Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
1,216 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Saturn Sky brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Saturn Sky:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Saturn Sky Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #26

Mar 062008


  • 2,000 miles


The contact owns a 2008 Saturn Sky. While driving approximately 55 mph on normal road conditions, the check engine warning indicator illuminated on the instrument panel. Immediately, white smoke appeared from the instrument panel, which resulted in reduced visibility. The vehicle was pulled over to the side of the road with caution and roadside assistance was called to the scene. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer for inspection and they stated that the heating and air conditioning system caused the failure. The system was replaced. The contact smelled a strong odor of coolant inside the vehicle following the repair and the traction control failed to operate. Whenever the vehicle was in operation, the ABS warning indicator illuminated on the instrument panel. On six separate occasions, the vehicle was taken to the authorized dealer for identical failures, but there were no resolutions. The failure mileage was 2,000 and current mileage was 15,500.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #25

Jan 102009

Sky 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Saturn Sky redline. Upon starting the vehicle, the contact noticed that the brakes were inoperative. He attempted to utilize the brakes several times while backing out of his driveway. He had to pump the brake pedal over eight times in order for the braking system to engage. On a separate occasion, while driving less than 5 mph, the braking system would not operate and the vehicle rolled away until it stopped on its own. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and they stated that a pump was needed, which would assist the braking system with building up pressure in order for the brakes to engage. The failure and current mileages were less than 14,000. Updated 3/19/09 updated 03/25/09.

- Shelby, AL, USA

problem #24

Oct 132008


  • 700 miles
2008 Saturn Sky redline 700 miles on the od brake problem. Cold start produces pedal vibration and little or no brake power. Fortunately I haven't ran into anything.

- Topeka, KS, USA

problem #23

May 252008


  • 373 miles


My car is at Saturn of hickory for the third time because of the brakes they said they cannot fix them it is a defect I have asked for my money back with no answer as of yet my brakes were like this from the very first day. The first day I went to drive the car I called the sales person that sold us the car and told her hey something is wrong I have no brakes !!!! they have said that you have to let the car warm up first but that is not in the manual nor did the sale person tell us this. I have almost hit something numerous times in this car already and it only has about 2000 miles on it. I should not have to sit and wait for a car to warm up before I can drive it in the summer time !!!!

- Newton, NC, USA

problem #22

Jan 202008


  • 50 miles
Brakes do not engage properaly when engine is cool (vacuum assist).

- Fenton, MI, USA

problem #21

May 202008


  • 100 miles
Saturn Sky redline when start car you have no brakes.

- Columbia, TN, USA

problem #20

May 162008

Sky 4-cyl

  • 3,000 miles


Excessive brake pedal effort on cold start.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #19

May 222008

Sky 8-cyl

  • 2 miles
The brakes required extremely high force to get the vehicle to stop for the 30-60 seconds after start up, if the vehicle has been sitting for approx. 6 hours or more. My understanding is that in 2008 as a cost savings GM chose to remove the vacuum pump. Since this vehicle is a turbo it does not develop high enough vacuum and it bleed off quickly after the vehicle sits a while. The vacuum pump is being put back into the 2009 to eliminate this problem. This issue is very dangerous and needs to be addressed immediately. This problem has been going on for almost a year. Make GM fix this problem on the 2008 turbos, please.

- Oxford, MI, USA

problem #18

Apr 302008

Sky 4-cyl

  • 500 miles
I own a 2008 Saturn Sky redline. My vehicle suffers the problem listed in several similar complaints logged with the NHTSA and mentioned on multiple Saturn Sky forums - brake system not working adequately after starting the vehicle once is has sat overnight. Typically takes 30-45 seconds to build sufficient vacuum for brake system to function normally. No accidents as I was aware of the issue when purchasing the car. However, in my opinion, it does pose a safety issue and should be corrected.

- Excelsior Springs, MO, USA

problem #17

Apr 122008

Sky 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55 miles
2008 Sky redline brakes or very hard brakes when first starting car. Car has only 55 miles on it.

