Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Electrical System: Ignition: Module Problems

2.7

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
53,917 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Saturn L200 electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Saturn L200:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Saturn L200 Owner Comments

problem #8

Oct 012012

L200 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2003 Saturn L200. Consumer states vehicle runs rough and has low power and sometimes engine light would come on the consumer stated a few weeks ago, the vehicle made a horrendous noise and started to run rough. He took the vehicle to a repair shop, but a code did not show on the computer. However, when they looked on the internet, they found a recall regarding the ignition control module, which described what the consumer experienced. The local dealership stated according to their records, the recall had already been performed. Also, the ignition tower had since failed. The consumer stated he was never notified of a recall.

- Huntsville, AL, USA

problem #7

Aug 112008

L200

  • 63,000 miles
I was driving when the vehicle stopped running. While the fuel pump needed replacement, in fact it appears that there was wide spread electrical damage. The damage is identical to the damage described in Saturn recall 03V231000. I contacted Saturn, but they say that the recall does not cover my car. Based on the symptoms, it's possible that it should cover my particular vehicle. My VIN number is. Saturn did assign a case number to this incident, case number 71-654487537, however, they claim no responsibility.

- Syria, VA, USA

problem #6

Mar 062007

L200 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,300 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Saturn L200. The contact stated that her son's vehicle failed and completely shut down twice. The contact also stated that the vehicle would make a loose, rattling noise while making a turn. She stated that there was a recall on the vehicle involving the steering module. The steering wheel would lock and her son could not return it to the proper position. The vehicle was towed to the dealer and they proceeded to sell her son a warranty, although the vehicle was already under warranty. The dealer was unable to locate any failures. The speed was unknown. The current mileage was 55,253 and failure mileage was 42,300. Updated 04/29/08. The vehicle would not shift out of park, the engine, air bag and ABS lights illuminated. Updated

- Pottstown, PA, USA

problem #5

Dec 232007

L200 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 102,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Saturn L200. The engine light was flashing and the vehicle would not start. When the vehicle started, it was idling very rough. The mechanic stated that the electrical system ignition control module failed and that there was a recall. The dealer stated that the recall was performed in April of 2004; however, they do not have a record of the repair being performed. The current and failure mileages were 102,000. Updated 03/04/08. Updated

- Florissant, MO, USA

problem #4

Sep 012007

L200 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 36,525 miles
On 9/01/2007 my Saturn L200 sedan suddenly started making a loud noise emanating from the exhaust and within two minutes the vehicle failed to run any further. The check engine light flashed repeatedly and a smell from the exhaust was noted and subsequent tries to restart the vehicle drained the battery completely. Prior to this the fan had cycled on indicating a heat problem. All issues pertaining to the problem match exactly what NHTSA campaign id number: 03V231000 had listed. Saturn roadside assistance provided a tow at my expense and the driver refused delivery to the Saturn of West Liberty avenue dealer but instead towed the vehicle to my home and he was rather disinterested in dropping the vehicle off at the dealer as I had instructed him. A call to Saturn corporation yielded a customer service representative telling me that no such campaign id or recall existed for my vehicle although my VIN is in the range of affected vehicles. A call to the Saturn dealerships service representative justin yielded the same comment. A return call to Saturn corporation yielded yet another person stating the same. The first rep from Saturn conferencing called justin at the dealership and the story then changed from no recall to a recall being found and performed by a pleasant hills Saturn dealer. The recall in question was never performed since no visible sticker with the recall information was affixed by any Saturn mechanic in the engine compartment which confirms the vehicle never had such service performed. I am now stuck with a vehicle in my driveway which never had the recall performed and to which could have had a fire caused but I was fortunate enough to not have had that issue. The service manager at the dealer stated I needed to pay for another tow and that I would be billed for the work. The consumer provided documentation the vehicle failed the emissions test. The dealer stated found no fuel pressure and replaced fuel pump. Updated 09/19/07

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #3

Jun 272007

L200 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Saturn L200. When the vehicle is idling, the engine stalls and shuts off. The vehicle is able to be restarted after several attempts. The contact took the vehicle to the repair shop where the cause of failure was diagnosed as the ignition control module. The manufacturer stated that the repair was previously performed under NHTSA recall # 03V231000 (electrical system:ignition:module). The fuel system was unknown. The current and failure mileages were 60,000.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #2

Jun 072007

L200 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 82,010 miles
2003 Saturn L200 would not start & the engine light was flashing.. aaa towed the vehicle to the nearest repair facility. On 7/14/07 that facility advised us that the ignition control module was faulty & that it had been the subject of a recall. The shop contacted Saturn of beaverton service department, and were told that since our vehicle had already had the recall work done they would not replace this faulty part again under the recall. We contacted Saturn customer service on 7/14/07 #800-553-6000, who advised us that Saturn of beaverton was incorrect and that if the same part was again failing, it would be replaced under the recall. We asked them if we should have the vehicle towed to Saturn of beaverton and was told that we did not need to as it was an hour away from the shop. We could have the aaa shop do the repair and we could submit for reimbursement as Saturn of beaverton would not do the repair for us. But, advised our shop of this and they did the repairs using the correct parts supplied directly from the local Chevrolet dealership. We paid $431.79 for the repair and picked up the vehicle 7/15/07. A representative from Saturn (case #1-24000059) called us after we picked up the car and asked us what we paid and what was done. Reference recall bulletin 6/23/2003.we have the faulty ignition module in a box from the shop. They called me back a few hours later and advised me that they would not reimburse us the repair cost because it was not done at a Saturn shop. Saturn denied that it told us to have the repairs completed at the aaa shop and submit bill for reimbursement told her that we still have the faulty part, so we could take it to the Saturn shop & they could test it if necessary. Also, we offered to have the shop put the faulty part back on &and have the vehicle towed to a Saturn shop so they could do the repair. Saturn told us that none of this made a difference and that we will not be reimbursed.

- Dundee, OR, USA

problem #1

Sep 232005

L200 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,500 miles
Faulty body control module.

- Fort Campbell, KY, USA

Not what you are looking for?