Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

1.9

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
87,583 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Volvo S60 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Volvo S60:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Volvo S60 Owner Comments

problem #18

Oct 222014

S60

  • 170,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Volvo S60. While driving at an unknown speed, the vehicle went into limp mode and failed to accelerate over 30 mph. The contact also stated that the acceleration pedal was depressed and traveled to the floorboard. The vehicle failed to accelerate and suddenly surged forward. The contact stated that the brake pedal was depressed when the failure occurred. The vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 06V441000 (vehicle speed control). The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 170,000.

- Diamondhead, MS, USA

problem #17

Jun 112014

S60

  • 225,000 miles
Recall done. But Volvo says throttle body is bad, should throttle body be cover? if program is extending sweeps internally of potentiometers. Would that wear pattern from previous program wear out potentiometers, creating more problem with throttle body.Volvo should replace throttle body.as a safety assurance.

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

problem #16

Sep 052012

S60

  • 140,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Volvo S60. The contact stated that while driving 15 mph, the throttle failed. The contact stated that she tried to engage the accelerator pedal but the vehicle would not move. The vehicle was towed to the dealer who diagnose that the electronic throttle module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure who stated that although the vehicle was included in recall NHTSA campaign id number: 06V441000 (vehicle speed control) it was no longer eligible since the vehicle had surpassed the statue of limitation. The failure mileage was 140,000.

- West Minster, CA, USA

problem #15

Feb 172012

S60 5-cyl

  • 147,021 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Purchased used S60 in November 2011 with 137,000 miles. A few weeks later various problems manifested: Scrambled letters in dashboard message, driver door locks intermittently worked, radio self tuned to different station, speedometer giving false readings or stuck at current speed or reading zero, fuel gauge malfunction, all instruments on panel flickered, all instruments went "dark" while driving. At first restarting car would clear problem. Then frequency between failures increased. Just before complete failure - car needed to be "cold" for instruments to work - with instruments failing once engine warmed. Finally in February 2012 at about 147,021 miles the panel completely failed while driving - giving driver no readings (speed, fuel, temp, mileage, or warning indicators) and would not reset. Internet forums of Volvo owners suggested it was a driver information module failure. Owners forums pinpointed 3 probable causes of a dim failure - 1. loose connection of the motorola microchip, 2. loose capacitor/resistor 3. lack of protection from heat/heat transfer to individual prongs in microchip or between capacitor/resistor and the circuit board. Some electrically savvy owners fixed by reflowing/resoldering/heat protecting said components. Our local Volvo dealer confirmed dim failure and quoted aprox. $1500 for a new instrument cluster and 3 hrs. Labor. We chose to send dim/instrument cluster out for a refurbishment to baa remanufacturing Inc. On reinstallation warning message read "sra/airbag-service urgent". asked dealer to clear dim code first, then from SRS module per baa-reman instructions. Dealer job description/receipt stated they cleared codes dim 0001, 0003, 0005, 0006, E003, SRS 00D4, E003. No problems with locks/radio/instrument cluster since remanufacture in the last 10,000 miles/5 months. Volvo's original dim circuit board poorly designed/assembled.

- Berwick, ME, USA

problem #14

Jun 142011

S60

  • 133,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Volvo S60. The contact stated that while driving 60 mph the vehicle would go into limp mode and decelerate to 15 mph unexpectedly. The failure recurred on an intermittent basis. The manufacturer was notified and the contact was informed that the vehicle was not included in the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 06V441000 (vehicle speed control). Both the dealer and manufacturer denied assistance with the repairs. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 133,000 and the current mileage was 135,000.

- Middle Town, MD, USA

problem #13

Feb 272011

S60

  • 66,000 miles
I was stopped at stop light waiting to turn left. Upon light turning green, I accelerated to turn left. Car, without warning, lost acceleration, steering, and braking as if in limp home mode. I was able to pull the car over to the side of the road. I then put car in park and turned off engine. Car started back up and drove without incident. There were no indicator lights. Took car to local garage and no codes came up. Then again on March 23, 2011 car again lost all acceleration and steering. This time the car was being driven approximately 40 mph. No warning indicators were lit. Put car into park and it started without incident. Took car to dealer on March 25, 2011. The dealer said no codes came up and they were having trouble diagnosing the failure. After 4 days they called to tell me it could be the mass air flow sensor and throttle body needed to be cleaned (cost $660). However, they could not say for sure if this was the cause of the failure. I am getting the suggested repairs done. However after reading the numerous complaints describing this same failure, I feel very uneasy about driving my car. Volvo needs to address these numerous complaints as this is a major safety concern. I drive my car with two small kids in the back seat everyday. I am terrified this failure will happen again. There was a recall on my model and year car for this type of failure, however my VIN is not included.