- Taylor, MI, USA

problem #16

Mar 212008

Sky 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 24 miles


Brakes do not work when car is first started. Recently the same failure occurred when I was leaving the freeway and hit the off ramp (on 03/21/08) near my home, I ended up grabbing the emergency brake to assist in stopping me. That time, however, a svc braking system light came on. It was taken to the dealer who promptly reset the computer and told me it was nothing to worry about. I called Saturn and complained. They called the dealer who worked on the brakes. As of this morning, it is still doing it. I have to say, I have great trepidation driving the car at this point and will no longer permit my wife to drive or ride in it. Saturn needs to step up the proverbial bat, come up with a fix, recall all affected units and fix them all before someone dies.

- Newport Beach, CA, USA

problem #15

Oct 202007

Sky 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 11 miles
Vacuum brake design problem on the 2008 Saturn Sky redline. Brakes are very hard and take alot of effort to stop car at first start up. After car warms up (30-60 seconds) vacuum builds up and brakes are good.

- Burlington, IA, USA

problem #14

Mar 152008

Sky 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Saturn Sky. While driving 2 mph, the contact stated that she had to depress the brake pedal harder than normal to get the vehicle to stop. As of March 21, 2008, the dealer had not inspected the vehicle. The failure mileage was 100 and current mileage was 420. Updated 04/14/08. The consumer stated the incident happened yet again on April 3, 2008, the dealer stated they are aware of the problem and they expect a recall for this defect. Updated 04/11/08

- Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #13

Aug 072007

Sky 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 400 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Saturn Sky. The contact applied the brakes, but the vehicle continued to move forward. There was approximately a 3-4 second delay before the vehicle stopped. The speed was unknown. The current mileage was 800 and failure mileage was 400. Update 04-02-08

- Shelby Township, MI, USA

problem #12

Feb 222008

Sky 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 580 miles
Upon starting vehicle and attempting to back out of driveway, brakes are inactive and vehicle continues to roll down driveway. Took it into the Saturn dealership, explained situation, and I was told it was "normal", and this was something that had to "burn off" in time.

- Missouri City, TX, USA

problem #11

Jan 052008

Sky 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40 miles
Brakes do not work at start-up on my Saturn Sky redline. Definite safety issue. I almost hit someone backing out of my driveway. Must be fixed!!!! dealer says this is normal, but it is not! these brakes are very scary and what if a valet or someone else other than me were to drive this brand new vehicle.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #10

Dec 292007

Sky 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,282 miles
First thing in the morning, when car is in reverse, brakes fail about 3 days a week. There is a pulsating in the pedal and the car does not stop right away. When taken to dealer, they could not reproduce the effect and said it must have been humidity. Online, there are many complaints about the exact issue.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #9

Nov 102007

Sky 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100 miles
Brakes do not work at start-up. When I start vehicle and go to drive or reverse, the brakes do not function. I try to press hard on the brakes and it still doesn't stop the vehicle. This has happened many times and there are forums on it on Also, if you do a search on the web and type in -Saturn Sky brakes you will find sites the same complaints. Many have the same problem. This is a brand new 2008 Saturn Sky redline. I'm afraid I may hit something or someone. It's very scary not to mention what if I give the car to valet"?? or let someone else drive it" this is a safety issue and must be resolved before someone gets hurt. Dealer says this is normal for brakes to be this way at start-up. I have never heard of such a thing like this on other cars. Please help!!!

- Plantation, FL, USA

problem #8

Sep 072007

Sky 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Saturn Sky. While driving 5-10 mph, the vehicle would not stop when the brake pedal was depressed. The contact stated that the failure would occur after the vehicle has been parked for more than two hours. The dealer stated that the vehicle was designed in that manner and advised her to let it idle for two minutes. The contact took the vehicle to another dealer and they stated that the vehicle needed a vacuum pump assist for the brakes; however, the manufacturer denied the request. As of November 28, 2007, the dealer had not repaired the vehicle. The failure mileage was 5 and current mileage was 1,637. Updated 12/31/07

- La Habra, CA, USA

problem #7

Nov 012007

Sky 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15 miles
At start-up of my brand new car the brakes do not work. I go to reverse and the car does not completely stop. It's extremely dangerous and scary. There are plenty of forums on this issue at this must be resolved before someone is killed.

- Hickory Hills, IL, USA

Read the next 6 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?