Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
6,230 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2015 Subaru Legacy engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Subaru Legacy:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Subaru Legacy Owner Comments

problem #10

Mar 312016


  • 25,100 miles


The contact owned a 2015 Subaru Legacy. While driving at an unspecified rate of speed, an animal went across the driver's path. The driver veered to the right and crashed into a tree. The vehicle erupted into flames. Weeks prior to the crash, the vehicle was taken to the dealer due to various warning lights randomly flashing on the instrument panel. The dealer repaired the vehicle according to a manufacturer's recall; however, the remedy may have been insufficient and caused the failure. A police report was filed. The driver side air bag deployed with force. The driver sustained extensive abrasions to the head, a fractured right femur, four lateral fractures in the arms, fractures to the left elbow with metal plates, and burns to the back. Medical attention was required. The vehicle was towed. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V502000 (power train) and 15V366000 (exterior lighting, forward collision avoidance). The approximate failure mileage was 25,100.

- Troy, MO, USA

problem #9

May 202015


  • 200 miles
May 8th 2015 we purchased our 2015 Subaru Legacy 2.5I premium. #1. very prominent coolant smell from passenger side engine area. Loosing coolant. #2. 600 miles- transmission/ ECU /throttle delay, a 3-5 sec delay in the response when going from (R) into (D) and the same 3-5 sec delay is duplicated when going from a stop to accelerating the car. Concerning. #3 3000 miles, loud wind noise is heard from all windows. Windows were replaced by dealer, but noise still exists. #4 the gas door will not release and continues to get stuck. #5 8,500 miles- excessive water entering into engine bay. While driving the engine bay gets completely soaked with water. Standing water in the battery tray, a river of water running down the inner fender walls inside the engine bay and water is entering into the fuse box. When engine gets wet it has a burning electrical smell. Water has also been found on the drivers side floorboard an in the spare tire area of trunk. #6 2,200 miles starting/motor concerns. The car will crank over, but doesn't start. The second attempt the car starts up and dies immediately. 3rd attempt car fires off an associated with bad gas smell/ rough running. The most recent time this happened to us (12/12/15), 1st attempt the car wouldn't start, 2nd time trying to start the car is fired up then died. 3rd attempt car started up running rough w/ a bad gas odor. It's associated w/ backfiring / popping sound through the exhaust. Recently has developed a low end sound/knock in motor between 1800 and 2200 rpms. #7 11,500 miles brake pedal goes to floor. Pedal isn't holding pressure. Vehicle pulls to the right an associated with a clunking sound coming from the right front wheel.

- Tacoma, WA, USA

problem #8

Sep 302015


  • 11,200 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Subaru Legacy. The contact stated that coolant was leaking from the engine and a burning electrical smell coming from the engine compartment. The contact stated that water entered through the wheel wells, onto the fuse box and electrical components, and into the driver side floor board. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was 11,200.

- Tacoma, WA, USA

problem #7

Oct 152015


  • 2,800 miles


Car engine stalled while in motion on a city steet. Car was restarted but engine light was on. Took car to dealer who replaced O2 sensor. Concern is why car stalled when a sensor failed. On a freeway this could be very dangerous.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #6

Apr 132015


  • 100 miles
On April 11th we bought our brand new Subaru Legacy it had maybe 34 miiles on it (give or take) my husband drives the car and a couple of days having the car the radio/backup camera/phone system crashes- it happened a couple of times. On April 14th my husband brought the car into service. Now I am going to just speed things up put all service visits in one explanation as I do not have many characters left. In the 8 times that we have been to service with loaner cars, they replaced the radio once. They couldn't replicate the issue, so we sent them video of it. They had no clue what to do with it so they sent to Japan and waiting for an answer. In the meantime, there is a sweet smell coming from the engine. Service says that there is no leak and the smell is normal and fine. We do not agree. I have had many new cars and the engine never smells like that. When my husband picked up the car yesterday from service there is a huge ding in the back side. My husband didn't notice until he got home. I have already called Subaru corporate and every time they say, "we have to hear what service has to say." It has been two months and still no resolution. How long am I supposed to wait to see what the next steps are?

- Carmel, NY, USA

problem #5

Apr 152015


  • 300 miles
At 300 miles, coming off highway, slowed down to 5 mph and went thru toll booth. I then stepped on gas, had hesitation, no response then acceleration. Happened again on 5/11/15 when I had 900 miles. Came off highway on to local streets. This time had 5-7 big hesitations over 10 minute period. Very dangerous because I was making a U-turn and car hesitated then accelerated as I was making U-turn !! returned car to dealer. Do not want to drive it until fixed.

- Oakland, NJ, USA

problem #4

Dec 242014


  • 4,400 miles


The contact owns a 2015 Subaru Legacy. While driving in the snow, water started to leak inside the engine causing a burning smell. The failure recurred several times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician stated that the vehicle was working up to specifications. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 4,400...updated 06-18-15

- Rocky Hill, CT, USA

problem #3

Jan 072015


  • 800 miles
2015 Legacy 3.6R purchased 12/18/14 two major safety issues: 1) snow / water entering engine compartment while driving and causing a burning smell inside cabin and exterior. 2) water leak inside cabin at driver foot well area. Engine burning smell: 1/7 notified dealer of burning smell which appeared to be coming from engine/under car and inside cabin while car was idling. Dealer reviewed and was unable to replicate. 2/23/15 returned to dealer again, once again unable to replicate 2/28/15 3255 miles - brought to another Subaru dealer; dealer confirmed smell in writing and cited due to "rustproof coating from factory on exhaust". 3/3/15 - driving in another snow storm, smelled burning again, parked and opened hood - discovered water / snow all over engine compartment; on top of battery and covering all electrical components; have pictures. There is evidence of water stains and rust corrosion all over engine compartment, on electrical wires and the plastic white fuse connectors are discolored. Salt stains underneath engine hood and all over engine body. Standing water underneath the batter cradle as well as snow. Seems worse on left side then right but both sides have water. Engine hood is flush with bumper - doesn't appear to be any fit issue, however the only weather strip is a small piece above the grill area and does not stretch across and over the lights. 3/3/15 contacted Subaru of America and dealer - no response - yet. ****this is a major safety mechanical concern. At no time should water ever enter the engine compartment*** 2) water leak in cabin 3/2/15 discovered water leak inside cabin - driver foot well area. Notified Subaru of american on 3/2 and dealer. Known issues documented online with Subaru crosstrek and prior Legacy model years.

- Rocky Hill, CT, USA

problem #2

Feb 052015


  • 17,400 miles
I was driving to work when the engine low oil light came on. I checked the oil immediately and it appeared to be down about a quart. I contacted the dealership and took it in the next day. They confirmed the oil was down about a quart and started an engine oil study. I am to take the car back to the dealership in 1200 to have the oil level checked. This appears to be a known problem with the 2011 and above Subaru. This all happened a month or so after I had already taken the car to the dealership after having a burnt oil smell from outside of the car. Nothing was found.

- Sheffield, PA, USA

problem #1

Jan 022015


  • miles
Upon low speeds transmission howls, hesitation followed by fast acceleration. Key insertion into ignition is difficult and rough.

- Bellevue, NE, USA

Not what you are looking for?