Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.0

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
78,992 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Volvo S60 fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Volvo S60:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Volvo S60 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #38

Sep 152014

S60

  • 155,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Volvo S60. The contact stated that there was a fuel odor coming from the vehicle. The failure occurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the fuel pump needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 155,000.

- Redmond, WA, USA

problem #37

Jul 242012

S60 5-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 185,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Volvo S60. While parked, the contact noticed a strong fuel smell. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnostic testing. The mechanic advised that the fuel pump was fractured and leaking fuel.the contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number: 09V483000 (fuel system, gasoline:delivery:fuel pump) but was advised by the manufacturer that the VIN was not included in the recall because the contact did not reside in one of the states affected by the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was approximately 185,000. Updated 12/14/12 updated 12/18/2012

- Kettering, OH, USA

problem #36

Oct 012011

S60 5-cyl

  • 61,500 miles
Defective fuel pump started leaking as described in NHTSA action number PE09039. The consumer believed the leak was due to a defective fuel pump part, that developed cracks because the vehicle was in a location with extreme climates and temperature cycling as described in recall 09V483000. The mechanic found gas leaking from the top plastic portion of the fuel pump assembly flange. Updated 12/15/11.

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #35

Nov 072011

S60 5-cyl

  • 156,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Volvo S60. The contact was driving 30 mph when the smell of fuel emitted from the rear passenger compartment. The vehicle was taken to a private mechanic but not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and they confirmed that the VIN did not qualify for repairs under NHTSA campaign id number : 09V483000 (fuel system, gasoline:delivery:fuel pump). The failure and the current mileages were 156,000...updated 12/12/11 updated 12/13/11

- Carmichael, CA, USA

problem #34

Dec 292010

S60 5-cyl

  • 161,000 miles
There is a strong fuel odor at the rear of my 2001 Volvo S60. It is stronger when I have a full tank of gas. I found out that there is a recall for this exact problem (ODI # 09V483000) so I took it to a dealership to have it fixed. They confirmed that my fuel pump is leaking but said the recall expires after 150K miles. My car has 161K miles on it. I called Volvo and they also said my vehicle is no longer covered.

- Manchester, MO, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #33

Aug 142010

S60

  • 175,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Volvo S60. The vehicle was parked in a residential garage when the contact smelled a strong odor of gasoline fuel from the exterior of the vehicle. The vehicle was moved to a different location due to the safety hazard. The authorized dealer was notified and they refused to repair the vehicle under NHTSA campaign id number 09V483000 (fuel system, gasoline: Delivery: Fuel pump). The dealer informed the contact that the vehicle exceeded the mileage specified in the recall. The contact stated the vehicle was taken to the dealer one year ago for a recall associated with the fuel pump under NHTSA campaign id number 07V152000 (fuel system, gasoline:delivery:fuel pump) and the vehicle was not repaired at that time because the defect was not present. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 175,000.

- Brandywine, MD, USA

problem #32

Feb 252010

S60 5-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2001 Volvo S60. Consumer requests reimbursement for recall repairs. The consumer stated the vehicle was leaking fuel and had to be towed to a repair shop.

- Columbia, TN, USA

problem #31

Sep 142009

S60

  • miles
Leak on fuel pump, we had to replace leaking fuel pump but paid ahead. Need to know how to send the invoice for reimbursement since there is a recall on this model. Recall #07V152000 Volvo S60 2001.

- Deltona, FL, USA

problem #30

Mar 072009

S60

  • 109,211 miles
I was planning to go into work a bit later than usual so I loaded up my two youngest boys into the car for my wife, after she pulled out I noticed numerous wet spots on my carport, there is enough tree pollen on the carport that it holds the fuel evidently for an extended period of time. Upon seeing the spots on the carport I ran my finger through the area and before I had my hand within a foot of my nose I could clearly identify the smell. I normally leave for work hours before my wife and kids depart for school and I normally arrive hours after they are home, it has taken me a while to notice the problem and discover the source. Our carport is open on three sides, in the last two weeks we have noticed a very strong gasoline smell, I thought it was from a gas can I kept nearby. After removal of the gas can we continued to smell the gasoline, it is so strong that even in an open area it will actually make you nauseous within minutes. I questioned my wife about her gas mileage and any out of the ordinary performance in the care lately, she stated that the gas mileage has decreased severely in the past couple of months and the car runs very rough as far as idling and acceleration. I used a floor jack to raise the left side of the car and discovered that the gas tank has a leak on the top of it or the outlet fuel line above the tank has a leak. Normally the car can be driven by my wife for her day to day purposes for two weeks on a full tank now it will not make one full week. There has been no incident where anyone was seriously hurt but I believe that the amount of fuel leaking could be a fatal defect at some point if not discovered and repaired properly. I did some investigating on the internet and discovered the filing and recall in Arizona and Nevada id # 07V152000. I have to wonder who decided that these two states were the only one's hot enough to have this problem? I have taken numerous pictures and would be happy to supply them if necessary. Thank you

- Gonzales, LA, USA

problem #29

Jun 012008

S60

  • 137,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Volvo S60. While the vehicle was at the repair shop, a puddle of fuel was found underneath the rear seat. Oil was seeping from the fuel pump. The contact was informed that there were no holes in the fuel pump itself, only a leak. The mechanic replaced the fuel pump and the level sensor unit. NHTSA campaign id number 07V152000 (fuel system, gasoline:delivery:fuel pump) was referenced. The current and failure mileages were 137,000.

- Waner Robins, GA, USA

problem #28

Apr 072008

S60

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Volvo S60. The contact stated that it is very difficult to start the vehicle and he noticed a very strong gasoline odor. The dealer stated that his VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign id number 07V152000 (fuel system, gasoline:delivery:fuel pump), although the failures were identical. The contact would be responsible for the repair costs. The vehicle is in the process of being repaired. The failure mileage was 42,000. Updated 05/20/08. Updated 05/20/08.