- Laguna Beach, CA, USA

problem #12

Oct 212010

S60 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,598 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Volvo S60. The contact stated that the ETM parts for the throttle module moved into limp mode which made the vehicle drive slowly. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the ETM parts were replaced but after a couple days, the failure occurred again. The vehicle was towed to the dealer who stated that they would upgrade the software which would fix the problem. The upgrade was performed but the failure occurred again. The vehicle had not been repaired. The contact called the manufacturer who offered no assistance. The failure mileage was 40,598 and the current mileage was 88,892. Updated 04/25/11 updated 12/19/2011

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #11

Mar 152010

S60

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Volvo S60. While the vehicle was stopped and the contact attempted to accelerate, the vehicle shifted into limp home mode. The vehicle would only move 5 mph. The contact turned the vehicle off and restarted it; it performed correctly after the restart. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer three times where the software as update and the throttle modular and mass air flows were replaced. The contact referenced recall 06V441000 (vehicle speed control) was informed that the vehicle was not included. The failure mileage was approximately 90,000 and the current mileage was approximately 98,000.

- Hamilton, OH, USA

problem #10

Aug 182010

S60

  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Volvo S60. While driving 35 mph and attempting to accelerate, the vehicle suddenly slowed down and stalled. The contact noticed that the more he depressed the accelerator pedal, the more the RPM gauge would fluctuate but the vehicle only slowed down. The check engine light also illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a repair shop where the contact was informed that the throttle body needed to be replaced. The contact called the manufacturer who stated that the vehicle was not included in recall 06V441000 (vehicle speed control) and offered no assistance. The VIN was unavailable. The failure mileage was approximately 85,000.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #9

Jul 152010

S60

  • 90,000 miles
2002 Volvo S60 experienced a very sudden reduction is speed and had to be driven home in limp mode. I brought the car to marten's Volvo where it had the software updated and the throttle cleaned. This sounds very much like it should be covered by NHTSA campaign id number 06V441000 (vehicle speed control). However, the dealer said that my vehicle (turbo engine) is excluded from the recall.

- Chevy Chase, MD, USA

problem #8

Apr 022010

S60

  • 89,126 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Two malfunctions exist with the 2002 Volvo S60. The first one is a faulty driver's information module defect that causes a total malfunction of the entire dashboard. Specifically, the dashboard goes completely blank while driving and all of the gauges become inoperable, including the speedometer. Therefore, preventing the driver from being able to control or monitor the vehicle's speed. The second malfunction is the front and rear heated 02 oxygen sensors. These manufacture defects have a potential to cause a very serious accident. The driver's information module and the 02 sensors were mandatory components that were required to be replaced as opposed to repaired.

- Newport News, VA, USA

problem #7

Feb 252009

S60 5-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 112,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Volvo S60. While driving at an unknown speed, the vehicle went into limp mode and was unable to drive more than 15 to 20 miles per hour. The failure occurs often while being driven. The vehicle was taken to a mechanic, who was unable to diagnose the failure. Another mechanic stated that NHTSA campaign id number 06V441000 (vehicle speed control) was related to the failure. The dealer stated that his VIN was excluded from the recall. The vehicle is currently in the process of being inspected by the second mechanic. The contact was advised to take the vehicle to a service center. The failure mileage was 112,000 and the current mileage was unknown. Updated 4/14/09 updated 04/17/09.

- Stockin, CA, USA

problem #6

Jul 212006

S60 5-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,750 miles
Car began to accelerate and decelerate erratically with no change in accelerator position while on a 250 mile trip. At one point when attempting to pass a truck the car suddenly decelerated and acted like it would stall then just as suddenly accelerated. This almost caused an accident as there were cars behind us passing as well and oncoming traffic. A very scary situation.

- Slc, UT, USA

problem #5

Jan 102006

S60

  • miles
I drive a 2002 Volvo S-60. Since August, I have been experiencing engine failure at random times, most noticably while breaking. After researching on line, it seems that other Volvo are experiencing similar problems. I took the car to a dealer 3 months ago and was told that they have no idea what the problem is or how to fix it. The problem has escalated since that time. I returned to the dealer this morning and am hoping for a better response, but am concerned that Volvo may have a bigger problem on their hands that they are not dealing with.

- Rockville, MD, USA

problem #4

Oct 012005

S60 5-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles
2002 Volvo 75,000 mi has a defective electronic throttle which causes car to suddenly shut off while in drive. I understand this to be a common problem and there is a class action lawsuit filed in California for model years 1999-2001. Cost to replace is $1200.

- Snellville , GA, USA

problem #3

Jan 312005

S60 5-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles
2002 Volvo S60. The contact stated the engine turned off while driving. The vehicle was going approximately 25 mph when this occurred. He was the original owner of this vehicle. The vehicle was towed to the dealership, and they could not find the cause of the problem. This happened in January 2005. There has not been a recurrence.

- Thorton, CO, USA

problem #2

Dec 262002

S60

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,000 miles
Vehicle stalled/died/ost power while driving 30-35 mph due to throttle body failure.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #1

Oct 302003

S60 5-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 11,000 miles
"engine system service required" message intermittently appeared in message window, with caution sign (lighted orange triangle). Gas pedal position sensor failure.

- Rosemount, MN, USA

Not what you are looking for?