Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
54,315 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Saturn Outlook engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Saturn Outlook:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Saturn Outlook Owner Comments

problem #12

May 042014


  • 171,000 miles


Every since I have had a recall lights flicker on the dash and I have been having problems with the transmission seeming to stay in one gear. It was told to me that it may be a timing chain issue but it is not a recall. I have read numerous complaints in regards to this issue from other Outlook owners.

- Muskegon, MI, USA

problem #11

Jan 092014

Outlook 6-cyl

  • miles
2008 Saturn Outlook. Consumer writes in regards to engine and transmission problems. The consumer stated the check engine light illuminated and the vehicle stopped running. Upon inspection, a code was received for a cam shaft position sensor. The consumer learned the problem was supposedly fixed at 51,000 on April 7, 2011, where the timing chain and crankshaft were replaced. On August 23, 2013 the vehicle was in the shop for transmission problems.

- Barnhart, MO, USA

problem #10

Dec 232013

Outlook 6-cyl

  • 59,200 miles
3 weeks ago the dealership replaced my ECM because the check engine light came on and the vehicle was stalling. On Monday, my husband talked to the dealership because it started not shifting properly. They said due to the holiday they couldn't see us until Thursday. Within minutes if the conversation, the vehicle stopped shifting all check engine light; nothing. Using onstar, we have it towed to the dealership. Tuesady we receive a call and are told it is $1600 to replace a "ball" in the transmission. Oops, they forgot the tax in the first quote; now $1800! we get a loan to have it fixed. Thursday we receive a call and now there are metal shavings in our fluid they didn't see before and it is going to be $4300 for a re-manufactured transmission. The service agent at one point laughed at me and said to do the minimu repair and trade it in for a new vehicle!! our warranty just expired in June, the vehicle has less than 60,000 and this is the second time in less than 30 days it has been in! as active duty military, we cannot afford $4300 to fix it but also cannot be without a vehicle!!

- Fleming Island, FL, USA

problem #9

Dec 042013

Outlook 6-cyl

  • 69,000 miles


Power train warranty expired 11/1/13 and now my Outlook won't go reverse, 3rd or 5th, check engine light illuminated, I'll take it tomorrow to the dealer and find out if it's the same problem everyone has been having with the tcm or if it's the reverse clutch plate (waved). I also have the other common problem with the leaky sunroof, water comes down the driver floor board by the parking brake. This is my first GM and it looks to me like it's going to be my last. I'm going back to Toyota! I wish I had known all of these problems, I would had never bought this SUV if I knew this info exist online, live and learn! I can't believe GM knowingly allows these problems go on and won't do anything to correct it.

- Brooksville, FL, USA

problem #8

Oct 172013

Outlook 6-cyl

  • 139,000 miles
Without warning, I left a parking lot and my car seemed very sluggish. I noticed that it would not shift out of 1st gear. The check engine light came on, so I pulled over and killed the engine. I let it sit a few minutes and started the engine again. I had the same problem as I accelerated to go down the road. I didn't know what to do, so we called a wrecker and had it hauled to the transmission place. They called and told me the transmission would have to be rebuilt and the computer inside the transmission replaced and programmed. These repairs totaled just over $3,000. I am so angry because I have read on a Saturn forum that this is a pretty common problem. I don't understand why GM won't do the right thing and recall the transmission. This is ridiculous to have this type problem on a 5-6 year old vehicle.

- Marion, LA, USA

problem #7

May 112012


  • 60,000 miles
While on vacation, noticed the engine light come on, no apparent problems at the time but the next morning (after sitting in the parking ramp all night) I come out to find a dead car battery. Apparently, after turning the car off and removing the key, the car did not shut off. Jumped the battery, took it right to a repair shop. Due to a major water leak of the sunroof, my whole electrical system was affected. The car had to be dried out, I continue to have more and more things go wrong with this vehicle. It continues to leak water on the passenger side floor, roof (comes down like a waterfall), etc. Now I have noticed my car battery running higher and my front head lamp turns on and off. Could make this car very dangerous!

- Brookings, SD, USA

problem #6

Nov 082008

Outlook 6-cyl

  • 46,000 miles


The contact owns a 2008 Saturn Outlook. The contact stated that while driving at any speed the vehicle would lose power and downshift with an abnormal increase in rpms. The failure was experienced numerous times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer several times. The dealer updated the transmission module but the failure was not corrected. The vehicle continued to lose power with a significant loss of fuel mileage. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 46,000 and the failure mileage was 50,000...updated 07/12/12 the consumer stated the sensor camshaft, cylinder head, battery, windshield wiper motor, air bag wiring harness, power steering rack and gear, front pads and rotors, gaskets for intake manifold, gasket for rear valve cover, right front strut, both strut mounts, engine mounts, left front stabilizer link, headlight harness, timing belt cover seal, exhaust stud, power steering pump, hose and clamp, all had to be replaced. Updated 10/02/12

- Danbury , CT, USA

problem #5

Mar 242010


  • 43,080 miles
Vehicle has had 3 major transmission warranty repairs done tone NHTSA # 10030729, two engine warranty repairs (water pump, engine seals) and one electrical recalls NHTSA # 08V44100 wire harness which is a fire hazard and one windshield wiper/washer linkage 08V410000 which could result in a vehicle crash

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #4

Oct 202011


  • 49,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Saturn Outlook. The contact was driving 25 mph when the check engine, stability and traction control warning lights illuminated followed by the vehicle stalling. The vehicle was restarted after twenty minutes and taken to the dealer. The dealer confirmed that the crankshaft sensor needed to be replaced along with the computer module. The manufacturer was not contacted and the vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 49,000 and the current mileage was 49,712.

- Whittier, CA, USA

problem #3

Dec 012009

Outlook 6-cyl

  • 4,500 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Saturn Outlook. The contact stated that the engine stalled when the accelerator was depressed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, but the manufacturer was not contacted. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 4,500 and the current mileage was 41,000. Updated 11/07/11 updated 06/13/2012

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #2

Apr 182009


  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Saturn Outlook. While driving at approximately 25 mph the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact was able to restart the vehicle as it resumed normal operation. The dealer was unable to diagnose the cause of failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure continued to recur intermittently. The contact stated that when the failure would occur, all of the gauges would drop to a reading of zero and the check engine warning light would illuminate. The vehicle was taken to several dealers but the failure was unable to be duplicated. The failure mileage was unknown and the current mileage was 60,994.

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #1

Jan 062009


  • 11,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Saturn Outlook. The contact started the ignition and the "check engine" warning light indicator illuminated on the instrument panel. The warning indicator remained illuminated until the engine was turned off. In addition, the fuel gauge indicator displayed " empty fuel" at any given fuel level capacity. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for inspection on two separate occasions. The failures were contributed to the cam shaft sensor and fuel level sensor. The vehicle has not been repaired for the malfunction. The contact had concerns of the safety risk involved. The failure mileage was 11,000 and the current mileage was 25,000.

- Cortland , NY, USA

Not what you are looking for?