. However, I was told that if I have a problem with the air bag, the dealer has parts to fix the air bag, but at my cost. Therefore, there are air bags available, but because they have not been specifically designated for use on the recall, I must drive an unsafe vehicle until parts for the recall are made available. It's unconscionable to think that parts are actually available, but not being used while lives are at stake just for sake of having parts available to fix issues not related to recall. When asked for a time frame of when the "recall air bags" would be available, I was told that they had no estimate, but that it takes time for these things to get done. I pointed out that I had waited one year.

- Baton Rouge, LA, USA

problem #65

Dec 192016

Astra

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Saturn Astra. The contact stated that the recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 16V063000 (air bags) was received in March. After contacting the dealer and the manufacturer on multiple occasions, the contact was informed that the parts needed for the recall remedy were still not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be provided. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Silver Spring, FL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #64

Feb 012016

Astra

  • miles
Takata recall I received a notice February 2016 and still no word about this recall. I don't feel safe driving my car and it is my only method of transportation. Please do something about this. GM obviously does not care that people are driving ticking time bombs. This is unethical. Nobody who owns a car and or paying for a car should endure this.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #63

Feb 032016

Astra

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Saturn Astra. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V063000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Branford, CT, USA

problem #62

Dec 202016

Astra

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Saturn Astra. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V063000 (air bags); however, the part for the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #61

Dec 202016

Astra

  • miles
GM recall notice #28810 I received 3/16. My wife called GM service (800-553-6000) 7/16/16 - she was told no resolution, no parts available. She also spoke with andrew in the service dept. At hoselton Chevy dealership, rochester, NY - no parts available. Called GM service (800-553-6000) 12/20/16 - was told by anthony, no resolution until 12/31/16 on this recall. GM asked for and received an extension for this recall from the government. I will be mail something by GM after 1/1/17. I want this car to be safe. I cannot afford to drive another car at this time. This should be fixed by now. It has been almost 9 months since I received the notice!

- Penfield, NY, USA

problem #60

Mar 152016

Astra

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Saturn Astra. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V063000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced any failure. VIN tool confirm parts not available.

- Racho Santa Margarita, CA, USA

problem #59

Dec 122016

Astra

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall; our daughter took her Astra to multiple GM dealers with the letter from Saturn and they all said parts are unavailable. Called the Saturn customer assistance center and they said no parts unavailable and no idea when; they did open Saturn case file 8-2581135415.

- Houston, AL, USA

problem #58

Dec 082016

Astra

  • 48,000 miles
Received important safety recall (GM # 28810) in March of 2016. Because this recall states in part why the vehicle is being recalled as "...may result in injury or death to vehicle occupants., I have checked monthly for on-line status of the recall. The answer is always the same indicating parts are not available to accomplish the repair. I have reduced usage of this vehicle because of the danger involved and find it to be inexcusable for nine or more months to have passed with no action to correct the hazard. Please get GM moving!!!

- Warrington, PA, USA

problem #57

Feb 032016

Astra

  • miles
Takata recall recall date Feb 3, 2016. 10 months later nothing done. Remedy is not yet done. Hazard of exploding metal still present., not safe to use it.

- Wadsworth, OH, USA

problem #56

Mar 012016

Astra

  • 0 miles
Takata recall: GM has issued recall# 2028811/ NHTSA# 16V063 in February 2016. It is now almost the end of 2016 and I still have not received any other information about this recall or a date as to when the problem will be corrected.

- Rock Hill, SC, USA

problem #55

Feb 012016

Astra

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Saturn Astra. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V063000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms part not available.

- South Chesterfield, VA, USA

problem #54

Mar 012016

Astra

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Saturn Astra. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V063000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was not yet available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Carleton, MI, USA

problem #53

Nov 182016

Astra

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Saturn Astra. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V063000 (air bags). The part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Piqua, OH, USA

problem #52

Nov 162016

Astra

  • 90,000 miles
Takata recall I have a 2008 Astra that is part of the takata airbag recall. Details are at the end of this message. There currently is no information available regarding the development of a remedy, and when a remedy will be available for this vehicle. It is unsatisfactory to not have information on what is being done to develop a remedy for this problem and when one can expect a remedy to be available. I am not willing to drive the vehicle until this problem is resolved so I need additional information. There are statistics on the safercar.gov website about recall completion rates by manufacturer. According to this, GM has only repaired 0.2 % of recalled vehicles, while Honda for example has completed over 48 % statistics regarding recalls. www.safercar.gov/rs/takata/takata-completion-rates.html recall information on the Saturn Astra the following recalls have been found for your 2008 Saturn Astra H ¿VIN: ¿results last updated: Nov 09, 2016 recalls and/or programs for your vehicle in which repairs have not been completed are listed below. Safety & non-compliance recalls what's this? ¿GM recall #: ¿2028811 ¿NHTSA # ¿16V063 ¿date issued: ¿Feb 03, 2016 recall title: Driver airbag recall description: In some vehicles, the driver airbag inflator may experience an alteration over time, which could lead to overaggressive combustion in the event of an air bag deployment. This condition could create excessive internal pressure when the air bag is deployed, which could result in the body of the inflator rupturing upon deployment. Safety risk description: Recall status: Incomplete. Remedy not yet available

- Greenwood Village, CO, USA

problem #51

Nov 102015

Astra

  • miles
Several things are happening, first I received a recall letter stating I would be contacted concerning an air bag recall, I have never been contacted since that letter back in February 2016.secondly, today my car just completely shut off, after a few minutes I tried starting it and it did start. Thirdly, the trim on the roof has completely disappeared. I would appreciate information on when I can get my car serviced for the air bag recall repair as well as information on any other recalls that may be connected to the two other concerns I've mentioned. Thank you. Rita mccarthy 617-858-4722 1322 union ave. Baltimore, md.21211

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #50

Nov 082016

Astra

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Saturn Astra. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V063000 (air bags); however, the part for the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Circle Pines, MN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?