- Rancho Palos Verdes, CA, USA

problem #27

Nov 012007

S60 5-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 115,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Volvo S60. The contact smelled a strong gas odor while the vehicle was parked. The dealer stated that the fuel pump caused the failure. There is a recall for the fuel system, gasoline: Delivery: Fuel pump (NHTSA campaign id # 07V152000) however the recall only covers vehicles in Nevada, and Arizona. As of March 25, 2008, the dealer had not repaired the vehicle. The current mileage was 122,000 and failure mileages 115,000. Updated 04-08-08 the consumer stated the dealership repaired the vehicle at no charge. Updated 04/08/08

- Eagle Mountain , UT, USA

problem #26

Feb 072008

S60 5-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 69,361 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Volvo S60. After parking the vehicle in the garage, the contact smelled gasoline and noticed a leak. The vehicle was taken to the local Volvo dealer and they stated that the fuel pump failed and would cost approximately $1,000 to be repaired. The contact discovered a recall number and informed the dealer. The dealer later called the contact to inform him that they would repair the failure for free with the exception of the fuel filter, which would cost approximately $100. The recall number was unknown. The failure mileage was 69,361 and current mileage was 69,608.

- Weston Florida, FL, USA

problem #25

Jan 232008

S60 5-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Volvo S60. Whenever the contact attempts to drive his vehicle, he smells gasoline outside of the vehicle. The smell is also in the passenger compartment, but is not as strong. The VIN is not included in NHTSA campaign id number 07V152000 (fuel system, gasoline:delivery:fuel pump). The current mileage was 63,000 and failure mileage was 60,000. Updated 03/26/08.

- Woodbridge, CA, USA

problem #24

Nov 252007

S60 5-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 84,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Volvo S60. While the vehicle was parked, the contact smelled a strong odor of gasoline coming from the vehicle. He also noticed a puddle of gasoline underneath the middle rear of the vehicle. He took the vehicle to a local mechanic and they replaced the fuel pump. He has not notified the dealer in reference to NHTSA campaign id number 07V152000 (fuel system, gasoline:delivery:fuel pump), in which he never received a recall notice. The failure mileage was 84,000 and current mileage was 85,000. Updated 03-04-08

- Irvine, CA, USA

problem #23

Jan 072008

S60 5-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 140,000 miles
I have a Volvo S60 which perfectly fits the description that people were giving as a complaint for Volvo recall no. R176. I have a strong odor of gas and hard starting. I looked at the fuel pump myself and it is cracked. I contacted Volvo and they said since I don't live in Nevada or Arizona I'm not covered, then they stated its because of the heat. Then I told them I live in Florida its hot here too. Then they said it has to do with the sulfur content in the gas. After contacting both the Florida epa and the Arizona epa I found that the sulfur content in ppm is identical. I presented this information to gainesville Volvo and Volvo of America. And they still refuse because I'm not in Arizona or Nevada.

- Gainesville, FL, USA

problem #22

Jun 012007

S60 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
My car gives off a strong gas/fuel smell, which is not coming from under the hood, but can be smelled both inside and outside the car. It has about 74,000 miles on it, and is less than 8 years old. I noticed the smell now for many months, which continues to get stronger. I saw that there is a recall for the cars in Arizona and Nevada, but I live in Florida, where it can get pretty hot as well. I believe the problem is with the fuel pump. This problem must be happening quite often with other Volvo S60S. The problem may stem from a poorly designed plastic pump housing. I took the car in for the Volvo ETM warranty program on 08/15/07 thinking that the fuel smell would be corrected when they fixed the emission system problem. The dealer's receipt indicates they performed a fuel induction service because of throtle body dirt, but the fuel smell has only gotten worse. I don't want to have to spend $$$ to have it repaired, when it is a manufacturing defect. What can I do?

- Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA

problem #21

Dec 012007

S60 5-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 86,400 miles
2001 Volvo S60 failure of gas pump. Strong gas odor leaking gas thru top of pump, hard to start, dangerous leading to hazardous events. Volvo acknowledges that there is a problem with the fuel pump but only offers a recall in two states they consider to have hot climates. I live in the state of Florida and they do not consider this to be a recall state. Let me tell you it is over 80 degrees in winter time and well over high 90's in summer and over 100 if you factor in the humidity. I fixed the car it cost me $642.01, I would like for Volvo to pay me back. The cost of the pump and seal were $400 alone. I think that as a consumer I should be protected not only that, but what is Volvo waiting to warn people of this deffect. This is a deadly situation do not wait until somebody dies for you to take action, the fire and gas inhalation are catastrophic. I have all the paper work I would like to get my money back and I would like for the owners of Volvo's to be aware of this situation. Thank you for your time. Please do not wait for somebody or a family to die before yopu take action.

- Hialeah, FL, USA

problem #20

Nov 272007

S60 5-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100 miles
Fuel pump is leaking, causing car to smell like gasoline. Potential fire hazard.

- Tustin, CA, USA

problem #19

Oct 252007

S60 5-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 99,000 miles
Approximately 10/25/07 began to smell strong fuel fumes emanating from Volvo 2001 S-60 along with a difficulty in starting the vehicle. On-line investigation and discussion with Volvo specialist repair shop indicates issue related to faulty fuel pump / filter which the corporation is currently recalling only Nevada and Arizona......Volvo specialist indicated that they are seeing numerous vehicles (in jacksonville Florida) with the same issue. Obviously a safety concern when strong fuel fumes are noticeable around the vehicle....

- St Augustine, FL, USA

Read the next 18 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?